Bangkok 2014: Mazda 3 Hatchback, all dressed up

Mazda 3 HB Sport BKK-9

Mazda Thailand officially launched the new Mazda 3 at the 2014 Bangkok Motor Show. The new 3 is available in the Kingdom in both sedan and hatchback forms. Pictured here is the five-door hatch, fully dressed-up inside and out. Eye-catching, isn’t it?

Like the previous model, the Thai-market Mazda 3 is locally assembled at the AutoAlliance Thailand plant in Rayong. A ceremony to commemorate the start of production was held on March 14, and the C-segment car went on sale there four days later. The AAT plant, shared with Ford, is the third facility to produce the new 3 after Hofu in Japan and Salamanca in Mexico.

No hatchback yet for Malaysia, but we have the 3 Sedan, imported CBU from Japan. Launched earlier this month, our 3 is powered by a 2.0 SkyActiv-G engine with 162 hp and 210 Nm. The innovative four-pot petrol unit is paired to a six-speed automatic gearbox with manual selection. It is priced at RM138,935.

View our full launch report and local gallery, walkaround video and test drive report of the new Mazda 3.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• TunedByMazdaSpeed on Mar 28, 2014 at 2:36 pm

This one looks way better than the Nissan Pulsar hatch so called Spot edition posted earlier..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • Vincent on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Any idea if Mazda 3 CKD price is duty-free by MITI?
      (EEV qualified car = zero duty incentive given)

• kunarra on Mar 28, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Like it, my lucky number# 3.

• wow… Love it,
    Its just so sexy with big wheels and brakes.
    This is the real’sport’, Korean.

Thumbs up Mazda,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • Stanley on Mar 28, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Brilliant looking car and specs.. If die die have to choose between the other japanese c segment, this is top of the pick.. If throwing in the base model Accord and the koreans and focus… Mm… Not too sure abt that..

• Whatever on Mar 28, 2014 at 2:52 pm

How does Thais and Malaysians spec compares ?

• ThePowerOfDream on Mar 28, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Fuiyoo!

• Ananz on Mar 28, 2014 at 3:15 pm

Nice car!

But once Bermaz bring it here then price not nice!
    CBU sedan also 139k if hatchback sure around 145k

• mazda323user on Mar 28, 2014 at 3:16 pm

very well make-up…smart…

• I think i prefer Proton Suprima S R3. It is better because handling from lotus. Also R# bodykit looks alot better than this junk. In term of power, suprima S got tubo, this one doesnt has.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 105
    • sayyed on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:11 pm

how about suprima r3 full consumption and resale value and cheep dash plastic ..and uncle gearbox cvt….these all the same with this 2014 high tech japan Mazda 3 2014 ….. or or SkyActiv-G four-cylinder produces 162 hp at 6,000 rpm and 210 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm IS THAT THE SAME OR SUPRIMA HAVE SAME EQUIPMENT……….!!!!!! r u stay in proton marketing …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 10
      • Rashuk Khan2 on Mar 29, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Proton Salesman sure apply this new M3 and compare with Suprima 3 interm of Price.

• Tomcat on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:13 pm

You high, bro?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Jeremy Clarkson on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Hey dude, I never aware that a 136 hp 1.6 L engine that claimed to be turbocharged can beat a 162 hp 2.0 L N/A engine. Seriously? Perhaps you’re a salesman from Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
    • Same Lor Ori on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:43 pm

When Proton fanboys aka mat rempit gang can’t afford the Mazda, these is what they typically will comment.

Turbo NOT EQUAL to power. Suprima S turbo 0-100 9.9 sec while Prius C 10.5 sec. The hybrid with 1.5 engine (max 4500rpm) only 0.6 sec slower than your almighty turbo.

You can carry on the Proton 4S concept and we just continue to laugh!

