VIDEO: A walk-around tour of the 2014 Honda City

Teaser. Preview. Launch. Test drive. Old car, new car. Grade-by-grade comparison. And if you’re a seasoned paultan.org visitor, you won’t be surprised to hear we’re still not done with the 2014 Honda City. After all, cars as significant as this don’t come every day, do they?

The very day after the launch, we visited Sumber Auto in PJ to find a top-of-the-range Grade V example, in the new Brilliant Sporty Blue Metallic shade, taking pride of place on the showroom floor. We arrived as early as we could – yet, as you can see, we weren’t the only ones there. And by lunchtime…

Still, we’ve managed to bring you a comprehensive walk-around video of the latest alternative to the Toyota Vios and Nissan Almera – and I got a bit of my own back in the process, too. Have fun watching, and subscribe to our Youtube channel for more of such videos, which are coming your way!

See our entire string of 2014 Honda City-related stories here.

GALLERY: Malaysian launch of the 2014 City

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Nicely done as always, Jonathan#1 and the rest of the crew.

And I like that side-swipe at Toyota at the end. Class!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
    • I like it. But I won’t buy it to pay the govt 50% tax.

I think I’ll just find a 5 year old Honda City and be happy with it.

Or just stick to my 10 year old Proton Saga.

I’ll pass. You kids out there without existing commitments can go get it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 12
      • Pinky on Mar 25, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Rear disc drum! Just like the overpriced VW, you’re paying about 90k, for a drum!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 21
        • Sure it might lose out on the rear disc brakes, leather seats and paddle shifts from the previous E+. But you have to compare with what was gained in this new City.

Larger interior, 50mm wider wheelbase, 6 airbags, hill start assist, emergency stop signal, 7″ infotainment, auto climate control, rear aircond vents, cruise control, 8 speakers, hands free telephone, voice recognition control, better fuel efficiency, 536 liter boot, more soft touch materials, advanced multi information combi meter, shark fin antenna, smart entry with push start button, ECON button

Another point to add which i am sure most people will overlook is the pricing of the previous City E+ and the new City V. The E+ was selling at RM93700 while this new V is selling at RM90800 which was a 3k decrease in price. Now don’t you think this is more of a bargain especially when compared to its closest rivals the Vios and Almera?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 3
        • Rear disc brake or Electronic Stability Control & Side AirBags more important ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • passion33 on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:53 am

Even if it is using Disc, your neighbour nor your mum in-law wont be impressed.

Drum, still stops the car.. Dont worry :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
        • Obviously (Member) on Apr 05, 2014 at 10:29 am

One of the dumbest comments I’ve read. You’re not paying 90k for a drum. You’re paying 90k for one of the best equipped cars in the Malaysian B-segment market, which just happens to be equipped with rear drums but instead gets oodles of other safety and convenient equipment. Not happy? Go get a Vios TRD then. I’m sure the premium you pay for extra body kit will excite you. Hey, it has disc brakes~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Same Lor Ori on Mar 25, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Good one! Now Toyota is pushed to move forward and come out something better.

For Proton/Perodua user… What commitment is more important? The safety of the family or the cash in hand?

I am waiting for someone to comment sh*ts like “better buy Preve, uglier than Suprima etc” and laugh out loud.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 41
      • Better buy preve on Mar 25, 2014 at 8:17 pm

It is cheaper, bigger, ride better, more powerful and most importantly it is safer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
        • preve the jaguh kampung on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:17 am

yes. with a hideous interior. and hideous FC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
        • Enthu on Mar 26, 2014 at 11:58 am

Ride better and more powerful? Really? That’s what YOU think?

• Go and check the spec on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:05 pm

What ask such ? while YOU can check yourself.

• Same Lor Ori on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:53 pm

See, the typical Proton 4S concept

1. Sendiri Cakap
          2. Sendiri Syok
          3. Sentiasa Rosak
          4. Sales Carnival

Let’s get these 2014 Preve with big discount at Proton Sales Carnival 2017, ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
      • Ratty on Mar 25, 2014 at 8:36 pm

They have more space back there than a Toyota Camry? Just look at how little amount of space the middle seat is left with when two adults is sitting at the back.. And for the legroom, look at how front the front seats are pushed forward.. When he was sitting in the driver seat, you can clearly see that there is totally no space for him to move his leg at all, and it is super cramped over there, no where to place his hands or stretch them out or whatever.. And look at how close his heads are with the the ceiling of the car..

