2014 Toyota Yaris hatch open for booking – RM101,700

2014_Toyota_Yaris_Malaysia_01Click to enlarge.

This one is quite a surprise. UMW Toyota has just announced that the 2014 Toyota Yaris is now open for booking in Malaysia, priced at RM101,700 (Peninsula Malaysia, on-the-road with insurance). You can refer to the official pricelist below to see how much it costs in Sabah, Sarawak, Langkawi and Labuan.

Only one model will be available – the Yaris 1.5G A/T. As this is essentially a hatchback version of the latest Vios (identical wheelbase, similar dashboard, etc.), expect the engine specifications and equipment list to be close to those of the equivalent Toyota B-segment sedan.

Click to enlarge.

The same model was launched in Indonesia just last week – priced from Rp. 219 juta (RM64k) to Rp. 256 juta (RM74k) – where the 109 PS/141 Nm 1.5 litre engine is paired either to a five-speed manual gearbox or a four-speed automatic transmission. Meanwhile in Thailand, the Yaris is available with a new 86 hp/108 Nm 1.2 litre engine matched to a CVT transmission. Classified as an Eco-Car there, it’s on sale from 469,000 baht (RM48k) to 599,000 baht (RM61k).

No other details of the Malaysian-spec model are offered at the moment, other than the list of five colour options: Gray Metallic, Silver Metallic, Red Mica Metallic, Super White Metallic, Orange Metallic. We’ll have more information here when they are released.

2014 Toyota Yaris (Indonesian-spec)

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:49 pm

101k for a B-segment hatchback? Daylight robbery by UMW toyota! Or are They drunk?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 381 Thumb down 3
    • Petrolhead (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:00 pm

RM101k for a hatchback Vios?! Better go for Peugeot 308 1.6 at RM100k or Swift sport 1.6 at RM102k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 216 Thumb down 4
      • Wisdom on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Wauu..
        Speechless…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 2
        • JDMftw on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 188
          • SamTheDaiLanNgong on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:11 pm

You are the ignorant and nobody is jealous of a 100k toyota. It isn’t a S Class price so don’t talk like this Yaris is so expensive that people couldn’t afford. Maybe you should visit Europe to see what car really is. Another typical malaysian to think that Toyota is bought by wise man.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 10
          • Anyway,T is still PUI!! on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:20 pm

That is written by them(i mean people inside T).They type it their selves that’s what they say not us.That’s why wikipedia has that much information.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
          • Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:47 am

Did you know that you can get a 2007 Mercedes S350 for RM170k now?
            So, it is near S class price!.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • salambangi on Mar 24, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Dear Toyota Japan

Pl consider teminating your association with UMW Malaysia. They are just arrogant and insensitive super dealer of your products. They are only interested in maximizing profits and could not care less about the long term implications of their actions.

Salambangi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 2
        • Toyota BIG BIG liars. on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:22 am

Last week, Toyota had to pay USD1.2 billion for cheating and lying to consumers.

Quote “The U.S. Justice Department extracted a record $1.2 billion criminal penalty from Toyota Motor Corp for misleading consumers about safety problems”

Acording to the case, Toyota lied and lied and lied and lied. They lied so much, it is better to change their name to Toyoliar.

The US Government proved that Toyota was criminally deviant and cheated consumers and put them in so much risk of death.

If Toyota in the US can lie despite so much consumer laws and consumer protection, I really don’t know how in Malaysia where UMW is GLC King and above any law. Don’t know what lies UMW is telling the rakyat of Malaysia. They are not scared because they are GLC King, can do anything!

There is no way we can take action against UMW because it is like taking a case against the government.

• blublibla (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:33 pm

A Cerato 1.6 definitely a better buy!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 14
        • dino years on Mar 24, 2014 at 7:09 pm

toyota is slapping themselves in the face here. the pricing puts it dangerously close to its own altis. b vs c segment of same company? im just speechless. maybe the thais arent buying cars anymore so they need to push stock to other countries somehow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • EAT THE DUST, KOREAN.
          Ugly name plus ugly kimchi design.

