SPIED: Hyundai i30 on trailer, launching soon?

hyundai-i30-spied-trailer-msia-11

Reader AVH has very kindly sent in a photo of the second-gen Hyundai i30 on a trailer – a strong indication that the five-door hatch is finally going to launch in Malaysia.

We say “finally” because this GD generation isn’t exactly new, having made its global debut in Frankfurt in 2011. Conceived in Europe, the C-segmenter (and its Kia cee’d sibling) goes up against the likes of the VW Golf, Ford Focus, Honda Civic hatch and Toyota Auris, while being sold in the US as the Elantra GT. There are also three-door hatch and estate bodystyles.

You saw the car at KLIMS13 – the display unit had a 145 PS/175 Nm 1.8 litre Nu MPI engine and a six-speed auto. A 2.0 litre GDI engine (same as the i40‘s) is available elsewhere – whether that would be introduced here remains to be seen.

Kit should include a panoramic glass roof, smart welcome system, Flex Steer, a hidden reverse camera, electric parking brake and leather seats, amongst others. Oh, six airbags and ESP, of course.

The first-gen Hyundai i30 didn’t exactly fly off the shelves after its launch in Malaysia in 2009; it’s up to this new baby to change things.

Hyundai i30 previewed at KLIMS13

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Think Again.... on Mar 24, 2014 at 10:37 am

Saw this i30 in one of the Penang Hyundai Showroom, was told it would price at RM120-130K…. Even the SR sighing of another hard to sell model from Hyundai..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • Hyundai De La Junk on Mar 24, 2014 at 10:44 am

Repeating same fate as previous i30 which collecting dust in warehouse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • Besi Buruk (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:20 am

Habis la Suprima S….even more car buyers will ignore it and buy better hatch such as this new Hyundai…Kesian Proton… :-(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 35
    • 4G63T DSM on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:44 am

Sime Darby’s greed is showing.

After decontenting thier current models, and jacking up the price, it remains to be seen how they are going to move this at 120-130K. This is madness.

Lets see how much the new 308 will be priced at. Even the current 308 is now being “offered” likely to clear stock.

The 1.8 Nu is kind of the unloved middle child. Not powerful enough to match the other bigger brother 2.0L and not small enough to take advantage of the 1.6L road tax rate, while being insignificant in terms of fuel consumption to either one.

If anything they should have brought in the 1.6 Turbo GDI if they are going to sell that this near the price bracket.

I’m sure you can find many many very very cheap VW Golf TSIs in the 2nd hand market now if one needs a euro hatch. :p sorry to VW owners, couldn’t help it….some VW rep was damn lansi when I was looking at a TSI before the shit hit the fan.

• gdntsk (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Actually, the i30’s primary gasoline engine offered is the Nu 1.8 and not the Nu 2.0. Same goes for the Elantra. The facelifted Elantra MD is offered with a Nu 2.0 only in the Middle East (according to Hyundai Motor’s product video for the facelifted Elantra MD that is available on their official YouTube channel).
        If the Nu 1.8 engine in the Elantra isn’t powerful, do you think it would have won the 2012 North American Car Of The Year award?
        Likewise, if the i30 is the “unloved middle child”, would the i30 have been shortlisted as one of the finalists for the 2013 European Car Of The Year too??

• Bataman on Mar 24, 2014 at 1:32 pm

120-130K????? What Madness is this??? I can buy Cerato, Mazda 3(top up 10k) and a whole bunch of other better cars for this price!!!!

• It not going to success unlike Proton GSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • anonHead on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:22 am

should be around RM90k++..

• Maserati on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:27 am

No doubt that this car will not sell.

The problem is Hyundai cars cannot command a selling price above 100k. Anything hyundai car above 100k wont sell well.

Because hyundai cars are crap to drive . No matter how much kit they put in, it wont hide the fact that the car itself is nowhr as nice to drive than Any Jap car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
  • mmaker on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:34 am

u want elantra hatchback? buy i30

• alldisc on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:37 pm

previous i30 was basically a Kia Cee’d underneath it (the previos model).

is it the same case now?

• taiko on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:55 am

80-90k is ok.below 80k i don’t think so bcoz inspura and saprima will absolutely hard 2 sell.trust me the price is 100k and above.CHEERS.

• Wilson on Mar 24, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Manual top spec maybe? If it is then it will be a great car!!

