2014 Toyota Yaris – new M’sian-spec details released

2014_Toyota_Yaris_Malaysia_01

More details of the Malaysian-spec 2014 Toyota Yaris have been released by UMW Toyota. Well actually, they aren’t details per se, rather so-called “highlighted key selling points” of the upcoming RM101,700 hatchback model. No matter then, let’s just see what’s coming our way soon.

As we already know, there will only be one variant – the Yaris 1.5G A/T. That means it’ll get the same 109 PS/141Nm 1.5 litre VVT-i engine and four-speed automatic gearbox that’s in the latest Vios it’s based on. You’re familiar with this story folks – “proven reliability and durability” is key here.

Click to enlarge.

According to UMW Toyota, key to its appeal are its exterior (dynamic and sporty design, with five colour options) and interior (high quality design). Here, luggage capacity is up from 228 to 309 litres (VDA) and, like in the equivalent Vios 1.5G, Smart Entry and push start button will be standard.

Superior handling and ride comfort is claimed, with improved body rigidity and reduced weight compared to its predecessor from 2006 (not the third-gen JDM Vitz or Euro-market Yaris). The new Yaris is also said to feature class-leading aerodynamic properties, giving enhanced stability, comfort and fuel economy. Front and rear disc brakes, dual airbags and ISOFIX anchors cover the safety front.

2014 Toyota Yaris (Indonesian-spec)

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Polo Saga on Mar 26, 2014 at 11:49 am

Terima kasih, Be-end! Terima kasih, UMW for this overpriced junk again!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 16
    • Same Lor Ori on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:41 pm

This maybe overpriced but definitely not junk! Similar to iPhones, with such tiny screen, it is overpriced too, but not junk.

The Yaris beat the kimchi and American car with its reliability easily.

Want to look for a junk? Go Proton showroom and experience their 4S concept (Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok, Sentiasa Rosak, Sales Carnival)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 138
      • lim guan eng on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:07 pm

hello….jangan nak berangan… itu ford fiesta, mazda2, kia rio punya safety lg baguih, punya design lagi cantik, handling lg baguih tp murah… ini tamak namanya…..mampoi lu toyotanjing

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 5
        • Same Lor Ori on Mar 26, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Pretty or not, it is subjective. People like you would think the Satria Neo the ultimately sexiest car, because you couldn’t afford something more expensive YET. I said YET. That’s why you so annoyed when I mention the famous 4S concept, sad but true.

But when you can afford foreign car, you will pui the J class Proton and join the majority.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
          • Evilone on Mar 26, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Remember the 1st Generation Yaris launch in Malaysia? No doubt is good car or spec at those time, toyota salesman them self admit they can sell. That why we can see few unit on the road. If this Yaris going to sell at this price… might well go get Prius C..

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:59 am

So you can know his financial status by just reading his comment. You should stop commenting here and go work for some financial institutions. They need your skill!

• kzm (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Seriously! with those spec and price?..crazy umw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • neo1point3 on Mar 26, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Kesian, sekarang Toyata compare dgn Proton. That mean they are in same league no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
        • victortan on Mar 26, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Well said bro, I LOL when I read your comment.
          Wrong example by comparing Toyota and Proton.

• VVT-i on Mar 26, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Still using VVT-i, if not a junk than what ah? 102k for a 1.5…please check out the price in other part of the world. this maybe selling around 60k maybe slightly more expensive than a Vios. even 60k is still too much…sorry lah we are not here to ask for a fight or what. we just want to voice out our car price is ridicule to imagine….if you ask me how much is this worth I would say max 50k. if you say by selling high to improve our country financial stand then I agree…every damn things price HIGH yet Malaysia Pok Kai 1! Life is tough in Malaysia, with some enjoying their life at the Rakyat expenses! Currency drop…price of food up, house price up, salary never up at the pace of price inflated. Now selling a normal car at a price of a premium car in Europe due to our own manufacturing players incompatibilities! We live in a screw country with a screwed leader in all sectors!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • Pilot on Mar 26, 2014 at 7:37 pm

It really not a junk but not worth for money. Only sohai will buy it.