Suits those K-pop people to drive and sing Korean song along the highway and crashed into the Korean sea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 74
          • Toyota King of RV on Mar 24, 2014 at 9:41 pm

When this Yaris launch Cerato and Elantra can bungkus already.
            Yaris Reborn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 80
          • Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:45 am

Typical Toyota salesman, trying to bad mouth other brands because Toyota sales are dwindling. Toyota RV also now jatuh like carzy. 2013 Toyota Camry 2.0G selling for RM110k. 2013 Toyota Camry 2.5 selling for RM130k.

In less than one year, 2.0 can lose RM40k and 2.5 can lose RM50k. Who ever said Toyota got good RV??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
        • MH370 on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:57 pm

Let’s take a time-out about car talks for now.
          Please send out our condolences to the MH370 passengers’ & crews’ families. Hope the missing crews & passengers will RIP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • This is essentially a Myvi 1.5 under the skin with the same safety equipments somemore. UMW can charge extra RM45k just by putting on a different exterior and slapping on that T logo only. Not to mention an extra 10k over the roomier Vios.

And the sad thing is there will still be people ‘gullible’ enough to buy it. Well, if you really don’t know how how to spend the extra 10k over the Vios why don’t donate it to charity instead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
      • Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:30 am

Toyota salesman here are soo scared of dropping sales. Camry nobody is touching cause it is really King of RV (depreciation). Everybody knows, 2013 Toyota Camry 2.5 is now sold for RM130k, down from RM180k. No other Japanese car can jatuh RM50 in less than one year!

Somemore, Malaysians can never forget what UMW did last year. Take out VSC at the detriment of Malaysian lives. ALL over the world, Camry got VSC. Only in Malaysia, Camry VSC was taken out. Why? To reap more profit at the expense of the lives of Toyota buyers. So, many ardent Toyota fans migrated to Honda. Infact, nearly 90% of Toyota Camry buyers migrated to Honda Accord.

Even now, when UMW put back the VSC, people already aware how sneaky UMW is. Word of mouth is the best power. Even in mamak stall, mamak himself tell me, Camry got no VSC last year because UMW mahu untung lebih.

Altis nobody buying cause the one with VSC is RM139k. People rather buy an Elanta for 90K which is the largest C segment car around, super economical engine and comes with VSC. Don’t believe, have you ever seen the new Altis on the road despite launching 6 months ago??

Vios is dead. Vios is beaten by the City. Nobody is going to touch the Vios. That is clear cut. No need analysis or argument.

This Yearis is a clear cut failure. The car is so cheap in the US14,430. Considered cheap small compact car in the US. Come to Malaysia can become RM101,000 ha ha h aha. UMW think Malaysians are stupid kah? in US got 8 airbag somemore!

So that is why the Toyota salesman running scared. Even Sam Loo join Hyundai Sime Darby knowing that the Toyota ship is slowly sinking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
        • Same Lor on Mar 25, 2014 at 2:54 pm

No one is scared of sales drop of T/H/M/S cars. But you are damn scared of your Hyundai sales drop only. So scare that you have to copy and paste this comment over a few news (check the new Camry 2.5 post).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • Same Lor (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Ok, we Toyota salesman admit defeat. We tried to discredit the Koreans online but it has failed. Just to inform everybody, we are mere salesman. We have tried telling UMW to increase the spec of the Camry, Altis and Vios but they don’t listen to us. So, what can we, mere salesman do?

• Najib Razak on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Don’t blame the government for this one yah?? It is completely UMW Holdings Berhad, Group Chief Executive Officer, Datuk Syed Hisham Bin Syed Wazir fault.

