2015 Hyundai Sonata makes its world debut in Korea

2015 hyundai sonata 01

The 2015 Hyundai Sonata has made its world premiere in Korea, ahead of its show debut in New York next month. The automaker says that the seventh-generation LF Sonata represents the practical application of the design and tech first applied on the Hyundai Genesis which debuted last November.

The new D-segmenter is slightly larger than the outgoing YF Sonata, being 35 mm longer and 30 mm wider, with improved cabin space as a result of the gains. Wheelbase is up by 10 mm, from 2,795 mm in the outgoing model to 2,805 mm on this one.

It also displays less showy exterior lines, in line with the ‘Fluidic Sculpture 2.0’ design philosophy path currently taken. Hyundai even has a tagline for the Sonata’s design concept – it’s called Inner Force, a theme that points to the car’s ‘evolved aesthetic and confident design’.

Tech-wise, the increased use of high-tensile steel (51%, as opposed to 21% previously) and new underpinnings translates to the new Sonata having 41% greater torsional strength and 35% greater bending strength than the outgoing model.

2015 hyundai sonata 05

Inside, the new car will offer a more premium outlook, with soft-touch surfaces and improved material choices for trim to be found. Kit will include rear parking sensors, heated leather seats and LED lighting, and new advanced multimedia systems and next-generation infotainment equipment are set to feature.

There’s also a hands-free smart trunk, which you can open without using your hands. Hyundai’s approach is very different from competitors, which require the user to ‘kick’ an area below the rear bumper. Hyundai’s implementation employs a fender-mounted antenna to detect if the smart key is near the rear bumper for longer than three seconds, with an illuminated and audible warning prior to opening of the boot.

Hyundai says this is safer as it allows the user to have both feet firmly on the ground, something which is probably important if your hands are full, not allowing you to use them in the first place. As for safety equipment, the list includes rear-side curtain airbags (up to a total of seven airbags), Blind Spot Detection, Lane Departure Warning System and Advanced Smart Cruise Control.

Engine options for the Korean market are a 165hp and 201 Nm 2.0 litre and a 190 hp and 247 Nm 2.4 litre Theta GDI, with a six-speed automatic transmission on the list. The automaker is targeting global sales of 228,000 units for the car this year, with sales outside of Korea due to begin in the second half of 2014.

2012-2014 Hyundai Sonata YF facelift

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jeZytQgfhF0
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eOIo1dCItYY
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=os2hKh1OJUY
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ngdhqq9oSPg

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Good job Hyundai!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 12
    • Pinky on Mar 24, 2014 at 3:22 pm

This is nice! Really like the front grill! Would be nicer if the butt is slightly sexier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
      • Toyota King of RV on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:20 pm

New Honda Accord and upcoming Nissan Teana better than this unreliable junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 111
        • Hyundai De La Junk (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Nowadays, every other car on our Malaysian roads are Koreans. The Koreans took just 15 years what Toyota and Honda took 50 years to capture the market.

No wonder why Toyota and Honda in Malaysia is takut.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 14
          • Same Lor on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:07 pm

There are more Proton than Kimchi on the road. Proton took 22 years to capture entire Malaysia market.

So… Proton a better car??

There are more BMW than Mercedes on the road, so BMW better than Mercedes?

Kimchi can only play on the outlook, it is in fact the easiest thing to do (Proton can’t even do good in outlook, thus it is the J class).

Wait 5 years from now then you see the difference between kimchi and sushi cars. Build quality, spare part price, resale value… everything.

Sushi still better car, else the salesman won’t be so busy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 69
          • Toyota King of RV on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Toyota and Honda takut apa?Kiajunk and Hyundiejunk is a failure in Malaysia!!New Accord and just-launched City will totally wipe out all the sales of these koria junk car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 50
          • Toyota King of RV on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:34 pm

You see Elantra and sonata sales so poor yet they want to launch the i30 and i40..totally retard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 35
          • Moores on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:54 pm

People buy Korean cars because that’s all they can afford for the specs they thrown in. In another word, it mean CHEAP. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 50
          • Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:07 am

Aiyoo, this Toyota King of RV is so sad. So obvious he is a Toyota salesman scared out of his wits because Toyota sales are so bad. I have Japanese, German and Hyundai cars at home. the Hyundai cars give no problem. I got 2 Hyundais, one 12 years old, and another 6 years old. So far, the 12 year old car works perfect. So much for the Toyota salesman theory that after 5 years got problem.

Your Toyota sales are bad because Malaysians are fed up with Toyota giving them only 2 airbags and no VSC. All over the world, Vios, Altis and Camry got VSC and far more airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
          • Same Lor (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Ok, we Toyota salesman admit defeat. We tried to discredit the Koreans online but it has failed. Just to inform everybody, we are mere salesman. We have tried telling UMW to increase the spec of the Camry, Altis and Vios but they don’t listen to us. So, what can we, mere salesman do?

