SPYSHOTS: New Proton Exora SV in the works?

EXORA-SV-SPYSHOTS

Is Proton preparing to launch a low cost version of the Proton Exora just as it has did with the Persona and the Saga? This Proton Exora with trade plates was spotted by reader Abdul Rahman Shah.

There’s only a very small amount of disguise stickers around the number plate – other than that the back view of the MPV is clear of any covering. Since SV versions of cars typically involve reduced trim rather than any changes under the hood, this Exora SV’s engine and gearbox should be similiar to a normal Exora.

Other than the SV badge above the Exora badge, we also notice the rear bumper now has a single foglamp positioned in the middle – this new addition allows the MPV to comply with UN ECE regulations.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Aero (Member) on Mar 30, 2014 at 7:19 pm

This is actually not the first time an Exora with a ‘SV’ badge was spotted, it’s been many months now.

I think the ‘SV’ badge is just to fool us or put off unwanted attention. The ‘SV’ badge looks absolutely ‘tack on’, like something out of Brothers. Furhermore, there is already an Exora CFE Standard, it’s an ‘SV’ model all but in name.

IMHO the Exora in the spy pic could be a test unit with a new engine, or an overseas spec model. I could be totally wrong, but we’ll see. The last 2 months, there has been absolutely NOTHING from Proton, I am utterly disappointed and worried at the same time. I hope they are getting their act together and have readied plans to introduce the new Protons in China, the UK and the Middle East.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 14
    • But nevertheless, why don’t Proton just give us full-spec version for overseas market as well as for local market too. In the 90’s and early 2000s, Proton overseas has AT LEAST one airbag and standard rear fog lamp while local market has OPTIONAL airbags for Hi-Line only and no rear fog lamp.
      Some people might argue that rear fog lamp is not necessary here in Malaysia as we have no snow or heavy fog. But we do have heavy rain and haze (duh), so rear fog lamp will be useful to increase our presence from rear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
      • Targa on Mar 31, 2014 at 9:26 am

Proton SV = A sign of sales failure and bankruptcy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 74
      • ruffstuff on Mar 31, 2014 at 9:57 am

The Suprima S and Preve now have same spec for local and export.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • Aero (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 11:56 am

In the past, Proton used to discriminate between export and domestic specs for their cars. However, I don’t think this is an issue today.

As ruffstuff above me has mentioned, the Prevé and Suprima S have full safety gear as standard. The Prevé used to come with 2 or 4 airbags at first, without ESC and TRC. However, a few months back, Proton updated their 2014 Prevés with all safety gear, without raising prices (they actually reduced prices as a matter of fact). Even the engine in the Prevé / Suprima S is Euro IV/V compliant, despite our Malaysian petrol being Euro II.

However, some spec will still differ between our local and export spec, for example, there is no ‘Front passenger airbag disable/enable’ switch in the Australian market Suprima S and Prevé. This is because it’s illegal under Australian law to disable any airbags in a car. (Btw, the motive behind the switch is that assuming the front passenger is a kid or elderly person, a front passenger airbag deployment could mean possible death because of the extreme pressures, hence the option to enable/disable it.)

The old Protons like the Saga, Persona, Satria and this Exora still come with 2 or 4 airbags, but Proton has already said that all future models will have maximum safety gear and a 5 star ANCAP rating.

Also, I agree with you that foglamps are becoming a necessity in Malaysia because of the heavy rain and haze. However, some idiot Malaysian drivers have no idea of its true purpose and when to use it. I have seen many idiotic new Vios drivers who simply switch on their rear foglamp AT NIGHT just because they can/ looks cool/ wanna show off/ Ah Beng mentality etc. It is blinding on a clear night ! NO ONE should use their rear foglight(s) unless if it’s raining heavily or hazy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
        • Pakcik on Mar 31, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Lu cakap banyak sohai, ada beli Proton kah tidak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 39
          • _xXx_ on Mar 31, 2014 at 5:45 pm

xyah bli, teksi2 kat luar tu byk bleh dok…

• Aero (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Helo Pakcik, hari-hari I pandu Saga lama pergi uni, lepas graduate I akan beli Proton baru jugak.

Lu ada beli Proton atau x ?

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 10:40 am

Mesti pendatang baru ke comment section website ini. Aero ni memang Proton-core (not saying that it is a bad thing). Confirm pandu Proton lah.

• “I have seen many idiotic new Vios drivers who simply switch on their rear foglamp AT NIGHT just because they can/ looks cool/ wanna show off/ Ah Beng mentality etc.”

That is nothing compared to Proton sore high that switching on their hari raya led light fitted to their car at night but refuse to turn on the headlight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
          • Aero (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 5:57 pm

That might be because of blown-out front lamps.

