Hyundai i30 hatchback arrives in M’sia – RM128k-133k

hyundai-i30-launch 100

You’ve seen it at KLIMS13, and read our drive report from South Africa yesterday. It’s now here – the new Hyundai i30 hatchback. Two variants are offered: a standard i30 1.8L Executive for RM127,888 and a bodykitted i30 1.8L Sport for RM132,888. Sounds like a lot of money for a Korean car, yes? Well, this is no ordinary Hyundai.

Like the i40 Sedan and Tourer before it, the i30 is part of Hyundai’s Europe-centric lineup – designed and developed at the Hyundai Motor Europe Technical Centre in Russelsheim, Germany. Let’s just say it’s quite a bit more sophisticated than the similarly-sized (C-segment) Hyundai Elantra (it’s sold as the Elantra GT in the USA). The same way that the i40 is just that bit more than the Sonata.

On the outside, the i30 cuts a fine figure indeed, looking like how a modern hatchback should. The front is dominated by a large grille opening, flanked by an intricately-detailed set of headlights. The grille, by the way, differs from the chrome unit shown at KLIMS13. This one looks more elegant, and matches that on the i40.

hyundai-i30-launch 106

The square-cut back has a very different persona. You just can’t accuse the i30 of not being interesting enough, can you? Aesthetically, at least. Hyundai proudly says that it’s aiming for the class best with this one. So that’s the Volkswagen Golf and Ford Focus, then, let alone the likes of the Civic and Corolla Altis. From looks alone, it’s right up there.

Inside, Hyundai has gone for a cockpit-like cabin, with a swoopy dashboard highlighted with silver trim pieces. Adding to the premium feel are the standard panoramic sunroof, a high-res TFT SuperVision instrument cluster, a smart keyless system (with a ‘welcome’ proximity sensor that unfolds the wing mirrors and lights up the puddle lamps and door handles as you approach it) and a rain/light sensor.

The whole car is bigger than before (20 mm longer), and with a class-competitive 2,650 mm wheelbase, it has a much more spacious interior than before. Larger than the Golf Mk6, Focus and Peugeot 308, in fact.

Hyundai_i30_Malaysia_016

It wouldn’t be a proper hatchback if it’s not both practical and flexible, and so it is. The 378 litre boot can be expanded to a 1,316 litre cargo area with the rear seats folded flat – a healthy 10% increase over the first-generation i30.

On the driving side, there’s Hyundai’s Flex Steer system (it was the first car to have it, actually) that offers three steering weights: Comfort, Normal and Sport. Connecting the car to the 17-inch wheels are MacPherson struts up front and a torsion beam round the back (European models get independent multi-links).

Turning the front wheels is a Nu 1.8 litre MPI engine with 150 PS and 178 Nm of torque, working through a six-speed automatic transmission. Standard across the range (the Sport variant only adds on the bodykit) are six airbags, ESP (VSM in Hyundai language), Bluetooth handsfree kit and an MP3- and USB-compatible radio/CD player.

Hyundai_i30_Elantra_Malaysia_001

Rounding it off are seven colour options: Black Bean, Brilliant Red, Coffee Bean, Creamy White, Dazzling Blue, Hyper Silver and Sleek Silver. And as always, Hyundai Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) markets the new Hyundai i30 with five-year or 300,000 km extended warranty programme.

Launched together with the new model is Hyundai’s latest 3S centre (sales, service and spare parts) – making a total of 25 – located in Cheras. Operated by Mawanis, the 65,337 sq ft facility is the largest of its kind in Malaysia, built at a cost of RM 6 million. It’s equipped with seven service bays, including two Quick Service bays.

Among the value-added services offered here are pick-up and delivery service, free labour service on Wednesdays, complimentary car wash upon service and a self-sufficient customer lounge.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sonic31 on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:12 pm

1.8 engine and cost 128k -133k, Accord here I come and btw kimchi pls take this car back to yr country to sime darby hyundai…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 17
    • sonic31 on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:27 pm

to sime darby hyundai….
      *and to sime darby hyundai….*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
      • mizuru on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:04 pm

i wish my car is mounted with auto machine gun so everytime it detect cars with HID light or high beam,it will promptly shoot them to debris.do you know nightime auto accident occur mostly because of those light.people cant see jack when shoved with hyper bright light on their face.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 9
        • klguy on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:15 pm

bro, HID if it is fctory fitted is ok. it is those ah bengs that fix HID from the acc shops that make it annoying on the road.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 3
          • Besi Buruk (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Price twice more expensive than Suprima…??

Sime Darby memang takut nak suruh Proton, MITI marah kah?

• Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:20 am

Toyota salesman are here and talk how bad Hyundai is. Typical modus operandi, bad mouth their competitors.

But in truth, they are so scared of dropping sales. Camry nobody is touching cause it is really King of RV (depreciation). Everybody knows, 2013 Toyota Camry 2.5 is now sold for RM130k, down from RM180k. No other Japanese car can jatuh RM50k in less than one year!