My “Tikar Terbang” lagi much much better than this !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 7
      • Why “don’t blame the government”? are you so worried to face the fact that this country is being run by idiots?
        Also, back on topic, the back end is hideous. I’d rather burn my 101 grand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 42
        • Josh Ling on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:11 pm

don’t burn, give it to me. i believe i can find a better use for that amount of money than getting burnt….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
          • Najib Razak on Mar 25, 2014 at 8:24 am

C’mon la Ben, why need to blame the government on this? This is very clear UMW’s fault. Better top up a bit and buy Honda CRZ. Why honda didn’t price their CRZ above 200K? Or better yet, buy a City V Spec at 90K? Are you telling me the government ordered Toyota to price their Yaris at 101K while Honda’s city at 90K? Bullshit !

The government only ask both of them to price it above the preves and the suprimas (^_^). Once they committed to it, then the government is Happy. How much above that is solely up to them.

Comprende??

Josh Ling, only people with mental problem will want to burn 101K. I also want la if like that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
        • kzm (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:33 pm

This solely UMW to be blame…how can kia rio price much2 cheaper…full spec summore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 10
          • dugong on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:25 am

bcos this car got toyota’s premium logo on it. Market value for the badge alone is at least 40k!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • Who's the idiot on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:35 pm

My reading your post, clearly we know who actual the idiot is.

• Anti-Toyota on Jun 14, 2014 at 12:01 am

The price is absurb! Who ever bought this car should be stripped naked and stoned to death. So much money and don’t know what to do with it. Waste it on this over priced ugly machine.

• Matchy on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Probably both!

• kzm (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:26 pm

This is overprice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • no BN on Mar 24, 2014 at 7:31 pm

UMW is not at fault, check closely, if umw is a robber as u claimed, they will never priced it RM64k in langkawi and labuan, this is because on this islands they are only charged with 10% of sales tax(no other taxes imposed). In peninsular, UMW is charged for excise duty and import duty by the govt which makes UMW no choice. Which car manufacturer in this world wants to see their sales dropped by increasing their car prices?..We only see this happening in malaysia, this is all because of the stupidity of the BE END, why we must pay RM35k to the govt?..buy used car instead, the tax had already been paid by the previous owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 34
      • kzm (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 7:55 pm

lol…then y Kia can price their car below RM100k?…if this hatch is thai cbu there will be no import tax lo..even polo hatch ckd with low local content price below RM100k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
      • thefact on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:42 pm

u one dumb fella la… how come a peugeot 208 made in france n then assembled here cost 85,888? full specced?? Europe specification. Vios made in thailand made for third world country is priced at 90k plus? what is so special bout the car? even the cc is smaller than the 208? so who is ripping us off?even the spec is still not full spec. this damn yaris is also another hopless car. 100k! n this is not even the yaris sold in europe. http://www.toyota.co.uk/new-cars/yaris

n if u say labuan is 64k without tax…so u tell me they are selling without profit? so they r giving the car literally for free?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
        • why you so stupid on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:33 am

I tell you the answer la. THis cheapo junk car cost price is only 32k. UMW already make 100% profit in langkawi selling at 64k. Sell in peninsula total excise and sales tax is around 26k. And UMW mark up another 11.7k to enhance super fat profit margin making grand total of 101.7k.

• Bob_B78 on Mar 24, 2014 at 9:11 pm

This car was a flop last time.
      It will be a flop again thanks to the pricing

• dugong on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:56 pm

B-segment jap priced higher than c-segment conti (pug 308)smh. Only big time sohai will buy this.

Told you guys long time ago toyota products here are priced like conti but quality and spec like proton!! Even proton has improved!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Liong on Mar 25, 2014 at 8:00 am

I used to work in UWW Toyota and I felt their planning was bullshit.And yet, this is totally nonsense.

• carazy on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:12 am

dugong with no tail, its call handicap dugong event worse than current dugong

• Ugly exterior and overpriced! the European version of Yaris looks so much better! Hey Toyota can you bring some beautiful car here like Auris or something?

• Eddie on Mar 25, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Rm101K??? Wow…Just wow…I wouldn’t be surprised if it is around Rm70-75k tho.

