Toyota Camry 2.0 G X – full details and more pics

Toyota Camry 2.0 G X_01

UMW Toyota has released full details and pictures of the new Camry variant, the Toyota Camry 2.0 G X. ‘X’ stands for ‘Exquisite Luxury’, apparently. White Pearl CS, Attitude Black, Silver Metallic and Medium Silver Metallic are the available body colours – same as on the other three variants.

Head and tail lamps get a smoked look, and there are dark silver 215/55 R17 alloys from the more expensive Camry 2.5 V. On the boot lid, an ‘X’ badge marks the spot.

Inside, you’ll find exclusive dark brown leather upholstery (locally sourced and supplied, no less), dark wood trim, ‘Camry X’-branded front carpet mats, a powered rear blind and manual rear side window blinds. The last two were previously exclusive to the Camry 2.5 V.

A seven-inch DVD-AVN touch-screen system (a RM2,990 option on other 2.0 litre variants and RM1,800 on the 2.5 V) is standard here. It offers Bluetooth, navigation, reverse camera display with guide lines, DVD, USB, SD and Smartphone Link that works with selected mobile phone models.

Mechanically, the 2.0 G X shares the same 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine and four-speed auto as the 2.0 G. Also similar to the 2.0 G is the safety equipment – two airbags, VSC and TRC (base 2.0 E loses out on the last two safety features).

toyota-camry-2.0-g-x-brochure-b

The five-piece aerokit pictured here remains a RM2,700 option, along with Toyota Premium Security and Solar Film, which costs another RM1,900.

The Toyota Camry 2.0 G X is open for booking, and is listed at RM159,900, on the road with insurance – just shy of a RM1,000 premium over the 2.0 G, but much cheaper than the 2.5 V. Included is a three-year/100,000 km warranty.

Read our review of the Toyota Camry 2.5 V here, and check out Episode 5 of our Driven Web Series, where we pit the Camry against the Honda Accord and Mazda 6 in our company car shootout.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• theandroid on Mar 28, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Sorry toyota…maybe u need a new car designer…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 9
    • Same Lor Ori on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 281
      • Toyota Salesman, Don't Jealous on Mar 28, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Typical salesman talk. Got no RV lah. RV jatuh so much. Toyota salesman will come here and talk how great this car is. But in truth, they are so scared of dropping sales. Camry nobody is touching cause it is really King of RV (depreciation). Everybody knows, 2013 Toyota Camry 2.5 is now sold for RM130k, down from RM180k. No other Japanese car can jatuh RM50k in less than one year!

As for 2013 Toyota Camry 2.0G, it is being sold in mudah now for RM110k. A drop of RM40k. In one year, this car can drop 40k. So who ever said Toyota got good RV?

Somemore, Malaysians can never forget what UMW did last year. Take out VSC at the detriment of Malaysian lives. ALL over the world, Camry got VSC. Only in Malaysia, Camry VSC was taken out. Why? To reap more profit at the expense of the lives of Toyota buyers. So, many ardent Toyota fans migrated to Honda. Infact, nearly 90% of Toyota Camry buyers migrated to Honda Accord. They know how unethical UMW is.

Even now, when UMW put back the VSC, people already aware how sneaky UMW is. Word of mouth is the best power. Even in mamak stall, mamak himself tell me, Camry got no VSC last year because UMW mahu untung lebih.

Altis nobody buying cause the one with VSC is RM139k. People rather buy an Elanta for 90K which is the largest C segment car around, super economical engine and comes with VSC. Don’t believe, have you ever seen the new Altis on the road despite launching 6 months ago??

Vios is dead. Vios is beaten by the City. Everybody agrees on this. Nobody is going to touch the Vios. That is clear cut. No need analysis or argument. Even Toyota salesman agree, City will wipe out Vios. So, even Toyota salesman have declared defeat when City is concerened.

So that is why the Toyota salesman running scared. Even Sam Loo join Hyundai Sime Darby knowing that the Toyota ship is slowly sinking!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 198 Thumb down 12
        • JustMe on Mar 29, 2014 at 10:28 am

Guys ..

Enough with this Sh1T. Let’s move on from this nightmare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • ToBohLanSamLoo on Mar 30, 2014 at 2:49 pm

With this ridiculous car and the junior uncle sales man but arrogant Sam Loo at the showroom, you think the car can sell ?