• catnium on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:23 am

you are right. in malaysia it still sell at RM60K ++ only. that was the price from UMW Toyota (and earn by UMW) and the RM100K++ was the price from gov (Tax). so no suprise…

• A Toyota salesman of course will say Toyota’s products are the best. But do you have to be a jerk while doing so?

So, Toyota’s ‘proven reliability and durability’ means equipping it with decades-old hardware and dual airbags only and still no ESC? Just say you want to earn a big profit, UMW. I am sure your diehard fans will understand.

• Das Auto on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:57 am

This car defines the true meaning of 4S.
        Sangat hodoh,
        Sangat mahai,
        Super old tech,
        Sohai Car for Sohai buyer

• If want super value go to buy Persona SV lol.4 disc brake with 2 airbag and ABS,EBD.Just 50k.When U think Toyota is most expansive car with roti kosong spec but chicken chop price,How about the people buy Mini cooper?

• Maseratti on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:17 pm

This car will kill all kimchi, that will make my boss Sam loo make another few million.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 58
      • MaseraTits on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Yeah, your boss earns millions (which i highly doubt he will) while you stuck being his coolie. Seems like a good working relationship there.

• ToBohLanSamLooUPonDan on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:28 pm

Joke of the century with this kind of price and spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • abuya123 on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Welcome bebeh….. By the way, spell it right ok? Like DAP, not DAPig.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Albert Lee on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Why overprised?The parent company of UMW needs tons of cash to pay dividends annually,ma…..Who are they fleecing?You should know who the purchasers are.

• Ai ya..you dont know meh.. TRD in malaysia stands for Toyota Revenue Development

• daniel on Mar 26, 2014 at 11:50 am

Just an overpriced piece of s*it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 2
    • Yeah, what an ugly rubbish junk again from Toyoduck, better stay away and wait for global car Proton GCS for more value.

• How on earth we’re willing to assume this cheap hatchback as near luxury and deserve beyond RM100k mark?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 11:55 am

Superior ride handling and comfort? The second gen Yaris on which this is based on was the worst B segment car I have been in. The ride was poor, the handling didn’t seem good, … Superior to what? Myvi? How could this thing have a better interior than a 208? Better ride and handling than a Fiesta?)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
  • victortan on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:06 pm

I beg for everyone DO NOT buy this car, it’s freaking overpriced and UMW needs to be punished for their arrogance.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
  • AVH (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:10 pm

“key to its appeal are its exterior (dynamic and sporty design, with five colour options) and interior (high quality design)”
    Both will have its opinions differ from one individual to another and I’am not liking on both, I’am sure a majority of the opinions are the same. My real humble opinion on the looks, if they brought in the JDM vitz, I will agree that it had a dynamic and sporty design. This has neither and looks waaaay too generic and uncle-ish, there’s even a Zhu Geliang/ancient-Chinese mustache in the front!

No, UMW, just no. It does however, succeed in making the Vios look more reasonable. A strategic marketing decision to counter the new city introduction, I am not sure, but desperate time calls for desperate measure. The new jazz is also due for its local introduction this year, and judging from the new city, I’am sure the spec would shadow this easily.

• dugong on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Best in class??? What class? Perodua class? what a joke !! Only thing best is best way to burn your money on a piece of overpriced crap!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • ah jib gor on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:35 pm

by class leading, umw means: we have set the price to the highest in it’s class. so it’s gotta mean something right? what a joke (B class hatchback car), umw can go fly kite together with BN la… zzz…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • The best in ‘four-speed automatic-‘ class possibly? ;)

• Bob_B78 on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:16 pm

If it was priced below 100K just like the 1st time it was introduced a few years back, just maybe it can sell.
    But I doubt it will sell. Other brands are way better than this car can offer at a lower price.

