BMW’s DesignWorksUSA designs KL MRT trains

P90145242-highRes

BMW Group has announced that its subsidiary DesignWorksUSA was contracted to design the trains for the Kuala Lumpur Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) system. The California-based global design consultancy handled the exterior and interior design of the 58 driverless Siemens Inspiro train sets, which will go into service in 2017.

The theme of the design, “Guiding Light”, is said to be a nod to Kuala Lumpur’s heritage and a “strong statement” towards its future, taking inspiration from the city’s multicultural makeup. The front of the train features angular LED lights that deliver a “strong graphical character” and is a reference to the capital’s multifaceted architecture.

“The exterior design is a bold statement of dynamism and strength. It symbolizes self confidence, technological leadership, progress and safety,” said Laurenz Schaffer, president of DesignworksUSA.

The interior, meanwhile, features a livery with varying shades of blue, hinting at the city’s vitality and cultural diversity. Contrasting colours have been used at the door areas to help guide passengers and ensure easy entrance and exit. LEDs are used to light up the train’s interior, including under the seats to promote a feeling of safety and spaciousness, as well as to aid maintenance of the trains.

KL-MRT-2

With 58 four-car train sets, the MRT system is expected to have a frequency of one train every 3.5 minutes, with a capacity of 1,200 passengers for each train. Six wheelchair-designated areas with handrails are allocated for each train, and beeping sounds and lights will guide disabled passengers when the doors are opening or closing. The train sets have a 30-year lifespan and are approximately 95% recyclable.

A mock-up of the train – which replicates half a car, including its face – is currently on display at the KLIA Ekspres arrival hall at KL Sentral. The mock-up will be available for public viewing every day until May 18 from 9:00 am to 9:00 pm.

So, the Ultimate Transit Machine, anyone?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• superbird #43 on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:22 pm

we want a few of these in East Malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 1
    • Same Lor Ori on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Hopefully the product from DesignWorksUSA won’t ended up actually from DesignWorksUluKlang. RM10 funding, RM1.5 end product.

We all know the trick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 42
      • JDMftw on Mar 27, 2014 at 6:45 pm

I thought Mitsubishi was going to design our trains ?

Sorry if I am mistaken, maybe it was something else but I know that Mitsubishi is part of the Development team for MRT

• kzm (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Yes Mitsubishi but not Mitsu that u think it is Mitsubishi Heavy Industries…their contract is to lay the track. ~RM800 million worth of contact. Not design train.

• go independent then, EM just a slave for WM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 68
      • rick chan on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:35 pm

way to go for your effort to break-up the country! bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 7
      • justdoit on Mar 27, 2014 at 5:39 pm

oh yes, and kick PETRONAS out.. WM will be out and dry, and they will beg to reconcile. Got brain but don’t use..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 39
      • Yea truth hurt, but still majority of the tree people would vote for BN for the free t-shirt, cap, pen, lighter etc.

So isn’t WM just a slave for EM? EM just take whatever resource from you and give you some richest politician and cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • flat_tire on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:33 pm

no can do.. gomen says all budget must go into developing KL first.. doesn’t matter if the funds (or taxpayers money) are coming from east malaysia or wherever.. other places need to wait wait and wait some more.. in the meantime you can always keep dreaming on better days in the future.. just not that soon ehh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Le Dentist on Mar 31, 2014 at 2:05 am

In my honest opinion, I think what EM really needs are those basic infrastructures; more proper roads, and more+better public transport system. No need for MRT just yet. And EM needs price reductions on goods.

• 4 cars only? i thought we are going for 6 cars and peak hours to 8 cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • If you have money cannnn.
      Longer trains means longer platforms means larger land means more costs.
      So to be efficient, MRT Corp could do what some countries do. Use 6 trains (when they need to) but exit is not permitted in the end cars. Passengers will have to walk to the middle cars (car 2,3,4 and 5) and exit there.
      Alternatively, when the money comes, buy more train sets so you can increase frequency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • Where did that billions of money went o? Lim kopi? :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 38
        • kzm (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Easy..the billion goes to underground tunnel, station, underground station, salary, mrt track, gnti rugi for land owner, transport, the trains, the system, repair, insurance, contruction equipment maintanance, training…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • start-a-fight on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:42 pm

to be able to move 1200 people at one time.. that’s is big number for 4 cars.. so i guess it’s adequate.