Somemore, Malaysians can never forget what UMW did last year. Take out VSC at the detriment of Malaysian lives. ALL over the world, Camry got VSC. Only in Malaysia, Camry VSC was taken out. Why? To reap more profit at the expense of the lives of Toyota buyers. So, many ardent Toyota fans migrated to Honda. Infact, nearly 90% of Toyota Camry buyers migrated to Honda Accord. They know how unethical UMW is.

Even now, when UMW put back the VSC, people already aware how sneaky UMW is. Word of mouth is the best power. Even in mamak stall, mamak himself tell me, Camry got no VSC last year because UMW mahu untung lebih.

Altis nobody buying cause the one with VSC is RM139k. People rather buy an Elanta for 90K which is the largest C segment car around, super economical engine and comes with VSC. Don’t believe, have you ever seen the new Altis on the road despite launching 6 months ago??

Vios is dead. Vios is beaten by the City. Everybody agrees on this. Nobody is going to touch the Vios. That is clear cut. No need analysis or argument. Even Toyota salesman agree, City will wipe out Vios. So, even Toyota salesman have declared defeat when City is concerened.

So that is why the Toyota salesman running scared. Even Sam Loo join Hyundai Sime Darby knowing that the Toyota ship is slowly sinking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
          • Same Lor Ori on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:35 pm

Copy and paste comment, SPAM!

• Same Lor Ori on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:51 pm

HID light must pair with PROJECTOR headlamps as it draw a clear boundary on the light emitted area.

Those caused trouble are REFLECTOR headlamps, where these drivers don’t give a sh*t of others. Their brain only capable of thinking how to tapao/smoke other cars with they almighty local cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
        • Auto headlight leveling is compulsory for HID. After market HID not with auto headlight leveling.

• koreanguy on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:04 pm

in south korea, the headlamp is fitted with HID/halogen bulb… but in malaysia….. :(

• Not gonna sell well here in Malaysia.
        In europe, they love this car as it offer diesel engine for better fc,cheap roadtax n more.

In Malaysia, its competitor only use 1.6 n below cc
        308 – 1.6 , Golf – 1.4
        Only less greener tech n new tech like turbo,dual-clutch,multi-link.
        Then why its so expensive,build quality improved ?
        as many reviewed the interior quality quiet good.

This is a good car if priced around 80-100k only.
        buyers need to think long enough as it compete lots of better car around that price

-Peugeot 308 n Mazda 3 , 2014 nominees of car of the year (peugeot 308 2014 new facelift upcoming)
        *308 won 2014 world car of the year
        -Ford 1.0 ecoboost , world no.1 engine of the year
        (upcoming)
        -VW Golf TSI , top 5 world best engine with DSG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
        • Same Lor Ori on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Well done, Hyundai, although the RV will very bad, as usual. At least you provide addition option for the Proton victims.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
        • Moores on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Peugeot won European car of the year. World car of the year yet to announce and yes Mazda 3 is in.

• before buying i30 ,
            at least wait for
            Mazda 3 hatchback (2.0 skyactive)
            n new pug 308 (1.2 3cylinder 130hp)

pug new engine can get 35km/l
            thats a wow.
            new 308 n mazda 3 for me looks better,

• policeman on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Yuck, the price!

I’ll take a Corolla!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
      • hatchback section here bro… not sedan
        Its main rival is VW Golf mk7,
        -less cc (cheap roadtax) 1.4 TSI
        (world top engine vs 1.8 Nu)
        -less fuel comsumption
        -Bi-xenon headlight with active bending vs Halogen
        -coloured touchscreen with proximity sensor
        -DRL
        -Electronic parking brake

Hows that to be compared,
        btw this i30 looks better but in term of technology,still far to feat the conti.
        finger crossed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
        • Bob_B78 on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Golf is 20k more expensive.
          N you might encounter DSG issues.
          But i believe Golf is a better car to drive.

• Maybe DSG issues.. 5years unlim warranty covers it all,

20k more expensive for
            -VW DSG
            -1.4 TSI world best engine
            -all others accs
            worth it.
            if out of budget, consider upcoming pug 308 n Mazda 3 ..
            ‘World’ car of the year totally means somethings right.

• Bob_B78 on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:20 pm

Actually VW warranty is 2+3 years
            2yr manufacturer, 3yrs insurance
            1.4 TSI got 2 type:
            1. Twincharger-Jetta, Beetle,
            2. Turbo Bluemotion – Golf Mk7
            Twincharger type-more power
            Bluemotion – Fuel Efficient

Anyway hatchback lacks of space when rear seats up. So i got myself Jetta instead of Golf.
            Many will wonder if i encounter DSG failure. The answer is NO, nothing yet.

• Seriously on Mar 28, 2014 at 7:34 pm

You only ‘believe’ Golf is a better car? Then I suggest you try one.

