DRIVEN: New Hyundai i30 plays a good round of Golf

Hyundai i30 Cape Town-37

The first-generation Hyundai i30 didn’t make much on an impact when it was launched in Malaysia in 2009. Not many knew of its existence then, much less remember the car today, but it stood out for this writer, and not just because it was my first ever review for paultan.org after making the switch from printed matter.

I remember being impressed by the VW Golf-rival – here was a Hyundai that didn’t annoy in any way, and while it didn’t provide much in the form of driving excitement, there was a sense of integrity and quality that stood out in a Korean car. Bear in mind that this was back in 2009, where most were still amazed at their power to surprise. No one is shocked anymore these days, so perhaps that tagline should be retired.

It was a breath of fresh air. The i30, more than small sibling i10, was conceived to win over the Europeans, to convince the Continent that cars from South Korea are worthy of their euros. The i30 was a “European Hyundai”, a completely different animal from the Elantra and Sonata of the same vintage.

Much has changed in the years seperating the original i30 and its successor (just look at them!), but after driving the new GD, we were surprised to find that little has changed in the big picture.

Hyundai i30 Cape Town-10

The old Hyundai i30 came to life before the days of Fluidic Sculpture and Peter Schreyer. It was from a time when the Koreans focused on quality and reliability, the next logical step after penetrating the market via low prices and long warranties. That is why the original was decent to drive but dowdy to look at. Still, the FD was reasonably successful for Hyundai, with over 970,000 units sold, and over 400k of those in Europe.

With the new GD i30, Hyundai is aiming for best-in-class, which is a pretty lofty aim when you consider that the segment houses European mainstays like the Golf, Ford Focus, Opel Astra, Peugeot 308 and Renault Megane, among others.

Just note that the confident statement came out in March 2012 (i30 European market introduction), when the Golf was in Mk6 form and the 308 was far from European Car of the Year levels.

Hyundai i30 Cape Town-23

The i30 had a rolling start to life at Frankfurt 2011, when one Martin Winterkorn did a walkaround, probed his men and even worked a measuring tape on the debuting Hyundai. The CEO of Volkswagen AG didn’t look too pleased when he uttered “Da scheppert nix” (there is no rattle) when playing with the i30’s steering column adjuster, repeatedly. YouTube it.

If the Hyundai i30’s interior quality is good enough for Dr. Winterkorn, it’s good enough for us. The dashboard is unmistakably Hyundai, but we like the more serious tone of its design compared to the Elantra and Tucson. A bit more businesss-like, if you like, but still more visually interesting than the Golf.

No randomly placed buttons to fill up the design sketch here (see Sport button in the i40); the stereo and AC controls are logically laid out and simple to use, unlike those in the Ford Focus. A good mixture of gloss black trim and metallic accents contribute to an understated yet classy feel, if you ask us.

Hyundai i30 Cape Town-18

Our general market spec (that’s Hyundai-Kia speak for ‘other regions’ outside of Korea, USA, China, India and Western Europe) South African test car gave off a solid impression from the inside – the main dash moulding (soft plastics) felt substantial and there was a nice heft to the doors. It couldn’t feel more different from the Elantra MD, which the i30 shares its basic platform with.

The i30 a comfortable place to be in for a long distance drive. The seats are cushy yet decently supportive, and there’s a big range of adjustment for both the steering (tilt and telescopic) and the seat. No sporty ‘cockpit’ pretensions here, so you get a wide, expansive feel in the driver’s seat, which is pleasant.

Good space at the back for a car in this class, too, and there’s plenty of cubby holes for you to empty your pockets’ contents. The latter seems to be of little importance to European carmakers, I’ve noticed, and it’s a pet peeve of mine. To round the space and practicality section off, the i30 has a bigger boot (378 litres) than both the Mk6 Golf (Mk7 380 litres) and Focus.

Hyundai i30 Cape Town-6

The impression of solidity continues on the move. This is the single biggest difference between the i30 and Elantra in my opinion, and one that gives the car a “European feel” desired in C-segment hatchbacks.