So, yeah.. The space in the back of a kancil can be bigger than a Vellfire as well, when you push the front seat max to the front or just remove the whole front seat.. Go to the showroom and experience this car yourself, the space back there, is just almost similar to the almera..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 53
        • Tomcat on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Ratty, you do realize the big guy sitting at the back is slanting towards the center right? Also the fact that he crossed his leg up like that taking up quite some space? Also I don’t see how it appears cramped at the front. You have to notice the position of the seat relative to the side window before/after sitting at the back. Also the reviewer was simply bending his body forward making it look cramped. IMO it may be better to judge by how comfortable his legs seem to be in the front seat.

But of course you definitely have to experience it yourself at the showroom, I’d say not one person would directly just buy without going through that. But you sounded more like butthurt la bro. Chillax a bit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
        • Ezerra on Mar 25, 2014 at 11:15 pm

Did you seriously go see the car in the metal yourself?? Both Almera and City is now class leading in terms of space and rear legroom and kudos to Honda for improving interior space compared to previous gen. I have seen the car and i agree with what Jonathan commented about the space. Not sure why you so butthurt but did you ever thought to compare with other cars in the segment like Vios and even C-segment cars like Mazda3, Focus and Elantra?

Keep an open mind about it bro. Any improvement in the cars is a benefit to all consumers. It will push certain brands to improve and “Move Forward” or they will suffer in sales volume as consumers become more aware of safety features

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
        • Jebonr on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Hah..hah…hah…out off all the other specifications presented, and here we are talking about the “Space”.

• Same Lor OEM on Mar 25, 2014 at 8:58 pm

with this price in proton i can purchase Inspira.
        what u think when Proton Inspira bang Honda City who will die 1st ^_^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
        • HaveACupofSTFU on Mar 25, 2014 at 11:33 pm

Both cars also have airbags. If collision was terrible enough, that people in the Honda City die, you don’t think the people in Proton Inspira might also die? Inspira made of adamantium issit?

If Lancer, then maybe a better argument. But Inspira? By perception alone, who knows whether the airbag will malfunction, or the lower quality crony-produced materials will fail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
        • Enthu on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Do you know how dated is that Lancer already? It has been long long overdue for a new model. And only car makers like Proton would rebadge such an outdated car, seriously.

• HAHAHA on Apr 08, 2014 at 5:37 pm

How about interest rate from bank loan, local car interest rate more higher than Honda and Toyota.

• Sam Loo on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Thanks to the new Civic, 2012 & 2013 Elantra and Sonata gets traded in for another 5% less than the average

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
      • SO FUNNY… I FORGOT TO LAUGH. -_-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Pakciksakit Kuat on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Pakcik junior uncle sales man, i ingat you punya body masish dekat Perth. Kasihan you, duduk diam diam, jangan bising dan cakap macam budak kecil.

• Turnip on Mar 28, 2014 at 6:32 pm

Test driven this morning at Angkasa Motors. Excellent drive. CVT engine is smooth with reasonable good pickup. Better than I expected. Downside is the touch panels. Think new owners need time to get used to it.

• mumbling on Mar 25, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Why there isn’t any topic regarding the increased of interest rate(2.4% to 2.7%) for bank loan on cars?

Unbelievable.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
  • wow this new city got lights for the leg area ?

i need to mod that myself into my old city (previous gen)

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Who needs a Camry?

The one and only Sam Loo lo! Good one! This is moving forward.

Meanwhile, Toyota is stuck in reverse gear….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
  • policeman on Mar 25, 2014 at 6:28 pm

I plan to get either this or Almera for my parents.
    They need something reliable, and can last for 10 years.

Thumbs up if you think i should get City
    Thumbs down if you think I should get Almera

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 203 Thumb down 31
    • sudonano (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 7:17 pm

City, no doubt. Just get the V spec. Or at least the E. The V is very very safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
    • NISSpengAN on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:36 pm

I take almera anytime over this kak siti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 71
  • worth to go for full spec only. the rest of the spec really overpriced as the material used is not of honda quality. But full spec really amazing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Sam Boo on Mar 25, 2014 at 6:33 pm

so who needs the Camry now???
    Not me… definitely!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
  • fortezen on Mar 25, 2014 at 6:38 pm

HDMI only for iphone users? so now what?! Pro-apple Honda City? or the Honda will package Iphone 5S as free gift during stock clearance?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • Apple has already mentioned Honda to be one of the car brands that their device will support

• Good review Jonathan!