We apologize to Hyundai Malaysia. Lets all start afresh with the same level playing field from now on!

• ToyoTahi on Mar 25, 2014 at 8:06 am

Shit (Camry) vs Diamond(New Sonata)

The smarties still can understand why the SHIT sell more than Diamond.

Sorry guys, I simply hate this SHIT. What a dinosour design. Ahh.. I called it SHIT.

• Grandeur on Apr 17, 2014 at 12:46 am

Accord is a piece of trash. RUbbish car! Kimchi much more better this Honda trash now

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:37 pm

I have to admit this is a real beauty. I swallow my previous negative comments about Hyundai in shame. No wonder why Hyundai is the 4th largest volume in sales in the whole world.

Our Toyota and Honda is bound to lose a bigger market share now. Malaysians are fed up with T and H for taking their lives for granted and giving low safety spec equipment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 10
        • what happened to the so called fluidic design language that hyundai was adopting? throwing away everything and copying mazda 6 now?

the design is blatant copy of mazda 6. it’s surprising so few people noticed that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 29
          • Please don’t insult Mazda. This car is no where near.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
          • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:24 am

The thing this car and the Mazda 6 have in common is 4 wheels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
          • Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:08 am

Since when you became designer? It does not look like Mazda at all. It looks like the old Sonata. So, Hyundai was the original designers cause the Sonata is so much older. Cannot think is it?

• Same Lor on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:12 pm

I have no worry about T, H and all other Japanese cars.

Always got people talked about T/H/N/M/S sales drop everyday every month every year. But does it ever happened?

I don’t see it from my records. Bonus still gao here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • Toyota King of RV on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Sushi cars will forever better than these shit kimchi unreliable junk.You see the new City so popular and so many orders until even the test drive unit also not available.Haha Cerato and Elantra can bungkus liao….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
          • Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:14 am

Sam Lor and Toyota King of RV are the same person. So scared of dropping sales. Camry nobody is touching cause it is really King of RV (depreciation). Everybody knows, 2013 Toyota Camry 2.5 is now sold for RM130k, down from RM180k. No other Japanese car can jatuh RM50 in less than one year!

Altis nobody buying cause the one with VSC is RM139k. People rather buy an Elanta for 90K which is the largest C segment car around, super economical engine and comes with VSC. Don’t believe, have you ever seen the new Altis on the road despite launching 6 months ago??

Vios is dead. Vios is beaten by the City. Nobody is going to touch the Vios. That is clear cut. No need analysis or argument.

So that is why the Toyota salesman running scared. Even Sam Loo join Hyundai Sime Darby knowing that the Toyota ship is slowly sinking!

• Stance on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Don’t you feel silly pretend to be someone else?

• Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:07 am

Hyundai just needed 15 years to capture Malaysian buyers. Toyota took 50 years to do the same. In 10 years time, Hyundai might even overtake Toyota.

Toyota globally No 1. Hyundai globally No 4. But Hyundai is such a young company compared to Toyota. And yet, they can rise so fast to No 4 with nearly 10 million sales last year alone.

This clearly shows, in 10 years time, Toyota will fade off.

In Malaysia, Malaysians are aware. Safety is No 1. When Hyundai is giving so many more airbags and Camry is giving 2 airbags, which is better.

It is better to come out with a few scratches in an accident with many airbags protecting you than come out cacat in a Camry

• Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:49 pm

2014 Ford Mondeo ripped off … copy cat will alway be copy cat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
      • Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:51 am

Does not look like Mondeo at all. Looks like the old Sonata. And the old Sonata came out with the design 7 years ago.

• Excellent exterior!

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Mar 25, 2014 at 2:03 pm

Ligh color interior with wood trim – How Uncle..lol

Ford front Design + Toyota Interior + Nissan NGL Tail lamp.. Rojak Copy King..

• roti canai (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 3:08 pm

subaru called, they want their grille back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 12
  • Kia sales man on Mar 24, 2014 at 3:09 pm

It’s a good car with much improvement. However Sime Darby will screw this up and offer lesser spec with irrational high price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • Yeah, SD will give top-of-range 2 air-bags like Santa Fe. Who wanna bet?

• gdntsk (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Inokom Sonata???? NO PLEASE!!!!
        I really hope Inokom doesn’t CKD the LF

• uncle car interior

optima rear

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
  • They must have really studied the interiors of BMWs and the old Kia K5 rear lights.