• Proton Jebat on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Better buy Preve, kualiti terjamin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 52
      • Sam Sin Kar Lan on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:21 am

Corolla is nothing, at most can compare to preve. i30 is the premium version of Elantra. Just like Lexus ES is the premium version of Camry. i30 uses high grade materials on par with lexus CT200h…..if you are blindfolded and put inside this car you will feel and think it is lexus! While in an altis you will think you are in a proton!!

• This! on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:45 pm

This comment made me laugh silly in front of my computer haha

• OMG…P.Suprima will be value for $ if compare with this expensive crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • OMG…the car look so so, the girl look so so, but the ugliest part is the pricing….puihh…It should be below 100k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • what is sime darby even thinking? a 1.8 car at this price? do you even do a competitive study of the local market? it’s true they say arrogance kills. we’ll be mourning the death of sime darby auto soon.

• kongkek on Mar 27, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Btw, care to check how much is mazda 3 going for ?

The i30 price is too optimistic. The kia or even 308 had better price point.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 9:42 pm

This is Korean CBU not Thai CBU or Boleh CKD…both Thai n Boleh have no import tax..Korean CBU has 30% import tax..if i30 CKD in boleh the price might near the T. Yaris price.

• CBU CKD? on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:47 pm

If priced so unreasonable might as well don’t bring in and lose face …

• Walau its just a Hyundai but cost more than Toyota?

• Stanley on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:14 pm

Much more expensive than i expected.. Not worth buying even though specs are good.. Think hyundai and sime darby is really taking us on a ride.. Again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Yeah, The dealer should be called ‘Slime Darby’, when it was under Kah Bintang, the Hyundai cars are priced quite reasonable and competitive, when the Slime took over the price went up 2 notches..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Tristan on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:35 pm

Couldn’t agree more. It’s Slime Darby which are the real leeches. A fully spec 1.8 auto in the land down under wouldn’t exceed more than RM110k. The car isn’t a bad car to begin with but selling at 130K is already encroaching into premium hatchback category.

• start-a-fight on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:00 pm

stick with your elantra then…

excuse me if I say these i-series is like DS to C series of citroen.

• Nabill on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:15 pm

In europe,it can compare with da golf bcos both are available as a diesel…here its 1.8petrol vs 1.4 tsi..which although golf is abt 15k more expensive..its a beter package…15k over 9yr loan is nt much of a diff…but the fiasco regarding vw service centers n dsg’s,it mite be favourable to da i30……
    Its definatly beter looking than da golf..
    Ford focus hatchbach is cheaper as well!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Eddie on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:15 pm

it is a lil expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • I thought it will adopt GDI engine.. sigh..

• Absolute Rider on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Why no 1.6L variant? Anyway, from exterior to interior do have wow factor. Yes, again I want to mention here the interior. Look at interior picture. Panels are designed and do feel connected with each other.

I’m wondering how Suprima S interior design can pass? Not sure whether design or the tooling / stamping / mould department do the wrong calculations. The worst is the panel gaps and not connected and inline from panel to panel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • thgh (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Waiting for people to bash this car.

Handling wise, we still don’t know unless we drove the car.

But on the paper, for that price it’s offering a lot of kits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • no gps or touch screen for new 120k price range wheels…quite dissapointed

• roti canai (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:23 pm

is it CBU, if it is, i don’t think it’s that expensive…i definitely would buy this over a Golf….however, i would still go for the Mazda 3 in the end.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • barang naik on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Bila sebuah negara di perintah oleh Barang Naik, barang barang mesti naik. Just forget about having cheaper cars, barang naik will not make it happen as they have usually done (by empty promises and excuses).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 19
    • barang turn on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:43 pm

You boleh kasi saya tau sekarang ini mana negara di dunia dan di “akhirat” barang turun???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 24
      • Nicholas on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Kalau tak boleh turun janganlah janji… I pun nak tanya, negara mana tiap-tiap tahun auditor report ada penyelewangan tapi tiap-tiap tahun pun tiada tindakan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 10
        • barang naik on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Exactly…. kalau tak boleh dicapai, jangan jainji.

BN is bunch of liar..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
          • Sabar on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Sabarlah bang. Itu pru13 masih belum genap setahun sedangkan pru14 masih kejauhan. Jadi janji belum lagi dimungkiri. Kalau nak condemn pun, pilihlah masa yang tepat. Nanti susah kau kena telan balik you punya comment bila PM announce. Bersabarlah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • I pun nak tanya on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Janji pasal U mau dengar ma! Itu “P”erombak “Rakyat” Mani festo pun janji barang turun ma…

I pun nak tanya, negeri mana di dunia ini tak ada penyelewangan?

• Dunia on Mar 27, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Di dunia ini, mana ada negara yang tiada penyelewengan, selagi manusia mempunyai nafsu ? Samada pemerintah ataupun pembankang, isu ini akan tetap timbul. Ini adalah sifat manusia sejati. Jadi biarlah fikir masak masak dahulu sebelum sebarang “kenyataan” diujarkan.

