Renault Clio RS 200 EDC launched – RM172,888

renault-clio-rs-200-edc-launch 043

After making its Asian debut in KL a full year ago and getting spotted in RHD form last month, the Renault Clio RS 200 EDC finally receives its Malaysian launch at the Sepang circuit. The world first saw the hot fourth-gen Clio at the 2012 Paris show.

Its 1.6 litre four-cylinder turbo engine, equipped with F1-developed DLC (Diamond-Like Carbon) cam followers, direct injection and VVT, feeds 200 hp at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm between 1,750 and 5,600 rpm to the front wheels via a six-speed dry-clutch EDC (Efficient Dual Clutch) gearbox. Yup, no more manual, but the century sprint is still achieved in 6.7 seconds, while top speed is a heady 230 km/h.

With its front bumper-mounted LED DRLs, striking 205/45 R17 alloys, sill extensions and hidden rear door handles, the five-door pocket rocket looks a treat. The F1-style front blade, a Renault Sport hallmark, sits atop a lip spoiler that is responsible for 20% of the extra downforce generated; the remaining 80% coming from the rear diffuser, which holds twin tailpipes.

The cockpit boasts red highlights on the seat belts, gauge needles, stitching, door panel beading, steering wheel and gear knob. The instrument panel layout comprises a digital speedo bridging a rev counter on the left and fuel gauge on the right. Keyless entry and start (still gotta stick the card into a slot, though), rain and light sensors, plus cruise control with speed limiter are standard.

A seven-inch touch-screen incorporates TomTom navigation, Bluetooth, audio streaming and Renault R-Link connectivity. An RS Sound Pipe brings engine sounds into the cabin, while an interesting app called R-Sound Effect offers a choice of seven engine sounds piped through the car’s speakers. So you can ask your Clio RS to sing like an Alpine A110, Renault 8 Gordini or even a Nissan GT-R!

Recording and analysing your driving behaviour is RS Monitor 2.0. Touted as the most comprehensive on-board telemetry system on a production car, it provides performance data, g-force diagrams, power and torque curves, graphic displays of the EDC internals, a stopwatch and data logging.

An RS Drive button on the centre console offers Normal, Sport and Race modes that influence engine and gearbox mapping, ESC and ASR settings, steering feel and throttle response. Race allows full manual operation, with gearchanges executed in 150 milliseconds.

Also on are Launch Control and Hydraulic Compression Control, the latter incorporating a secondary damper within the main damper unit. An electronic limited-slip diff fights understeer by braking either the inside or outside front wheel (as opposed to cutting engine power). The car has lapped Sepang in 2 minutes 48 seconds at the hands of Singaporean racing driver Denis Lian.

The car gets the tamer Sport chassis (not the Cup, which is 3.0 mm lower, 15% stiffer and offers a quicker steering rack). We’re told a higher-spec Trophy version will be introduced later as a limited edition. As for the standard Clio TCe 120, that could arrive towards year-end.

Fully imported from Dieppe, France, the Renault Clio RS 200 EDC is priced at RM172,888, OTR with insurance. Included is a three-year/100,000 km warranty.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Same Lor (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Condemn this car. Instead of solid girls, all batang posing for this car. So, you know the caliber of this car. Girl also cannot get, apa lagi mau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 48
    • Same Lor (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:03 pm

I like the guy in green. He is so handsome!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • azmanfarris on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:54 am

The guy in green is one of the F1 driver so i guess it gives the justification. to b frank, i dont like the idea of placing girls to boost up the image..its the car which shall make the difference huhuh

• syaheer on Jun 05, 2015 at 1:52 am

True indeed . The girl is only to attract man to look at the car but the real issue in focus is the car itself . If the car was great enough , there are no need for girls to help promote them .

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 4:42 pm

At this point I think there is a contest between Renault and Toyota: who can come up with the most ridiculous pricing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
  • Bob_B78 on Mar 25, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Too pricey when compared to Fiesta ST and 208 GTI.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
  • nice looking car..however the rear seats look uncomfortable

• torque on Mar 25, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Welcome brother to the “Problematic Dual Clutch Club”, we (Ford & VW) greet you (Renault) with our open arms…yeay! :p

P/S: Still never doubt your chassis mastery in the hot hatch segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 19
    • Same Lor (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:13 pm

The Problematic Dual Clutch Club President is VW. Ford is Naib President. We give Renault “ahli biasa” status for now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 5
    • Problematic Dry Dual Clutch Club – should be more appropriate ;-) cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • 240 Nm between 1,750 and 5,600 rpm to the front wheels via a six-speed dry-clutch EDC (Efficient Dual Clutch) gearbox

————————————————

Approach wt caution…dry clutch & Msia hot weather + massive stop & starts traffic jam = disaster waiting to Happen!!!

