SPIED: New Nissan Sylphy sighted around Kepong!

nissan-sylphy-third-gen-spied-kepong-21

Our first Malaysian spyshots of the yet-to-be-launched Nissan Sylphy come courtesy of Andy, who sent these in to our sister Bahasa Malaysia site InfoKereta.com.

Two cars – one red and one silver – are captured here, in the Kepong vicinity. Outwardly, they appear to be rather similar (same wheel design, boot spoiler, chrome trim above the number plate and LED tail lamps), but as we haven’t a frontal shot of the red car, we can’t say for certain if they are of the same grade/spec.

As you know, this one’s been a long time coming – the B17 Sylphy made its world debut in China two full years ago, before being introduced in Thailand, the US (Sentra) and Australia (Pulsar). According to research reports, the new C-segment sedan is due to be launched in the second quarter this year, so it should be our turn very soon.

The Malaysian-market Nissan Sylphy should be motivated by a 131 PS/174 Nm 1.8 litre MRA8DE four-cylinder engine with Twin C-VTC, and an improved Xtronic CVT.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Powersprint on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:19 am

Finally… After so so long

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Long Your Head on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:50 am

This car first debut in China on December 2012 and only available a month or two later in Thailand. I never know 13 month is consider so so long. Even the current Camry take 11 month after their first debut.

How about previous generation Toyota Vios take 3 years later only arrive in Malaysia after debut in Japan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • Besi Buruk (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 12:59 pm

Whatever….Tan Chong still afraid to lawan MITI and put Sylphy price 2 times more than Proton Preve price…

• Long your stupid head on Mar 29, 2014 at 12:43 am

It is people like you even more than 12 months not considered long. How to improve? How to compete always a step behind. Typical tidak apa attitude. Janji dapat tak apa. Disgrace!
        Toyota’s case they have the camry selling like hot cake, they don’t care, as long as they clear off the old stocks.
        Vios there is no competition in the market, they need to try the market feedback first.
        The new sulphy can compete head to head with civic and altis. Although the old sulphy sucks in design, but their cvt gearbox gets good review from users/ magazines. Even in Thailand new Sulphy gets the nod ahead of civic/ Altis. Altis more because of tax break if you are using it as a taxi. So when you say 1 year is not slow, then please keep up with your attitude others will overtake you with their ambition to succeed.

• carazy on Mar 28, 2014 at 12:44 pm

The design are more pleasing to my eyes now.

• Maserati on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:31 am

Now this is what i call a true engineering masterpiece
    The new sylphy comes with the evergreen design, state of the art equipment and technology, very high safety standards and best of all, good resale value with good pricing strategy from one of the more honest car distributor in malayisa (unlike NAZA)

meanwhile, NAZA and its fleet of failed kimchis still try to fool users into buying their ‘aesthetic’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 53
    • thefact on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:18 am

how is this honest? sell a car that was launched 2 years old now? sold a same type of van for 20 years…?? sold the same type of sentra for 10 years? honest…where is new teana?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
      • TeanaLover on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:25 am

When the teana come, you are going to say it is 2 years old lah…blah blah blah lah….why u even bother asking? Go back to ur uncly Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
        • thefact on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:34 am

im proving a point, they r so slow la. im proving a point they r not as honest as maserati said. n we r not talking about likes or dislikes here. its the distributors who takes us for a ride. tan chong is one of the slowest!

even the renault fluence they r bringing in is gonna be the pre FL car…

• Nesniw on Mar 29, 2014 at 2:06 am

Its Tan Chong! Not UMW. Do you think its easy for TC to get new model into Msia?

• Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:37 am

Toyota salesman are here and talk how bad Nissan is. Typical modus operandi, bad mouth their competitors. The general consensus is, Slyphy will wipe out the Altis. Altis launched 6 months ago, but do you see any on the road? yes, nobody is buying Altis at all.

And thank you Slyphy, you just put the nail on the coffin of Toyota. RIP Toyota.

But in truth, they are so scared of dropping sales. Camry nobody is touching cause it is really King of RV (depreciation). Everybody knows, 2013 Toyota Camry 2.5 is now sold for RM130k, down from RM180k. No other Japanese car can jatuh RM50k in less than one year!

Somemore, Malaysians can never forget what UMW did last year. Take out VSC at the detriment of Malaysian lives. ALL over the world, Camry got VSC. Only in Malaysia, Camry VSC was taken out. Why? To reap more profit at the expense of the lives of Toyota buyers. So, many ardent Toyota fans migrated to Honda. Infact, nearly 90% of Toyota Camry buyers migrated to Honda Accord. They know how unethical UMW is.

Even now, when UMW put back the VSC, people already aware how sneaky UMW is. Word of mouth is the best power. Even in mamak stall, mamak himself tell me, Camry got no VSC last year because UMW mahu untung lebih.