• Lol 101k? Fkin kidding me? For this vios hatch? POS

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Mahal-nya…! Berapa biji bebola udara ni…? ESC ada kah…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • babygrand on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Crazy 101K for this yaris??? UMW never learn a lesson previous gen Yaris ????

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
  • lim guan eng on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:55 pm

what!!!! rm101k for the ugly car? wtfffffffffff….toyotanjing!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
  • pathfinder on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:56 pm

homaigad…what are they trying to pull? the specs are simply…yucks…beyond words!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Petrolhead (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:58 pm

RM100k for a hatchback Vios?! Better go for Peugeot 308 1.6 at RM100k or Swift sport at RM102k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • Joker on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:59 pm

OMG!!!! 100k??? OMG!!!
    even 80k is expensive for me….
    UMW gone retard???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 0
  • RM101K? CBU kot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • klata-klata on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:27 pm

This is ASEAN car from Indonesia.
      Look at how much cheaper they’re in Indonesia and Thailand!!

• Joker on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:54 am

The thailand price is cheaper than our tax-free Langkawi / Labuan price… How bout tat huh…

• Omg, too expensive. This is ridiculous! Umw is really idiot and greedy. Better buy Honda Jazz or wait for the upcoming Mazda 2 hatchback.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
  • SamLOL on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:03 pm

guy, this car have it advantages also.

people who bought it can use it to prove that the owner is really RICH !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 33
  • ThePowerOfDream on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:03 pm

I will only pay 70k for this tin!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Matjava on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:04 pm

RM102K … better go for Suzuki Swift Sport 1.6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • freak on a leash on Mar 24, 2014 at 9:51 pm

too many choices at lower price with better offer

Peugeot 208 (my current favourite)
      Ford Fiesta
      VW Polo (my least favourite)

• Jinggo on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:08 pm

sepatutnya harga kereta ni RM63k je, sama macam langkawi punya harga. camsial!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • yihang on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:08 pm

have to agree…is over price,by quite alot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Will have same fate like camry..tak laku punya..but u know what, i think its umw strategy..at end of year give 10k discount, claim on offer yet they still untung kaw2. Unless they give u Rm20k discount to clear stock at end year then thats value buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • T still Pui!! on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:28 pm

But i think that is the time when the new one will launch.I think so.but if there is a discount its still worth it because new one will still be the same……or worst.

• Not nice at all. The most expensive in Japan B segment.
    Better go for Polo 1.6 CKD or wait Mazda 2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Jason on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Fiesta is better than this. Even Suprima. ::facepalm::

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 1
  • mybluegetz on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:13 pm

The craziness of UMW toyota to continue.
    Their legendary tale in money robbery will be passed from generation to generation. We can blame government but this is clearly their play. Way to much.
    The CBU should be price at 80k max. Even with 80k price will stop me from even look at it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Roger Tan on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:23 pm

And yet there are some of us who think the i30 will collect dust in the warehouse

How about this?

• Death on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:16 pm

dafug….. RM101k for yaris which only come with 4 speed auto/5 speed manual? hell no i will not buy it for that price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Crasher on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:18 pm

I love the current gen Yaris, but the price is too much! Idiotic pricing decision, how much potential customers are lost because of that!

• spongewai on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:21 pm

sry, i will choose Honda City V spec or other car to save RM10k

this Yaris price is overprice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Better buy the polo 1.2tsi hatch or swift sport 1.6, or save your money to buy a jazz.

• BoXy (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Theres no way i would think the price tag is realistic. If they announce this on the 1st April which is near, i would definitely think it is only a JOKE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • roti canai (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:25 pm

i don care if it has some trick entertainment system, this car makes the swift sport look like awesome value. Akio Toyoda, if you are there….please see how UMW is screwing your company up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:25 pm

I think it’s good pricing. At this price point Toyota won’t sell too many of these death traps :) I mean, a second generation 2005 Toyota Yaris with some facelifting (removing all the safety features even the 2005 Yaris had), for 100k? That makes no sense whatsoever.