The vendor for the Prevé headlights should be well and truly fired (the bulu-bulu seat also). The earlier batches of Prevé all suffered from blown out headlamps.

• Dino years (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 4:23 pm

maybe, hopefully, they are delaying any news or launches while they strive for 5 star ancap ratings. HOPEFULLY.

im eagerly awaiting a 6 gear manual exora cfe r3. sportsvan? im in.

• Aero (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Yes, I hope that this is a case of ‘less talk, more walk’. I really hope the new GSC and Saga will be more than just good, because if not, then they’ve had it.

If the GSC gets a 5-star ANCAP rating, then that would actually be really good ’cause very few small cars in the world have achieved such a rating. It’s generally harder to make small cars safer (against other bigger cars) due to a smaller crumple zone, lesser weight etc.

Me too, except I’m waiting for the Suprima/Prevé 6-spd. Manual ftw !

• Agreed. Cheers, mate.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Some people do not switch on their headlamp n back light during heavy rain…I cannot see clearly car in front or back if they don switch on their car light

• Poor quality and design proton, SV = Save Value of production cost, reduce the quality of produc, clear old stock parts and engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 89
  • exora super veloce?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • 4S concept on Mar 31, 2014 at 12:14 am

If a model is selling good and fast, does it need to have SV version? Have you ever see Vios/City/Almera got SV version?

Even the korean cars has no SV…

What do we expect next? SSV? SSSV? Let’s see if there is a Exora SSSSSSV in 2020?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 79
      • axel_stig (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 9:03 am

Vios – J
        City – S
        Almera – E(MT)

hahaha on u noob

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 4
      • Obviously (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 10:43 am

Vios won’t sell that well without the J (SV) version.

• fast5 on Mar 30, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Hahaha…. next preve sv… I may consider if price below 50k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
  • bunga chibai on Mar 30, 2014 at 7:57 pm

good move proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 21
  • Nasi lemak on Mar 30, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Last time all special edition,limited edition.
    Now keep saving value ver! Close proton n let rakyat hav a better car lar pls! U been ruin our life more than 20 years!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 85
  • victortan on Mar 30, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Alright, I think the next should be Preve SV and Inspira SV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • how about exora bold standard with manual 6 speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • with Lotus rides and handling, no doubt Exora is the world best handling MPV.

Try to bend a corner with a Honda Witch to see the difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • nabill on Mar 30, 2014 at 9:55 pm

Thy ody have Da basic model with CFE….steel rims n all…..the cheapest one is da cps with manual….
    Kinda confusing….lets wait n see

• Maseratits on Mar 30, 2014 at 10:01 pm

Why does this picture look so familiar? I think I have seen it somewhere before.

Looks like the SV emblem is edited on though.

Also, correct me if i’m wrong, but hasn’t proton changed the CFE emblem to TURBO since last year?
    Plus, why would Proton launch a SV model of it with the chrome bar on the rear when it is clearly only available on the premium model?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Ayam RM1 on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Yup! And also the rear spoiler. A SV version wouldn’t hv that.

• Auto Insider Malaysia on Mar 30, 2014 at 10:13 pm

I have mentioned about this Exora before which has been featured in numerous other blogs. This is not the Exora SV. The SV badging was put there to test the adhesiveness of the SV badges before it is slap on to Saga and Persona. Even those badges Proton test its adhesiveness so that it is not easily fall off. This info was shared to me by my Proton insider friends

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Proton test adhesiveness on the actual car?. I thought the adhesiveness test was done on a std method and equipment in lab!.

• mim (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 1:52 pm

You can’t replicate Malaysian extreme humidity and hot weather in the lab.

Even my Ford RS badge fell off for no reason. Cost me 30£

• so,
    no point to discuss,
    this is simply a mixed up clue.
    JUST IGNORE,

• Maserati(Official) on Mar 31, 2014 at 12:08 am

SV = Stupid Version

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 40
    • focusing22 on Apr 05, 2014 at 3:44 pm

I know why u say SV is a stupid version……. beacauses your brain stupid……ooooooooooooooooooooooo!! in ur face!

• Dunno what to say. Not enough creativity! Keep fiddling with the same cars again and again.

• Samad Jain on Mar 31, 2014 at 1:29 am

Just changed the badge, then Mix-and-match some parts…..Tada!!! A new Exora line…

• amd2u on Mar 31, 2014 at 6:15 am

got 6 speed , ESP , new engine ?? then you can only call SV , else just another marketing gimmick

• Pity those owner who bought the car before SV variant is introduced to the market. I can foresee the lower second hand value of Proton car compare to previous.