• CT is not me on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:26 pm

1.8 is to much for me..nowdays all u need to think is FC

• Maserati on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Sell at 80k oso i wont buy. Hyundais are never known to last . And drivability is no where as good as Honda or Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 45
    • Heng Lee on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Drivability not as good as Toyota? You mean it won’t roll-over in curves?

• maserasucktits on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:31 am

yaada yaada yaada from the man that lives in a cave.

Did you test drive yet? If not then STFU!! Toyoltas drives like thrash. Only lexus can compare with the i series. Even VW boss praised this car saying they need to learn from this model to improve the golf.

From your comments i can tell you have not driven any modern cars for a long time. Still driving that old junk datsun 120y? poor guy…

• nenkaras on Apr 13, 2014 at 9:29 am

Drivability in Toyota GOOD? If you actually sat in a Vios/Altis you’d know that’s bulls**t. Feels like a boat, makes slow feel fast. Saw someone’s Vios fly to the opposite lane taking a corner and crash because he actually thought the Vios is a sportscar. No, i did not win the 4D from his number.

• The rear lamp look like Nissan Livina

• zeek (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Aduh mahal nya. I was hoping this would be a (slightly) cheaper alternative to the 308 & Focus.

• Hater on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:31 pm

Bold move, nice try.

• Overpriced korean car..better spend for other sedan like cerato,cruze,vios,city..even civic.

• xavier lert on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Hyundai (Malaysia) has break the “cheap” barrier by selling it at this price.

verdict : Good Luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • theanswer on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:36 pm

hahahaha hyundai with crazy pricing. 1.8 should be cheaper than focus. not saying the car or brand is bad, but pls be reasonable. u should know your market.

• Kangkung on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:39 pm

No matter how Hyundai ( or KIA) improved, and equipped their cars with pack of tech & safety features ( plus in this case it is ” designed and developed at the Hyundai Motor Europe Technical Centre in Russelsheim, Germany” ), if one’s mind is already pre-occupied with the idea of ” Conti car is good- Kimchi is bad/poor RV/etc), then no articles or review video will able to persuade them to even think for a minute about liking ( not buying) this car :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • theanswer on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:31 pm

really? nope. because the comparo is between maybe civic, altis,mazda 3, focus,cerato or maybe 308/408. all of them have 2.0 engine(or equivalent if turbo). like i said before..it’s not the brand or car..but pricing.

• AVH (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Aesthetic wise it’s indeed a handsome car, gone are the problematic fluidic design and replace with something thou similar, but much cleaner, and I’am all in favor of the deletion of chrome bits off the front. Interior wise, gone are the sulphuric-acid melted dashboard and in its place a more ergonomic and easier-to-the eyes looks. All in all, unlike the new Yaris, this indeed has aesthetic and design in its favor and selling point. The safety stands at a PaulTan-approved 6 airbags + ESP. And this

This is all going very well……until the powertrain and price. It’s essentially RM127k for a 1.8l car, which in defiance of the typical status quo, it’s a Korean car as or more (depends how you look at it)expensive as a Japanese marque. Both Honda and Toyota, are now cheaper than this but with a 2.0l engine. Now before you dislike-trigger happy folks throw me to the bottom of the Mariana Trench, I am not saying that this is a worse product than the T and H, I will not be surprise of the built quality is better. But the market is still filled with people with a certain POV to Korean automakers, this thou has 6 airbags and ESP but has nothing other than it’s looks to change that perception. Add to that, There’s still the ford focus and fellow Korean cerato to chellenge it for spec to price (2.0l for 129k and 119k respectively) and the probability of the MMC civic w/ 6 airbags and 1.6 Mazda 3 to arrive.

The i30 is a good car, but I consider SD-Hyundai as the 2nd UMW. And like most if not all of UMW offerings, it’s a good car……priced wrongly.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
    • Avh,
      It’s a joy reading your comments. One of the very rare posts that talk sense as oppose to plain bashing. :)

Let me play devils advocate here:
      To price it much below 110k, and we’ll probably have Ford, VW, Mazda,etc crying bloody murder as their similar product offering is in this region. Problem is, I doubt they can as it would be too closed to the B segment superminis of the Rio, Fiesta… And I don’t think the government will allow as it’s too close to …

No doubt the focus, mazda3, golf are is comparators, but I do agree. It’s overpriced due to the fact over its POV as you rightly mention. Ideally, it should be somewhere between 105 to 110… Matching the 308 at least… Since the 308 is locally assembled.

Pity. A good looking and well spec car done wrong by pricing…

• AVH (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 2:42 am

Thanks for the compliments!