• Absolute Rider on Mar 24, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Sorry off topic. Is Kia Cee’d available in Malaysia. Just like to know as it is same segment as Hyundai i30. Thank you. Browse the Naza Kia web site but couldn’t find it.

• AVH (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Thanks Paultan for updating it!
    Hope it didn’t trouble you guys.

• gdntsk (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Where did you take the photos?

• AVH (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Termerloh R&R stop on the east coast highway. Should have taken a pic of the interior but the driver was getting in the cab already.

• sutheshkumar on Mar 24, 2014 at 2:02 pm

I am kinda distracted with the i40’s new wheel design lol. Looks certainly better than the current ones.

Anyways, I was informed about the i10 in KLIMS and its availability somewhere around march or april. Both 1.6 and 1.8 will be sold from what I have been told and it will come with 7 airbags.

• Absolute Rider on Mar 24, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Hyundai i30 might be one of the Suprima S greatest competitors in hatchback segment. Generally, Hyundai i30 wins all against Suprima S from the design, quality to the package; accept the rear suspension setup the Hyundai i30 uses torsion beam compared to Suprima S multi link suspension. Anyway, driving dynamics for Suprima S is not totally the greatest even though it carries Lotus badge. There are still spaces for improvements. Interior wise, Hyundai i30 comes with good designs compared to Suprima S. The fit and finish too, even though it is not top notch.
    I think Proton designers and all related personnel really have to learn from Hyundai and Kia as their recent models really changed a lot compared to previous generations, of course the current Hyundai and Kia models not actually designed by Korean.
    Designs, features, technologies and safety feature really a big jump for Hyundai and Kia. Improvements can be found in every models and generations. About safety, Proton shouldn’t stick to their current offer. Improvements mean more safety equipment to be offered and more Hot Press Foaming (HPF) steel has to be used. Some car manufacturers already increase HPF more than 50% in the car structure to make the car lighter but stronger. Proton Preve and Suprima S only have 12 areas using HPF and yet the cars are getting heavier.
    After the launched of Suprima S, I really disappointed with Proton as they took too long time to come out half-baked Suprima S as most of the parts are from Preve. Those so called bad quality interior from Preve still carried into Suprima S although Proton chairman insists Suprima S as a totally brand new model for the new hatchback C segment. Designers designed something which is not functional such as rear bumper with no functional diffuser and rear light guide which is so thin, makes it just a feature than functionality. Technical side choosing bad product such as 7” screen ICE with navigation which comes with poor display quality, very old Android OS and with some bugs. The sound systems with 4 speakers and 2 twitter not as good as company like Clarion can offer or at least get higher end products. Smart Info Display (SID) still using red backlit lights really can be very ignorant as it can be confused as warning lights and the warning lights can sometimes to be ignored by drives as it thought it is just a normal lights. All this have to be changed soon! No more carry it to facelift Preve and Suprima S. Does Proton know about blue or black backlit colour? The center console light colour for ESP, front passenger airbag etc. too. Proton can use green if it is on, yellow or red if it is off mode!
    Interior quality and fit and finish are the biggest problem in Proton cars even until today. For example, the gap between the A pillar panel and the top part of dashboard. Gaps between front side door and dashboard and there is no smooth connections between each panel such as silver part of the side door not in line with the one on the dashboard. There is no silver part for rear door panel. The fit and finish center console also pretty bad and the feel of the button when being press. The gear shift just like not fix properly.
    Proton, please learn from Japanese including Korean’s Hyundai and Kia, at least.

• fatchicken on Mar 24, 2014 at 3:34 pm

KIA equivalent model is better than hyundai i30?

• gdntsk (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:20 pm

If you think Hyundai cars have too many weaknesses that doesn’t make them fit to be sold at high prices against your liking, think again. All cars have their own plus points and minus points. And it’s up to the car buyer to decide which set of wheels is the best choice in terms of value for money.

Frankly, in my honest opinion, price:specs (price to spec ratio) for Toyota cars in Malaysia is worse than that for Hyundai cars in Malaysia (except Elantra, i10 and Santa Fe. and BTW, Veloster is actually more of a coupe rather than a hatchback)

Just my 2 sen :)

• dugong on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:18 am

what about i20? that will have better potential

• cutester on Mar 25, 2014 at 2:11 am

Where is ix20??

• Must be sold around 75-85k, if not can tapau.