• Dawson Ng on Mar 25, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Another French crap…
    I can buy Suprima S plus all new Honda City E with that price.
    Why go for one when you can get two??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 57
    • Ryan Psiko on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:27 pm

i can 10 viva….why go for 2 when you can get 10….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 3
    • 208 GTi on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:10 am

people who buy these cars are those who can afford them as second or even third car

• azmanfarris on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:03 am

dont think that people will even think of those options who wants a car like clio/208gti or others…wrong comparison dude. look at VW scoroco or gti pricing

• Nabill on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:01 pm

silver color looks cool….compares directly with da pug gti…bt the gti is about 30k lower n has a manual!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • lol 172 888

• jelly on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:01 pm

w222 benz interior is so much better compared to this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • wtf..now all cars look same, cannot differentiate whether it is a renault or hyundai. Cars frm 90s era still the best design ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
  • Joker on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:09 pm

Tat torque is quite interesting but the price 172k is abit expensive i must say.. Yeah it’s a RS version but look at the price of 208 GTi and Fiesta ST…
    and the rim is not good looking as well..
    The Megane Cup RS seems like a better choice..

• lonelyobserve on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:11 pm

The price looks cheaper than its predecessor because of the reduction of displacement, from 2000cc to 1600cc. That reduction will affect the taxation amount of the car.

• LOL @ renault on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:42 pm

with that price,this car is gonna fail soo hard…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • gavin on Mar 25, 2014 at 5:56 pm

keywords found ‘Dry clutch’

• Gracke on Mar 25, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Very nice price, TC Euro! Is very worth to get one of this :-)

• Redeemable on Mar 25, 2014 at 6:12 pm

RM172,888 Clio or RM139,888 208Gti with same 200HP which one will you pick?

psst…the 208 Gti has 35Nm more fyi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 6:25 pm

And they are probably about the same price in Europe. I mean… the Renault service is great, but for a 30k difference…

• aaaaaaaaaaaaaaand the pug has 5 years warranty?

• Good question! The Fiesta ST is not here yet and it has an “indicative price” of 150-160k.
      The Polo GTI is an option too.
      The DCT is not really an issue, it’s the way of the future. Along with downsized turbo-charged engines. Car makers will sort out the gearbox conundrum, wet, dry, whatever. The old torque converters will soon be replaced, leaving us with either manuals (rare), or DCTs. Lower spec/Econ biased models will also get CVTs.
      Anyway, my problem with current hot hatches is that they are all front wheel drive (BMW 1 series exempted…for now) with too much power going to the driven wheels. Coupled with a typically heavy front engine layout, there’s too much weight on the front axle. Audi n VW have done a good job eliminating torque steer in their FF cars, but it still corrupts the driving experience. Their AWD cars, with exceptions, don’t seem to hit the sweet spot either.
      So, to answer your question, I’d probably choose the Pug on the price and looks alone, plus I’d like a manual tranny.
      However, anyone on this blog wanna sell a used BMW 130i… Willing buyer here:-)

• azmanfarris on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:37 am

still clio just for the rx monitor as a default option:)

• fluence on Mar 25, 2014 at 6:16 pm

SWEEEEETTT… but ill still go for Megane RS

• Dry dual clutch! The horror!!

• Btw the dude in green is Kamui Kobayashi, the f1 driver for cateram team

• sepul on Mar 25, 2014 at 6:28 pm

VW GTi purist may possibly consider this Renault. But stick shift enthusiast with deep pocket will consider the 208 GTI. And upcoming Fiesta ST.

• mh370survivor on Mar 25, 2014 at 7:00 pm

I can know the backseat is good for those with hunchback, once u sit for a trip from KL to Penang, confirm your hunchback gone, you can walk straight n tall!

• sktan on Mar 25, 2014 at 7:26 pm

glad the price has been reduced

• azhar on Mar 25, 2014 at 7:38 pm

I’ll buy this over Golf GTI!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Halleluyah on Mar 25, 2014 at 7:59 pm

I love this renault, but why the position of the start stop button and the key-less remote slot so near to the gear level?!

• torque on Mar 25, 2014 at 8:10 pm

B’coz French r famous for their eccentric values…

• bapuk on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:46 am

That’s why french car are known as gay lovers.

Chowkit belakang mari.

• bmoboss on Mar 25, 2014 at 10:31 pm

any news on when the normal Clio 120 is coming

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 3:00 am

“As for the standard Clio TCe 120, that could arrive towards year-end.”

I wonder what is taking them so long. CKD perhaps?

• roti canai (Member) on Mar 25, 2014 at 11:06 pm

ppl are comparing the price to the peugeot 208 GTI…but remember, the peugeot is ckd, and this car is more expensive than the others even overseas…that said, with that price, im not considering it.

• Halleluyah on Mar 25, 2014 at 11:36 pm

With this price, can easily get a 3 year old Renault Megane R265 the bigger brother

• That dry clutch will leave future owner wt massive prob…when are they going to learn? dry clutch and asian hot weather/massive jam does not wks!

• tebabow! on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:03 pm

i choose mini cooper for a stylo ride.

• French fries on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:07 pm

Dont buy anything french in Malaysia….except french fries…even carrefour bungkus….this car is a coffin (GUANCHAI)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • VWGTIMALAYSIA on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:45 am

disagree..its about the companies who is representing them in malaysia who should be blamed..look at VW..how they have failed even being not french..honda after sales sucks too…tanchong for me seemed ok so far..same with sime darby..so still we can reply on local giants for after sales…so its nothing to do with french …btw i drive a gti also sucks…

• Corona 10 on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Y Malaysia version no sunroof or panoramic roof???
    Start/Stop button too plain. Ought to insert O ring chrome finished with lighted button to it!!

Aiyohhh…I think I’ve no appetite for renault lagi!
    Citroen DS much better…