Still not a fan of the car and its prices though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • DanielT on Mar 25, 2014 at 6:57 pm

Good job mate!

• babygrand on Mar 25, 2014 at 7:50 pm

Again if this New City V spec come with :

1) Rear disc break
    2) Paddle shift
    3) Leather seat

I confidently this will be the King of B segment car!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
    • shame_Loo on Mar 25, 2014 at 8:40 pm

I always thinking to get a car with paddle shift, long time since my FD1 (regret of not getting FD2). Finally I got an Audi with paddle shift, but at the end I found out that I don’t really use it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • That’s reserved for the next face lift

• Donald on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:19 am

dont forget hm left out the real view camera for the 7′ display unit.

• shawal on Mar 25, 2014 at 8:55 pm

My fren went to book d spec v carat kah motors chan sow lin..
    Apparently so did 40 other ppl dat sunday

• Guilt79 on Mar 25, 2014 at 8:57 pm

This can actually compete with Altis… Really.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Joking right? on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:58 pm

U must be joking right? With its price point, safety and entertainment feature, it’s not only better than cut throat altis, it’s even better than a butt ugly Camry which is without vsc!
      Did I mention better fc due to smaller segment and earth dream engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • glaze on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:38 am

i think the engine is the same as before (not earth dream), but the new CVT gearbox is earth dream

• Sam Loo on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Look at the TCO, not the upfront cost.

On the other hand, do consider a 15 month old Elantra. You can get 2 units with the same price as a new City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
    • Green on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:17 am

City = 6 airbags, Better Then OVerPRiced Civic 4 airbags,
      and Honda Accord RM140k

this is what u mean?

Omg, Honda civic and Honda Accord is junk, Based on Your Definition.

• Denaihati on Mar 25, 2014 at 9:29 pm

very nice, no doubt the best in its class. equipped with rear air con vent should be more interesting and for 6 airbag(V variant) is absolutely worth it.

• it would be nicer if got rear disc break but at that price point couldn’t ask more because last time honda charge 4k more than current top spec price. good job honda.

• Sam Loh on Mar 25, 2014 at 11:58 pm

Got rv onot?

• Sam Dol on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:01 am

Will trade in my 2008 vios g spec for this.

• Camty on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:07 am

Wah by the line of top 20 responses, it seems that many netizen here agree the all new city , with wheelbase of 1620mm, has a bigger space and bigger legroom than camry. I really respect you guys. That is really a breaking news man.

• Maseratits on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:22 am

Very well presented. Good job guys, keep up with the good work and improvements!

• Klangboy on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:24 am

I own the previous gen city which has paddle shifters. I can see why honda decided to do away with it in this generation city.

I have never actually used it much, apart from just for showing off to friends LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Apple tech on Mar 26, 2014 at 3:38 am

Next year honda touch screen software will be using retina display IOS 7++

• I would prefer with the RM3K reduction to add for the leather seats, the rear brake discs and the reverse camera. You can let go on the paddle shift though.

• totti on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:40 am

I own the previous gen city which has paddle shifters. I can see why honda decided to do away with it in this generation city.
    I have never actually used it much, apart from just for showing off to friends LOL.
    —————————–

To be frank, the paddle shift is useless if you are having a reasonable good pick up car.

I owned the ist generation hondy CIty DSI during 2003 to 2008 and hardly use the paddle shift before even up to Genting. The CVT can ovetake all the vios kaki if going up to the hill.

Peddle shift is not for family man and ladies. Maybe a beng may like it.

This new honda City has done a good job to fight the Vios and Almera but the low spec without the rear aircon is a big let down.

If you have RM 90K for high spec city, I would rather get a second hand Teana at below RM 90K.