A main component is the i30’s ride quality, which is very forgiving. Everything our scenic Cape Town coastal route threw at it was deflected with nonchalence. Yes, South African roads may be smoother than our pockmarked tarmac, but I’m pretty confident the Hyundai will cope well here. We’ll see.

The supple ride pairs well with the i30’s good refinement. Wind noise and sounds from the ‘Nu’ 1.8 litre engine are well kept out, although road roar was pretty noticable. It could have been the coarse road surface, so we need a drive on home ground to be sure.

Hyundai i30 Cape Town-25

The 150 PS/178 Nm MPI engine performs adequately together with Hyundai’s regular six-speed automatic gearbox, but the drivetrain lacks the punch of turbocharged Euro rivals. Put that thought aside and you’ll find that it works quieter in the background compared to similar-engined cousin Elantra 1.8. This motor isn’t the smoothest at the topmost end, but you’ll rarely go there.

But should you choose to in a bout of sprited driving, the Hyundai is willing to engage, and it brings to the table good body control and decent grip. Ultimately, it’s safe and stable rather than fun and frisky, but that’s not a fault in a regular family hatchback. There’s a chink in the dynamics armour, though.

Flex Steer allows the driver to choose from three assistance levels on the move via a button on the steering wheel – Comfort is helium light, Normal is self-explanatory, while Sport adds extra weight and self-centering. The good part is that you do feel the difference as you jog through the modes, the bad part is that there’s not much feel in either. Sport feels needlessly and artificially heavy, so it’s Normal all the way for me.

Hyundai i30 Cape Town-42

Our i30 will come from Korea, equipped with a rear torsion beam setup instead of the Czech-made, Euro-spec car’s multi-link rear suspension. From research, Hyundai figured that its North American, Australian and Korean customers are unlikely to place too much focus on the finer points of handling, hence the use of the lighter and more space-efficient beam.

As much as we would like to see “all-independent suspension” on the brochure, we can’t really argue with Hyundai’s logic. We drove pretty fast around the Cape, but there wasn’t a moment where the torsion beam’s inadequacies came to the fore. Most i30s won’t be driven that hard, it’s not THAT kind of car.

What it is, is a comfortable and easy-going machine that’s likeable and soothing – qualities that can also describe the i40 that made it into my 2013 Top Five list. So no, it may not be the outright class leader in today’s field, but it’s up there with the best. The verdict may sound familiar, but this time around, the i30 is so much better looking inside and out.

The Hyundai i30 has been launched in Malaysia, read the launch report here.

Hyundai i30 at KLIMS13
Hyundai i30 spied in Malaysia

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Maserati on Mar 26, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 274
    • unknown on Mar 26, 2014 at 6:39 pm

katak di bawah tempurung

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 9
      • busuk roti on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:16 pm

Katak di bawa koteh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
        • mizuru on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:09 pm

i wish my car is mounted with auto machine gun so everytime it detect cars with HID light or high beam,it will promptly shoot them to debris.do you know nightime auto accident occur mostly because of those light.people cant see jack when shoved with hyper bright light on their face.

• im in bro,, joining u

• Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:27 am

Toyota salesman are here and talk how bad Hyundai is. Typical modus operandi, bad mouth their competitors.

But in truth, they are so scared of dropping sales. Camry nobody is touching cause it is really King of RV (depreciation). Everybody knows, 2013 Toyota Camry 2.5 is now sold for RM130k, down from RM180k. No other Japanese car can jatuh RM50k in less than one year!

Somemore, Malaysians can never forget what UMW did last year. Take out VSC at the detriment of Malaysian lives. ALL over the world, Camry got VSC. Only in Malaysia, Camry VSC was taken out. Why? To reap more profit at the expense of the lives of Toyota buyers. So, many ardent Toyota fans migrated to Honda. Infact, nearly 90% of Toyota Camry buyers migrated to Honda Accord. They know how unethical UMW is.

Even now, when UMW put back the VSC, people already aware how sneaky UMW is. Word of mouth is the best power. Even in mamak stall, mamak himself tell me, Camry got no VSC last year because UMW mahu untung lebih.

