Nissan X-Gear facelift launched – 1.6 auto, RM89,800

Nissan_X-Gear_facelift_Malaysia_001

Coming in six months after the updated Grand Livina MPV arrived in Malaysia, Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) has just launched the Nissan X-Gear facelift. It has been a long time coming, as we’ve seen this car on test here as far back as February 2013. So is it worth the wait, then?

The SUV-style five-seat hatchback with SUV-inspired looks (labelled as a crossover by Nissan) gains a fresh new look for 2014. Like the Grand Livina before it, the new X-Gear features a completely reworked front end. The lights are now much larger, placed within shapelier front fenders and engine bonnet for a more modern appearance.

Clear to see, the chrome grille with smoked horizontal elements is all new as well, as are the bumpers, roof rails, side mirrors and 15-inch V-spoke alloy wheels. Round the back, the whole tailgate is new, while the horizontal tail lamps stretch out the vehicle’s perceptible width. Five colour options – Garnet Red, Diamond Black, Bronze Gold, Brilliant White and Tungsten Silver – are available.

The visual makeover continues inside too. The new three-spoke steering wheel sports a much more contemporary design than before, and now holds audio buttons to control the updated two-DIN head unit. Behind the helm, you’ll find the distinctive Fine Vision Meter cluster with Multi-Information Display (MID) that replaces the outgoing model’s simple amber-on-white instruments.

A new seat fabric design completes the enhancements to the cabin, which stays unchanged otherwise. That’s no bad thing, though, as the X-Gear has always had a flexible interior. The 60:40 split-folding rear seats open up the boot space from 383 to 769 litres. And if that’s not enough, the functional roof rails are rated for a 25 kg load.

Under the hood, the familiar aluminium-block 1.6 litre HR16DE making 105 PS and 150 Nm of torque stays, paired to a four-speed automatic transmission. The newer 1.5 litre HR15DE and CVT gearbox eludes us again. Safety wise, the front seat belts now feature pre-tensioners and load limiters, and dual airbags, ABS and EBD are standard.

The new Nissan X-Gear 1.6L Auto is priced at RM89,800 – on-the-road with insurance, including a three-year or 100,000 km warranty. To recap, the 2011 X-Gear was sold at RM82,800. ETCM currently offers an attractive monthly instalment package of just RM599 for the new model (subject to terms and conditions).

As always with Nissan models here, there’s an extensive options list available on top of the standard vehicle. The Impul Complete Package menu consists of an Impul rear roof spoiler (RM700), 17-inch Impul Aura SX-20 wheels (RM4,500), matching Goodyear Eagle F1 Directional 5 tyres (RM1,800) and a set of Impul sports suspension system (RM2,800).

Also offered as cost options are window tinting (RM950-RM2,600), door visors (RM320), leather upholstery (RM1,800), 6.5-inch multimedia navigation system (RM3,300) and LED wing mirror indicators (RM400).

The Nissan X-Gear Roadshow is currently on-going at Ground Floor, One Utama (New Wing) until March 30. Test drives, activities and refreshments are also available at all Nissan showrooms nationwide this weekend.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• It should be 1.6 Auto

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Indeed. The headline has been corrected.

• sugar on Mar 26, 2014 at 5:49 pm

I must say tHis car is so ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
        • mizuru on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:08 pm

i wish my car is mounted with auto machine gun so everytime it detect cars with HID light or high beam,it will promptly shoot them to debris.do you know nightime auto accident occur mostly because of those light.people cant see jack when shoved with hyper bright light on their face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 3:57 pm

So I guess that’s the price reduction the government has promised, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 30
    • Archangel on Mar 26, 2014 at 4:16 pm

2011 – RM82,800
      2014 – RM89,800

The price is stated in the article though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • Archangel on Mar 26, 2014 at 4:22 pm

The price increase by RM7,000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • GTR36 on Mar 26, 2014 at 4:56 pm

You forgot to factor in inflation. RM7k increase now would be worth less 3 years ago. So the price increase now reflects how money has shrunk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
      • He’s being sarcastic in case you didn’t notice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • This one is far more better than the RM101k Yaris (y)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 5
    • Same Lor Ori on Mar 26, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Different purpose different segment not fair to compare. However it is still a Japanese car. You don’t have to kawan-kawan your foreman if you own a Japanese car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
      • Japanese car? engine transmission bodypanel all made in Thailand, design by China, assemble in Serendah.

Only the badge is Japanese otherwise is just a car built for third-world-country.

• Same Lor Ori on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Your awesome iPhone also made in China, the whole world in fact is made in China.

Fully japan made then you said overpriced junk bla bla bla, made in Thailand cheaper price then you say Japanese badge only. What you want?