• rizer on Mar 27, 2014 at 5:56 pm

if lets say each train is fetchin 1000 passenger to make more room for comfort and each hour having 17 train (time interval is 3.5min per train)

each hour only able to cater 17000 passenger.
        and I just google and found out we have 1.6million population in KL .

our road will still continue jam if we don’t plan for future and Paultan.org will still an popular site as everyone are still looking for car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • kzm (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:16 pm

U forget there two opposite way so 34 train in 1 one hour about 40k people per hour..if everyday 16 hour per day that’s 640k people per day..that not include lrt, komuter n monorel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • kzm (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:51 pm

and MRT is not just for KL but Greater KL/ Klang Valley with population of almost 8 million or about 27% of bolehland population.

• In malaysia, with so much uneducated people, this train will look like hell in the future, dirty and smelly.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 11
    • Eddie on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:09 pm

I agree…

It is a sad fact…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • thats so true. you must be smelling yourself all day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
    • kusochon on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:31 pm

it will be full of banglas, indons and pak hitams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
    • Yagooo on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:37 pm

r u much educated ? I dont think u never throw rubbish at road b4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
      • USDfan on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:29 pm

i never throw rubbish at road…honest!…i saw people wit big n expensive car do tat..i tat there are educated coz have luxury lifestyle…in malaysia for me..educated people do wat uneducated do so…

• JoePublic on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:58 pm

You must be one of them uneducated ones, since your grammar is poor.
      Don’t diss your country larr. Malaysia is not perfect, but this is home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • techsmart on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Very true. It matters not what rules what technology or whatever we have but as long as there is no enforcement of it, things will look like crap very soon. More so for a train like this with no driver.

• I don’t agree with this. Looking at the current LRT & Komuters, they are actually well maintained. Even the new one that we’ve been using for months now.

The problem with commuting trains is actually during peak hours when body odours really gives us a hard time. Hopefully it will be solved with a good ventilation system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • sehn….what a jackass you are. you call others smelly. i assume youre highly educated and smell very nice. Its people like you, who casually throw plastic bags out of the car at traffic lights once you are done with your drink. What a dumb ass.

• hoong on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:36 am

It’s more like civilized or uncivilized, not educated or uneducated people. I’ve seen labourers on board exactly these trains giving their seats to the needy, but I’ve also seen well dressed professionals sitting on seats designated for the needy, shutting their eyes off on the pregnant lady standing right in front of their eyes…

• Denaihati on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:51 pm

frequency for train every 3.5 minutes, i guess it most efficient train/LRT/MRT in Malaysia and some developed countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • ScuderiaVincero on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:22 pm

3.5 minutes for now. In the future frequency will be upgraded to 1.5 minutes :)

• Low Budget on Mar 27, 2014 at 5:05 pm

I think nope! The frequency in fact will be longer and longer, why? B’cos of rosak, either no spare parts or waiting for spare parts to arrive, this is the problem that plague KTM commuter train from time to time isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
        • ScuderiaVincero on Mar 27, 2014 at 7:15 pm

Not to be rude Low Budget, but that’s not what I experienced on the Kelana Jaya line. If maintenance standards can be on par, or better than that, you’ve nothing to be worried about.

• Suzuki on Mar 27, 2014 at 9:46 pm

KTM commuter delay because of sharing train tracks with Intercity and cargo.

• ScuderiaVincero on Mar 31, 2014 at 5:14 pm

I think that’s just one of the reasons Suzuki, the other being (I assume) that signalling doesn’t permit higher frequency.

• In Hong Kong, there is 12 cars each train and arrive every 1.5 to 2 minutes during peak hour.

• ilyjdm on Mar 27, 2014 at 6:41 pm

Japan was first. The trains never arrive more than 20 seconds late

• Suzuki on Mar 27, 2014 at 9:47 pm

If they do, they must issue a short notice to all passengers.

