Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GTE to replace GT, April debut

Upgraded-Lancer-2.0-GT

Some news about the Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT, which was launched here in August 2007 and last given an update in 2012 – reader Maran has sent in info on a new variant called the 2.0 GTE, which Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia is scheduled to launch on April 17. A tip of the hat to you, sir.

The GTE will replace the 2.0 GT (as seen above) in the model line-up, but it’s essentially a continuation of the theme. Much of what’s already found on the existing car – which was facelifted in 2009 – continues on, from the cruise control and 6.1-inch touchscreen with rear view display to the leather seats. The GTE adds a bit of new kit, of course, with a powered tilt/slide sunroof heading the list.

mitsubishi-lancer-gte-2014-1

The key fob has also been changed, and now offers full keyless entry/tailgate operation. Elsewhere, additional safety items come in the form of Isofix mounts and a driver’s knee airbag, adding on to the dual (driver and front passenger) bags found on the GT. The car also gets a new ‘GTE’ emblem to differentiate it from the old car.

Presumably, no changes to the drivetrain and mechanicals – the Lancer is powered by the familiar 150 PS and 197 Nm 4B11 2.0 litre mill, paired with a six-step Invecs-III CVT gearbox. Three colours are listed for the 2.0 GTE, these being Black Mica, Red Metallic and White Solid, the same shades as available now for the GT. The GT is priced at RM125,467 on-the-road, without insurance – we’ll find out whether the GTE adds on to this when the time comes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Datuk on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:01 pm

no curtain airbags? so the proton inspira also will have the update in future?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Petrolhead (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:02 pm

Basically what Mitsubishi Malaysia did was they took the unsellable Lancers GT and add in some kits then sell it out again hopefully to clear some stocks sitting in the warehouse since the launch of the Inspira

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 5
      • My Name on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:57 am

After screwing the previous lancer owners big time by allowing potong to rebatch the lancer, now they think the GTE is gonna improve the sales of the lancer? I highly doubt that unless they price it slightly above the inspira. Cant imagine anyone willing to pay for this GTE with the premium “Japanese” price.

Such lose lose solution for both potong and mitsubullshit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
      • Terence Lim on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:40 am

I SUPERLIKE this comment. I’m a Lancer owner and you are spot on! Petrolhead, you’re my new best friend ;)

• Nenek (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Inspira better not install the sunroof….nanti sure leaking when raining

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • Amei (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Just waiting for the fanboys to say Inspira tapau this lancer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
  • ben yap on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:06 pm

whether it’s GTE, GTR or GTX… the sales will not help. people will still buy the inspira.

make a new model for heaven’s sake!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 2
  • EnergyAnalyst on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Boy they have found a solution for the old stock of slow moving proton inspira—rebadge it back to Mitsubishi Lancer?!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 28
  • nabill on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:27 pm

But why???

• This car was way back a rival to last gen altis and FD Civic. Thats was back at 2006? 07?

What on earth are Mitsu trying to pull here?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
    • Unforgiven on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:37 am

If Proton is Not around, do you think Mitsu will sell a 2007 technology to Malaysia? The global world is so competitive, not possible to do it else where except for Bolehland. This is very sad only.

Remove PROTON and remove AP, you’ll definitely be driving full spec cars with 7 airbags etc for the price you are paying now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 22
  • Lenglui on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Then there will be inspira convert to gte…calling bodykit supplier in Sunway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Mitsu on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Who with a sane mind would purchase one of these?

Remember what Mitsubishi did???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Motorhead (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Buy Inspira & change the bodykit. It the same damn thing. Still the same power train.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • Mick p on Oct 28, 2022 at 8:48 pm

Not the same unless you’ve driven any proton with 4G92P and a Proton with Mitsubishi 4G92 back in the good o’ days… there’s a difference. Now proton is back with inspira , price gap is a big steal.

• hahaha on Mar 24, 2014 at 7:07 pm

aiya C-segment car go for kia cerato lah.. lancer RV oso nt really good same to cerato.. say so many for wat? nt happy with inspira rebadge bla bla bla then dun buy lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 26
  • yeoh jy on Mar 24, 2014 at 7:35 pm

it’s quite good, but still sad is side mirror not come with turn signal, front hood still can see the wiper spray nozzle, small daytime running light, still no projector headlamp

• Why waste time ? U think u bringing in GTO

• Eat the dust, Korean !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 33
  • roxas on Mar 24, 2014 at 7:56 pm

then the yaris hatchback owner will think they are so rich and say , hey my car is almost the price of c-segment. nose pointing high dy.

• Yap Tai Wai on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Lack of projector hid head lamp with auto leveling

• FarizY (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:17 pm

I believe Lancer is already due for a replacement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • if you guys remembered, mitsubishi have joined the renault nissan alliance. So, all future c and D segment will be based on renault models. Guess this is to clear off the stock before the new lancer/fluence is introduced.

• freak on a leash on Mar 24, 2014 at 9:44 pm

Mitsubishi is desperate to offload their stock.

