Bangkok 2014: Honda Civic MMC facelift, Thai-spec

Honda Civic Facelift Thailand-5

We showed you the facelifted ninth-generation Honda Civic earlier this week, now here’s a live gallery of the Thai-spec 2014 Honda Civic from the ongoing Bangkok Motor Show.

The minor model change (MMC) Civic isn’t a big facelift, so you’ll have to squint to notice the differences. The most obvious change is the new honeycomb front grille; now with the chrome element going under, instead of over the Honda logo. Also, the central air intake vent gains chrome highlights, and the alloys have a new design. There’s also a new bodykit.

Inside, there’s a new seven-inch “Advanced Touch Display” head unit with bulit-in navigation and smartphone connectivity via a HDMI port, just like in the new City Grade V. The screen also also includes a multi-angle rear view camera as per the latest Accord, an upgrade from the system in the current 2.0 Navi.

A notable upgrade is the availability of curtain airbags on the top 2.0L model, which brings the total up to six. The range topper also gets an eight-way powered driver’s seat and a four-way powered front passenger seat.

No changes to the mechanical package, so the 141 PS/174 Nm 1.8 litre and 155 PS/190 Nm 2.0 litre SOHC i-VTEC engines soldier on, together with the familiar five-speed automatic transmission, one of the more clever auto ‘boxes out there. No CVT for the Civic, yet.

2014 Honda Civic facelift (Thai-spec) 2012-2013 Honda Civic 2.0S

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• apparau on Mar 26, 2014 at 11:13 am

Excellent

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 32
    • Same Lor Ori on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Bravo! Sexy car for sexy drivers and ladies. Hope can see it soon in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
  • Peter How on Mar 26, 2014 at 11:22 am

i like it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 11:23 am

Almost the perfect Civic, about time they introduced the curtains for the ASEAN market, after all the Aussie market has had it for so long.

The new grille looks nice. Not so chromed out like the new City (the only fault with the City, no Modulo grille like the CRV to opt out from the chrome)

They should have introduced the new rear lights like the 2013MY Civic in the States. Cause if not it’s a pretty good car. Smooth, relatively powerful and not bad to drive, and no worries about Powershift (if only Ford would dump that from the Focus)….

So, Honda MY, when are you guys gonna update ours?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Honda The Best RV on Mar 26, 2014 at 11:23 am

The best Civic ever.
    Potong Pervi and Sperm can keep to the junk yard once Honda Malaysia launch this beast!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 50
    • drkarma on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Its funny how u actually compare the Civic to a Preve and a Suprima. By trying to insult Proton u r actually complimenting them by comparing them to a company like Honda.
      But mind u, Preve premium packs more power than the Civic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 15
    • powderful on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:56 pm

You must really be a budak sekolah with zits dreaming of Hondas??

Civic = beast ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Hohoho on Mar 26, 2014 at 11:27 am

Hmm… the front bumper looks like the forte bumper…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • ThePowerOfDream on Mar 26, 2014 at 11:29 am

Worst facelift ever!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • Polo Saga on Mar 26, 2014 at 11:50 am

We want the USA facelift version!!!!! Not this shit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • Almost certain to get it if it come here as it is..

• berann on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:14 pm

Hmm Really cannot justify why need to buy Civic 1.8 vs City high spec for extra RM 25k. Honda City can offer the same interior space with much better specs(6 airbags/cruise control/touch screen/7″LCD/push start/Keyless/hand freephone/8 speakers/Rear aircond etc) Offcourse 1.8 is slightly more powerful and slightly bigger exterior…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Hohoho on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:56 pm

Very true. Maybe they will up the spec for Civic and justify for a price increase???

• tebabow! on Mar 26, 2014 at 12:30 pm

new civic sells ONLY becoz of the name n legendary reputation. the new design is NTAHAPEHAPENTAH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • wtf.. they save the car ass for another FL version is it? why dont just bring in the US version rear together with the front grill?

• Kenny on Mar 26, 2014 at 2:04 pm

The car design, both interior and external are so outdated. The designer of Hondo need to learn a lot from the designer of Korean car.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 26, 2014 at 3:19 pm

The chrome grille is reminiscent of the Alza front grille…

• Kansai on Mar 26, 2014 at 3:30 pm

same old same old

• johnjjj on Mar 26, 2014 at 3:57 pm

i just dont get it what’s with the lamp on the trunk lid… so preve’ish

• so beautiful….I mean the gal. haha.

• norman on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:33 pm

So shallow minded to call Civic a beast…The one with over 500hp is tons of modification..The beast is NSX,Nissan GTR

• entaoba on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:25 am

Ford focus still better la…

• ramli on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:24 am

Bring in the US version 2013 honda civic which has upgraded interior and better looking exterior.. We dont want this shit which is rejected by US drivers.

• Honda.. please.. just stop selling the Civic. it looks so damn sad compared to new City and new Accord. No amount of facelift will help. Just bring in the US Civic.

• We prefer US VERSION CIVIC.

• Current Malaysia version rear=urgly

• Honda AMERICA on Mar 29, 2014 at 2:49 pm

I do believe that you people will buy the CIVIC SR by the thousands if it is available in asia, currently we are modding black mugen civic- blackout edition aka too fast too furious 7- in tribute to the late Paul Walker…

• Tiger on Apr 03, 2014 at 9:44 pm

All the new Honda models, Accord=rear looks so uncle and boring vs older model, City= looks exactly the same with super chrome ugly front grille, now tis Civic wit same ugly butt…wats wrong wit Honda nowadays? Alao no common design language god even Toyota design more excitng

• Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 10:09 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 4:01 pm

No CVT not a problem..The conventional 5 speeder is great enough..More durable

• kvsual on Jun 17, 2014 at 5:09 pm

Sorry to say, it looks good but does look like my 4years old Forte especially the Front lamp design… stil looks good. Well Luckily I’m saying bye to kia!

• Paul, Do you know the date the face-lifted version will be available in Malaysia or there wont be at all ???

• sambalbabi on Oct 20, 2014 at 4:45 pm

ooo…kayyy.

does it come with DOHC engine now?

can we have the 2.4 liter version on this facelift civic?

• Honda Dreamer on Oct 23, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Seriously Honda, I don’t see much improvement except on the interior parts. Other manufacturers are putting LEDs into their lights and you’re still using light bulbs? Come ON! I fail to see any of those in the facelift version. My Honda dream disappointed me.