SDAC teases Ford Fiesta EcoBoost – April launch

ford-fiesta-ecoboost-malaysia-teaser

Malaysian Ford distributor Sime Darby Auto Connexxion has put up a teaser ad for the new Ford Fiesta EcoBoost on their website. The ad calls the Fiesta variant “The One” – a clever play on the 1.0 litre engine under the bonnet.

The little three-cylinder engine is turbocharged, producing 125 PS and 170 Nm of torque, compared to the normally aspirated 1.5 Ti-VCT engine’s 112 PS and 140 Nm. Most importantly, the full 170 Nm of torque kicks in from just 1,400 rpm and remains constant up to 4,500 rpm. There’s also an overboost function that can bring torque up to 200 Nm. This engine will be mated to a six-speed Powershift dual-dry clutch ‘box. Read our review of the Fiesta EcoBoost from Chiang Mai.

ford fiesta ecoboost

The Malaysian-spec Ford Fiesta EcoBoost will have auto air-con, auto headlamps and wipers, keyless entry and start, plus a Safety Pack which includes seven airbags. It will also come with the full bodykit that we’ve seen on the Malaysian-spec car being transported on a trailer (front/rear splitter, side skirts) as well as LED DRLs, integrated into the front splitter. Word is that colour choices will include True Red, Panther Black and Arctic White.

Another turbocharged Fiesta will come later – the Fiesta ST, which is set to join the heated B-segment hot hatch line-up in Malaysia that currently consists of the likes of the Polo GTI, the 208 GTi and the Clio RS 200 EDC. The Fiesta ST will have a 1.6 litre turbo four-cylinder engine that does 182 PS and 240 Nm of torque, mated to a manual gearbox only.

If you’re more interested in the currently available 1.5 Ti-VCT instead, Ford is currently running a RM568 a month instalment promo.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• John Tan on Mar 30, 2014 at 11:46 pm

Nice car, nice engine. Price? Errr…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Vincent on Mar 31, 2014 at 9:36 am

Fiesta Ecoboost is easily EEV qualified car. MITI should approve it for local production CKD to get zero excise duty price.
      (EEV qualified car = zero duty price)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Najib, where is the 30% reduction you Promised? on Mar 31, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices.

Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 9 months have passed and nothing has been done.

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is CKD or CBU or whether it is EV or EEV. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise??

Najib, how can a small kuci car cost nearly RM100k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
        • hey2 .. the price not even out yet ..

think wise man ,
          there another small kuci car that is smaller ,more expensive.. the Smart car

30% in 5 years, now only 9 months..
          we should only see around 5-10% price reduction…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • Same lor 0ri on Mar 31, 2014 at 11:57 am

If they get zero tax, how could Proton hybrids survive the market?

• Colki on Mar 31, 2014 at 12:04 am

Rm90K and take my money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Dual Clutch Scandal - Be Careful! on Mar 31, 2014 at 11:44 am

Stay away from this car. Stay away from anything that uses dual clutch and dry clutch. You will be asking for big big trouble. Just like VW’s DSG scandal, Ford cars also drop in RV so much because their cars are plagued by the problematic dual clutch. I have had dual clutch Ford Focus 2013 model and it has stalled in the highway about 4 times already. When I mean stalled, I mean stalled. You cannot even move the car an inch because the gearbox cannot engage. So, you cannot even push your car to the emergency lane to let traffic pass through.

I have got curse to the maximum by so many road users because my car stuck right smack middle in the fast lane. All shout “Bodoh kah, tolak kereta tepi lah bahlul”

That is VW DSG and Ford Dry Dual Clutch for you. Hear it from an owner himself. Now I sold off my junk. Only got RM60k for it because even used car dealers know about the dual clutch scandal and corner me into accepting a low price. yes, I bought RM115k, in 1 year, I sell the car for RM60k.

That is the fate of all Ford owners. Be careful when you want to sell the car. Nobody wants to buy it because the VW DSG scandal and Ford Dual Clutch scandal is well known among all car salesman and used car dealers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 10
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 31, 2014 at 12:05 am

Uh-oh…!!! Dual clutch…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • lonelyobserve on Mar 31, 2014 at 12:05 am

Is this 1.0 Ecoboost Fiesta has 6-speed Powershift gearbox only or in future conventional manual transmission will be brought in as part of the lineup?