And why do Singaporeans get the proper, new Yaris, and we get this oldtimer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Is UMW completely mad?

101k for THIS? Seriously? Even the Kia Rio, Peugeot 208 are cheaper and way safer!

Heck, only the made in Germany Polo TSi is about this price! And that has a very advanced engine, not a 15 year old engine!

They’ve officially lost it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • David D (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 11:16 am

Mad? Perhaps. Their cars are easily one of the most expensive, tech by tech, spec by spec, and as an overall package. I can still recommend it if they introduced the made in France European Yaris, which is much, much more attractive, joyful to drive, and loaded with good features.

This, is just a decontented Yaris, with an even bulkier price tag. And yes, for this sort of money, i would walk towards one of the left-over Polo TSI’s dealers are still selling, which would only cost a tad higher, yet much zippier and safer.

• ok, this is definitely not gomen fault but umw fault.
    Usually thailand pricing and malaysia pricing is about 10k difference cos tax about the same rate..
    but this one… lol umw dafuq is wrong with u arrongant company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • langit hitam on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Gilo.Indonesian price much more cheaper than Malaysian price.Godai la UMW!

• bootupjoe on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:37 pm

RM1.00 for Kangkung 1 Kilo. Ok
    RM1.00 for Ayam 1 Malaysia. Ok
    RM101,000.00 for Toyota Yaris. WTF UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
  • gdntsk (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:41 pm

What on earth????
    RM 101700 for a B-segment hatchback powered by a 1.5-litre (is it 1NZ-FE?) engine????
    Wonder what the specs list will be like….
    If it really comes with only 2 airbags+ABS+EBD+BA without VSC plus similar interior equipment found in the Vios, then the Fiesta hatch facelift (also 1.5 litre) and Jazz will have the honour of getting more sales.

No wonder due to UMW Toyota Motor’s arrogant attitude, I see no one daring to go near a Camry at a Toyota roadshow in Alpha Angle at Wangsa Maju a week ago.

• hahaha on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:42 pm

crazy.. 101k without VSC and advanced gearbox(CVT or gearbox with more than 4 speeds) hahaha vampire meh suck ppl’s blood =3=

• Roger Tan on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Am I missing something here?

Doesn’t the Vios start at the RM70+k price point?

Is this a much more “premium” variant?

• UMW is PUI on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:48 pm

UMW is really playing a fool..

HAHA! UMW will cause the death of Toyota in Malaysia. All wait and see..

Sooner or later Toyota will be dead.

• samoron on Mar 24, 2014 at 10:24 pm

trust me bro, it will lives on for there are many many people with brains like Sam Loo around.

• EnergyAnalyst on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:49 pm

My fren in Thailand laughed rolling on the floor when I told him the price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Steve Jobs on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:54 pm

RM101,700?Hahahahahahahaha.

• ben yap on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:02 pm

lately u see not many new toyota camry on the road. the same fate will hit the new altis and new vios. this yaris will join the same boat.

I would love to see toyota loses its no. 1 spot. Look at the cerato, the sales is poor compared to the forte.

no worries, they shall eat humble pie one day.

• Amei (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:06 pm

the Ecoboost Fiesta is better than this crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • nabill on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Man dat price brings me waterly eyes….

• Green on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:31 pm

UMW pls give an explanation why didnt import Yaris HB from Thailand 1200cc CVT.

????

If bring in Yaris Thailand.
    We should Expect the same price range as Mitsu Mirage and Attrage.

• thefact on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:35 pm

http://www.toyota.co.uk/new-cars/yaris

check out the real yaris :)

• Yeah, wait UMW bring in ‘the real yaris’ and price it at 150k.
      More LoL to UMW and those who actually buys it!

• Indonesia sell RM 65k , paultan previous review. wow 35 k different . Each buyers will contribute 35k to diamond ring

• Motorhead (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:41 pm

Definitely CBU.. don’t blame toyata alone. . Blame gov.. & thx yo proton.. buy preve lah. Puii..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
    • bacang on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:10 am

tak logik la. other b-segment sedan cheaper than this. new city, jazz, fiesta, rio, cerato and even polo. if CBU from indon or thai, there won’t be any import tax.
      specs yaris ni pun standard vios. 1.5L with 5 M/T and 4 A/T? 4 A/T? in 2014?