• David on Mar 24, 2014 at 3:25 pm

The s koreans are truly brilliant. Very nice new development. I know this has got nothing to do with Proton, but i cant help but compare: The S Koreans build cars, we build cars, why are we nowhere as excellent even though we have the experience and money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
    • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Koreans were forced by their government to buy big expensive cars from Korean companies… in Malaysia if you spend a bit more you can go for a non Malaysian car, in Korea that wasn’t possible until a couple of years ago, IINM. They were much more protective than the Malaysian government, which only wants to earn more and puts high taxes on Proton and Perodua too.

So the Koreans had a guaranteed market for D segment and above cars, that didn’t exist for Proton so they never gained experience there. Also Proton has to be made cheap to produce. They have to undercut same size competitors by a large margin, while for the Koreans that is not necessary. Being a bit cheaper than the competition is enough. When there is more money to develop and build a car obviously the quality can be better too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • But David, we don’t have the talent, we chased them all away, remember?

• A good car company stresses on having top-class designers and engineers. Those are the necessary qualities for any car manufacturer to be able to excel. Does proton have those qualities, other than the top-class hardware like Tanjung Malim plant? Do they not know that softwares are equally as important as hardwares? Who are the top designers and engineers in Proton?

• And what is left is a dummy like you.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:14 pm

we bash our made car oni..korean bash n buy korean made car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Rinnegan on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:18 pm

@David, you just mentioned the clues to your question. Experience, Proton have, sadly they are not willing to learn from it. Money, this is what I think Proton’s main Archilles Heel.

• dokdo on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:38 pm

I have been staying in Korea for 7 years.. Koreans themselves have been complaining the quality and expensive price of Hyundai and Kia. The only reason they buy Korean made car is because it is easy for them to get AS (after service).

My colleagues prefer samsung renault sm7 and malibu (diesel) and they are happy with their choices because my boss 2013 Grandeur broke down after one month out from the factory.

• quadjet on Mar 25, 2014 at 7:59 pm

I totally agree with you as a Korean.
        At least for domestic version of hyundais are simply the lowest quality junks with highest price tags compared to any other market.

• Vision on Mar 24, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Handsome!

• alldisc on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:32 pm

am i the only one who thinks that current sonata still looks better than this new one?

the same goes to honda’s civic FD – still better looking than the replacement model.

• Yours Faithfully (YF) on Mar 24, 2014 at 7:02 pm

I totally agree. The old one looks much better. This new one just dull n boring. The old one just looks sleek, smooth and just has charisma.

• It looks better than camry

• pathfinder on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:59 pm

errgghh…don’t even bother to compare with that overprice junk please…

• Yours Faithfully (YF) on Mar 24, 2014 at 3:49 pm

This is my personal opinion…
    1. Exterior : The current YF Model in Malaysia is better.
    2. Interior : This new model looks better provided Sime Darby don’t short change the Malaysians.

As a side note, it looks like they did a rush job on the design. Rear does looks a little similar to sister K5.

just my thoughts….

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:00 pm

What a huge improvement on the interior. If the chosen materials are not too cheap it should be a nice place to be in.

• yeah, cant believe im saying this, but the interior feels very premium. as good as a conti
      dayyum

• DKBOSS on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Want to see more on the interior and also exterior of the new 2015 sonata car :-
    http://www.hyundai.com/kr/showroom.do?carCd1=RD020#a

But its all in Korean language :)

• CopyCat on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:03 pm

There are so many retarded baboon in facebook commented that this new Sonata copy Mazda 6 or whatsoever copy cat stuff, please grow up or u will be slapped by buaya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Ur eye blind by coconut or what ? Cleary copy cat of 2014 Ford Mondeo/Focus/Fiesta front.

Beidge colour interior + Wood .. lol where r those Camry basher – uncle car lah, old fashion lah..now your beloved Sonata is follwing Uncle Camry footstep…muahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • CopyCat, it’s simple. When people copy, we said they copy. U expect us to tell a lie and praise plagiarism is it? brains in between your bollocks.

• Tony hawk on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:52 am

Sometimes you step back to leap forward, this car reverse straight into the twilight zone/oblivion

• Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:55 am

Most people who say it is a copy are retarded. They think they are now designers. So clever to talk. Keyboard warriors. Hyundai has never copied any other car time immemorial. You think they are as dumb as you? Of course they know they will be sued if they copy. And Koreans ar elike the Japanese, oriental blood, very clever.

• MG250 on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Now Hyundai also come out with Uncle designed car..

• Lane Tamer on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:09 pm

When, when will Proton be at par with Hyundai??? Another 30 freaking years???

• trololol on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:17 pm

30 years? you must be kidding me. with the “tak apa” attitude, at least another 120 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • very sad that Hyundai and Ford is with sime darby. Bad service, few service centres and overpriced cars!!!

• I don’t know…but this new design looks and feel kinda boring and too matured. I like the new mazda 6 better.