• jason on Mar 31, 2014 at 1:16 am

The fiesta st will have manual. This 1L I think will use auto gearbox only

• “Dry clutch?” … Potential problem just like VW cars… I thought that it’s a common knowledge that dry clutch is not suitable for hot weather especially in traffic jam?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
    • never think like that bro ,
      seems like u own a proton with identical electric power windows problem all the time .. haha
      just kidding ,

DCT a new technology soon will be accepted like normal gearbox ,.
      the car just need proper care from the right service centre ..
      normal gearbox also encounter major problems like the infamous Perdana, Old Kimchi cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 36
      • thefact on Mar 31, 2014 at 9:06 am

VW is abandoning the DSG 7 all together since the dry clutch is giving tonnes of failures worldwide.

http://paultan.org/2013/10/11/volkswagen-drop-dsg/

http://paultan.org/2014/03/17/dual-clutch-transmissions-dry-clutch/

• jontacke on Mar 31, 2014 at 10:20 am

“According to Getrag CTO Didier Lexa in an interview with DrivelineNEWS.com, these small engines and dry clutch gearboxes are often coupled with relatively heavy vehicles. When a small engine accelerates a large mass, the gearbox needs a longer synchronising time, which generates more heat. And even when installed in small vehicles, the thermal constraints on these small cars (which have smaller engine bays) are even greater than on C-segment or D-segment cars.”

Based on this part of the second article, I can see a plus point with the Ecoboost Fiesta. We know that the Ecoboost has a lot of low end power given the size of the car and also the engine size is very small which mean it will take less room in the engine bay. Maybe somehow this two things will equate to less problem. I’m just speculating though

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Well, Mr. thefact, you got the facts wrong. VW isn’t dropping DSG altogether.

• Hyundai DeLa Junk on Mar 31, 2014 at 10:33 am

Dry Type Dual Clutch = Dead On Arrival (DOA).

• 6 months car, 6 months no car. on Mar 31, 2014 at 12:20 pm

SDAC has the worst customer service ever. To repair anything, it takes 3 months. My gearbox rosak twice this year, each time, they hold my car for 3 months. Ask them why? No parts.

I only see my car 6 months in a year. The other 6 months, it is in the workshop waiting for parts.

SDAC, learn from Honda and Toyota. Gearbox rosak, send morning, evening can collect.

Up to those who want to buy Ford. 1 Day VS 90 Days

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
      • Auto Konek Sion on Mar 31, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Gua punya bumper kena bang, AutoKONEKsion ambik 3 bulan ganti.

3 bulan untuk order dari Singapura. Macam Singapura 10,000 KM dari KL.

Auto Konek Sion, tolong lah! Cepatkan servis anda!

• Seems like the gearbox is very unreliable. SDAC must send this feedback to Ford and replace all gearbox for free!

• Low Budget on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:20 pm

whether Orang Putih cars or Korean cars distributed by SD means you better pray no major parts replacement! Minimum of 1 month or more waiting for parts to arrive from overseas are common scenario, I also “kena kau-kau” (total of 3 family cars) from them before.

Better buy Proton or Perodua, workshops beside Sugai Klang also can get parts within 30 minutes.

• price expected around 100k ..
    sprinting to 100kmh in 9.4secs with 6litre/100km
    almost catching up with the new i30 (9.2s)
    with world best engine :)
    its a bargain, but…
    less practical,small
    best city car ever , still abit annoying during traffic jams.. 1st gear jerkiness (DCT)

best word for this car – Efficiency thumbs up
    Ford, brings us more cars/MPV with this engine ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • 50rangers on Mar 31, 2014 at 12:57 am

Sadly no manual variant for the one. Only the ST, hopefully it is priced like the 208gti or cheaper.

• You never see meh,the fiesta st expensive than 208gti ,than the Clio expensive than fiesta st.

• jason on Mar 31, 2014 at 1:20 am

Your move Proton? Enough with your so called soft-boost. Please make real forced-induction engine.

• With Lotus rides & handling, CPS turbo engine and soon with 6 speed manual.