I had a discussion earlier over the new i30’s pricing, apperently, I’ve forgotten ford Malaysia is also manage by Sime Darby(same folks who ripped off 4 good airbags in the fiesta facelift). Now I don’t think it’s the government but more of the distributor raising the price to balance competition of its own Focus. Hyundai still have an market advantage over ford and I do believe during whatever round table meeting, representative from Ford voice their concern over product cannabilization from the new i30. Any company would try to maximize profit as much as possible and if i30 were to chellenge fords profits, it would bring a loss to SDA and I am buisness-minded enough to know weather added profits from hyundai can balance this.

This however is just a my personal theory that fear of product cannabilization has played a significant role in high car price remaining even higher. Take those hybrids that were once tax-examples, they would have been much cheaper and sell by the boatloads if the weren’t the fact that it will definitely cannabilized it’s own ICE sales. And given that hybrids are imported fresh from foreign factory and therefore, laden with specs that are international worthy, this will not only chellenge the sales of Local assembled model it will also stretch waiting time(ships can only carry so many cars) and slow sales of CKD , whose factory, owned by local distributor, will have its production slowed and profit decrease.

And regarding the government setting the price, I do not know weather this is authenticated but check out number 2 in this list from Jalopnik, it’s actually rather shocking for me, and maybe the reason why Toyota gets all the price hiked.

http://jalopnik.com/5973643/ten-surprising-car-facts-youve-probably-never-heard-before

• AVH (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 5:48 am

*and I am NOT buisness-minded enough to know weather added profits from hyundai can balance this.

• 50rangers on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:44 pm

No matter how good it is claimed and specced, doesn’t justify the asking price. Better buy Mazda 3.

• pathfinder on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:45 pm

this is what happened when GLC is the authorised distributor…just like UMW…as well as TCM (non-GLC)…guess we should praise Naza for their generosity so far…miles ahead in term of spec offered apple to apple

• Henry Ford The XII on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:46 pm

About right Sir.
      Never had experience with Naza,just heard about their not-so-nice after sales services but you have to give credit to them in term of pricing their cars (as compared to others).
      Was reading a comparison test of hot hatches (208 gti vs clio rs200 vs fiesta st) from a UK based publication and this is what really intrigued me (when it comes to pricing):
      “A mere £100 separates the Gallic duo – £18,895 for the Pug, £18,995 for the Renault – while the Fiesta weighs in at a compelling £16,995 (a grand more in tastier ST2 guise).”
      Now look at the prices of 208 gti and clio rs200 here…

• Hyundai has recently mix up their pricing and think they are selling VW. Even Samsung smartphones are losing out fast to Lenovo.

• passion33 on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:58 pm

had enough problems with my samsung g.note3.. my next phone going to be Lenovo.

• carnut on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:48 pm

While I was not that impressed with its looks (not that its bad looking), I was certainly impressed by its build quality. Everything about the car feels solid and german-like. Big improvement over the other current Hyundai models. I might say it feels more solid than a 308 and close to a Golf.

• Crazy expensive…a decent c segment now is already ave 130k..

• The cost had increase dude, only Proton still try to maintain it’s C segment car by below RM80k.

• Aero (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:51 pm

The first time I saw this i30, it was love at first sight. I still love it today.

But I wouldn’t buy the i30, because that would mean betraying my current love, the Suprima S. The difference between the two cars is like a wife and a supermodel. One is a need, the other is a want. Married people will understand.

But the Mazda3 hatch is God. Everybody MUST love the Mazda3 hatch. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Pedestrian on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Between Malaysian wife and Korean supermodel?

Malaysian wife, definitely. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Henry Ford the XII on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Err.. bro, why do you need a Suprima S?

• Aero (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Hmm…. it is difficult to put in words. It’s like how Proton needs our buying support, and we need Proton to do better, and if Proton does better, all Malaysians will benefit in ways more than one. So it’s a two-way relationship, both parties complement each other. As for Hyundai, or any other foreign companies, it’s mostly one-way, meaning that if we buy their cars, we gain in the short term, but lose in the long run. They on the other hand will gain and gain only. If they lose us, they can always find other customers elsewhere, so they have nothing to fear.

• DrCooper on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:54 pm

I think HSDM is too overconfident pricing this car…it should not exceed price 120k range

• niaulong on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:58 pm

132k for a C-seg Hyundai with NO GDI engine…
    Tak payah tengok kereta lagi kot Showroom.
    I will LIKE the Pricey Mazda3 with 139k more than this.
    Hyundai ~ Wrong Move.

• why would anyone buy this when you can get a fully loaded Ford Focus Titanium Plus??

the ford is:
    faster
    safer
    featureful
    handles better
    cheaper

only idiots will buy this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • brother on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Don’t simply simply called other people idiotlah, Brother. Biar ada budaya sikit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • sam loose on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:16 pm

itu dct bleh pakai ke? rase mcm naik kuda plak nnt?