• Goodbye Camry, Hello Accord on Mar 29, 2014 at 2:28 pm

I was going to buy a Camry but after reading all the stinking comments, Accord, here I come. One thing I know in life, always read and follow online comments. Never trust reviews or salesman. This is like tripadvisor, hotel can be 5 star but in the hotel, you can find out there are cockcroaches and rats from online comments in tripadvisor.

Goodbye Camry, hello Accord!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
          • Maseratti on Mar 29, 2014 at 10:24 pm

My boss made another few million with trade in of junk kumchi this year. This camry will be another good income to my boss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
          • JokerHandasalesman on Mar 30, 2014 at 2:56 pm

This is a car forum, no honda and toyota sales man who try to talk coxk here please. You can buy any car you like even the merz if you can afford,there is nothing proud and no need to tell the whole world u are buying honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • How come I can’t find the price of second hand Camry that you mentioned?

• Najib, where is the 30% reduction Promised? on Mar 28, 2014 at 5:49 pm

The Camry 2.5 with 8 airbags and CBU Japan made is priced at USD22,000.

This Camry 2.0X is RM160,000 with mere 2 airbags and 80% Made in Malaysia CKD.

So, where is Najib’s promise of reducing car prices? He promised all those who voted for BN that car prices would be reduced by up to 30%. What happened to his Promise?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 11
        • Najib Razak on Mar 28, 2014 at 8:41 pm

Get a Honda Accord instead !!! End of story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 9
        • Najib on Mar 28, 2014 at 10:27 pm

Because you dont vote me, how to give you promise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
        • jugujugu on Mar 29, 2014 at 2:03 am

I agree with your comment but there are a few wrong facts here. The US Camry has standard 10 airbags. And the car is made in Kentucky mind you =,=

• Goodbye Camry, Hello Accord on Mar 29, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Wah 10 airbags? And we Malaysians get only 2 airbags for 3X the price. So, double whammy, we have no pay 3 x the price plus we get much lower safety spec.

Like that, only a real ullible fool will buy a Toyota. I won’t even bother if I know someone is shortchanging me.

• big mama on Oct 03, 2014 at 3:46 am

you want cheap things?? go die

• Same Lor Father on Mar 28, 2014 at 5:57 pm

How come so many people hate my son Same Lor? So many dislikes. I think people know that my son is a Toyota salesman and people are fed up with him condemning Korean cars in every post. I hope he retakes his PMR and at least get a better job.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 6
        • Auto click on Mar 28, 2014 at 10:31 pm

In 1 minute, the dislike button shut up like nobody business. This is the job of some techni. I can do it also via some software tricks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 27
    • EYESORE!! Can’t understand why this “thing” get posted and reposted and reposted…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
      • WorldDoesntRevolveAroundYou on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Excuse me, just because you don’t like it, doesn’t mean nobody does. This is a news site, and yes, this is news. New details and new pictures. For those interested to buy a new car in this price range, this information is invaluable, for them to decide for or against this car. Just because it’s of no use to you, doesn’t mean it’s useless information for everyone on this website.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 37
    • Hyundai DeLa Junk on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Why ? Camry look so nice that Hyundai is copying it for their 2015 Sonata.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 67
      • Toyota Salesman, Don't Jealous on Mar 28, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Aiseh De La Junk, the Toyota salesman, always come and talk bad about Korean cars. You are one sad dude, no love from your family is it? Or cannot afford a Hyundai until you so bitter? Still waiting at Bangkok Bank for your bas and full of recentment for your friends who own Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
        • Same Lor 0ri on Mar 29, 2014 at 1:52 am

Why you said we have no love to your kimchi cars?

First I NEVER say it is junk! (Excepted the J class Proton.)

Second I am glad to see kimchi car trying hard to close the gap, so that those who want to get rid of Proton but can’t afford T/H/S/M has a choice.

Third, recent kimchi models help attract ppl, so our salesroom is not over crowded. I have more break while sales goes up.

Kimchi car helped us a big deal!

After all, kimchi car low RV is a fact (same like Malaysia has no winter), why so hard to admit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
      • hadi75 on Mar 29, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Really????hyundai copying toyota camry for their sonata…..

