Mercedes-Benz CLA 200 on display at Suria KLCC

mercedes cla 200 01

The Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class is due to be launched very soon, and if you want to check out the Malaysian-spec CLA 200, you can head to the Petronas Malaysian Grand Prix Showcase at the Suria KLCC concourse.

The equipment level looks the same as previous sightings of the CLA 200 – Urban equipment line, a dual-tailpipe exhaust system, Night package, black wing mirror caps, high-gloss waistline trim strip, plus two-tone twin-spoke 18-inch alloy wheels wrapped with 225/40 tyres.

mercedes cla 200 02

The CLA 200 shares the same powertrain as the A 200 – a 1.6 litre turbo four-cylinder that feeds 156 hp and 250 Nm of torque to the front wheels through a 7G-DCT dual-clutch gearbox.

The CLA is based on Mercedes-Benz’s new front-wheel drive platform, which also underpins the A-Class, B-Class, and GLA-Class. With the CLA launching soon and the A and B already here, the GLA will be next.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sam Dol on Mar 24, 2014 at 10:51 am

Should be priced slightly above A class… Then I dont know why ppl should buy VW CC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • CC is much bigger. CLA is based on the A-/B-class (width=1777mm, lenght=4630mm) while the CC is based on the Passat (width=1855mm, lenght=4802mm).

• blavktint on Mar 26, 2014 at 11:48 am

Are u stupid or what…passat cc is way better than this..incomparable..cla is somewhat of low spec of merc…its even a FF layout while most high spec merc using FR layout.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Ys Yeo on Mar 24, 2014 at 10:52 am

this is a nice design model!
    can’t wait for it launch!
    Btw, is the S-Class also gonna launched soon?=D

• David on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:02 am

Seriously stylish.

• bluebird on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:16 am

Price should be lower than entry level C-Class.
    Sort of between A-Class and C-Class price.
    Better book early.

• Josh Ling on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:21 am

i am glad malaysia is getting the “normal looking” CLA instead of the sports variant. No problem with the AMG model, I like it by the way, but somehow I feel like the sports variant is a bit overdone on the exterior look. I still prefer the “normal look” of CLA, like this CLA 200.

• Vision on Mar 24, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Price it at 210K and say byebye to VW Passat and BMW 316

• bluebird on Mar 24, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Say goodbye to CC you mean? Passat is only 150k after discount

• btw, CC is C Class/ 3 series size…..while this a CLA is a compact sedan

Anyway, if the price it at 210k…a 316@200k which is RWD is a much bttr car

• i want A250!!

• James on Mar 24, 2014 at 1:34 pm

My Honda TYPE-R FD2R can smoke this and all of your Preve & Suprima S.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 24
    • HHAHAAHAHAHA~Continue enjoy your ride then :)

• shame_Loo on Mar 24, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Is “smoke-ing” other cars so important? You can have a junk with powerful engine, but then what’s the point? A good car is simply more than just can smoke others or not. Comfort, safety, luxury, handling, performance and many other factors. A kancil turbo can smoke many others too. Grow up kid!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 22
    • carazy on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:02 pm

better check ur engine bro, if smoke came out of ur car, its sign of a bad omens

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Bob_B78 on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Y not say ur car can smoke cars like renault megane rs or golf R?
      These car are in the same category as ur civic.
      Oh ya now i know why,
      your car is slower compared to them. So you choose compare cars that whose performance is way lesser.
      By this way, you will always win..
      Pathetic….

• Steve Jobs on Mar 24, 2014 at 1:36 pm

CLA-C-E-S (Sedans)

CLA-C-E-CLS-CL-SLS (Coupes)

GLK-M-GL-G-E (SUV /Wagons)

E-SLK-SL-SLS (Convertibles /Roadster)

Fuhh.

• Here comes the Mercedes Vios.
    i wun GLA!

• Khairuddin on Mar 24, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Is this CBU or CKD? What’s the price tag?

• Khairuddin on Mar 24, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Thanks. How about the price tag? Mercy should consider an affordable price tag for the youngsters! That’s the target market, the looks that CLA 200 has.

• Anyone knows which month is it gonna be launch?
    Pricing at RM220k? RM240k?

• seriously this is a very very hot chick…. golf gti, CC, BMW 1 series, 2 series, volvo V4, V5, Audi A1, Mini couper, and all other 180k~240k cars are in big trouble….

• Im gonna buy this shit..gojes

• Sales guy from Merc said price will b RM235k… hmmm.. 316i is RM210k.. coming soon new A3 Sedan/Saloon maybe less than RM200k.. hmmm…

• hondaman on Mar 24, 2014 at 9:13 pm

this is a CBU laa bro, if it is CKD, price will be about 10k to 15k cheaper.

• I guess the new C Class gonna b around RM280k..

• syok kalau bawak awek nie

• share_info on Mar 25, 2014 at 8:57 am

Info from SA.

W205 C200 (CBU) Est price RM27xk
    W205 C200 (CKD) Est Price RM25xk
    CLA C200 (CBU) Est Price RM23xk