• thefact on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:01 pm

alamak…y dont use Proton designers la????
    cause they r bad right :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
    • kusochon on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:32 pm

use vios designer la good.. more ah beng one..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • Heng Lee on Mar 28, 2014 at 3:46 am

Good idea! New Innova looks like a train already, no need to modify design.

• No, KVMRT offer way too low for Proton to work out. Better focus on our Proton GSC.

• Regina on Mar 27, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Wow… can you not be so stupid? Siemens is a German company, BMW is a German company also. Obviously they’re going to use each other’s capability right.

This country is in shambles because of fools like you who don’t pause to think before running their mouths off.

• Nicholas on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Soon, I will be able to ride a BMW… Soon…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • farghmee on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:41 pm

i’m suggesting more hanging rods to be installed so more people can stand steadily.

oh 1 more thing, could u provide odour elimanator?

• reader1 on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:45 pm

disappointingly fugly!
    there goes our tax..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 43
    • Dawson Ng on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Walla, like you’re the only one here paying tax???
      As long as it serve ppl in klang valley with seamless journey and reduce massive traffic congestion, i think it’s worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • start-a-fight on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:44 pm

u expect MRT to look like what? camon man!

• Please submit your design to DesignWorksUSA if you think you have a better idea on what it should looks like. Cakap macam tin kosong…pung pang pung pang…tapi habuk pon tarak. puiii..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • So what if it is fugly? Not like you gonna show off to your friend you came in a MRT or ride it to some fancy restaurant and park in a valet parking or pick your GF with. Try to use at least 5 % of your common sense before you comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • reader1 on Apr 01, 2014 at 4:55 am

sorry guys if my opinion provoked some.
      but is just my opinion for some thing as branded as bmw would at least be different from the ordinary. is just my way of expressing my disappointment when bmw comes up a design like saga & priced it premium..
      anyway any1 who pays tax deserve the rights to voice up their opinion\comment.

• Joker on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Hope tat frequency stays true and not sky high fare too…

• pontiaC on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:49 pm

be like singapore PLZ. BUILT IT LONG. and the frequency is 3 MINS!

• Yeah, break down once every 2 month and force passenger walk on the viaduct.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Low Budget on Mar 27, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Any real statistic of breaking down once every 2 month?

• No but it just breakdown today peak hour, even thought just slower 10 minute but the station would be crowded by 5 times.

https://twitter.com/smrt_singapore

• you guys have been saying breakdowns and etc. Have you ride it once before. It the same thing happening as well in munich. Trains do break down once in a while and you think everything is perfect in europe. Think again!!!!

• Regina on Mar 27, 2014 at 6:16 pm

It’s quite hard for us to emulate Singapore in KL. The reason is this:

Singapore planned their underground works properly from Day #1. This means they have detailed plans of their structures below ground and can route their MRT accordingly.

Unfortunately for KL, the city is very old and there hasn’t been a very well kept plan of the underground structures. This is why we have more frequent cases of burst pipes etc. around KL.

How does this affect the 6-car idea?

We are building our trains overhead to avoid the mess that we have underground. Aside from that, it’s also cheaper to build overhead lines than underground lines. The problem is that it’s easier to build long underground platforms than it is to build long overhead platforms. So to reduce the cost of building this, we need to keep the trains shorter.

You need to remember, they have to make back the money spent building this as soon as possible – especially since they have to spend a lot of money to change all 58 trains after 30 years (lifespan). So it’s quite important to reduce construction costs.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:09 pm

KL is not old.

KL is just badly planned. Or not planned. Everything is a band aid.

Take London and Paris. And they could have working underground.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:26 pm

well there their govt build ahead of demand… here if govt do ahead of demand said gajah putih la, keloni la, waste tax money la n bla bla

• Boy:Hi.
    Girl:Hmm..
    Boy:Can I offer you a ride in my BMW?
    Girl:I ride BMW as well.
    Auntie next to them: Auntie also ride BMW.
    Uncle (not related to auntie): Me too.Not M3, Not M5, its M-RT.
    Little boy:Hello bro.Got your ticket already or not??
    Boy:ok…(walk away to ticket counter..)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • does it comes with optional M Performance package?