You eat, sleep, sh*t and mat rempit-ing in third world country, so stop pretending you are from first world country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
          • Sorry i am not iPhone fag like you and i’m not using a china made phone.

And please, iPhone not design in China. But this X-Gear is design in China, get your facts right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • spongewai on Mar 26, 2014 at 4:10 pm

like i said, choose Honda City or other cars to buy and u can save RM10k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • Sii Pai Gong on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:28 am

Honda ?? are your sure ?? we have the Accord/Perdana and maybe later City/Saga …. gooooosh !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • benchot on Mar 26, 2014 at 4:16 pm

alamak cepat cari itu garpu mau ambik cucuk ini mata..nissan lu ambik lu punya plodak bagi balik jepun loh..sangat tua la itu teknoloji lagi itu rupa sama macam 2002 punya avanza..ini harga baik beli itu inova la bro..avanza lagi mulah 20 ribu ringit..olang tua dan gemuk macam itu olang dalam gambar saja kerja dan beli nissan..mana itu sabun mau cuci saya mata

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
    • bluebird on Mar 26, 2014 at 4:54 pm

maybe u think u r being funny, but i feel you are mocking a certain ethnic and it is not funny

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 40
  • The back really ugly, grand livina, now x-gear

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • so so overpriced.

In Indonesia, its only 78k, with the latest engine and has more spec.

this is really disappointing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • Green on Mar 26, 2014 at 4:35 pm

@Anthony Lim.

What’s the Ground Clearance for this Crossover?

• I know I say this every time a budget car launches but I’ll say it again; seeing a 4 speed auto on a new car launch in this day and age is bordering on criminal!

• Hyundai DeLa Junk on Mar 26, 2014 at 5:03 pm

You mean KIA Rio HB 1.4 (4 speed Auto) is Criminal ?? Muahahaha

Those who complaint the rear light of this car, isn’t Sorento & new 2015 Sonata look similar..

• im not too sure about the war for more gear ratios.

unless executed properly, your gearbox will hunting most of the time.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:33 pm

At least it can be executed properly. How to do a 4 speed? Most of the time you won’t be at the optimal rev for the power you need, instead wasting fuel and performance.

• theanswer on Mar 27, 2014 at 9:24 am

for small car i prefer cvt. more ratio with small torque wont help..even 150nm fiesta have gear hunting problem. unless it’s manual.

• Well my gearbox is a 6 speed auto and there is never any hunting, its just right.
        When I had a 4 speed it was awful on any highway incline, bogged down in 4th, too many revs in 3rd

• Syameer (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Is it me or did anyone else think that there is something very wrong with this car design? Aesthetic wise it just doesn’t look right. As for this case, it’s neither not photogenic nor it is better looking in real life. Just an extremely terrible design.

• Joker on Mar 26, 2014 at 5:05 pm

The rear looks so weird….
    seriously da GY F1D5 cost rm1800 for 4 donuts???
    can easily get 1.5k for out there…
    90k is abit overpriced tbh…

• Matchy on Mar 26, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Very disappointed with the price with not much spec improvement!

• LEONG KHOI YAT on Mar 26, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Aiya i aspect this model either will be same price or cheaper like honda did but it turns out to be more expensive. Even though it is expensive compare with the previous model but it dosent add any special features or new engine trans or 4wd system. So sorry ah nissan i wont support you but dont cry uncle still supporting you

• Who will buy this and not an Alza? because I cannot justify the almost 30k difference. 30K is a lot and could probably cover all the maintenance and fuel of the alza.

• LEONG KHOI YAT on Mar 26, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Eh, i just noticed that the price or this x gear sama with GL so i better choose GL. speaking about gl, i better choose proton EB which is cheaper for 10k.

• So overpriced.

In China, its only RM65k, with the latest engine 1.6 twin CVTC, XTRONIC CVT, Keyless, Sunroof and has more spec.

this is really disappointing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Kangkung on Mar 26, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Sorry to say, but the design itself, really buruk..hihihih..But I am sure, beauty is in the eye of the beholder..that’s why they are still people buy this car..buy Renault Kangoo/ Proton Juara :P

• sktan on Mar 26, 2014 at 7:27 pm

the stupid rear light has killed the sales and the car

• tujupakali on Mar 26, 2014 at 7:40 pm

i must say that, TCM is one of the shitty car dealer in malaysia beside the UMW, unlike our neighbour in thailand, sg and even in indonesia, actually we haven’t got various product lineup from nissan like the nissan march, pulsar, like they do.. plus, the price that they introduce here is insanely high, i’d rather go for honda city at this point of price.. ptuuiiihhh!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • peter on Mar 26, 2014 at 7:42 pm

The accessories are true rip-off! More than double of reasonable price!

