Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X FQ-440 MR for the UK

mitsubishi-lancer-evolution-x-fq-440-mr-uk

Yup, 440 hp from a 2.0 litre engine. But Mitsubishi Motors UK are known for special-edition Evos (FQ-300, -330, –360, –400) with monumental outputs; turbo lag be damned.

So they’re at it again, with the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X FQ-440 MR, which celebrates 40 years of Mitsubishi in Britain. Suitably, only 40 units will be built, and they’ll cost 50,000 pounds (RM273k) each.

Thanks to an ECU remap and an HKS turbo, the four-cylinder motor, which is connected to a six-speed SST twin-clutch ‘box, develops 440 hp at 6,800 rpm and 559 Nm of torque. The exhaust system, high-flow cat-con, intake, intercooler piping kit and tubular manifold come from Janspeed, and there are motorsport-spec fuel injectors.

Scrubbing off the inevitable speed are Alcon callipers with floating discs and bell assemblies (front callipers are six-pot mono-block units). The front and rear suspension has been lowered by 35 and 30 mm respectively. Eibach coil springs, too. Elsewhere, there’s Super-All Wheel Control (S-AWC) with full-time AWD, plus keyless entry and start.

Inside, you’ll find leather bucket Recaros, an eight-speaker Rockford Fosgate sound system with subwoofer and a seven-inch touch-screen with navigation and Bluetooth. Wheels are forged 18-inch BBS alloys, and Frost White is the only body colour available.

Servicing schedules comprise an initial 1,600-km oil change, with further service intervals at 7,200 km or six months, whichever comes first. The Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X FQ-440 MR comes with a three-year/57,600 km warranty.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• 1st & I want one!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
  • “comes with a three-year/57,600 km warranty”

Why not just make it 60k?? Did they estimate that the car will gwai dai around 58k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • Answering my own question, I guess it’s due to the service interval..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • azrai on Mar 27, 2014 at 5:02 pm

I think it is because British still using miles instead of kilometres. So it is the conversion actually.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • Because it’s given 36000 miles warranty.

• 440hp with SST gearbox? They improved the SST for this version?

This from your article for FQ-400

“Like the previous top of the line FQ-360, the car comes with a manual as it is likely the 6-speed twin clutch SST cannot take the high torque that the FQ-400 puts out. The FQ-300 and FQ-330 have SST models though, with the FQ-330 SST only just recently added as the original line-up only specified SST on the FQ-300”

• AVH (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Probably a stern reminder to AMG that Mitsubishi are still in the crazy 4 banger game. Still not going to snatch the crown from AMG as ‘the most powerful production 4-cylinder turbo” turbo as all Evos including this left the mizushima plant in Japan with 320hp in its 2.0l. The FQ-440 just ‘normal’ Evos arriving to UK before Mitsubishi UK gave it some steroids and a factory warranty and send it out to the showrooms….and what a steroid.

Considering normal 320hp Evos are already on par with CLA45s for straight line speed(JDM Evos are quoted at 4.5 sec in the century dash, same as the CLA) I have no idea how much faster this is. Sure it’s probably not as refine nor is it euro 6 compliant, but I’am batting its sure dem more exciting than the already crazy AMG’s 4-pot. The Evo X is the very last exciting car from the Japanese marque, which is now undergoing a transformation to achieve ultimate dullness, with cvt sprouting everywhere in its line up. Gone are the days of FTO, 2000GT and eclipse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • BLUR SOTONG on Mar 27, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Hi all I drove a 12 years Mitsubishi evo. In term of parts availability it’s a bit of problem. But till now my car hardly break down .
      I can’t said about the fast and furious car from Europe continental . Mitsubishi had make their car to perform and last for a long time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • AVH (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 7:36 pm

12 years…..I’am saying that’s either a IV or V-VI, the VI T.M.E is possibly my favorite of all the Evos, lighter, less electronics and more thoroughbred, comes from a time where all Lancer evolutions are stick shift.

I should expect if the engine isn’t tune to outright lunacy, reliability isn’t much of a problem. The Evo platform was design for the most extreme of racing….rallying. The platform itself is very versatile, able to be used in almost all kinds of condition be it rallying, time attack or hill climb, and is also the very easy to work with. which is the reason why I like the Evos and scooby a lot, it hails from an era of pure, no-nonsense Japanese engineering to create a platform versatile and easy enough for whatever racing its owner desired, a automotive equivalent to Mikhail Kalashnikov’s invention , the AK rifle. There are cars which are as fast as the Evos and scooby, but none as dependable or versatile, not to mention easy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • 4G63T DSM on Mar 27, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Coming from someone that owned several Eclipses, I’m still waiting for a 2 door Evo.

The 4G63 has always been a tough one. 350 on the stock short block, 450 with better conrods is simple work. What’s not so good is the centre diff on the W5M32 gearbox. It shatters when you hit about 400hp/400ft-lbs.

The old 4G63 powered FQ400 was already doing supercar embarrassing 3.8s to 100 when launched properly. (launched properly being key here, not many will drop the clutch at 5500rpm with the anti-lag engaged).

• frenzyaustin on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:24 pm

FTO and 3000GT. My Gran Turismo PSOne wet dream.

• Preve Lover on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:32 am

* Mitsubishi 3000GT VR4

• Motorhead (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Tremendous power from 2.0 turbo engine. Good job Mistu. Unfortunately. . In UK 273k dy.. in bolehland I can imagine the price dy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Denaihati on Mar 27, 2014 at 5:37 pm

no chance to see here. but it is good to see if used by PDRM, and replace existing evolution x.

• Inspira-evo on Mar 27, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Wow, gonna transform my inspira gt to this one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
  • Hmm.. It will be even better if Proton added Lotus rides and handling to it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • irfanaqil on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:33 pm

lol!! just make new evoX replacement!!the WRX will be alone without his rival this time!!

• Eddie on Mar 27, 2014 at 10:17 pm

Would love to trade my 00 galant vr4 for this one

• antiproton on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:31 pm

proton inspira evo x…. lolx…

• SOOLILO on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:47 am

STILL WAITING GDI TO IMMERSE WITH THIS 4B11T.
    THIS IS WHAT AMG45 CAN DO, LOW FUEL CONSUMPTION WITH HI POWER OUTPUT.

• braderaccessory on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:55 am

Yawn…… While the world have move on, mitsubishi is still stuck in beng era. The model is dated. Although the engine is good, why bother when you can get AMG45 which not only looks good, go fast, and your in-law will approve with brand snob. Drive this lancer evokowlution, people will think you are pimp or dvd sellers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • FarizY (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Cool looking car. Awesome power, undoubtedly massive turbo lag.
    What would the replacement looks like, hopefully looks better, drives even better as well.
    And Mitsu, please get back into WRC.

• The best! on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:55 pm

I’ll take one please !