Bangkok 2014: Toyota Yaris 1.2L hatchback, Thai-spec

Toyota Yaris BKK Show-26

No fresh metal at Toyota’s 2014 Bangkok Motor Show stand, but since the Yaris is now available in Malaysia, we’ve compiled a live photo gallery for you. For the uninitiated, the Yaris is a five-door hatchback sister to the current Toyota Vios. UMW Toyota quietly introduced the car in Malaysia earlier this week, a week after the car was launched in Indonesia.

The Yaris is sold as an eco-car in Thailand, which is why it carries a 1.2 litre engine with 86 PS and 108 Nm. The four-cylinder 3NR-FE is paired to a Super CVT-i gearbox across the range (no basic manual version) for fuel economy purposes.

Four variants (G, E, J, J ECO) are available in the Land of Smiles – both the sky blue and orange cars pictured here are Gs with things like automatic air con and keyless entry/push start. One unit has Toyota’s touch screen head unit while the other sports a standard audio system. The dashboard is from the Vios, but the orange stripe pattern on the seats is pretty unique.

Back home, the Yaris gets the same 109 PS/141 Nm 1.5 litre VVT-i engine and four-speed auto gearbox from the Vios. The sole 1.5G variant is yours for RM101,700 OTR with insurance. Click here for more details.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• still the Suprima S more value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 21
    • compare to Myvi price laa

• mizuru on Mar 27, 2014 at 1:10 pm

i wish my car is mounted with auto machine gun so everytime it detect cars with HID light or high beam,it will promptly shoot them to debris.do you know nightime auto accident occur mostly because of those light.people cant see jack when shoved with hyper bright light on their face.

• Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:25 am

Toyota salesman are here and talk how bad Hyundai is. Typical modus operandi, bad mouth their competitors.

But in truth, they are so scared of dropping sales. Camry nobody is touching cause it is really King of RV (depreciation). Everybody knows, 2013 Toyota Camry 2.5 is now sold for RM130k, down from RM180k. No other Japanese car can jatuh RM50k in less than one year!

Somemore, Malaysians can never forget what UMW did last year. Take out VSC at the detriment of Malaysian lives. ALL over the world, Camry got VSC. Only in Malaysia, Camry VSC was taken out. Why? To reap more profit at the expense of the lives of Toyota buyers. So, many ardent Toyota fans migrated to Honda. Infact, nearly 90% of Toyota Camry buyers migrated to Honda Accord. They know how unethical UMW is.

Even now, when UMW put back the VSC, people already aware how sneaky UMW is. Word of mouth is the best power. Even in mamak stall, mamak himself tell me, Camry got no VSC last year because UMW mahu untung lebih.

Altis nobody buying cause the one with VSC is RM139k. People rather buy an Elanta for 90K which is the largest C segment car around, super economical engine and comes with VSC. Don’t believe, have you ever seen the new Altis on the road despite launching 6 months ago??

Vios is dead. Vios is beaten by the City. Everybody agrees on this. Nobody is going to touch the Vios. That is clear cut. No need analysis or argument. Even Toyota salesman agree, City will wipe out Vios. So, even Toyota salesman have declared defeat when City is concerened.

So that is why the Toyota salesman running scared. Even Sam Loo join Hyundai Sime Darby knowing that the Toyota ship is slowly sinking!

• Besi Buruk (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:59 am

Yaris 1.2L > Suprima S

20KM/Liter > 10KM/Liter

Timing chain > Timing belt

Resale value > Scrap iron value

Agree???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
      • Bull shit laa u, compare to viva in same class. (C.c same, fv same)
        Btw, how u know the new yaris rv?

• Same Lor Ori on Mar 27, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Compare Yaris with Viva? LOL

Similar to comparing BMW 320 with Preve 2.0l…

I just cant stop laughing!!