Altis nobody buying cause the one with VSC is RM139k. People rather buy an Elanta for 90K which is the largest C segment car around, super economical engine and comes with VSC. Don’t believe, have you ever seen the new Altis on the road despite launching 6 months ago??

Vios is dead. Vios is beaten by the City. Everybody agrees on this. Nobody is going to touch the Vios. That is clear cut. No need analysis or argument. Even Toyota salesman agree, City will wipe out Vios. So, even Toyota salesman have declared defeat when City is concerened.

So that is why the Toyota salesman running scared. Even Sam Loo join Hyundai Sime Darby knowing that the Toyota ship is slowly sinking!

• Vader on Mar 27, 2014 at 7:18 am

Masukroti, shame loo, showmejiaklat are some same person.
        where is your yard? We wanna buy RM40k one year old elantra!!!

• Hanna Choo on Mar 26, 2014 at 7:10 pm

I’ll respect you if you’re really driving a Maserati. If you’re not or not even driving a proper car, please don’t make such stupid statement. My family driving Korean cars such as Elantra, sonata and k5 for few years. All of these cars are reliable.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 7
      • Kimchis are very good family car..
        but..
        Elantra dont have good crash rating,source- IIHS
        Sonata is not bad, reliable , spacious but also not getting good rating for crash test even with lots of airbags (drivers head slip through the front airbag and hit the pillar) source – IIHS

so, for a family guy u might wanna consider the safety 1st .. drive safe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 39
        • whatever it is still way way way way way better than our local proton. i’d take this kimchi anytime rather than our nasi lemak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 21
        • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 7:56 am

Small overlap, is it? You fail to mention that almost no car does well in those tests. Including the Camry when equipped with 8+ airbags.

Also, in Malaysia those fine differences are not so important when many models (including Hyundai’s) come with 2 airbags only.

• this i30 is made for european market….its scores full 5 stars euroncap rating!

but provided they bring the euro spec here…

• Selected Mourning on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Maserati is a low life. Every post he post bad things about Korean cars. He is probably a lonely person with no love, no spouse and nobody wants him. I don’t think he even owns a car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
    • sudonano (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:41 pm

Do tell how many Korean cars that are being towed, compared to the number of Volkswagens being towed.

I have had numerous Korean and Japanese cars. Trust me, if you think even mighty Toyota is that problem free, you are wrong. Yes, the VVTI engine did not give me trouble while I had it, but I did have issues with the audio system failing, demister, power folding mirrors, and just before I dumped it, the power steering started to have some drama. Oh and the suspension leaked so many times, I had to change the absorbers 3 times. All this within 5 years, less than 100k km. While the Korean i had which travelled the same mileage in less than 3 years was more/less trouble free (I only had a loose handle, windscreen wiper blades that get worn so easily, and bulbs that tend to burn out fast) it was relatively pain free. To say that the Koreans are unreliable is a bit of a ignorant statement.

You’d be shocked, go to Australia, go and see how old some of the Hyundais are. They are even older than the Toyotas and yet they run.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 9
      • Good post Dude. I used to own a Hyundai Getz. Very reliable. Sold to a friend who drives it regularly and loves the car. I’ve owned all the premium German makes, yet I’d buy a Hyundai in a heartbeat.
        Oh, by the way, till now, I’ve not seen a VW broken down or being towed despite seeing lots of VWs on the road.
        Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
        • sudonano (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 9:02 am

I’d trust Hyundai/Kia actually. And I have seen so many VWs on the flatbeds either on the road in a 5km distance of a VW dealer, or the dealer itself.

