Ford Everest Concept unveiled at Bangkok Motor Show – production SUV will be built in Thailand

Ford Everest Concept-14

Sawas dee crub! We’re reporting live from the 2014 Bangkok Motor Show, where Ford has just unveiled the handsome Ford Everest Concept. The Ranger T6-based SUV is making its ASEAN debut in the Thai capital. It’s similar to the concept car shown in Australia back in August 2013, but today’s SUV is painted in an eye-catching “Sunset Flare” orange hue.

“The Ford Everest Concept shows the bold new direction that we envision for a mid-size, seven-seat SUV that has been designed for ASEAN and global markets,” said Matt Bradley, president of Ford ASEAN. He also revealed that the production Everest, based on this concept (a “strong precursor” Ford says), will be built in Rayong, Thailand, alongside the Ranger.

The Everest Concept builds on Ford’s SUV expertise and is aimed squarely at the global utility market (trucks and truck-based SUVs), which grew 13% in 2013. Ford outpaced this growing segment last year, selling 1.2 million of such vehicles, a 35% growth from 2012. A lot of this is down to the popular Ranger T6, which tops its class in our opinion.

Unlike the previous Everest, this concept doesn’t look identical to the truck it’s based on. The front end features a bold inverted trapeziodal grille, covered in chrome. The swept back headlamps, which are rather petite for such a big SUV, are connected to the grille. Like the Ranger, there’s a faux vent in the front wing.

At the back, the “negative scallop” taillamps are bridged by a chrome bar with Everest lettering. Skid plates at both ends stand out in silver. The Everest will take on the Toyota Fortuner, Mitsubishi Pajero Sport and Chevrolet Trailblazer when it debuts. To our eyes, it’s the most handsome of the lot, by far. What say you?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• this is one handsome looking SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Same Lor (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Are they using dry dual clutch like the other Fords? Then, for sure, it will be like DSG. Constant breakdowns.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
      • lonelyobserve on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Ford will not use dual clutch gearbox for Everest as the engine choice for it will have too many torque that current Powershift transmission can handle.

My opinion is that the new Everest will have Selectshift conventional automatic transmission, together with manual transmission.

• nabill on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Diesels r usually paired with automatics not double clutch boxed..thy r very reliable as thy r heavy duty

• @jo, this is a body on frame SUV-based on the Ranger. Expect it to share the smae basic drivetrain as the Ranger, this means its automatic transmission will most likely be the same basic 6-speed torque converter automatic found in the Ranger.

• Its is good looking suv…. ford should replace the current 2.5 and 3.0 noisy engines. Ford should get rangers 2.2, 150 hp manual for base model and 3.2, 200 hp for top end model. coz all the rivals in the market have above 160 hp engines. The car should also have best power in its segment.

• 50rangers on Mar 25, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Good looking SUV. It looks like no other.
    I hope it is not as late to arrive in Bolehland as most of the other Ford models which killed all the excitement, thus poor sales.

• always the case. I lost interest in the new Fusion after waiting for so long, got something else in the end!

• wow,
    will wooooooow if the silver bar become same color with body chassis.

• Vincent on Mar 25, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Great looking SUV! Da best!

• tkhengong on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:33 pm

I opined the outline has a close resemblance to the Toyota Fortuner, a good looker till today, albeit with updated aesthetics and visually longer. It will definitely be priced out of reach of the many enthusiasts like myself.

• only in diesel? petrol everest available?

• Is it just me or the front end looks surprisingly similar to the Landcruiser 200 series, which can only be a compliment in my book since the Landcruiser is a legendary vehicle. The macho looks appeal tome as well.

Come on SDAC, don’t take too long to launch this here. The Fortuner/ Pajero Sport duo have been running the show in the ladderframed SUV segment for long enough. The Everest will be a refreshing alternative, just like the Ranger had been in the pickup segment.

• shawal on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Spec it good and price it well…
    And good road manners and refinement too

• Nice….Hope it comes with good specs

• stunningly muscular design…we see lesser SUV design like this nowadays. if SD could price it below 250k i would buy one.

• Darren on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:34 am

Wow look better than what I had expected

• Mandela on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:58 am

The current Everest is priced at 176,842.30 for 3.0XLT… hopefully the new model would be around that price but not more than 180k.. Since the Fortuner is priced about 171k.. u can count how many everest u see every day.. close to none

• GTR36 on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:24 am

No interior pictures, bro?

• kusochon on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:19 pm

looks tough

• hadi75 on Mar 26, 2014 at 7:19 pm

Likes the look…..now the price…how much???

• Going to the Bangkok motor show tommorow,got to see this.If the engine and gearbox is the same as my 3.2 Wildtrak,The Ranger will have a buddy in my driveway.

• leerite on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:08 pm

I hope this would be put on the road of Indonesia soon…. I would definitely sell my Mitsubishi pajero and change it with this handsome SUV….

• derpy :l on Apr 04, 2014 at 1:38 pm

wow!!! i hope it were cheap,nice room,nice equipment!
    pls dont use the small buttons or peoples will complain

• Its is good looking suv…. ford should replace the current 2.5 and 3.0 noisy engines. Ford should get rangers 2.2, 150 hp manual for base model and 3.2, 200 hp for top end model. coz all the rivals in the market have above 160 hp engines. The car should also have best power in its segment.

• Any idea when are they going to launch this awesome SUV. I am thinking to buy Chevy Captiva, but I think I will wait for this if its not to long.

• Bring it to Malaysia as soon as possible.

• Lan Boyd on Jun 17, 2014 at 11:57 am

Agree with Sam(Apr6). Bring on the Everest with a big Bang. The design is already a “wow”. Equip it with big power/torque & leave its rivals panting behind.Keep the price low as agst Chevy’s Trailblazer, next on my alternative list, should Ford delay its appearance. Just like its Wildtrack, wonder what happen to it. Haven’t claim my deposit yet, already eyeing the Chevy’s Colorado Muscle now….