SPIED: Hyundai i20 – undisguised tailgate, interior

Hyundai i20 6

Looks like somebody wasn’t careful: our European spies have managed to capture the next-generation Hyundai i20 – set to make its debut at this year’s Paris Motor Show – with its rear hatch, tail lights and interior almost completely uncovered.

These images show a stylish rear end, with boomerang-shaped tail lights lending some pizzazz to the B-segment hatch’s hindquarters. There are also what look to be blacked out C-pillars as seen on some recent Jaguars as well as the new Toyota Yaris. The rear view camera is new too.

Hyundai i20 interior 3

Inside, the little Hyundai looks set to take the class leaders on, with a stylish, modern interior that looks to be inspired by the Kia cee’d. From the bare steering wheel, manually-operated side mirrors and steel wheels, this looks to be a base model, but it still features USB and Bluetooth connectivity, automatic air conditioning stability control, stop/start and a lane departure warning system.

As previously reported, the Hyundai i20’s engine lineup is expected to start with a 1.0 litre 66 PS/94 Nm three-cylinder and a 1.2 litre 87 PS/120 Nm four-cylinder, both from the i10. A turbocharged N-badged hot hatch could feature at the other end of the range.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• totti on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:47 am

Another failure in the making. Most hatshback Hyundai is selling above RM 110K.

In Korea, Most of the car price is USD10K to USD 25K (sonata) and in bolehland they are selling RM 130K.

This NAZA is sucking the Rakyat money wih paying less tax as compared to H:T:N.This is the reason they can give a huge discount if sale is bag.

Peugeot is a very good example.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 38
    • Jibik on Mar 26, 2014 at 3:27 pm

And since when NAZA sells Hyundai? I personally don’t really like how NAZA is handling their business but please get your facts right before you start condemning others.

• Evilone on Mar 26, 2014 at 7:25 pm

Bro… Naza sell KIA lar not Hyundai!

• Selected Mourning on Mar 26, 2014 at 8:08 pm

This idiot, don’t even know that Naza does not do Hyundai, its Sime Darby that does.

This basic fact also he does not know, how to trust the rubbish facts he has posted?

• mmaker on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:49 am

can Proton ‘Global Small Car’ beat this new i20?

• Don’t know. Again their are in emergency meeting trying to figure how to beat this model, thinking they are still relevant. GSC might be delayed.

• Same Lor Ori on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:04 pm

They can’t beat any model. It will just end up like the Proton Tiara, Proton Savy, Proton Juara (poor design, poor build quality, poor sales, poor resale value) so much history here!

• hukaka on Mar 26, 2014 at 9:55 am

now days the korean car are getting real better then
    japs…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • Look like purposely want to show

• Somehow Proton GSC look much better and more elegant than this Hyundie

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
  • hantu on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:12 am

real hot

• Hyundai DeLa Junk on Mar 26, 2014 at 10:55 am

Another copy cat product, isn’t that Pug “Inspired” real lamp..hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • look like hyundai design go to kia optima design look, next time kia to hyundai design.

• roti canai (Member) on Mar 26, 2014 at 11:20 am

i remember a citroen having lamps like that

• elemento on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:30 pm

and when will this reach our shores? 2016?

• Keep it coming on Mar 26, 2014 at 1:45 pm

I laud Hyundai for their continuous improvement in interior and exterior design. A 93k KIA nowadays has all the goodies that was exclusively meant for their top-spec model. This really shows their commitment and willingness to move all their tech and development down the range. Does a 120k jap sedan even have half the stuff? hahaha.

Now, I really cannot brain how the commentators above could blindly bashed the car while it is still wrapped under those thick black camo sheets?

Well don’t hate me because I don’t hate your beloved japs. I would even support Proton if they could offer the same thing.

While you fellas are wasting your life hating the korean carmakers for no reason, I will enjoy the generosity and the goodies made accessible to us.

Maybe you fellas prefer this interior design instead, kakaka (mind you, i notice the aircond controlling module is so badly made, the module moved 1-2mm backwards when i pressed it down with my finger, hahahah, go try it yourself):
    http://www.toyota4arab.com/upload/i/00011/khdsnmgq2wzu.jpg

• bringmanualcars! on Mar 26, 2014 at 4:52 pm

dash a copy from vw golf?

• where is the Proton GSC??? hmmm.. as usual, Proton is so slow..

• Looks soo beautiful. Like a lot the rear end tail light!! When will this be available for M’sia market!?

• EnergyAnalyst on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:59 am

The rear actually looks So Citroen