Toyota Camry 2.0 G X – brochure revealed

Reader Wei Yang has very kindly shared with us the brochure for the new Camry variant that was announced only last week – the RM160k Toyota Camry 2.0 G X.

It pretty much confirms the list of kit added to the 2.0 G variant, which includes smoked lamps, dark brown leather upholstery, a seven-inch DVD-AVN touch-screen (DVD, Bluetooth, Smartphone Link, navigation, reverse camera with guide lines), rear blinds and dark silver 215/55 R17 alloys.

Read our review of the Toyota Camry 2.5 V here, and check out Episode 5 of our Driven Web Series, where we pit the Camry against the Honda Accord and Mazda 6 in our company car shootout.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Car with stupidity price for hideous buyer

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 7
    • JustMe on Mar 25, 2014 at 7:54 am

Again this Japanese Shit!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Wisdom on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:20 am

Accord 2.0 Vti-L much better than this. 10K cheaper summore..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
        • Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:01 am

Camry Japanese build CBU 2.5 sold for US$22,000. That also, higher spec. Comes with 8 airbags, tire pressure monitor, etc etc.

Our Malaysian CKD, 80% Made in Malaysia is priced at RM180,000. Ada logic? Pakai barang buatan Malaysia, tapi harga lebih?

In US also, US Toyota making profit selling at US22k. US Toyota also pay taxes and duties to the US government.

In actual fact, Toyota Malaysia gets the Camry so much cheaper from their principal in Japan. Maybe about US$15,000. CKD somemore, it should be even cheaper than that price.

And yet we pay RM180,000. For just 2 airbags!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
        • Toyota BIG BIG liars. on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:18 am

Last week, Toyota had to pay USD1.2 billion for cheating and lying to consumers.

Quote “The U.S. Justice Department extracted a record $1.2 billion criminal penalty from Toyota Motor Corp for misleading consumers about safety problems”

Acording to the case, Toyota lied and lied and lied and lied. They lied so much, it is better to change their name to Toyoliar.

The US Government proved that Toyota was criminally deviant and cheated consumers and put them in so much risk of death.

If Toyota in the US can lie despite so much consumer laws and consumer protection, I really don’t know how in Malaysia where UMW is GLC King and above any law. Don’t know what lies UMW is telling the rakyat of Malaysia. They are not scared because they are GLC King, can do anything!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • izbbar on Mar 30, 2014 at 11:34 am

cars in malaysia are very expensive. compare to australia. even using aussie currency its still cheap. we feel like being cheated. everything is getting expensive in malaysia now.
            d

• Obama on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:24 am

Well, I urged Honda to upgrade the Accord to 6 airbags since City which is $50k cheaper has that. Then, Accord will definitely kill Camry by miles.

• Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:25 am

Toyota salesman here are soo scared of dropping sales. Camry nobody is touching cause it is really King of RV (depreciation). Everybody knows, 2013 Toyota Camry 2.5 is now sold for RM130k, down from RM180k. No other Japanese car can jatuh RM50 in less than one year!

Somemore, Malaysians can never forget what UMW did last year. Take out VSC at the detriment of Malaysian lives. ALL over the world, Camry got VSC. Only in Malaysia, Camry VSC was taken out. Why? To reap more profit at the expense of the lives of Toyota buyers. So, many ardent Toyota fans migrated to Honda. Infact, nearly 90% of Toyota Camry buyers migrated to Honda Accord.

Even now, when UMW put back the VSC, people already aware how sneaky UMW is. Word of mouth is the best power. Even in mamak stall, mamak himself tell me, Camry got no VSC last year because UMW mahu untung lebih.

Altis nobody buying cause the one with VSC is RM139k. People rather buy an Elanta for 90K which is the largest C segment car around, super economical engine and comes with VSC. Don’t believe, have you ever seen the new Altis on the road despite launching 6 months ago??

Vios is dead. Vios is beaten by the City. Nobody is going to touch the Vios. That is clear cut. No need analysis or argument.

So that is why the Toyota salesman running scared. Even Sam Loo join Hyundai Sime Darby knowing that the Toyota ship is slowly sinking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 24
        • Same Lor on Mar 25, 2014 at 2:55 pm

No one is scared of sales drop of T/H/M/S cars. But you are damn scared of your Hyundai sales drop only. So scare that you have to copy and paste this comment over a few news (check the new Yaris post).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
        • Same Lor (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Okey, I have to admit, we Toyota salesman are pretty scared about Hyundai and Kia. I confess, the only thing we can do online is to discredit the Hyundai because Hyundai has taken a big chunk of our sales. We Toyota salesman have been appealing to UMW to put more air bags and give more spec like the Koreans but UMW don’t listen to us small ikan bilis salesman. So, what to do? Not our fault that big boss never listen to us.

• Usin Kangkong (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 8:36 pm

First to komengg!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 66
  • fast5 on Mar 24, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Too greedy UMW with this kind of robbing price… Marketing team is so crazy they’re killing themself…. UMW is making war with the public. Stop this madness… I think all should report this to Japan toyota n stop supplying car to UMW…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
  • Bob_B78 on Mar 24, 2014 at 9:20 pm

Buying a camry is like buying the original 1st gen Iphone relaunched in 2014.
    The price of the 1st gen iphone in 2007 was USD599
    The price of the relaunched 1st gen iphone is USD699
    The price increase due to manufacturing cost increase
    Bear in mind 1st gen is tough n not fragile when compared to Iphone 5S

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
  • The camry specs is sh1t everywhere, not just in malaysia, and the pricing makes it even worse. Whoever bought one has obviously done zero research and probably deserves to end up in one.
    I can name at least 4 cars in that price bracket that would give you ten times the value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
  • Motorhead (Member) on Mar 24, 2014 at 9:35 pm

Lately. . Toyota suxx..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • shawal on Mar 24, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Accord 2.0 vtil is 10k cheaper…
    But…the passenger seat ia not electric and no rear power blinds…
    However the dash & meter cluster design is 4 class above the camry…looks 2 class more…

But the camry gx is complete, and the brown leather looks tempting…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
    • Gentleman on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:49 am

I find this Camry is Tempting too.