• Toyota King of RV on Mar 27, 2014 at 8:33 pm

Upcoming Honda Jazz and Nissan Note can put the lousy useless junk Potong Sperm and GSC into shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Polo Saga on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:08 am

Overpriced still.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • wynter on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:19 am

buy Toyota Vios better

• Edward on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:36 am

Seriously, why can’t we have this engine and transmission for our version of Yaris?

• iskhalifah on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:37 am

If the Vios is a catfish, this one is ikan keli with longer & hideous moustache. Upcoming Nissan Note & Honda Jazz, if priced below 80K, is going to eat this ikan keli alive. Don’t blame Toyota, blame UMW.

• haih..nak sangat p beli vios 2013 je la…

ape sume ni???? still nk toyota lagi?

• kami (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:47 am

BMW’s DesignWorksUSA designs
    KL MRT trains

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 11:57 am

For that price…the Ford Fiesta Ecoboost looks to be a better choice. But there will always be Toyota fanboys and turbo-and-DCT-phobes.

• Spot on, Obviously! Sadly, our motoring journalists are still advising their readers about how Diesel engines should not be associated with clattery noises and smelly fumes…. in 2014! It will probably take another 20yrs before DCT is accepted here.

• Denaihati on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Malaysian version Toyota Yaris also much expensive than Honda Jazz(CKD), nearly RM30k. i think UMW T need think more to reduce the price to compete the price. more over with not so impressive tech(some said old tech.).

• AVH (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Yes you don’t get fancy keyless entry or automatic air cond in the jazz but hey, 5-speed gearbox + VSC.

That Said, the Honda has pretty terrible NVH, but I’ll sacrifice that for RM30k.

• Obviously (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Apparently Honda is improving their NVH, as the reviews seem to indicate about the latest City. They might just get there.

• omg…this car looks awesome, bet this will kill suprima s and other hatch like fiesta, rio, i30, polo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Obviously (Member) on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:17 pm

If you bet on it, be prepared to lose. Malaysians are very price-oriented buyers and I don’t think many will buy what is essentially a Vios without its boot. Sure, let’s assume that the vehicle’s dynamics are spectacular but that is an intangible quality and you can’t see that on the spec sheets. Hence, I believe many will think this car doesn’t justify its asking price. Heck, even I don’t think it justifies its asking price. You don’t get a lot more kit over the G-spec Vios yet it’s priced about rm10k more? Please.

• tebabow! on Mar 27, 2014 at 2:06 pm

just like its predecessor, dedicated to umw fanclub ONLY…

• Norman on Mar 27, 2014 at 6:01 pm

I rather buy this Yaris 1.2 then Myvi 1.3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • or, use that money to buy 2-3 myvis/ 1 myvi + super luxury holiday/ downpayment for your condo

• whateva eva on Mar 28, 2014 at 10:47 am

haiyaa setiap kali pon kluar mau jugak compare dgn proton.. im not pro proton.. but come on la.. if u can get proton with better spec and price why spend more? because of brand? kalau nak brand, angkat la VW, BMW merc terus.. last2.. compare resale value.. sampai bila mau compare resale value.. bukannya semua org pakai kereta setahun dua lepas tu tukar baru..kalau nak sgt resale value, angkat nissan sunny loh..

• Jebonr on Mar 28, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Yup. I’ve told my wife not to buy toyota car from UMW. Better get those grey imported Toyota like mine. Value for money.

• roti canai (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 3:16 pm

its not that bad of a car…just the price

• Alex259 on Mar 30, 2014 at 1:02 am

It’s no doubt if I grand Toyota, the f/ugliest car manufacturer in the world!
    They are really genius in producing these cars!

• Le Dentist on Mar 31, 2014 at 2:46 am

The orange one nampak macam tgh nangis or having a flu. I personally hate this gen of Yaris because to me it is not the real Yaris.

• Lookman on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:27 am

This Yaris is loser. Outdated engine, only improvise new engine cover. 4 speed auto gearbox like F1 technology for T’s enthusiast. Interior cheap plastic, no plush feeling when touch.