• Really Sudanono? Where do u live? I live in JB city centre, with plenty of VWs in neighboring houses. I also see plenty on the road when I’m off to work and back.
            As u know from my earlier posts on VW, I regularly take my car to FA Wagen. It’s never been towed there n I can’t recall seeing one being towed into the SS. I’m also not a fan of the VW distributors in M’sia.
            However, on the few occasions I’ve called VW for assistance, the girl on the line always seems to be offering to tow my car. Unlike my experience with BMW n Audi. Those chaps usually send an AssistVehicle with a knowledgeable mechanic who would settle my problem….at least enough for the car to be driven to the service centre. That maybe why some of u see so many VWs being towed.
            Cheers

• maserasucktits on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:48 am

Don’t lie. Never seen hyundais on tow these days. While camry eveyday i see crash coz no VSC and towed to besi buruk junk yard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • all talk like own a Korean car before on Mar 27, 2014 at 9:52 am

Go Singapore and ask those taxi driver, most of them still prefer the old reliable Toyota Crown than current fleets of problematic Hyundai Sonata.

• dugong (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:39 pm

But no customers want to be seen in that old fugly stinky (sweat due to lousy aircond) junk.

• sam sin kar lan on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:13 am

YOu still living in the cave?

• Marieta on Mar 27, 2014 at 6:58 am

To those who new in Paul Tan, just ignored this Maserati guy…he/she has been nothing but a negative on every Korean car articles..probably because he/she had minor mishap with their model in the past and don’t want to let it go or simply because he/she is the rival car salesperson (don’t know what brand but obviously not Maserati)…

• Hyundai DeLa Junk on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:03 am

Correct just another wannabe Conti look alike hatch, what a joke Conti look without conti feel, torsion beam on a hatch hahahaha… more like auntie go pasar car.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Bro, C segment contis sometimes do have torsion beam rear suspension…

• Low Budget on Mar 27, 2014 at 9:28 am

Kock talking only! What wannabe? Hyundai has already done that and its a success. 400K units sold in Europe for just one model alone.

Your ‘Wanna Be’ tag line should now transfer to our national car maker.

• Azeon on Mar 26, 2014 at 6:52 pm

wanna rival to golf ? price isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • price, yeahh ..
      but not gonna get DSG and TSI engine :)
      i30 a good car, but eventually u gonna get bored.
      (unless u are a family guy)
      VW – gets u more girls , yeahhh :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 39
    • Besi Buruk (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:27 am

Sime Darby will put the price higher than Suprima. Or else MITI, Proton all not happy and angry.

• Hyundai will just sell well with below 100k car. If im going to buy a sub 100k car i wouldnt even look at hyundai, i will have many better choice within my budget. Wonder why Hyundai SDM keep the B-segment car slot empty for so long now? Bring the i20, accent instead of the upper market model anyone didnt even look at

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 6:59 pm

The i30 is an interesting case. The new gen Auris, (aka Corolla Ascent/Levin in Australia), looks very similar to the i30 from the back, and considering that the Toyota came after the Hyundai, it seems that the guys in Japan have approved of the design somewhat.

But anyway, back to the i30, being an i Car, it is different from the non i Hyundais. Somehow, after using the i10 and then the i40, when you sit in Hyundai’s non Euro version of that similar car (like the Sonata in the case of the i40, i10 doesn’t have a non Euro version), these i Cars feel very not Hyundai. The i40 is so well built, heck, if you strip all the Hyundai badges and blindfolded people, it would pass of as a Japanese premium sedan. In fact, it makes our Japanese sedans, like the Mazda 6 don’t feel as plush.

And in general, these i cars really drive quite well. Take the i10 for example, even though its got a torsion beam, it feels so stable and oh so chuckable in the corners. In fact that’s something even the non i cars from Hyundai can’t do. The Elantra is a clear example. Muddy suspension and handling, hopeless build (on the inside), feels cheap and nasty. Something the i cars don’t have…

Thing is, the reality is are we going to put down say at least 130k on a Hyundai i30? Most likely no. It’s the same thing that plagues the i40 and i10, pricing is not good, even compared to the sister Kia prices. What Hyundai MY needs to do is bring it in, with the standard safety kit (6 airbags, VSM, auto lights/wipers) on all variants and then maybe like give leather and touch screen nav for the top end models. And price it from 90k and on. Give the City V a run for the money (at least on the cheaper variant of the i30). Hyundai’s reputation in Malaysia is still not AS strong as Kia so more effort is needed.