• DCT mcm kuda? dah pernah try ke ?
        tersenggut-senggut ke ?
        ke rasa mcm bawak ferrari (kuda jugak)

DCT dont feel a thing when changing gears , only abit during 1st gear accelerating..

xtau plak autobox biase lagi baik dari DCT/DSG,
        hurmm Ferrari,Lambo,Porshe semua pakai DCT kenapa ye?

• passion33 on Mar 27, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Ford Focus, was once on my list due to its full features & kits.

But because the interior was so cramp, it’s off my list. The dashboard was nice but it was overly long resulted you’ll hit you legs every time you open the drawer compartment.

If you move backwards, you squeezed legroom for your rear seat. Only if Ford could enlarge the car a bit or shorten the dashboard, it would be nice.. how I wish..

• Plus+ on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Where are the rear aircond & electri hand brake as previewed at KLIMS’13 and overpriced

• what? on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:06 pm

Same o lame o… plenty of more variety to choose from. Mazda 3 hatchback, new peugeot 308, or golf mk7. .. since volkswagen is having problems n landing themselves in a hot soup im waiting for new peugeot 308 I guess….won the best car of year..

• Denaihati on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:08 pm

in term of interior, exterior appearance, specification as well, it is so impressive. i guess if have CKD version, it could be affordable price, and more interesting to compete with Japan car.

• W204 C63 on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:12 pm

the overpriced mazda3 skyactiv all of a sudden looks like a bargain next to this.

• kangkong on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:30 pm

i would like to see more korean car on the road so there will be more competitiveness among car maker and benefit us..buy this is wrongly priced though..next, other company will price their car around this price too for 1.8…where promise for cheaper car??

• Stanley on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Again is very disappointed in its pricing… Its like it tries to rival up itself to the japanese by claiming to add more features for the current price.. What they should do is the price is competitively so that the japanese have to follow the korean’s market offerings, not the other way round.. I would’ve have expected this car to be priced maybe slight more expensive that the ELANTRA 1.8, maximum 120k. That would give focus and cerato a run for their money… But no, sime darby wants to be japanese minded lile toyota and tries to dupe us starting from now.. Look at the Veloster for example.. Utterly disgusted..

• takNakP1 on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:37 pm

whenever there is a new car launch, i find it most hilarious how all the brand, price, safety and feature bashing when the fact is…

no car in boleh land is cheap enough to label as worth the value

“sikap rakyat pasal harga kereta mahal”
    “unless the buying stop, the price will never stop (going up)”
    “principle of supply and demand (e.g. kangkung)” by PM.

• sktan on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:38 pm

can buy saga 1.6 flx se and suprima s full spec

• Norman J on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Hyundai+Kia combined only manage to sell 21k units last year (for passenger car), way behind Nissan 46k, Honda 52k and Toyota 61k… Lagi mau jual mahal2!!!

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Looks: Decent enough. Fairly attractive.
    Kit: Looks pretty good.
    Safety: Check.
    Build quality: It’s not Inokom so that is good.

Price? Hopeless. As I said, 130k is like death sentence to it. Why would you pay 130k for this, when the Focus S+ gives better value and definitely better handling (the 1.8 Nu is so-so compared to the Duratec 2.0, but I’d take the so-so 6 speed auto on the Hyundai over the horrid 6 speed Powershift in the Focus).

Its too expensive compared to even the Cerato 2.0, which has even more kit, and is actually a MUCH newer car.

As usual, SDAH taking us for a roller coaster ride. Drop the price to 115k, build the confidence and image. Then next time you can put a higher price (gradually).

• sonata on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Previous gen of I-30 was a failure due to unreasonable price. I drove the I-30 for 2 days in Melbourne and I really like it, but the pricing here put me off.
    Seems like HMSD fail to learn their lesson. Let’s see how it fare.
    P/S, I’m a Sonata YF owner, and I think hyundai produce reasonably good car.

• fast5 on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Yes I agreed hyundai makea good cars BUT HSDM make this way way to expensive…. think and do research like read Paultan.org readers comment before simply launching at crazy price with some fung shui lucky number 1++,888 and 1++,888 with no sense….. RIP sime darby with this price range….

• kslim on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:42 pm

suprima s with 6 speed manual pawn the shit out of this car

• These are probably UK spec models. Made entry locally to test market acceptance. That’s why is so pricey. If the sales is good then probably they would consider assembled it locally to bring the price down. By then, issues would be it’s QC level and parts being used. The review for this car seems to be good.
    http://www.carbuyer.co.uk/reviews/hyundai/i30/hatchback/review

• OrocHimaru Sama on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:06 pm

mahal nak mampus engine 1.8 jual harga 132k. better go to civic 2.0, accord, altis or sylphy. ini kereta bleh kasi bungkus kain putih simpan dlm stor atau buang dlm laut. takkan laku punya …

• Drive Your Way on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:37 pm

I bought the first generation back in 2009 at 87K. It has since clocked the first 100,000 mileage and the car is still young and energetic. The 5-speed stick shifter is not the best gearbox out there but it’s decent enough for a spin. For this new price, I will keep my car. With regular maintenance service, I expect it to continue to serve me reliably and clock another 100K mileage in the next few years to come. Sorry HMSD, 128K is way too outrageous.