• I personally do not believe in this SV caes. if Proton wants to show people that they are not making cheap cars, then why making cheap cars at the first place? trust me if you improve quality, do better work on the cars. eliminate the cronies and companies who want nothing but your money then the image of cheap poor quality car will go away. pls stop appointing all the useless companies to do nothing for you. you have the talent inside the proton but you are not using them. this plan will not work and will only hurt the current owners of Exora cars.

• Low Budget on Mar 31, 2014 at 10:27 am

Yes,yes,yes… The killer punch are from the cronies vendors.

• taiko on Mar 31, 2014 at 8:42 am

pro tong, may i know what are u trying to do nxt?

• Kevin Tee on Mar 31, 2014 at 9:00 am

what they need to do is build a quolity MPV which can compare to either other player, at Major Design Change and NOT SV, or EV or other line!

for example: can join Develop with WV for future MPV Line!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • the small brother Perodua already slash their price on Alza about 5~7%. I think Proton will do the same for this with more competitive price and package

• Can Prodong stop with all the knic-knacs and move on please?

• Rupan on Mar 31, 2014 at 10:25 am

As an owner of a Proton Exora MPV (first batch), honestly I totally regret buying this car. First of all it was the air-cond problem, after just few months buying the car. Then there was the wiper assembly problem. Not to mention the fuel line became loose when driving in rain and I was stranded in the middle of the road. The mechanic found out that the fuel line was hold together with some plastic bits only, and it became loose when I drove through the puddle of water. Then again the fuel line bocor, and gas fumes went into the cabin. It was very uncofortable for me. Then the infamous ABS pump failed twice even after replacement and the DVD player could not play DVD after the warranty ended (and I don’t even frequently use that thing). Seriously Proton, after buying three generations of your car, I give up on you. Your car suck. Please stop already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
    • kernelsandals on Mar 31, 2014 at 4:11 pm

I have been using my Exora Bold CFE for almost a year now, I haven’t had any problems with it so far.
      Did you get yours when it was just launched? I heard many first batch unit have problems here and there.
      Very usual lah for Proton first batch units to have banyak problem

• ewechai on Aug 18, 2014 at 1:08 pm

I plan to get one. Btw, what’s the average fuel consumption rate

• Joker on Mar 31, 2014 at 10:45 am

SV = kosong spec..
    = not safe to drive….
    No!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • I think Proton can try make sequential mode or manual mode in Exora is more better.Like as Proton Preve CFE,you can drive use d gear for fuel saving and m for more sporty driving on uphill or downhill.

• Old news !

• Another piece of junk that nobody wants to buy. SUV 1 Malaysia taxi that’s about all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • phuwekkk on Mar 31, 2014 at 5:17 pm

maybe you should see an eye doctor..clearly thousand of people bought exora, especially the turbo one. or do you want to tell me that you did’nt see about that cause you are using your ass to see? is it?

• iskhalifah on Mar 31, 2014 at 4:35 pm

The SV models are a boon for new car buyers, but a curse for existing owners. The second hand value of Saga and Persona plummeted by at least 5K after their respective SV version was launched. Something tells me that Proton is ‘quietly’ receiving exemptions & grants from the G, thus they are able to lower the total costs & profit margin. But then, it is still a good sign for the industry that national car prices are moving downwards (slowly).

In contrast, foreign brands are not able to lower prices despite cost cutting measures. Honda insider told me that the new City was supposed to sell less than rm70K for the S variant, but MITI intervened at the last minute (to protect P1/P2). It means that they could price it at 60K+ but spoiled due to invisible hands.

• Ada Aku Kesah on Mar 31, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Macamlah tak tau MITI memang pembuli pembeli kereta No.1…we rakyat no choice but to live with this madness

• Absolute Rider on Mar 31, 2014 at 6:28 pm

I don’t want another variant from old model. Please update and resign Preve and Supreme S interior.

Protonian, please go to other car showroom to see the other cars interior design and its fit and finish. Thank you very much.

• Norman on Apr 02, 2014 at 8:35 am

To be frank Drb should stop producing SV version to clear stock..instead upgrade current model with latest gadgets suchs as mp4,rev cam integrated with dvd/gps and audio,nicer sport rims and bodykits plus a bit of R3 tuned engine especially to models like Exora cps,Persona,Saga.Im so dissapointed with the 2013 Neo R3 which only use the stock cps engine.My Uncle 2010 Neo R3 145hp/168nm in fact is the best hatch i ever tried for a non aspirated cars.Those Preve Executive shouldnt use Campro IAFM in my opinion,At least use the CPS engine for more better low end

• Flat Black on Apr 08, 2014 at 9:17 am

Mmm… Great new moves by Proton recently. However, what about the past mistakes? When will Proton try to make things right for previous model? For every design failure which contribute to uneasy sound in the cabin for all current and previous models, Proton should have made some recall or jigs to rectify instead of hoping customer to make one with duct tape, double sided tape and etc.