Toyota TS040 Hybrid LMP1 – 1,000 PS for Le Mans 24h

Toyota_TS040_Hybrid_LPM1_02

Toyota Racing is making yet another tilt at the Le Mans crown with this brand new Toyota TS040 Hybrid LMP1 racer, after three failed attempts with the TS010 (1992 and 1993), TS020 (better known as the GT-One; 1998 and 1999) and most recently the TS030 Hybrid (2012 and 2013). It’s going all out this year, with no less than 1,000 PS at its disposal.

New FIA World Endurance Championship WEC technical regulations warrant a brand new car. The TS040 Hybrid is a whole 10 cm narrower than the TS030 as required, and a new emphasis on fuel economy requires it to use 25% less fuel than last year’s challenger.

So out goes the old car’s 3.4 litre V8 engine, replaced by a bigger 3.7 litre unit that is now coupled to not one, but two electric motors. The V8 makes 520 PS, which is then combined with an Aisin motor up front (making it a through-the-road all-wheel drive machine) and a Denso unit round the back that add another 480 PS. Add the two together and you have the magic 1,000 PS power figure.

This makes the upcoming WEC season rather interesting, with the three main contenders having chosen radically different paths in the powertrain department. The revamped Audi R18 e-tron quattro, for instance, uses a hybrid 4.0 litre turbodiesel V6, while the new Porsche 919 Hybrid has a turbocharged 2.0 litre V4 petrol engine.

Toyota claims that its road-relevant approach to endurance racing will increase the possibilities for the transfer of its race-bred technical know-how to its future production cars. The V8 engine itself is engineered at Toyota’s Higashfuji technical centre, where its next-generation road car technology is being developed.

Two cars will contest the full WEC season, with Alex Wurz, Stéphane Sarrazin and Kazuki Nakajima sharing the No7 car and Anthony Davidson, Nicolas Lapierre and Sébastien Buemi piloting the No8 machine. The racing calendar starts at Silverstone in April 20, with the famed Le Mans 24 Hours scheduled for June 14.

1992 Toyota TS010, 1998 Toyota TS020 (GT-One), 2012 Toyota TS030 Hybrid

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Same Lor Father on Mar 28, 2014 at 5:59 pm

My son, Same Lor Ori will come here and say this car has good RV. I hope he repents and come back to me. I miss you my son. Come home. Do finsih your PMR and later daddy will support you for SPM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Toyota Salesman, Don't Jealous on Mar 29, 2014 at 1:43 am

Your family matter settle outside, don’t kacau here!!

• racefan on Mar 28, 2014 at 7:51 pm

“The V8 makes 480 PS, which is then combined with an Aisin motor up front (making it a through-the-road all-wheel drive machine) and a Denso unit round the back that add another 520 PS”

Writer should check his facts. The 3.7L V8 makes 520PS. While the additional 480PS comes from the hybrid system

Official Toyota media release:
    http://www.toyotahybridracing.com/new-era-for-toyota-racing-with-ts040-hybrid/?preview=true

• Same Lor 0ri on Mar 29, 2014 at 2:10 am

So who say Hybrid can’t speed?

On the other hand loud doesn’t mean strong power, look at the mod Saga/Myvi/Persona/Viva on the road then you will know. Why they have to deaf themselves to think that they own Audi R8?

However, Hyundai, Kia and Proton are not even qualified for 24 Hours of Le Mans. Their supporter can only comment something meaningless (aka talkcock) here.

It just sounds like the mod Saga exhaust pipe: loud but empty.

• They need more horse power to compete with R18 Etron and the new chanllenger 919 hybrid,2012 & 2013 was tough fight for Toyota, they can’t really compete with the super runner R18 E-tron. I seriosly hope they get good result this year Lemans, but there are 2 big boys (AUdi & Porsche) outside waiting.

• the only toyota I approve