4S: Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok, Sentiasa Rosak, Sales Carnival

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
    • asrul on Mar 28, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Sup Primak?

besok beli, hari ni rosak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • Stance on Mar 28, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Cheap junk car usually attract cheap people like you that come out with this classless comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • taknakproton on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:41 pm

Kalau tak mampu Mazda, tak payah cakap banyak banyak.

Jangan lupa sebab Proton, hang tak mampu Mazda.

Nak beli Proton lagi ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • supriman on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:59 pm

people always talk rubbish but they dont even drive one..suprima the beast of highway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
  • roti canai (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 3:27 pm

but what about the chassis engine etc any tuning?

• Joker on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Nice car!!!!! Wooo nice front, rear, big rim….
    bring it to Malaysia plz!!!!

• is this an infiniti on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:24 pm

From side without knowing the brand it looks like an infiniti cross over!!! lowered and sport…….y. Price…? Can this be the next MPS but please don’t bring out a manual tranny…cannot tahan he jam!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Owh my Honda, why you cannot come up with such beautiful design?
    All Honda can produce is hideous looking City, Civic and Accord.
    Toyota too, are loosers.

• go buy Mazda then,…
      For u maybe hideous,but u need to consider
      other type of people.. the family guy, old people.
      Toyota design maybe looser for u, still they are holding no 1 or 2 car sales worldwide.
      Do you ever wonder why,and how they did it ?

if u Honda fan,wait for new civic type-r

• Hoping Honda come up with hatchback Civic which can match this Mazda 3 beauty, just dont comprehend why Honda is sleeping all this while.

• ken chow on Mar 28, 2014 at 6:30 pm

19′ rims in bolehland…sure bumpy ride ahead

• sportcar 101,
      hard setting for better handling n cornering.
      it was meant to be bumpy ride.

want comfort ride, go buy MPV or luxury sedan

• Wow, I hope it comes in a 6MT!

• this is waaaayyyy better than the proton suprima s super premium!

• bugbear on Apr 01, 2014 at 12:30 am

hahaha, why compare to suprima everyone?? proton only sell their preve/suprima cars for people who don’t want to waste too much money into vehicle and for those who can’t afford to buy big C segment car.

for me, mazda 3 nice looking car, but i only can afford local car, n i didnt even think so much about car design.. so, preve have good value n space, big boot n got torque so i can fill up 500l boot with keropok lekor untill full and climb Gerik hill without problem. somemore, local car like preve/suprima also got enough airbag and safety features ;)

mazda 3 vs proton suprima did not match in term of target buyer and purpose guys.

if no tax and price not much diff, sure i’ll not bought local car 1. haha

• Robin on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:24 pm

Beautiful. Like the idea of sloping down a little bit at the middle and rise again at the hood. Remind to bmw z3 style.

• ae101 on Mar 29, 2014 at 1:40 pm

How nice if new mps looks like this..nice!!!!

• ladyspace on Mar 29, 2014 at 10:34 pm

MPS please!

• ton ton on Mar 29, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Why dont the suprima s looks like this… proton’s design is so so simple… hope they can learn some from here

• kami (Member) on Mar 30, 2014 at 9:58 am

too ah beng

• Meanwhile in Malaysia…

• Sigh... on Mar 30, 2014 at 9:32 pm

Typical Malaysian. Everything local is bad.. Something they owned is bad.. Even the wife that you hump every night is an eye sore to you. But when it come to imported thing, even the maid from deep inside the forest of irian jaya still you think its mouth watering.. kekekekek

• If only your local product can deliver reliability for a start.

• Christian Lundmand Jensen on Jul 28, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Wow! That bodykit is fantastick (both hatch and sedan). Who made it? Will it be for sale, or is it a one off? I’ve been searching the Internet as crazy to try to find a vendor that sells this kit. Can anyone help?

• Hi Danny, I know this is a back 2014 news but I recently bought the Facelifted Hatchback GVC and I love the bodykits which were showing in your posting. Would you be able to find out where can I get them in Malaysia (Selangor)?