• Steve Jobs on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:20 pm

price mmg jilaka..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Priced it around the same as new City grade V (Rm90k) and bundle with ABS+VSC+6 Airbags then can consider buying. Without the mentioned features and still priced at more than Rm100K only show UMW as hopeless and arrogant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • uselessandhopeless on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:31 pm

No VSC again?
    Uselesss and Hopeless UMW…….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 0
  • takNakP1 on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:32 pm

“sikap rakyat sebab harga kereta mahal”

• Amei (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Still an over-priced piece of crap

• krs189 on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:46 pm

This kind of pricing makes the Suzuki Swift looked like the bargain of the century

• kington on Mar 26, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Yup, the swift sport though the gearing is kinda tall compared to the previous model.

• tebabow! on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:56 pm

so for rm100k u get toyota logo n.. that antenna! rejoice umw fan!

• bax79 on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:59 pm

better buy jazz

• victortan on Mar 26, 2014 at 3:00 pm

You can’t buy the Jazz in Malaysia now because the latest version Jazz is overwhelmingly good, just check it’s performance and FC, they are mind boggling.

• takNakP1 on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:59 pm

can someone tell me what car is not way over priced in boleh land and is worth to buy?

maybe got, is ‘bicycar’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Henry on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:17 pm

100k for this B-segment 1.5L car? Great, UMW should sell tons of it.

• so cheap on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Why so cheap?
      Should be priced at 1.01 million RM.
      Best in the class maa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • It that a joke to delight the whole Malaysian?? It is still another few days before April fool leh!!

• This Yaris is a good car to draw attention for public if you own one. Every boys and gals, aunty and uncle look at you and say “what a stupid tai lang gung to buy this shit car!!”

• Maseratits on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:33 pm

What a fancy RM101k coffin on wheels!

• 50rangers on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Great, this is the car to buy if you don’t know anything about car or about anything at all.

• Fiction Avenue on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Instead getting this Toyota the junk car better buy new Honda City(highest specs, Fiesta Eco or Suzuki Swift or Swift Sport

• Eddie on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:41 pm

I hope no one in Malaysia buy this

• Brian on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Disappointed with the pricing strategy. Thought the close competitor of new Honda Jazz!

• JOE KETEREH on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:45 pm

Lebih baik tunggu NISSAN NOTE bulan MEI 2014…harga bawah RM80k…Aku tunggu Mu…

• 101k for a hatchback with just 2 airbags and no vsc kind of things?city full spec 90k smoke this away easily

• mmaker on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:48 pm

As i mentioned earlier, this small car has same engine and dinosour era transmission. How can they sell it at 6 figure price?

• carazy on Mar 26, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Dinosaur is very mahal maa.. that why umw put 6 figure price in this junk maa

• This kind of pricing spec combo could only happen in bolehland.

• Why am i not buying Cerato instead of this piece of crap again?

• Maserati on Mar 26, 2014 at 2:17 pm

As ugly and overpriced this maybe, I would choose this car over all the Korean junks in the market

Brand: Toyota wins hand down
    Safety: Out of this world body structure, Toyota wins
    Comfort: Toyota wins
    Engine: Toyota wins
    Gearbox: Toyota wins
    Exterior looks: Toyota wins

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 42
    • dugong (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Of course it wins since you were comparing to Tata Nano.

• Zapruder on Mar 26, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Wow.. You sir.. You have opened my eyes. You are amazing!
      Behold, the best of its class Toyota Yaris! who need VSA, airbags when u drive a car with out of this world body structure (alien tech?)
      The reliable, prehistoric 4 speeder 1.5l engine.
      And the best part is, the price of this amazing car is ONLY Rm101k! This is just too good to be true!
      Zzzzzzzzz…

• Malaysian prefer Toyota Auris with MYR101K not Yaris.

• james on Mar 26, 2014 at 2:31 pm

OMG!!! 1.5cc for 100k…
    2 airbags
    4-speed auto (outdated)
    stupid if you buy this car :)

• Wee fuk yew on Mar 26, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Another product born after the latest NAP which can be classified as an EEV. Extremely Expensive Vehicle.

• azhar on Mar 26, 2014 at 2:35 pm

no VSA no side airbags and they dare to put 100k price tag..only bloody fools will buy this piece of crap

• ewww… whats wrong with the front design, MOUTHACHE?

• yeong (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 2:40 pm

110k is a steal ! … provided is Lexus brand la

• dugong (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Yes…only thing is UMW is stealing from the sohai buyer!