• passion33 on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:23 pm

Correct me if I m wrong. I just sat in my colleagues G.Livina. I find that backseat are short. It support my butt but not all my thigh. So if u are seating behind for long journey, that won’t be comfortable.

• HAHA ETC and UMW on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:40 pm

HAHAHA !!!

ETC and UMW will cost Nissan and Toyota to be extinct in Malaysia. Thank GOD we still have Honda. If not we will have to resort to buying Protons and Perodua forever!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • setsunaf on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Overpriced empty car

• Motorhead (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:16 pm

Another price from Mars.. puii.. worse.. I tested this car.. interested at 1st.. but it’s underpowered too..price not relevant. Stay away.. you want buy? It’s your business. The

• ajo haterzs on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:55 pm

fuhhhh nice models…. especially the one that pose beside the black color hahaha

• I think Nissan just want to display this extra model in show room with its price tag

• Samad Jain on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:08 pm

from my experience of driving and being a passenger of the Grand Livina, I say nothing about the car is about GRAND.

Only the name is GRAND. nothing else.

• Plz enlighten me, besides the so called “crossover” STYLE (not type), spec wise, how can this compete with honda city V??? p/s, I’m not honda seller…

• thebugbud on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Don’t expect any auto price reduction. Gov is asking additional few billions suppliment budget from parliament and we haven’t even finished Q1.

Spend money like ni tomorrow.

• Krasher on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Why can’t you just bring over the Juke 1.6 N/A?! Damn it, ETCM!

• Denaihati on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:56 pm

grand livina facelift is better looking, i think nissan x-gear also better.

• hoong on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:57 pm

So that’s 90k for dual airbags, 4at, no vsc, plastic steering and a 3 yr warranty…. ETCM is either pretty shameless or the almera sales figure has made them arrogant. Continue to do this and see how long the arrogance will last.

• taknakproton on Mar 26, 2014 at 11:47 pm

ETCM think Malaysian bodoh kaw kaw. Sell low spec car at high price. Nissan Japan should best cancel ETCM dealership.

• better get exora bold, more superior in all aspects and support local automotive too.

• taknakproton on Mar 27, 2014 at 10:08 am

Proton was the reason Malaysians pay a high price for cars. Don’t you forget about that!

• EnergyAnalyst on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:53 am

Close family member own the first generation X Gear and testify that the car is fuss free to own – something that is quite commendable these days.

• isuzuki on Mar 27, 2014 at 9:36 am

Aiya…

1. selling almost same price as the 1.6 Grand Liniva.
    2. still 4AT, not X-CVT?
    3. still old 1.6? not new direct injection, dual CVTC?

• niaulong on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Drive a livina since 2009.
    Fuel efficient.
    Ride comfortable.
    Space Flexible boleh muat 10kg Washing Machine.
    Handling so so but OK.
    Performance 105ps aluminum engine OK boleh mampu 7 orang naik genting.

Price RM86,888 1.6AUTO
    Outlook Csntik, But Interior So Lame no toys, CD Player only. Sian~~~
    Bini pakai tak apa lar…
    Bagi saya..tak…Mau lar…boring..

Naik Harga Lagi? 7K?
    Bye bye..ETCM Nissan..(Go to Honda & Kia Showroom)

• Psyduck on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Let me offer my experience of driving my 1st Nissan vehicle. I am not a car expert, salesman nor promoting any particular brand for RM.

I tested both the pre-facelifted X-Gear and GL before putting money down on the GL. The NVH of the X-Gear is really terrible if compared to the GL – hopefully they have rectified that in this new version. Not sure whey ETCM stinges on the insulation material.

I thought the GL was a better buy – or did I? My central locking system was faulty on the day I collected the GL! Sent it to the workshop and they took 7 days to replace the central locking unit.
    I even wrote to the CEO and all other Os in ETCM as feedback but nobody even had the courtesy to write back – perhaps because I am not a VIP/Datuk.

Proof that it doesn’t mean when we pay more, we get better quality!

• Amarjit Singh on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:47 am

Mechanicals and gearbox is rudimentary.
    A shootout with Toyota Alts, Civic and Peugeot 308 would put it where it belongs.
    But must say it really does looks great and am sure Hyundai fans will be drooling over it.

• Tommy on Oct 22, 2014 at 10:14 am

Very bad NVH for this model. Can hear motorbike or truck from behind even they are 1 meter far. When raining, the sound of the rain can be heard on the roof like living in a aluminium container. Manual Central locking is worse than Perodua Kancil 1999. Have to lock the 3 doors before lock the driver door. Lastly, sound from absorber, like 20yrs old car. But its only 2month old. Sent to TCEAS to service and problem comes back. Imagine buying a new car and keep visiting service centre…ridiculous. Better buy used car then. Not worth to buy this X-Gear.