• hoong on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:49 am

Yes! Instant n epic amount of torque flat out at 0rpm! Good one there lol :))

• Black Dog on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:18 pm

In advertising lingo, ‘symbolising’, ‘represents’, ‘theme’ etc is all ‘Bullshit Talk’!

• AVH (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:19 pm

It does look like a train from the future, with that sharp lines and LEDs.
    Built by Siemens who are also responsible for the European ICE.

• yeah true.. built by siemens as they are suppose to deliver the new european ICE 3 years ago!!!

• roti canai (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:22 pm

malaysia, country with a mrt that tailgates the mrt in front of it while high beaming constantly and failing to use the indicators

• thebugbud on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Why need to be designed specially for us. Why not just take what ever off the shelf and use. After all, MY is not the f

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • Regina on Mar 27, 2014 at 6:17 pm

It’s just standard procedure bro. Part of the package when you buy a large order of trains and systems from Siemens.

• later there will put 1 malaysia logo all over the place and make it look like crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • thebugbud on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Why need to be designed specially for us. Why not just take what ever off the shelf and use. After all, MY is not the first and why wasting money.

They might say.. it’s part of the deal but my point is… there’s no such things called free lunch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • start-a-fight on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:47 pm

have u bought an MRT before? it’s not like buying a car…

u go and try bought a bus today… it’s a skeleton and a coach builder company will make it to look like what u see on the road.

• Regina on Mar 27, 2014 at 6:19 pm

It’s in the cost la wei, they don’t pay extra for this kind of stuff and you don’t get a discount if you remove it either.

• heybadigol on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Ultimate driving machine that can outrun M5 & M3 in peak traffic.. But the S1000RR is still the fastest for congested city travelling :)

• kroni on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:19 pm

kroni 100 juta mana?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
  • bmw then walkwagon straight to the office..yes!

• Cincai come out with some design, then add loads of bullshit design concept about the people, the architecture, the land, the sky, etc. That’s typical design bullshit, “when you cannot convince, confuse”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • grateful on Apr 02, 2014 at 7:00 pm

brother, how do you like when people question your sincerity in your work, when people criticize your deliverables? most likely annoyed right? As a Malaysian I’m so annoyed by our lack of gratefulness for anything anyone does. too many of us look down on our country and complain. I believe its fair to the designers and all involved that I trust their judgement and I let them get on with their work. I swear, chinese-Malaysians complain non-stop..

• BLUR SOTONG on Mar 27, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Lrt designed by BMW , manufacturered by Chinese or Indian or Cheap labour.
    So our Caretaker of the country will tell us commoners, BN is doing us good . Let us enjoyed world class transport . And pls appreciate their Efforts ….
    A competent Government will not keep singing praises about themselves.it’s like Datuk Lee Chong wei will not always Say to the media in Malaysia that he’s the Best Shuttler in the country. PERIOD !!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • Regina on Mar 27, 2014 at 6:21 pm

Actually, not all trainsets are built in China. Siemens has plants around the world – so it really depends. It’s probably stated somewhere in the purchase agreement.

• Derrick on Apr 08, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Those are MADE IN MALAYSIA.
        Assembled somewhere near Rawang.
        Cheers!

• Norman on Mar 27, 2014 at 5:59 pm

No wonder other countries stereotype Malaysian ppl…Champion in condemming own Gov and ppl only and truly love spreading rumours beside degrading Gov effort..Give u better MRT complain,dun give complain..I think if you anti-Gov run the country also fxxk up big times more than BN…Judge yourself in the mirror first la friend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • SgWay on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:49 pm

The frequency of the trains can be minimised to 90 seconds, with better frquency no need long trains and the 1200 ppl capacity is quite good and better than london tube which is 1000 ppl only.

The is no addded cost in the design, whether off the shelf or custom design, the train body will be built from scratch and since MRT trains are not mass produced, its usually a custom one time job anyway.

BTE, the trains will be assembled in Malaysia with local content in the interior. So some of the money will be recirculated in the economy plus siemens will employ and train locals to maintain the trains, my friend from utem was hired by bombarider and sent to canada for training.