• kusochon on Mar 25, 2014 at 11:00 am

cbu from shit countries

• Lenglui on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:42 pm

This was pulled out of market last time… GUANCHAI

• Green on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:42 pm

Why Malaysia Tax is so expensive?
    RM64k @ langkawi?

We are paying RM40k Taxation to own a car?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Motorhead (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Where were you? North pole? Wake up! The previous Yaris was not cheap.. never CKD. Only some rich people bought it. It’s their money anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • thefact on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:48 pm

this is not even the European Yaris. this is made only for third world country.

http://www.toyota.co.uk/new-cars/yaris

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • AVH (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:59 pm

It makes the Vios looks reasonable, in fact personally the Vios is better looking. Nah I’ll wait for the new Honda Jazz to arrive.

• Boy Racer (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 7:00 pm

This price is reasonable, if you can buy two.

• omggg on Mar 24, 2014 at 7:20 pm

tsk tsk toyota gonna lose honda if tis kind of thg keeps on happening.. :P

• guan eng jr. on Mar 24, 2014 at 7:22 pm

why so fussy abt 100k yaris when we hv far superior and cheaper suprima s? Even expats frm developed countries do not understand why msians behave like this.

• skyjuice on Mar 24, 2014 at 7:26 pm

should pressure the gov to stop franchise AP, at least introduce some open market system for the benefit of competition…

• albag on Mar 24, 2014 at 7:42 pm

dont worry.. i believe there will be fools out there think this is a the coolest car with the coolest brand of all time… and buy it…

• Go home Toyota. You are drunk.

• roxas on Mar 24, 2014 at 7:55 pm

toyota = gov, same same like to rob ppl’s money. crazy hell expensive for such a thing…not an excellent car either

• Sigh… only 500 unit of this yaris will be exported from Indonesia Msia, Spore, Brunei…

Its gonna be a rare species here… That’s y expensive lor… :(

http://bisnis.liputan6.com/read/2024033/oto-news-target-produksi-yaris-terbaru-2000-unit-per-bulan

• Government love Korean stuff so much until they dropped all Korean price and raise Japanese price.

We should ban Korean dramas, music.

• WTF…over 100k ..1.5? because of Toyota… who know give a cheap quality material..cause tax too high and everybody pray this name like god..

• UMWIdiot on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:25 pm

which idiot will buy this ugly car?

• YARIS MEMBUNUH on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Memang tak masuk akal… full spec city V RM 90k je… apa alasan yg mendorong org angkat sang Yaris ni… tak larat parking kereta sedan ke… UMW memang bunuh perlanggan.. pergi mampos lah tu… saya rela makan simpan dgn RM50k dlm saham kalau angkat Satria Neo…

• mmaker on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:44 pm

This yaris still using same engine and transmission from the 2006 yaris, so why still sell it at rm100k?

• Typical response on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:45 pm

I can actually predict accurately the way how people would response by relating to the way in which the author write the article… That means the author can partially influence the responses..

• thefact on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:50 pm

better buy a 208 3 door than this…infact even a 100k swift sport is much worthier buy.

• Denaihati on Mar 24, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Honda Jazz Hybrid cheaper about RM10k than this Yaris, i think it should be with 10 years, unlimited mileage warranty…

• Seriously?! 101k for a Vios Hatchback?! There are like dozens of better offerings out there, even the Vios itself is a better buy with more trunk space at a lower price tag.

Go get a dated Jazz at 74k, or a Swift at 80k, or a 208, or whatever else that pleases you, just not a goddamn 100k downsized Vios.

• 50rangers on Mar 24, 2014 at 9:50 pm

Outrageous price, UMW. Now the Vios looks like a bargain.
    This may desperate measure to boost Vios’s sales.
    Or just plain arrogance plus greed.