Thank goodness it is not built in Inokom. Inokom’s build quality leaves much left to be desired.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • onanodus on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:08 am

I have driven the i30 before, and I must say, the car looks alright and drives alright. The interior is good looking too. However, the car had a really high clutch and the seats are quite hard.

• Syameer (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Hyundai and Kia is getting better by days unlike its Japanese counterpart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
    • Really ? u mean japanese car quality are lower by days?
      -korean hybrid car not selling well, if u wanna talk about technology.
      -but i respected the crash rating,very well but still not as good as Honda (almost all car got 5stars euro NCAP n IIHS)

:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
      • DrCooper on Mar 27, 2014 at 7:03 am

Though I disagreed with him like saying those Japs counterpart are getting worst – Japs are advancing too…I agreed the Korean are getting better each day and with cheaper cost they can be alternative to Japs.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:41 pm

I think he is just saying the japanese cars don’t change at all. Not getting worse, but also not getting any better.

• driver on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:38 pm

consider toyota’s 4-speed tranny, it does make sense right?

:)

• Low Budget on Mar 27, 2014 at 9:32 am

Not much to differentiate on quality of Japanese and Korean and German cars now a days.

• Like VW Golf every month car will have issue?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • do u own a golf? u sure every month got prob? been using one for the past 2.5 years, except for a recent mecha/clutch pack replacement under warranty…have been very good to drive. No wonder european says its reliable, if come wt a manual shud be trouble free like most euro buyer are using. a tdi will be much bttr than the tsi available here.

• Absolute Rider on Mar 26, 2014 at 7:33 pm

At least this car’s design and fit and finish much better than Suprima S. Look at the interior! The gaps between the door panel and dashboard is so much closer yet the silver trim also can be found at rear door unlike the Suprima S – lack of connection!

You can also see the interior’s panel inline smoothly from door panel to the dashboard, unlike Suprima S one a bit up and one a bit lower.

Sorry Paul Tan. May I know how I want to contact you via e-mail? Thanks. Hopefully can hear from you. Have a great day!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • tokyoprotocol on Mar 27, 2014 at 10:14 am

Suprima’s ass is an eyesore. Very displeasing to see. I feel bad for those trailing behind the car.

• rockybalboa on Mar 26, 2014 at 7:51 pm

If they were to price this @ RM80k, it will definitely sell like hot cake!!!

• By look on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Nowadays even reviewer judge car simply by the look especially Korean made. And yes GOLF WANNABE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • Azman on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:55 pm

So we didnt get the curve chrome grill? What a shame. Hyundai just want to follow umw foot step ka? Downgrade sana sini for Malaysian market. Boo hyundai!

• dupey on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:49 pm

I own a pug 408 n elantra HE..the ride and handling is no where near the pug.. It’s even worst than my in-law 2nd gen vios..the only advantage is the outlook and nothing else.. so I really keen to know how “conti feel is” the I30…Hmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • yeah man , i agree ..
      all kimchi cars need to be tested on Autobahn Germany first before getting ‘conti feel’

cant wait to test drive this car,
      im expecting better steering feels, handling and the drivetrain if they dare to challenge The Golf

• from hanau germany on Mar 29, 2014 at 11:11 am

Really bro?..
        i used to drive in autobahn.. day in and day out for few years… what is the conti feeling you get when driving in autobahn?..
        I saw lot of kimchis in frankfurt.. compared to the shushis..
        I dont think those hyundai engineer in russelheim soo stupid not to know this..

• benji on Mar 27, 2014 at 9:34 am

You must be kidding vios ride and handling better than elantra ???

Vios ride like a milo tin and high speed stability is crap. It understeer like a pig.

• dupey on Mar 27, 2014 at 10:31 am

Benji.. I beg the differ.. elantra is not different from vios in term of milo tin… I personally saw how hollow is the car after I crash my car n have to replace the rear right side panel.. elantra also famous for its fish tail effect but I dont feel it on the vios.. the pickup is also sluggish compare to vios..overall I thik there is much room for improvement for the kimchi

• i30 is developed by european hyundai based in germany specifically for the european mkt….same goes to the i40. Its basically a european design but wt a korean badge

• sorry lah hyundai/kia, only the design is ok.