I rather get the 408 Turbo forpower, space and European handling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • For sure a lot of bash linked to Inspira…. Plus this model already in the market for 7 years… Good luck

• Lotus on Mar 24, 2014 at 10:17 pm

without Lotus handling? failure piece la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Inspirasi on Mar 24, 2014 at 10:27 pm

better buy inspira la.. more worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • Inspira 1.8m good fc.good handling and cheap. So until such time till we can get cheaper foreign makes, I will stick to this type of arrangement. Although some may say that inspira is a lancer wannabe or a pretender……….when it comes to value for money……..who gives a damn what others esp. proton bashers say.

• Matrix on Sep 05, 2014 at 11:39 am

@Bog: Exaclty! Idiots keeps bashing Inspira..while driving their junk Mawi and Vios…Lol.

My Inspira already more than 3 years old…superb car, no problems, super comfortable and all the Dugongs quickly go the slow lane when they see me coming…and I wasnt even trying anything…haha.
        Basically this is the only foreign Cseg car minus the insane tax…Smart guys gets it…..dumb guys keep bashing and whining!!!

• roti canai (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 10:47 pm

only way this car can sell anymore is if they sell the evo at 120k.

• ae101 on Mar 24, 2014 at 10:50 pm

Why la they dint bring in the ralliart version

• Fuel Cell Phone on Mar 24, 2014 at 10:51 pm

hmm… GTExpiring…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Samad Jain on Mar 24, 2014 at 10:57 pm

the car is outdated in design…..but still selling at full price?

• sambalbabi on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:14 pm

sigh. was hoping to have a manual gbox variant. drove one in brunei and man, it was awesome.

• kslee on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:47 pm

this car sale is dead after inspira was on sales.

was looking forward for increase in performance ,
    but none , just some extra accessories……

i am disappointed , at least have manual transmission but still none .

what la , sau pei pls

• MH370 on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:53 pm

Let’s take a time-out about car talks for now.
    Please send out our condolences to the MH370 passengers’ & crews’ families. Hope the missing crews & passengers will RIP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • James on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:07 am

inspira and lancer all over my neighborhood, it’s so boring….ZZZZzzzzzz…….

• Norman on Mar 25, 2014 at 2:44 am

Inspira or Lancer still MMC earn..Dont forget MMC is the one built cbu for Proton with minor cosmetic change only..For a 2.0 125k still a good buy…Quality JDM unlike some made in Thailand Japanese cars..

• Josh Ling on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:53 am

Heard this car is gonna go below 120k mark this time. if so with additional kits and features, and CBU from Japan to boot, i think it’s a rather good buy, that is if you don’t mind the age of the car already.

• theanswer on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:04 am

if add esp should be nice. or else same like inspira.

• noname on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:40 am

Better don’t, coz I know there are dozens of inspira fitted with ESP (ASC) running around here. :)

• carazy on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:07 am

Mitsu should introduce stick shift to fight with Inspira though, dare to be different??

• Eddie on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:21 am

The same thing is happening here in Australia and probably in other countries as well. Reason being the next generation is coming out soon. Mitsubishi should bring in the manual trans lancer or the lancer ralliart

• Enthu on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:26 pm

They have been saying the “Next generation” for the longest time. In that period, other carmakers have refreshed their models twice!

Only car makers like Proton would pay to rebadge such an old, old model for our poor countrymen. It’s the 21st century already for god’s sake. You can hardly find a Lancer roaming the roads overseas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • policeman on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Refreshed twice? Siapa? Civic? Corolla? Sylphy? mana semua sekali je. Sylphy still no new model in MY.

Its a 2007 car, Proton rebadged it in 2010.

Gua pergi Taiwan, banyak Lancer ada. Teksi Lancer pun ada.

• Eddie on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:50 pm

What’s wrong with Proton rebadging the lancer? It is a way to provide Malaysians a lancer at a lower price. I know it is still expensive but it is not something that we can control.

I’m living in Australia and there are lots of lancers (From 6th gen) roaming around the roads.

• Jebonr on Mar 25, 2014 at 11:49 am

Come on Mitsubishi, it’s 2014. We need new design that can bring Lancer back to it’s previous glorious and glamorous years.

• Enthu on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:24 pm

A new trim for such an old model? Seriously?

Are they still stuck at the 20th century?

• niaulong on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:44 pm

This Facelift how many years liao?
    still the same~ Lame ~ Sian!!

Dear DRB hicom – Redesign the Pattern will prove your company a sign of moving forward..if can sell below 80k reasonable , u will been praise by most of malaysian citizen.

• this model getting old la mitsu..

• Flat Black on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:29 am

This varient seriously wont sold out. Dear Mitsu… kindly bring the Manual 6-speed Lancer Fortis.

• how much will this GTE cost? anyone?

• Inspira gte.eeeeeeeee, I like inspira 1.8 manual

• ProtoBishi on May 04, 2014 at 10:40 pm

Need new design moo… Civic already came with few facelift @ new models…. Come on mitsu…. And dont forget pls include a manual hah!!!

• AhKong on Jun 05, 2014 at 12:53 am

to all inspira owner, come to my shop and i’ll give you discount when you convert to gte