• UMW’s main goal is to bankrupt the hell out of Toyota in Malaysia.

• samoron on Mar 24, 2014 at 10:21 pm

This got to be a joke.

• Krasher on Mar 24, 2014 at 10:26 pm

Cars for freshgrad in Thai become premium in Malaysia??

• better get a Toyota Myvi Lagi Best..

• dugong on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:09 am

myvi is another overpriced piece of shit. better buy saga or persona

• Brian on Mar 24, 2014 at 10:31 pm

calm down babes..It’s all about tax, tax and tax x.x

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:59 am

It’s not. CBU cars from an ASEAN country are not taxed higher than local cars.

• 1st gen of yaris already priced at rm99k back in 2006 probably.

• kslee on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:40 pm

since toyota previa , gt86 , this yaris etc

whole malaysia knows how greedy this umw is,

might as well boycott and ask them bungkus

• Maseratits on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:10 am

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!
    Oh wait, umw IS serious about the price…

• dugong on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:12 am

So indonesia selling at 64k inclusive of tax while langkawi tax free is also 64k? Hmmm UMW greed know no limit!

• Wat the on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:07 am

the car is only 63K in Langkawi, this shows the Govt really whack alot on Tax duties.. really unless its a CKD, its not worth buying.

• What ??? Still using 4 speed ? OMG !

• Ah mei on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:34 am

Leaving a tombstone (MUBEI) in front of TOYOTA showroom tomorrow…along with a shovel

• Hazumi Concept on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:15 am

The upcoming Mazda 2 hatch will bury this VIOS hatch

• hampeh on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:31 am

Better wait for ford fiesta 1.0L ecoboost next month. More power better handling, supposedly same price?

• I think the price is quite right………. for a limited edition car…..:-)

• 101K!? gonna be kidding me…or they try to make Vios look cheaper and more value buy…

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:04 am

LOL. 101K

Whatever UMW is smoking, I want some of it.

Fully loaded 208@86K.
    Fully loaded Rio@80K
    Fully loaded SuprimaS@80K
    Fully loaded CityV@90K

What is UMW thinking….hahahahahah Thats even more expensive than the fully loaded C segment 1.6 Kia seratus K.

• farghmee on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:08 am

pls offer impressive safety package.

oh wait..how many NCAP stars?

• So the prius C hybrid is cheaper….

• iskhalifah on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:49 am

Can someone organize a PETITION TO REMOVE UMW AS TOYOTA DEALER IN MALAYSIA?? Send it directly to Toyota Japan headquarters.

I will gladly come to sign the petition. Please someone, start the petition!

• It probably thinks its a Lexus Ct200h therefore it can be priced this way.

• ah jib gor on Mar 25, 2014 at 11:56 am

101k?? WTF umw?? for 73k I can get kia rio EX meh.. still got 28k balance $.. got ESC summore.. 6 airbags + EUROPRAN ncap 5 star (not the cincai Asean ncap btw).. if umw can list me 10 advantage of this year is over kia rio, I’m sold.. kia rio also B segment & design is way better than this, lol

• Milo tin cost 101k, bravo

• Dear UMW Toyota on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Please….
    Changing YOUR Slogan into :-

or u have second choice :-
    GET OUT FROM MALAYSIA!!!!

• Dear UMW Toyota on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Please….
    Changing YOUR Slogan into
    MOVING BACKWARD

or u have second choice :-
    GET OUT FROM MALAYSIA!!!!

• scoresport.org on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:12 pm

seriusly. umw is crazy

• Unimaginative Mindless Wimp on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:17 pm

parked alongside some made-in-china cars, this “yaris” would blend in perfectly… seriously, what’s up with those umw bosses? this thing is hideous!!! and you’re trying to flip it for a hundred grand???

#facepalm

• P1 Cleaner Than Your Church P2 on Dec 24, 2016 at 9:58 pm

The car that never launched…