Altis nobody buying cause the one with VSC is RM139k. People rather buy an Elanta for 90K which is the largest C segment car around, super economical engine and comes with VSC. Don’t believe, have you ever seen the new Altis on the road despite launching 6 months ago??

Vios is dead. Vios is beaten by the City. Everybody agrees on this. Nobody is going to touch the Vios. That is clear cut. No need analysis or argument. Even Toyota salesman agree, City will wipe out Vios. So, even Toyota salesman have declared defeat when City is concerened.

So that is why the Toyota salesman running scared. Even Sam Loo join Hyundai Sime Darby knowing that the Toyota ship is slowly sinking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 6
      • Same Lor Ori on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:32 pm

Sh*t! Can you pls stop copy and paste? It is exactly the same as new Camry, Yaris, City and others news.

You didn’t pass your PMR, did you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
        • Same Lor Father on Mar 28, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Same Lor Ori, maybe you should also stop condemning Korean cars. Every post you like to condemn Korean cars. Looks like you are a Toyota salesman who did not pass his PMR and very bitter in life

• Ashus on Mar 28, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Does Nissan has c-segment car that comes with VDC (stability control)?

• jap junk on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:33 am

My god.. now only want to launch. This car ady existed few yrs ago… dated car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • kebodohan yang melampau on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:08 pm

My god, you must be time traveler from 2016?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Bro,
    It’s in Segambut area, not Kepong area
    It’s opposite the Nissan factory in Segambut

• hahaha Jonathan Tan’s Geography FAIL!

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:59 am

We believe the shots are taken in Kepong, en route to the Segambut plant. So you’re not wrong, and neither are we :)

• farghmee on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Kepong-Taman Manjalara-Segambut

• overall exterior looks decent and better than the current model. just wish it could be mated to a more powerful engine..150ps above

• Michael Lee on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:39 am

Tan Chong, what make this so long to arrive here??

• tangcong on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:03 am

u never think ma,cos two years old model, i bought them lelong price from china, and resell them to semua bolehland vry high price, i boleh manyak untung ma. org bolehland banyak happy suka nampak model bru, mesti banyak laku puya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • hvannees on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:40 am

Finally some nice outlook from nissan.way better than ongoing sylphy

• Taikor on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:40 am

I don’t like it because:-
    1. It is sexier than the Altis with those curves and it makes the Altis look bad. Toyota Altis should be sexier!!!
    2. How can it have a more powerful than the Civic?!?!?!

My god, Nissan have to come up with the Red colour which makes the Altises and the Civics plain boring!!
    I hate you, Nissan….u limit my choices!!
    #shutupandtakemymoney

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 9
    • TeanaLover on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:23 am

Taikor,
      U haven’t seen the Teana yet….
      If you have seen it, i guarantee you will hate it more. It is sexier, more powerful and bolder than Camry and Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Same Lor Ori on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:38 pm

It is alright. Competition eventually benefit the consumers.

As long as you don’t fall for kimchi and almight Proton, no need to burn your money like that.

• Jimmy Lim on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:51 am

Been waiting for a long time

• Hi –
    Just wanted to ask what you think the price tag will be for this? In the range of? I truly like the design and am in market for a new ride. Also any expected release date?

• Anti-Toyota on Mar 28, 2014 at 10:52 am

Heard from reliable source that it is launching in July this year…..

• YeeYee on Mar 28, 2014 at 10:59 am

OMG, i didn’t know the two cars were Sylphy, i was at the same petrol station and i saw these two cars…. never thought Nissan would bring in such beautiful cars. Now I can’t wait for it…..

• takNakP1 on Mar 28, 2014 at 10:08 am

by the time u get the key, Nissan will be launching 2014/2015 version.

• taknakproton on Mar 28, 2014 at 10:08 am

Hopefully not another tin kosong from TCM

• mcindosh on Mar 28, 2014 at 10:09 am

Expensive new cars but low resale value .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
  • fast5 on Mar 28, 2014 at 10:16 am

New car with new colour this will make a hit !!! Please make it reasonable price…. n I will get this car with mighty red colour !!!

• Sorry Tan Chong, you are bringing in models which is already expired. A LOT of new models are coming in and GOD KNOWS why it takes years to bring this model in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Long Your Head on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:52 am

Another pro wannabe, please this model just launch 16 month ago in China.

Even your godlike Camry take 11 month only arrive in Malaysia after their official launch in US.

• labix7 on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:06 am

hope no more beige colour for interior in any category for new sylphy.

• Getting Like NISSAN car on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:32 am

I start fall in Love with that RED NISSAN SYLPHY..,
    Superb. That colour matching with design. just my view.

• NISSpengAN on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:50 am

Nissan sylphy design very “cun” this time, sure to beat Civic,Altis,Mazda3,Elantra,Cerato,Peugeot408,Ford Focus,VWjetta n Preve as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • I’m more concern on the pricing, compare to C segment car, if the price is cheaper than Toyota Altis and Honda Civic, and have the full spec like kia Cerato, then this car might be a good choice for all.