• Joker on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:59 pm

The car is good not great hence the price didn’t justify the value for spec / technology etc….
    Pug 308 will turn the C Segment Hatch around…

• i am pro so listen la on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:28 pm

ESP (VSM in Hyundai language)

What do you mean VSM in hyundai language. there is no need to explain what is an ESP.

Your writing style just bordering IRRITATING.

• Rhys Milen on Mar 29, 2014 at 10:45 pm

No… VSM = ESP plus MDPS intervention
      VSC = ESP for Honda and Toyota..

VSM is a newer enhanced version of ESP.
      Same with Hondas Motion Adaptive EPS.

Rhys

• bluebird on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:34 pm

This price is after government promise of 30% price reduction or before??

• rdwong on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:35 pm

I agree with most that despite it being a car I love that I will never buy it….Devastated. The only reason i30 is over-priced is because if it is priced at RM80,000 – RM90,000, no one will buy Suprima S.

• Wow,This “H” senget can put Mazda 3 and Accord price
    to shame!

• 120k, but no touch screen??

• Maserati on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:54 pm

A civic 2.0 is a much much much better buy than this piece of crap from Korea.

Or u could get an Altis 2.0 . Super smooth engine and it looks great!

Pls keep this piece of junk in Korea. Its a horrible car. In fact, all korean cars are crap.

Good riddance , bad rubbish!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Toyota King of RV on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:28 pm

Yes Honda Civic,new Altis and upcoming new Sylphy can put this Kimchi in junk yard.

• Its obviously overpriced…

just a note of caution, i am so surprise that the basic car here priced so much higher even compare to Indonesia, India and Thailand……

With the monopoly games whereby most of the car brands is held by one “government related” company, I can’t see any reason car price can go down in the near future.

• spongewai on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:59 pm

DEAR NAZA KIA

WOULD YOU ABLE TO BRING C’EED HATCHBACK TO MALAYSIA TO COMPETE AGAINST GOLF, i30, MEGANE, A-CLASS, 1-SERIES, V40, CIVIC ETC?!

• gdntsk (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Kia Motors decided to market the Cee’d only in Europe until recently when they decided to sell the Cee’d in Australia. But I doubt the Cee’d will enter Malaysia.

However, the Cerato is available in a 5-door hatchback bodystyle across the globe except in some European countries where the Cee’d is sold.

• Another note, hyundai car are price rather cheaply is most of the countries, so dont blame the car, but the local dealer who have aim for fat margin….

Well, not surprise at all that most decision is make without using the grey matter, how on earth hyundai become a prestige priced car compare to their Japanese counterpart!!!

• BS lee on Mar 27, 2014 at 5:04 pm

i drove i30 some few years ago. the ride was no doubt impressive , close to conti cars albeit built quality wasn’t up to highest level yet.
    They sold only 2 cars in the whole northern states.
    the price then was 96k (only 1.6).

to sell at130k? I quote one of Samy’s favorites:
    Lu orang sudah gila lah.

• gdntsk (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Let’s do a comparison between the various non-national C-segment hatchbacks in Malaysia (and PLEASE DON’T INCLUDE SEDANS OR CARS FROM OTHER SEGMENTS AND DON’T INCLUDE THE SUPRIMA S):

Volkswagen Golf 1.4 TSI (140 PS @ 4500-6000 rpm; 250 Nm @ 1500-3500 rpm) mated to 7-speed DSG auto gearbox: RM 159,888.00
    Safety features include 6 airbags + 1 driver knee airbag with ABS+BA+ESP.
    And it’s CBU from GERMANY.

Ford Focus Sport 2.0 TI-VCT GDI (170 PS @ 6500 rpm; 202 Nm @ 4450 rpm) mated to 6-speed auto Powershift® gearbox with DCT: RM 129,953.30 (Sport+), RM 116,953.30 (Sport)
    Safety equipment is similar to that of Golf’s only for the Sport+ (Sport+ has 6 airbags while Sport has 2 lesser airbags)
    And the Sport+ has the auto parallel-parking feature.
    The Focus is fully imported from Rayong in Thailand which means it’s ASEAN CBU (there’s incentives allowed for ASEAN CBU CARS which make them cheaper by a bit).

Peugeot 308 Turbo [1.6 THP engine] (156 bhp @ 5800 rpm; 240 Nm @ 1400 rpm) mated to 6-speed auto adaptive gearbox with Tipronic and Sport mode: RM 121,888.00
    Safety features are similar to that of the Focus Sport+.
    This 308 Turbo is a Naza CKD model.