• *yawn* oh boy, those photos are better than sleeping pills. *yawn*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • KIA OPTIMA on Mar 28, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Nice Leather.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
  • Josh Ling on Mar 28, 2014 at 3:40 pm

unless you really need a Camry to drive, or simply want a more special Camry, you should wait at least for the updated version to arrive. the value will be decreased definitely when the updated version arrives, so don’t bother.

or just buy other D-Segment cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • Datuk on Mar 28, 2014 at 3:45 pm

honda accord more2 better than this camry, they can introduce various of spec but the engine and gearbox are still the same. The 2 airbags for rm159k car? totally not worth at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
  • bluebird on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:02 pm

So if I want bodykit for this Camry X, I need to top up another RM2700?
    You think my money easy to make is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
  • Eddie on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:07 pm

I’ll get a JZX100 instead

• Oh my eyes hurt everytime i look at this GX… but fortunately today the Castrol girl more than enough makes up for it :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • james on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:21 pm

wait & see this on road… i guess 1 hand enough to count …. 1.2.3.4…….

• Contender on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Well, US Camry “major facelift” will be launched in April …. where it was mentioned more aggresive styling to defend their 12 year record sales in USA.

Let’s see when does the new so called more aggresive styling facelift arrives in Malaysia or being adopted for our Asian centric Camry.

• Maybe want to wait facelift or rebate 8000-10000 to buy this most expansive sushi kosong car

• The Rock on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Toyota camry still want to sell at such high price. Come on lar.. toyota your camry selling already been so bad still want to untung kaw kaw. PLease lar learn from kia k5 and honda city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • what to do ler? taxes everywhere, business only aim profits…since they know their brand is reputable, of cos they will try to sell at higher price…is all about economics. They put at that price tag, and the quantity demanded not going down…so in conclusion, that’s the price~

• Green on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:36 pm

I wonder how many Kia K5 compared to Toyota Camry on the Road.

• john connor on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:50 pm

mazda 6 is much better than this camry and accord. fullstop!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
  • john connor on Mar 28, 2014 at 4:51 pm

mazda 6 FTW

• Maseratits on Mar 28, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Clearly the only reason why UMW is churning out new variants for the Camry is only because it knows that the Camry isn’t selling as well as they expected.

I hardly see the new generation Camry on the road compared to other D segment cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 5:05 pm

X marks the ignorance one can have to actually buy it, seriously unsafe.

Safety is not a luxury but a necessity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Green on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:38 pm

I do support U. ::

My Style is like that:

Safety = 50%, Reliability = 50%.
      Both Share the Same Amount of Priority For Me.

• BoXy (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 5:16 pm

UMW TOYOTA really makes buyers feel short changed.. I bought the 2.0G with nothing much of features, and now they are offering additional features with only one thousand extra…

Hey, UMW, u should atleast compensate owners like us with a touch screen unit, or else i will consider “terminate” my 10 year old relationship with ur company and look for a BETTER “spouse” (easily)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • bluebird on Mar 28, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Is it like those who bought new Camry early on without VSC then they added VSC in??
      And now they shortchanged customers one more time.
      Just thrash your Camry in front of their showroom as protest and put the film on Youtube like how the auntie thrash her Mercedes due to poor service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • BoXy (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 6:33 pm

i think its better to be rational rather than doing stupid actions which u will regret later…i bet u wont hv the guts to smash ur own car also…
        By the wau, the after sales service from toyota is the best among other non luxury brands.

• bluebird on Mar 28, 2014 at 7:59 pm

the most rational thing to do is to drive your current car until it cannot move anymore. This way, nobody will buy new car and the killing will stop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Goodbye Camry, Hello Accord on Mar 29, 2014 at 2:59 pm

That is not all. Ask anyone who owns both Honda and Toyota. They will tell you, every time send their Toyota for service, UMW hantam them maximum and the bill is always in the thousands. Honda on the other hand, bill always in the hundreds.

Ask any Toyota owner and ask any Honda owner. Do yourself a survey. At the end of 10 years, you would have paid Toyota more than the price you paid for your car!

• Mat_Joe on Mar 29, 2014 at 1:23 am

@BoXy, you already mentioned ‘2.0G with nothing much of features’ yet you still buy. You cannot blame anyone but yourself.

• policeman on Mar 28, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Seriously it is 4 speed GB? I thought that was the previous gen.

• What’s wrong withn4 speed.? Not safe? More expensive to maintain compared with CTV? More fuel consumption and how many %? Lower top speed ?

Please don’t use the word “old technology” as the excuse. Please show us with fact and data.

ANYONE ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 30
      • Heng Lee on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Why Toyota doesn’t use three speed GB?

What’s wrong with 3 speed? Not safe? More expensive to maintain compared with CTV? More fuel consumption and how many %? Lower top speed ?

• ctvnewtrans on Mar 30, 2014 at 8:42 pm

CTV!!

CTV!!