• Korean engineers are really giving Japanese cars a real run for their money and design!

I still love the Forte & Sonata on our roads currently.

Bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • frenzyaustin on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:42 pm

But it’s European. i30 designed and engineered in Europe.

• sam sin kar lan on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:09 am

Saw some ads in oto selling i30 at 127k. sigh…there goes my dream to buy one.

• Besi Buruk (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:30 am

To ensure MITI and Proton happy, Sime Darby will put that price higher than Suprima. Open competition my foot.

• yoolang on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:11 am

what the price?

• kelso on Mar 27, 2014 at 7:09 am

C’mon Hyundai… give us the multilink setup… please!

• DrCooper on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:40 am

I disagree on ” From research, Hyundai figured that its North American, Australian and Korean customers are unlikely to place too much focus on the finer points of handling, hence the use of the lighter and more space-efficient beam” extended to our market…they ought to see how crazy our driver here so having multilink here is more legit

• EnergyAnalyst on Mar 27, 2014 at 7:28 am

Owned a Hyundai before. 5-6 years was honeymoon after that ….it suffice to say no regret, only wish they do a lot more to improve their drivetrain, their only area of improvement that require more attention

• http://www.carbuyer.co.uk/reviews/hyundai/i30/hatchback/review
    very good review by carbuyer uk for this i30!

• Maz syaide on Mar 27, 2014 at 9:17 am

Mazda is superior in terms of design, built, quality, reliability, technology…Compare to the all new mazda3 this i30 is just another piece of junk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • if its junk, how come carbuyer uk voted it 2012 car of the year & VW boss was impressed wt it saying the golf can learn from it? those are comments/review by auto industry players/experts

• still not into this design..hopefully they’ll change the design them in the gen cars

• gonggok on Mar 27, 2014 at 9:58 am

Very nice but i dont think worth the premium over the already quite nice elantra.

• Joker on Mar 27, 2014 at 10:43 am

Hyundai & Kia used to b so unreliable and problematic when they 1st started..
    Now they are even better than Toyota and perhaps on par with Honda/Nissan/Mazda….
    Hopefully they’ll continue improving!!

• Walter Ty on Mar 27, 2014 at 10:56 am

The i30 is marketed in North America as the Elantra GT & there is also a wagon version offered in European markets.

• iskhalifah on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:01 pm

No matter how good this car is, even if it exceed golf driving dynamics & corolla’s reliability, most Malaysians are scared of the brand & RV. If really want to own this car, take maximum 4 years loan or prepared to be undervalued (unless want to use for very long term).

Kia salesmen usually quote the Forte of having good RV. The used 2010 1.6 forte is advertised for abt rm50-55K average, but to trade in, 2nd hand car dealers are asking for 35K.. about 15-20K. To trade-in, the popular Vios/City, they took around 3-5K profit margin.

Its kinda catch-22 situation. I wish people here can accept Korean cars as they offer more value compared to the Japs.

• dugong (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:57 pm

Don’t trade in then. Why feed the greedy used car dealers? My brother in law just sold his 2010 forte for 52k 2 months ago. Direct buyer. Of course his car was immaculately maintained and still under warranty.

• General Hong on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Dear Writer, “Power to Surprise” is a KIA tagline. Though both companies are related, your 2nd paragraph comment on the tagline should be retired should not be used on a Hyundai.
    The 2nd generation i30 impresses everyone is simply because of their new thinking, and thus creating new possibilities. Well, the i30 has indeed lived up to their tagline.

• I dunno… this car looks really damn cheesy, especially the rear

• samlok on Apr 07, 2014 at 11:46 am

This car give an European feel? C’mon, it doesn’t even drive better then my Suzuki swift, how can it be European feel??

• japan ok korea better on May 16, 2014 at 7:55 pm

i like japan but korea better because nice design kia good value good design full airbag good quality but the backside not as nice as hyundai hyundai has good value good interior good styling