• dugong (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 2:50 pm

you mean best in Tata and Mahindra’s class right?

• Really ENJOY Malaysian Teh Tarik Style Comments…Very walau-able reference for potential car buyers.

• Joker on Mar 26, 2014 at 3:33 pm

The new upcoming Jazz will definitely out sell this piece of overprice hatch Vios.. maybe to a ratio of 90%-10%… Even if they price it 80k i doubt there will b a huge number of buyer…
    Strangely enough som1 will end up buying this car…

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 26, 2014 at 6:28 pm

…sure they will.

Insides sales, heavily discounted for UMW staff.

Watch Honda wipe Toyota again for a Hat trick.
      The new Jazz is suppose to come fully loaded variants in 85-90k price bracket.

First it was the Estima Vs. Honda Odyssey. Then the Camry Vs. Accord. The Vios and City was closer but City still wins.

The new Jazz will eat the Yaris for breakfast,lunch and dinner.

UMW never learns or there are still to many suckers.

• blublibla (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 4:06 pm

LOL a Honda jazz is RM26k cheaper then this deathbox. And the Jazz features VSC. The Jazz only lacks auto-aircon and smart entry/push start. Which is not a significant lost.

• i”d rather buy full spec proton suprima s than this junk

• my shitty Yellow Myvi(Lagi Power, Lagi Mampus!) also better than this overpriced crap!

• seman on Mar 26, 2014 at 6:24 pm

i think price in langkawi should be the most suitable OTR price for every car in malaysia…gov can earn more income from various source of duty instead of torturing rakyat with absurd OTR price of car at this moment

• Albert Lee on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:20 pm

If anyone buys this “shortened Vios”,one ends up paying Rm1k plus a month for the first 36 months just on taxes alone heaped on this car,apart from the hire purchase monthly instalments .
    How good or wicked the tax master,you judge for yourself.If taxes are utilised efficiently,we don”t mind,but not letting someone orders a rm 3,000 pair of binoculars or RM 5 million unwanted firefighting equipment.

• dugong (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:26 pm

Don’t blame taxes. Jazz, Fiesta and pug 208 are a good 20-30k cheaper while all having better spec.

UMW is the real thief here.

• Klangboy on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:32 pm

I bet the people at Honda are laughing their butts off thanks to Toyota giving them all the sales for the Jazz!

• Wilson Bond on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Oh come on, disc brakes? 102k for such crap?!

• turboguy on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Haiz… another no innovative Toyota product.

• Wak Ranger on Mar 26, 2014 at 11:00 pm

Now it’s easy to spot stupid people. If someone buy this car we instantly know the level of IQ

• Crazy UMW. Cerato is worth buying than this piece of junk.

• Pls spread the word on Mar 27, 2014 at 7:11 am

Once again guys, pls spread the word how much that we new generation Malaysians are not stupid like older uncles. We no longer buy by logo.
    Stop feeding the 3 crony trolls here.
    1.5 ANCIENT 4 gears with that price,no vsc, and 2 airbags is again a clear act of cheat.
    Umw will never learn. Just boycott their offerings and educate others please. When the buying stops, the cheating will too.
    We have already given warning to those crony salesman here. But if they insist they wanna stick to umw and be cronies, up to them. Just ignore. Sales already shown umw is going way down.
    Let’s see next months MAA sales statistic when city already selling like hot cake. This is another example Toyota is going down,in Taiwan, Thailand, and now malaysia!

• stop bashing UMWT.
    Look at the price in Langkawi/Labuan.
    That’s how much it should be sell.

• Steve Jobs on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:42 am

This is just a mind game by UMW to make Vios much desirable.

*nampak tak permainan dia.

• huehuehue on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:09 am

with that kind of price and that kind of spec that is pure bullcrap.. might as well get the prius c I guess.. got 7 airbags, vsc and evrything even save more fuel somemore. UMW should really learn their lesson from the last version of yaris and learn abt specs from Kia..

• fongfong on May 16, 2015 at 1:56 pm

looking for toyota yaris.
    px circa 30k yrmake 2006.