2014 Honda Civic facelift unveiled for the Thai market

2014_Honda_Civic_facelift_Thailand_03

Amidst the 2014 City month in Malaysia where we’ve brought you a comprehensive launch report, spec-by-spec comparison gallery and a thorough drive preview of the Toyota Vios-beater, the 2014 Honda Civic facelift has been unveiled in Thailand. Called a minor model change (MMC) in Honda-speak, this previews the updated Civic that we will get here soon.

Look at the pictures, and you’ll soon notice that ‘minor’ is the operative word here. It just looks so similar to the current model. Unless you’re an existing owner of the ninth-generation Civic, you’d be hard pressed to notice the differences. Go ahead, compare it to the Malaysian-spec 2.0S and Hybrid models pictured below.

The most noticeable change is the new honeycomb front grille; now with the chrome element going under, instead of over the Honda logo. Other than that, the central air intake vent gains chrome highlights, and the alloy wheels have a new design. The sporty set of bodykit is new too, though it’s unclear if Malaysian models will offer it.

2014_Honda_Civic_facelift_Thailand_08

Inside, there’s a new seven-inch touchscreen head unit, which should replace the fast-ageing system in the current 2.0 Navi model. As in the new City, there’s a HDMI port to pair your iPhone (5 and newer) to the dash-mounted colour display. The screen also also includes a multi-angle rear view camera like that found on the latest Accord.

Much like the outside, the rest of the cabin stays eerily similar to the one before. A notable upgrade is the availability of curtain airbags on the top 2.0 litre model, which brings the total up to six to match the new City, Ford Focus and Kia Cerato, but one less than the top-spec Toyota Corolla Altis (fitted with the optional Additional Safety Package).

There are no changes to the mechanical package, so the 141 PS/174 Nm 1.8 litre and 155 PS/190 Nm 2.0 litre SOHC i-VTEC engines soldier on, together with the same old trusty five-speed automatic transmissions. No CVT in the Civic yet, then. Now is that a blessing, or otherwise?

2014 Honda Civic facelift (Thai-spec)

2012-2013 Honda Civic 2.0S
2012-2013 Honda Civic Hybrid

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 21
    • Toyota King of RV on Mar 24, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Still better than the preve and suprima that will extinct soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 37
    • Hyundai De La Junk (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Altis and Civic are dead. Why buy an Altis for RM139k when you can get same spec Elantra for RM90k?
      That is why you see so many Elantra on the road now. People know value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
      • alldisc on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:36 pm

it is actually the distributor itself knows the value for this cars. they know they cannot sell at 110k, let alone 130k.

the safest way is to sell at 90k and compete with the B segment instead.

the similar successful formula Naza used when they launched Kia Spectra in 2002. so successful know that they made so much money and no more interested in automotive business but rather put the money down in construction instead. which is more lucrative.

• You lied on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Where the hell is elantra, opps only in the show room

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
        • Toyota King of RV on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:44 pm

The Elantra i saw on the road is just the first batch.After that no more people going to bother that junk.You see Civic,until now still got people buying it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • how about second value?..hyundai i believe dont have 2nd value

• supriman on Mar 24, 2014 at 12:41 pm

still…got smoke by preve and ss. Better buy city

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 28
    • 2.0 cn smoke preve n ss lah on highway..may be they r better in 0-100

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • supriman on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:20 pm

why so butthurt..its fact suprima > altis > civic…1.6 turbo faster than 2.0 n.a…even more 2.0 sohc aka vtec pondan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
    • 0-100 ss n preve maybe better afterthat u wait to smell the smoke of civic then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Toyota King of RV on Mar 24, 2014 at 2:11 pm

cfe is not reliable,so it only can do 30km/h on the highway,so of course it will be smoked by my Civic 2.0 easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
        • i used preve and i always smoke fd & fb both on highway and traffic light,, so far no civic smoke me in 2 years of owning preve,, only lancer gt did smoke me one before..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 24
          • Kesian, your eyes get smoked and your heart cried out when you see those Civics which you hardly can afford. Heih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 8
    • Same Lor on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:17 pm

When you only care about smoking people, it show how naive you are.

Remove your roof, your bonnet, your car doors, your bumpers, your light, you car seat. You can smoke other people even easier. Therefore why you deserve the J class Proton. Their cars are built for nothing but to smoke ppl.

You smoke ppl, you syok sendiri only. You drive this Civic and ride slowly, everyone looks at you and envy.

Stop the Proton 4S concept lar (Sendiri cakap, Sendiri syok, Sentiasa rosak, Sales Carnival)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 12
  • simon on Mar 24, 2014 at 12:42 pm

New model coming soon?

• Denaihati on Mar 24, 2014 at 12:45 pm

very close to existing model, maybe rear and front bumper with carbon fiber looks more stylish and sporty.

• hhmm not bad..looks good and much better than existing fb model. however, specs need to be improved more. losers will still want to defend with their preve n suprima which is not “handsome” at all..if u all only afford to buy these cars then jus keep it to yourself and no need to be soo proud and keep promoting here. Despite preve n suprima’s cheaper price n high specs, their sales r still bad. think why. tq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
  • AVH (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Very much expected, but still i still see no reason how this will avoid the sales cannibalization by Its brothers the excellent Accord and magnificent city V. The absence of the gloss interior and soft touch plastic of the USDM model also means the shitty plastic quality still maintain the shorty standard that make the FB so disappointing in the showrooms.

Well good news is that now safety is boosted to international Levels, but I would still wait for the mid-life facelift, where Honda is giving USDM markets the new 1.5l turbo engine and also EarthDream DI engine. Not sure of Malaysia thou. But those engine will surely make a difference to the FB.