Some Pros of Camry X:
      1. Most Luxury in it’s price range.
      2. Having the most privacy Cabin it’s price range.
      3. The Rear Power Blinds really give the Boss a Good ride for long Journey.
      4. Most Comfortable Premium Leather Wrapped Sofa.

Designed as a Passenger car rather a Driver’s car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • samoron on Mar 24, 2014 at 10:19 pm

Frankly speaking, I don’t know what is there to mention in the brochure that will convince sane buyers to consider this junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • ben yap on Mar 24, 2014 at 10:28 pm

desperate but stupid attempt to promote their no-value-for-money camry. they don’t realise that they are pricing their car too high with low specs. still got the cheek to price it higher with useless add-ons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Samad Jain on Mar 24, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Unfortunately, unker and auntie in Malaysia think the car is nice…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Towkay on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:13 pm

this kar macam lembu oh. i pakai Camry Manyak tahan oh, 10 tahun tade rosak punya. U kereta boleh ini macamkah???

• BOYRACER on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:34 pm

I think this car is way overprice.I dont know why people choose this car over other brands.If you take look at the interior,it is so boring.The switches are so low rent.Does not bring justice to its price.They say reliability is more important.So name me any japanese brand that has the most recalls in the last few years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • James on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:02 am

People who choose this car is bcos of The car is big and a good Resale Value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
      • Wisdom on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:29 am

Accord is bigger
        after one year, the car value depreciate more than 50K.

Sorry i cant digest your statement.

• MH370 on Mar 24, 2014 at 11:53 pm

Let’s take a time-out about car talks for now.
    Please send out our condolences to the MH370 passengers’ & crews’ families. Hope the missing crews & passengers will RIP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Ah mei on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:37 am

Towkay will buy it in an instant…as long its a camary ma…

• Keris Jawa on Mar 25, 2014 at 8:56 am

The ‘unclest’ car of them all!

• Gentleman on Mar 25, 2014 at 11:04 am

While It’s Uncle.

We see it as Business Status.

Not another Sporty Young Man’s Car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Despite all negative comments, malaysians still go for camry due to its durability and reliability. that is why UMW wont worry too much on camry sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • kobealex on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:08 pm

The matter of fact is, UMW are worried which is why various upgrades has been added to the new Camry since its introduction. Do don’t see a Mazda 6 or Accord doing that do you?

• policeman on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:49 pm

LOL at Mazda. Piece of garbage. Their 6 comes with minimal kit and is absolutely hideous. Gay car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • kobealex on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:29 pm

Not when you are comparing it with the worst car in the D-segment market currently which is the Camry.

1) Not much of a looker (though some might argue beauty is in the eye of the beholder)
          2) Worst looking interior by today’s standard
          3) Worst fuel economy in class (as compared by Paultan)
          4) Most outdated equipments in class
          5) Worst safety package in class

One point you are right though, the 6 does not come with Brother’s body kit with built in DRL lights, that’s a real shame I’m sure…

• Joker on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:47 am

I’ve got 1 words for those who will end up buying this Camry…. ‘Idiot’….
    Imagine the kinda car u can buy with tat kinda $$….
    facepalm….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • idiot on Mar 25, 2014 at 1:08 pm

may be you need to reserve your comment. Normal only idiot people will call others idiot.

• Who cares!!!

• abahaku on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:55 am

160k price..yet u only got 2 airbag???
    Come on lahh…

• Dear UMW Toyota on Mar 25, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Thanks for importing those Overprice Ugly Old-Dated Camry to Our Tasteless Rich Uncle & Aunty.

• VW Forever on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:59 pm

Despite all the VW haters, go buy a Passat and compare to this Camry. Passat wins hands down!

• stanman (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:42 am

Think about it. If you buy a Camry, you probably dislike driving anyway so you are probably not going to drive if at all possible (cue Driver). You’d like a Merc but they are really pricey or dodgy greys and the company wont stump out for one.
    The Camry is underpowered but

• stanman (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:48 am

*Hey stop eating my post*….but that is a good thing as far as the passenger goes. No sudden acceleration and deceleration to drop your latte on your lap.
    Non existent steering feel…not a problem since you aren’t holding the tiller.
    A further benefit of the low power is to reduce body roll.
    The lack of airbags is a non issue since you don’t get any in the back anyway.
    As for the hideous Nav header…you don’t use it.
    The appalling wood trim will just go unnoticed from the back.
    All in all the ideal car for that customer.

• Marlboro Softpack on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:57 am

I’ll wait for Chevy Malibu instead. Honda & Toyota are too mainstream already.

• Marlboro Softpack on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:57 am

I’ll wait for Chevy Malibu instead. Honda & Toyota are too mainstream already.

• alexchai on Apr 07, 2014 at 8:16 pm

no matter 2.0 GX, E or G is still using 4-speed auto transmission, exactly the same with the previous model. New or old Toyota Altis 2.0 has been using 7-speed CVT , if we compare with other brands, camry 2.0 GXXXXXX is far behind ………. TOYOTA PLSSSSSS