• yeong (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 1:51 pm

Livina facelift 7k hike, sure hope this Slyphy goes Almera route instead.
      < 110k 1.8 full-spec… deal !

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 28, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Full spec? TCM is just as bad as UMW in that front.

2 airbags for you son.

• kenot on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:05 pm

yup. agree with you. it is more bad if TCM put drum for rear brake like ongoing sylphy.

• Jimmy Lim on Mar 28, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Should name it as Sentra… :)

• Please give us a good price!

• If TCM offer below RM110K with good spec, sure will give the Korean and T&H run for their money. Even the City spec V will be slightly effected. Sure Yaris get 0% buyer.

• totti on Mar 28, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Thai specification is 1.6 and 1.8cc.

If they can price the 1.6cc same as the Latio (below RM 85K) and 1.8 below RM 105K then these car will become another Almera to hit the nail at T. Altis and Civic.

If you can recalled, The launched of Almera during 2012 has overtook the H.city and Vios by storm

• The Rock on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:35 pm

nissan almera fatter version.

• judgedredd on Mar 28, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Outdated model sad for malaysian. Tc can you be faster??

• Simon on Mar 28, 2014 at 5:22 pm

I can confirm it will be CBU from Thailand.

6 airbags with VSC.
    Full leather interior, black.
    cruise control
    xenon headlamps with washer
    touch screen audio unit (navi pasang sikit)
    rear air con vents
    16 inch rims.

Muahahahaha, Toyota can kiss my backside! Sam Loo too!

• Aero (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 6:31 pm

This new Sentra / Sylphy / Pulsar is not a good car. It’s no better than the new Honda Civic. It has failed to live up to the expectations.

Feel free to read the Australian reviews of the Pulsar and Civic sedan. Very poor compared to the Mazda3 and the new Corolla. In some reviews, the Pulsar scored no better than the Proton Prevé GX (non-turbo), which is a huge disgrace to Nissan, and a big achievement for Proton.

I don’t normally say this, but the Prevé Turbo is a far better choice over this new Sylphy, with or without tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Tracks on Mar 29, 2014 at 8:55 am

Well, I guess your comment is based solely on the Australian review hence although it’s valid but may not be applicable to our market.

Let’s wait and see the ACTUAL Slyphy to be launched here before critical comments on the product is provided. After all seeing is believing and testing it provides the feeling.

Frankly, I do think Preve is a reasonably spec car too with loads of Safety Features and a great drive. But somehow, Proton still fall short in terms of customer service and product reliability issue. I owned Proton vehicles and still do. Twice I trusted Proton, but was dissappointed by their quality and also their COE SC.

• guan eng jr. on Mar 28, 2014 at 7:36 pm

OMG, interior looks cheap like a made in china car.

• Matthew on Mar 28, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Some one keep saying 2 years old lar, old model lar…. Honestly this Sylphy was launched in Japan in 2012 December, so more accurately this Sylphy is only 1 year 4 months old. Btw, someone even funnier, interior look cheap like made in China car, oh my goodness, this guy really like superman, can know the interior is cheap just based on the few low resolution pictures………..

• An bei on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:27 pm

This is infront of tan Chong segambut factory. Look at the sentra on the factory roof. That’s the tan chong landmark

• Mr R (Member) on Mar 29, 2014 at 12:58 am

This is surely much more better than vios
    but dont know whether it can beat the new city..

• http://www.nissan.com.sg/vehicles/sylphy/index.cfm- here are from singapore

• messi on Mar 29, 2014 at 9:08 pm

One car kill two birds.

Nissan will perform better than last year and maintain no: 2 spot behind toyota.

1.6cc will attack the Honda City with RM 80K++ pricing and Vios and 1.8cc with RM 100K will attack the H civic and Altis.

They got the right engine with 1.6 and 1.8cc instead of 2.0 litre engine.

This new sylphy is ahead with:-
    1) dual CVTC engine
    2) double injectodr per cylinder.
    3) rear aircon
    4) roomiest interior especially the rear legroom.
    5) wider body as compared the the previous model.
    6) Awesome 350Z front lamp.

A right pricing will beat the honda again and close to toyota.

With the new Teana coming, They may overtake the toyota if they launch these 2 models by April 2014.

• Krasher on Mar 29, 2014 at 11:08 pm

Still need cover up?
    Has seen it on Thai road until “sien liao”

• As expected from tan chong, the specs will be as shitty as the ones offered by umw. So dun be so hopeful that this car comes with the right specs at the right price as we all know this Is tan chong, good free of umw. Just look at the just launched xgearshit, total shit load just like the Toyota yaris

• Herard will be aunch in april, 2 specs.

• launch