• heybadigol on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:08 am

You can always count on Paultan to give detailed (and funny) reviews, especially of cars of importance in Malaysia. Next will be the comparo to the Vios & Almera (i’m sure everyone’s waiting for that). Maybe comparo of interior space to the Camry too :)

• City V FIRST on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:40 am

Just got my city v spec today….wow, wow, im having orgasm… That coming from someone with 2013 camry 2.0 G… BASH ME NOW …

• No need bash on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:05 pm

No need bash. I already mentioned earlier it’s better than Camry. U can buy 2 of these to 1 Camry, yet u have better safety. Only cronies like Sam will say how good camry/Altis is.
      Sam go close shop la. Nowadays I so sick of ur rv talk and kimchi bashing I just skip ur comments. Don’t even bother to thumbs down.

• Steve Jobs on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:53 am

fuhh ini buat taxi best ni.

• kin0512 on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Is only me that hate the front grill bar?

• wanhaiqal on Mar 27, 2014 at 10:00 am

Which one is more valuable buy compare this all new city and honda jazz hybrid? how about the fuel consumption for both model i had mentioned? anyone can answer me this question?

• dontcomplain on Mar 27, 2014 at 10:18 am

If like and can afford than buy. if don’t like and can’t afford it than don’t buy. Life is simple, don’t complicate it. Period

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:05 am

The only real complaint I have for the City is that the front Toe space is limited due to the mid mounted fuel tank under the front seats. The plastics could have been better and Honda is a little shortsighted to not make the system compatible with Android.

I still feel the Almera still had better rear leg room but that is because Nissan pushed the seat well back of the rear wheelwells, leading to very tight shoulder room (much like the Skoda Superb)

As for the video. Good job. Shows improvement. At least Jon got his own mic this time…but its really odd despite being invited to international press events, Paultan couldn’t get a Honda showroom to open a little earlier for them to film a more comprehensive walkaround in private.

• Reply Back to Retard on Apr 19, 2014 at 9:21 pm

You know that Honda moved the fuel tank behind right?
      lol

• That longkang is to prominent , it looks like a scar, dirt will definitely collect in it…

• guest on Mar 31, 2014 at 4:14 pm

do we really need the VSA thingy – or is it not necessary as long as we drive properly?

• Talk3Talk4 on Mar 31, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Test drive on last Sunday. All I can say is , amazing feeling when u hit the pedal during highway. No gear shifting feel unlike my local old ride. Too bad never get a chance to play with the 7 inch touch screen monitor. But seriously, the HDMI option only compatible with Iphone5 only? That’s a lil’ bit unfair for those older version of IPhone and Android user. Can anyone clarify this?

• Talk3Talk4 on Apr 01, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Hi guys, need your expert clarification when you say the HDMI option only available for IPhone 5 model or IOS “version 5.1” and higher? I’ve checked thru one of the post and found this:
    http://paultan.org/2013/06/14/hondalink-debut-asia/

“Minimum requirements are iPhone IOS 5.0 or above, or Android 2.3.4 or above.”

So the conclusion is HDMI are still compatible with both Android and IOS too as the apps support for both?
    (Not just IPhone 5 that mentioned in the video?)

• luqman on Apr 03, 2014 at 1:53 pm

Remarkable designing. I think if the 9th gen civic rear looks like this city, i would buy one.

• It’s cheaper in the Philipines, Thailand, Indonesia and basically everywhere else.

And it has drum brakes in the rear and no paddle shifters!

Worth it?

• After seeing the car in actual,it is really a JOKE by claiming it bigger than Camry!!!
    It can’t even beat Almera in terms of rear legroom space,as for the Front passenger to sit comfortably,behind passenger will have no room to comfortably move their leg without touching front seat..for Almera case,even with front passenger sitting comfortably, rear passenger can still free to move the leg…that’s what i call BIG legroom space!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • today went to one KL’s Honda showroom but no any sale care to talk to their potential customers, i saw one young couple try to talk to one lady, she just reply she is too busy right now. I just walk out the door and lost my interest to ask more.

• Juzbit on Apr 06, 2014 at 9:07 am

based on the report, Civic and Accord can close shop.

• preve king on Apr 11, 2014 at 8:40 pm

come test with preve! top speed 230! dare? my preve will smoke everything!! call me anytime!
    012599997*! dare?

• Grow up on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Preve king, grow up. Go look for civic or other cars who are in the same segment to “race” with you

• Perfecto on Apr 16, 2014 at 10:06 am

damn stupid car from Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Abang Droid on May 16, 2014 at 11:47 pm

Oiiii Honda you dunno what Android arrr????