• frenzyaustin on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Nice looking, but boring, like the Honda Accord. If I’m going for this design, I might go for the new Subaru Liberty. Looks the same but Subaru should drive better.

• Toyota King of RV on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:40 pm

Lousy junk sonata cannot compare to the mighty Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
      • Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:41 am

That is why the Accord RV plunged after the Proton Accord came about. All Accord customers crying. Camry RV also so bad. One can get a 1 year aold 2013 Camry 2.0G for RM110k and a 2013 Camry 2.5 for 130k.

2.0 can lose 40k and 2.5 can lose 50k in just one year!

• Sam loo niece on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Good in picture only… Suffer forever ma! Poor RV, poor aftersales service, i call it EXPENSIVE COFFIN (guancai)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Thomas crown on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Went to korea for a course, everybody there is bragging about ae86, brz- then hop onto tokyo, they brag about porsche, m3,m5 — went to malaysia – satria neo gti circa 1996 – WHAT

• Cameron Poe on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Only knew how to condemn. No wonder we are left behind

• thgh (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Let’s see how many dumb people are they in this forum. Copying Mazda 6? You got crazy?

http://s2.paultan.org/image/2014/03/2015-hyundai-sonata-02.jpg

http://image.motortrend.com/f/roadtests/sedans/1208_2014_mazda6_first_look/39266081/2014-Mazda6-front-view.jpg

Ok, some lines were similar, I admit, but the feel that both cars portray is totally different. Mazda is more sporty and fluidic while the Hyundai is more elegent with sharper edges. Not to mention how it managed to keep some lines from the YF.

http://www.blogcdn.com/www.autoblog.com/media/2010/10/2011hyundaisonata2.0t—06.jpg

• Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:16 am

So many dumb people in this forum. This looks like the Sonata and Sonata came out many years ago. So how to copy Mazda?

• Josh Ling on Mar 24, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Front is really good, i like the cabin too and the side too. The rear…..not so much, too similar to the facelifted Optima K5 and new Mondeo / Fusion.

• EnergyAnalyst on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:12 pm

“Out you go , you stupid nonsense FLUIDIC design”, say Peter Schreyer

• EnergyAnalyst on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Finally K5 have a cousin that resemble it.

• Nabill on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Looks nice and grand…bt so much diff in torsional regidity means either curent gen is very flexy or its jus marketing talk….usually its like 10 or 15% between generations not 50% improvement

• AVH (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:54 pm

I am never like even amongst my peers on my stand on Hyundai’s fluidic design. Beside its European offering(the I-series, i30 and i40) as well as the Grandeur and Santa Fe, that’s not a car in Hyundais line up that I do not find….weird.

This car along with the new genesis has tone things down…..a little too much. There’s nothing particularly striking like the old to stand out. It’s gone more Toyota Camry than Mazda 6 in terms of styling direction. The interior seems to suffer the brunt of this. But do I like it? I do prefer it over the old car that’s for sure but I wonder hyundai has played it too safe? Personally(and now I am going to get witch-hunt for this) I felt its way to dull over the predecessor and opted the route used by T/H/N. Maybe beige is a key to success, not many people I asked love the overly dramatic fluidic design.

• YER.
    Disgusting.

You all Malaysian people are just as useless as Koreans, only know how to sing Korean song.

Even Proton Accord better than this, although i still prefer Toyota Crown Premium.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • KORpengKIA on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:27 pm

Outlook Still can’t beat unbeatable,undefeatable Kia K5!

• Denaihati on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:52 pm

i also think existing model looks better, especially front, smooth curve. but new model have very impressive body/structure strength.

• Forgive me, I can’t stop thinking abt Subaru when saw this lol

• aussieguy on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:20 am

It looks like copy of the current KIA Optima

• DrCooper on Mar 25, 2014 at 6:54 am

What!! still stick with your old 6 speed gearbox…come one and give us your Equus 8 speeders !

• CubeAxe on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:58 am

this is really nice looking… finaly a Hyundai that caught my eyes… even thou it have some Mazda shadown but good job Hyundai! I like the interior as well as the front grill….

• WELL DONE!!

• KoreanCAR on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:39 am

Those who say korean car no people buy~ pls go check the 2013 top best selling car ~~ and the total sales of Korean car

• niaulong on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:58 pm

I Admitted Hyundai cars are Gorgeous trough outlook.
    But really Feel Passionless when sitting inside the cars which still very Korean.

Cousin KIA have Angmo Designer who’s can creates more Premium & luxury feel in & Out although they lose Hyundai about the Performance due the GDI turbo.

• This look like a fine tuned car. After introduce euro touch, this can should be able to make its name out loud.

• I wonder what is the different between LF Sonata and YF Sonata?