Hyundai i30 1.8 Nu MPI (150PS @ 6500rpm; 178 Nm @ 4700 rpm) mated to 6-speed auto transmission: RM 127888 (Executive)
    Safety features are similar to that of Focus Sport+ and 308 Turbo.
    Sold in CBU FORM, the i30 comes from SOUTH KOREA.

And I didn’t add 1 Series, A-Class, and Volvo V40 because they are luxury hatchbacks.

So, which of the 4 mentioned above is the best (overall)?
    From my point of view, the Golf Mk7 will die sooner than we’ll know due to the DSG fiasco.
    The Focus has good driving dynamics but has a cramped interior with an audio system with many confusing buttons and it isn’t user friendly. And apparently, the Powershift® with DCT is problematic.
    The 308 Turbo is OK, but Naza’s aftersales service really sucks big time.
    And the i30 has a nice and beautiful package but it is OVERPRICED due to the fact that it came from South Korea and not from any ASEAN country.

And IMHO, I find that all 4 aren’t good in the long run. And I know that sales of the i30 will suffer even though I’m a Hyundai-Kia fan who also drives an economical Atos 1.0 MT.

Just my 2 sen :)

• halo2,,
      include upcoming model
      2014 Mazda 3 hatchback
      2014 pug 308

• 133k for 1.8litre Korean ? Better get full spec 2.0 mazda 3

• newgencars on Mar 27, 2014 at 7:32 pm

they expect to sell this at this price? it’s a hyundai – i’m not going to pay this amount for a hyundai badge.

better get a mazda 3, way better.

• taknakproton on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:03 pm

So many bad comments about i30 yet not one of you have ever driven or seen the i30. Shows the low level mentality of sourgrapes. Cannot afford, don’t complaint.

Be grateful that SD is giving Malaysian options of Euro Spec Hyundais and be aware there are Malaysians who are looking for such spec cars, and not tin kosong cars unlike TCM, UMW, HM.

• taknakproton on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Bodoh punya budak komplain harga kereta tinggi, pi tanya NAP demi proton.

• sepul on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Personally, this is the best offering in Hyundai Sime Darby lineup so far. Koreans cars are not known for their driving dynamics, but build quality and practicality, not to mention reliability (at least in Europe) are the major factors.

Now Sime Darby need to review their model lineup, because some (Elantra, Santa Fe, Starex, and Veloster) are somewhat overshadowed by this car and the i40 pairs, safety wise. Perhaps they have too many variants of the same model. This also makes the Veloster a pointless choice.

• sepul on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Btw, many of us here are badge snobs, as Mat Watson of CarBuyer puts it. Good cars are not because of the badge, people. It’s what they can offer.

Speaking of badge, HSDM really need to ditch those extra badges on the tailgate.

• Car_fan on Mar 27, 2014 at 10:32 pm

I’m not sure why the writer is waxing lyrical over the i30, maybe out of pity. I’ll have a Focus over this any day, not some overpriced conti hatchback wannabe. Seriously, if can’t sell at price expected of a Korean brand, why bother?

• onanodus on Mar 27, 2014 at 10:42 pm

The grill on M’sian spec i30s look like the one found on the base i30 Classic in the UK.

• Sam Loo on Mar 28, 2014 at 12:03 am

Why buy now? 15 months on, pick a unit of choice from a desperate owner for RM30k

• roxas on Mar 28, 2014 at 12:07 am

a good car..but more expensive than a veloster??sime darby oso love to suck ppl now like umw

• (MY POV )I am so sick and tired of seeing mediocre cars from other countries, after entering to our shores straight away become expensive cars. Seriously, I doubt there is much sales for this model. If the target audience is car enthusiast, then I’m very sorry to say you fail big time with that price tag.( Agreed totally as you guys mention, better to look at conti cars with that kind of price tag.) Recently KIA also produces very appealing cars. They may be cheap compare to other big names, but the car does not make you feel cheap at all. You pay less but you get more.

• Motorhead (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 12:40 am

Another price from Mars.. no.. Pluto… good luck sales… only some nuts will buy Korean at this price. Rasa nak berak dy.

• takNakP1 on Mar 28, 2014 at 10:19 am

sime darby may be smirking now.
    “yeah… scream, bash, yell, criticize about the price as much as u can on forums and blogs. i don’t care because there are still a many people will buy because they don’t listen to the PM economy 101 – supply and demand e.g. kangkung. Hahahaha…”

• yellow on Mar 28, 2014 at 2:21 pm

With that price tag. Yet still Torsion beam rear suspension for malaysian market.
    Wonder why the automaker always down grade the spec for us.

Cheaper honda civic fitted with multi-link suspension for agility..

Disappointed with hyundai too

• Banana on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:00 pm

R.I.P. SimeDarby Hyundai Malaysia.

• tujupakali on Mar 29, 2014 at 4:32 am

despite the price, tapi overall cun jugak kereta ni!

• adui haiii……the show girl….

• Priced around 130k but no DRLs? What a shame..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 31, 2015 at 2:20 pm

this is good looking car