Proton is miles ahead of Frog.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • Ryan.C on Mar 31, 2014 at 2:32 am

Who gonna buy this.. have to think twice.
    After half year/ a year.. new fiesta will launch.
    Since this model been in market for some time already.

• Azlan on Mar 31, 2014 at 2:32 am

This model comes with a bodykit and an aftermarket LED DRL like the ones we’ve seen on the Vios. Makes me wonder why they didnt use the original headlamps with LED’s in them..

• tazio on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:13 am

More interested in the car below in the pic. New Mondeo?

• frustrated on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:44 am

i can’t deal with SDAC anymore. I deeply regret buying the Fiesta. It’s a fantastic little car, but we have to wake up and smell the reality, a car is not just the build, it’s also the support system built around it. As long as SDAC doesn’t want to up their game after being present in the market for a number of years, it is only a matter of time until their vehicle owners just can’t stand being shafted anymore and do an uprising as what happened with VWAG.

time to band together, not merely to attack them senselessly, but to make them realise, it’s time to buck up and get out of the malaysian auto industry. we have too many problems as it is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Carnut on Mar 31, 2014 at 9:31 am

Seems like good service is a luxury that most car retailers here cannot afford to give. Its a real pity especially when we pay so much more for cars.

• Better than Yaris on Mar 31, 2014 at 5:43 am

Better than Toyota Yaris..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Asernal on Mar 31, 2014 at 8:52 am

6 Speed twin dry clutch, is it same as vw 7 speed dry clutch?

• holofanboi on Mar 31, 2014 at 9:01 am

Id like to consider myself a car enthusiast, but obviously am not one as I just….cant seem to grasp the popularity surrounding the ecoboost engine. This particular engine is getting all kinds of positive press WORLDWIDE and yet with the performance increase that isnt impressive for a turbocharged car, why the excitement?

Now, I can easily understand why the swift sport would get hearts pumping but this ecoboost on the other hand… hmm. Perhaps those who are interested in this engine could share their views?

• Jules on Mar 31, 2014 at 10:50 am

This 1.0 ecoboost i think its market for economy not performance. Some sort of economy but with above average power…. Not a gti beater. That one is for Fiesta ST to be compared with swift sport.

• New brochure of 1.0 EcoBoost already out at Ford dealer in Ipoh (I think all other Ford dealer in Malaysia should have by now), price range is at RM96K, but only 5 doors & no 4 doors sedan, hopefully they have a sedan version soon. LED light look nice though…

• Manual Driver on Mar 31, 2014 at 9:50 am

Give us the manual transmission! Keep your DSG

• kanazai2001 on Mar 31, 2014 at 10:17 am

disappointed with ford for no longer offer manual transmission… T_T

• Nice engine and nice technology. Somehow, I’m not too fond of the aston martin inspired front grill, looks like a gaping mouth. They could have just improvised on the current generation look, making it a look a little sleeker and modern, without putting a totally whole new grill.

• bluebird on Mar 31, 2014 at 10:36 am

drive like Ah Beng for a month, ecoboost engine will go kong. You know la, Ah Beng like to cucuk car in front, floor accelerator at green light, swerve in and out of traffic like F1 driver.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 10:56 am

So spec and performance levels are similar to the previous LX sedan, but that car was 76k or so… Hmmmm…

• cendol (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 11:56 am

Nice car, good acceleration. But the service center leaves a lot to be desired.

• Before you buy this upcoming model please survey on their after sales service first.Sucks……!!!

• Sent my 70k km fiesta to SC today to replace the leaking gearbox. Apparently, the SC mechanic mentioned that they now replace at least 3 fiesta/focus gearboxes every week. Even then, most replacement can only “tahan” at most 1 year… OMG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Ford Fiesta Ecoboost vs VW Polo Tsi ?
    Which one better overall ? Mmm….Interesting !

• hoooooooo on Apr 29, 2014 at 12:56 am

as you guys never know to the problem of the Ford gearbox… most Ford PowerShift gearbox is not as bad as VW DSG …

most of the problem due to the oil seal leak and cause the clutch slip and oil leak … not like DSG gearbox failure or mechatronic problem.

Pls survey first before make a comment