• mrsham on Mar 24, 2014 at 1:04 pm

I have talking to the salesman at K…. showroom last week during my visit to booking the Civic & he informs me that this one will be coming soon may be in 2 – 3 month. So be patient and save your money first.

• matteo on Mar 24, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Hi, one out of topic question to current 1.8 FB Civic owners.

Is it normal to have 9.7-9.9 km/l fuel consumption for this car. This is city driving with either econ mode on and off. TQ

• spongewai on Mar 24, 2014 at 1:23 pm

expected arrive here at the end of 2nd quarter or 3rd quarter

• Autoexpert on Mar 24, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Finally, the facelift US version is here! Civic fans should be very happy!

• james on Mar 24, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Only front grille same as US version.
      US version rear light & interior-soft touch stitching still missing…. Disappointed…

• Pororo on Mar 24, 2014 at 2:22 pm

This is not the US Facelift version lorhh.. The front look a bit the same, but the fugly rear still the same like the current version.. US Facelift civic, have so much nice rear…

• lithium on Mar 24, 2014 at 2:27 pm

this is not the US version. The US version have different front design and the tail lights/boot. the interior dash is also completely redesign and softer more premium looking materials. honda should have used that for the mmc……

this mmc is a poor lazy and cheap effort unless they couple it with rm10k price drop. the bumpers front and rear are mostly done using add on skirting.

• Autoexpert on Mar 24, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Even my Honda Insight can smoked Proton SS & Preve from 0-100kph anytime! All under 10 secs! Just don’t run on ECON mode.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • supriman on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:28 pm

insight??lol…ure very funny man…worst pickup car ever…hybrid for slow driver only

• waklu on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:52 am

Pernah bawak insight ke? Oh lupa lak people like you can’t afford to buy Honda haha

• I used to have a insight, now just bought a civic, both insight and civic are significantly better than Proton SS & Preve.

• Insight not a racing car but hybrid with fuel save economy car, can proton achieve 20km/L?

• You lied on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Insight is a mistake and you r the biggest mistake

• Have you drive Honda before? Please only give comment after you drive a Honda 1st

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 1:45 pm

The new front is nice, much better than before, the rims too. But that bodykit at the back is too wannabe. Doesn’t suit the car. Not to mention that poorly fitted aftermarket looking exhaust. It’s just hanging down from the car, and not even straight!

• Critique (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Finally, Honda has decided to bring in the grill they gave to the 9th gen Civic in the US in 2013(I think).

Thgh I don’t find Asian Civic tail-lights ugly, the US version looks much better. Too bad it’s not included in this facelift.

Cheers :)

• Nabill on Mar 24, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Put ur hand up if u wanna go bck sleep!

• I just bought a civic 1.8s early this year, fortunately nothing much difference with my current model…

• Joker on Mar 24, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Why they dun remove da white stripe on the rear light zzzz…. It would look way much better……..
    Nice rims and front bumper though…

• sam lo on Mar 24, 2014 at 2:28 pm

why rear seat didnt have air cond vent…..

• why dont they use the design from the american civic? REALLY, HONDA?

• kenot on Mar 24, 2014 at 2:45 pm

the minor change might be not attractive. furthermore, Honda don’t give a good equipment for civic. But, with a strong brand and civic legacy, it will become one of a choice for Malaysian.

• bluebird on Mar 24, 2014 at 2:54 pm

I can’t spot any difference.
    Even if there is any different, the local Ah Beng shop can do a better job at customization.

• Yoshimura on Mar 24, 2014 at 3:11 pm

rear skirt looks ugly. inspired from camry? just bring US version la. much better.

• heybadigol on Mar 24, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Is that all the “facelift”? The US Civic emergency refresh had way more changes (God knows what the actual facelift will bring). The US dashboard was almost all new – they added the glossy piano black material, as seen in the new City. The US Civic also has a different rear lamps, different rear bumpers as well as different front bumpers, light assembly and a lower/deeper front grille. It even had thicker windows to reduce noise levels in the cockpit. The crash protection shell was further improved to give it best in class safety. Most reviewers who drove it said the version after refresh drove so much better, handles better and was quieter.

I think Honda Thailand thought upgrading all of that is going to increase price further up north till it almost reaches the Accord’s pricetag. So, yeah, thats why the facelift is so minimal. Either that, or this is not the facelift.

• bodykit-front like almera
    -back like camry
    pakai PS edit? copy n paste?

• entaoba on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Ford focus still better la…

• Polo Saga on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Get us the real US facelift version!!!

• Still no DRL? what is this ? 2012?

• Jor EL on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:12 am

Civic is the best car for RV, me and my colleague bought the first batch in 2006, loans were for seven years, we upgraded to mercs and bmw now… WANT TO UPGRADE LATER, buy CIVIC, period…

• taknakproton on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:39 am

Proton are mostly rubbish, every one knows lar. Design is nonsense.

QC macam sial .. power window pun cannot fix, door handle break.

Got airbag, but will proton work during accident?

Ptuiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • taknakproton on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:47 am

Proton fanbois sourgrapes cannot afford Honda. Must keep promoting the SS & Preve.

Smoke here smoke there.. weii Civic let you jalan first lar. Hahaha in your face.

• wakmustar on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:47 am

I usually get smoked by Preve and Suprima, at Toll Plaza only…other than that, naa..tak pernah. They are slow movers.

• ShoibMyint on Mar 26, 2014 at 3:57 pm

The most noticeable change is the new honeycomb front grille; now with the chrome element going under, instead of over the Honda logo.

• Honda boy on Apr 09, 2014 at 1:50 pm

wow honda really killing the civic brand..luckly just bought city v.. but sad thing got defect lorh.. anyway whoever compare honda to proton.. u almost there but still long way to go since honda declining and proton inclining.. haha