CTV!!

Hahahhaaahahahahahah

Hahahahahahhahahahah

No wonder still got people buy Camry, they know nothing!!!

• Green on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:34 pm

We Can Buy Camry 2500cc Dual VVT-i 6-AT.

6 Speed Camry 2.5.

• Still a poor man’s Mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Mamat on Mar 28, 2014 at 6:39 pm

i go for Honda Accord 2.0 VTi-L

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
  • Samad Jain on Mar 28, 2014 at 7:10 pm

I still wont buy Camry, even it is X, Y, Z or whatever…..

Even my uncle that is 68 years old is saying the camry design is outdated….

I wonder if the toyota designers are a bunch of people that know nothing about beauty and relevence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • Sattian on Mar 28, 2014 at 7:15 pm

desperados….after losing money last year, UMW still want to try hard selling this…

• stanman (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:23 pm

What’s wrong with 4 speed slushboxes? For one, the lack of appropriate gearing means you are going to be either overrevving or short on torque. It doesn’t help that the engines aren’t much to shout about either. This makes for a snoozematic powertrain.

• If that so, how there are still big arguments on 4 speed vs 5 speed and 6 speed ( please surf the net) without any clear conclusions?

• Just surf the net, how come expert says 4 speed is faster than 5 speed in 0-100 accerelation ? Why some of them says 4 speed tranny is safer? And why some says 4 speed does not directly translated into fuel consumption?

• stanman (Member) on Mar 28, 2014 at 9:25 pm

The 2015 Sonata looks most like the 2015 Legacy. Freaky!

• no to toyota on Mar 28, 2014 at 10:42 pm

what kind of boxy design is this? metal junk with outdated technology, got enough power and torque to pull this big box or not? I don’t see many new camrys on the road these days, now mostly dominated by continental cars and japanese such as honda, mazda. the only toyota worth buying is their hybrid, that’s all. gone are the days where toyota has high resale value. demand is simply dropping and supply increasing.

• X??? puiii!

• sonyman on Mar 28, 2014 at 11:47 pm

yes, another round of conning people into getting this funny and boring car again, why not a camry trd? why this X, what does it mean?

add a little, increase the price, good, i love it, create a new model camry trd sell at RM220k and add some sport rims and spoiler, iam sure some uncle will buy them. imagine an old uncle with t shirt and jeans with a nice sun glass driving the camry trd, whoa i am sure he is dam proud.
    shiok, pandu camry trd, lagi best.

remember ya umw, sell as expensive as you like, sure got people buy one,

• Mr R (Member) on Mar 29, 2014 at 12:39 am

haha .. ,2.0 GX ?????
    This is so funny and boring and boring and boring ~~

• Amei (Member) on Mar 29, 2014 at 1:20 am

Add 7K more and I can get a full Spec honda Accord. This is one over-priced piece of crap

• donuts on Mar 29, 2014 at 10:16 am

RV? now with less people buying the Camry, i want to see what RV they have and also 3 years vs 5 years warranty.
    I am waiting for the new Sonata!

• Goodbye Camry, Hello Accord on Mar 29, 2014 at 2:49 pm

3 years warranty is outdated. Now, everybody gives 5 years warranty. Even Hyundai and Proton give 5 years warranty. This is a real no brainer, better to buy an Accord with 5 years warranty than this trash with only 2 airbags. In an accident, husband and wife both alive because of the SRS airbag, but all the children sitting at the back, all mati! (no rear airbag)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • bluebird on Mar 29, 2014 at 12:08 pm

UMW is going the Perodua way.
    Soon Camry Pink will come out, for ladies only. Guys don’t get it.

• Towkay balak on Mar 29, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Changing my old camry to this one…hope my balak harvest is increasing this year so that i could get a new land cruiser oso….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • thedarkside on Mar 29, 2014 at 10:52 pm

hi paul tan, why dont you boycott from covering any news from UMW? see if they finally start to buck up with their offerings

• cedyy on Mar 30, 2014 at 3:50 pm

a few months later, UMW will launch a new Camry variant… J version ! new low cost version since it’s overpriced

• just visited the toyota showroom. waiting period 2 months for Camry 2.0 GX ???????

• Lee Chee Wah on Sep 07, 2017 at 1:00 am

According to Toyota Malaysia, safety has been improved across the Camry range, with features such as Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), Traction Control (TRC), Hill-start Assist Control (HAC), and 7 airbags now being offered as standard. tis is latest by 2017 release… yes they are doing something..