• FarizY (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 10:18 am

Good, hopefully they will do an excellent job.

I personally don’t mind if billions are spent for such project as long as every single cent goes to the project and not some cronies pocket.

I also do believe that billions more can be saved with proper planning and without all the hanky-panky.

• haiyaa, I believe it can be achieved. I think it’s such a shame that it seems like some Malaysians are unhappy with everything. come on lah, have faith in what malaysians can achieve and be proud. the level of pessism and cynicism is really sad lor.

• roxas on Mar 28, 2014 at 7:12 pm

nice and hope it will be so nice but suddenly such high tech n futuristic train…which part of our city suit this.. even the taxi is so old

• Zariq Mohd Ali on Apr 02, 2014 at 11:55 pm

All i ever hear is people complaining; when the government does wrong, i can understand the criticism, but when they do right they still get the blame. Same thing for this Mrt, when there wasn’t any public transport, people complained non stop; Now that they are building a new one, people are still complaining, why not try thinking logically and comment logically as well… they are doing this not only for kl city center but for the entire klang valley, let me remind those who easily forget that selangor is still under opposition, why would they continue funding this mrt project if the government hated these states so much? From an economic standpoint, this will bring more people to kl and likely more investments to the area and our country as a whole. Secondly don’t put down our country by saying that in 5-10 years they will be dirty and dilapidated, simply because that’s “what you think”. If any of you have tried other transportation systems around the world, you will know that Malaysia, though it doesn’t have a huge public transport are doing pretty well. I live in Paris and I know what public transport is all about, and i have seen everything from puke, graffiti, alcohol, shit drunks passed out on the floor and numerous other things that you would never want to see in an mrt. Its a developed country, yet their public transport is one of the dirtiest i have ever seen, so don’t be too quick to judge and make assumptions, just take it for what it is and be happy about it. People in many different countries would be grateful.

• Zariq Mohd Ali on Apr 02, 2014 at 11:59 pm

All i ever hear is people complaining; when the government does wrong, i can understand the criticism, but when they do right they still get the blame. Same thing for this Mrt, when there wasn’t any public transport, people complained non stop; Now that they are building a new one, people are still complaining, why not try thinking logically and comment logically as well… they are doing this not only for kl city center but for the entire klang valley, let me remind those who easily forget that selangor is still under opposition, why would they continue funding this mrt project if the government hated these states so much? From an economic standpoint, this will bring more people to kl and likely more investments to the area and our country as a whole. Secondly don’t put down our country by saying that in 5-10 years they will be dirty and dilapidated, simply because that’s “what you think”. If any of you have tried other transportation systems around the world, you will know that Malaysia, though it doesn’t have a huge public transport are doing pretty well. I live in Paris and I know what public transport is all about, and i have seen everything from puke, graffiti, alcohol, shit drunks passed out on the floor and numerous other things that you would never want to see in an mrt. Its a developed country, yet their public transport is one of the dirtiest i have ever seen, so don’t be too quick to judge and make assumptions, just take it for what it is and be happy about it. People in many different countries would be grateful…

• syazh on Apr 12, 2014 at 12:30 pm

I much agree with u..but sometime the mentalities of our ppls are what reflecting our government. By the way if more ppl attracted to kl then how about other parts of the nation? are they left for another 50 years then they will be develop? i much agree that to become a much developed nation u must first develop the capital but that is not an excuses to leave behind other states..for example sabah and sarawak..have u ever been there? the ppl there just wanted to have a better infrastuctures like better roads to connect from town to town and until now what have been done? all the development focused mainly in WM which i’m aware seeming that the country population are concentrated there but that is not again an excuses for them to leave EM undeveloped. I think most ppl will love much more if government can equalise the development instead of focusing to just one part. U ppl in WM are much lucky u know. Nah peace..i love my nation as we can achieve everything and in one condition as long as we have a responsible leaders..

• ed tan on Nov 20, 2014 at 11:18 pm

just wondering why BMW ? Can’t Malaysia design ?

• ed tan on Nov 20, 2014 at 11:19 pm

Just wondering why BMW designing ? Can’t this be open for Malaysians?