Bangkok 2014: Nissan Teana, coming soon to Malaysia

Nissan Teana BKK 2014-1

Here’s another ‘coming soon to Malaysia’ car spotted at the 2014 Bangkok Motor Show, the Nissan Teana. The L33 Teana made its Thai and ASEAN debut in October last year, and will be launched in Malaysia this year after smaller sedan sibling Sylphy.

The new Teana is available in the Kingdom with 2.0 and 2.5 litre engines, and in five variant forms. The MR20DE four-pot features in the 2.0 versions (XE, XL and XL Navi) – it has 136 hp and 190 Nm. Moving up, the QR25DE (also a four-cylinder, V6 no longer offered) in the XV and XV Navi variants offers 173 hp and 234 Nm. Both are mated to Nissan’s Xtronic CVT gearbox.

Available kit includes a ‘3D Display’ in the meter panel (shows Lane Departure Warning, Blind Spot Warning, trip computer, navigation and Bluetooth connection), Around View Monitor, bi-xenons with AFS and a nine-speaker Bose sound system.

The D-segment contender has already been spotted testing in Malaysia more than once, and you can also read our test drive report from last year’s Nissan 360 event in California.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• totti on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Another killer from Nissan to attack the outdated Accord and Camry.

If Nissan launch the new Syplhy/teana and 7 seater E-trail before April 2014. They should be in the no:1 contender for non national segment.

Otherwise, they can be the no: 1 in 2015.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 73
    • slk3879 on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Even Tan Chong’s CEO won’t agree what you had posted

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 8
      • 2015 ? still a long way bro ..
        The looks, Mazda 6 > Accord > Teana,
        its a reverse order if u uncle-ish …
        boring rims, boring front grill

• AVH_2 on Mar 31, 2014 at 4:09 pm

I understand the Camry but the Honda?

PS: Now even my phone cant accessed wordpress, I want my name back!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • kzm (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 4:44 pm

I think there hiccup…3-4 days ago I oso cannot login to my account

• AVH (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 5:21 pm

I’ ve sent a help letter regarding the lock out issue and recieved a reply from Paul Tan. The error was simply because I keyed in my E-mail Address in place of my username ‘ AVH’, because I have develope a nasty habit of just putting my E-mail after doing it for most of my account…..Try it again, and hope it helps.

• Maseratti on Mar 31, 2014 at 10:12 pm

Camry is still the best. Ask my boss Sam Loo,only successful businessman like him drive camry but not outdated car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 27
    • outdated? Camry yes but not Accord. FYI….Teana/Altima never been in top tree in any car driven reviews. The top 3 sre Passat, Accord and Mazd6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • passion33 on Mar 31, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Wow.. Accord outdated? You’re so hard to please.. The new Accord not even 10 months old, dont talk about 1 year. All existing New Accord owners will be pissed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Nissan salesman detected. Warning…

Boooo for you, salesman.
      rubbish talk… Mazda 6 > Teana , all the way.

• mazda 6 is overpriced and the teana has bigger back seats. Function > Form

• function > form ?
          its called practicality
          function+equipment , Mazda > Teana
          Engine , Mazda > Teana
          Safety , best in class – Honda Accord
          both Mazda 6 n Teana(Altima) only acceptable.

• are you born stupid? I just said function is better than form, meaning practicality is better than slightly better looking exterior, the mazda is a good looking car but at that price that’s the only thing its good at. The accord rapes the Mazda’s interior and has COUNTLESS more features, the teana has bigger back seats, more legroom and a hell of a lot cheaper. It has more equipment than a teana? at that ridiculous price, I bloody hope so.

• darren on Apr 04, 2014 at 11:25 am

Tan Chong Motor would be very happy if they are in the top 3. to over throne Camry and Accord, has been always their dream and there are renewing their dream each time when they launch new models

• kah lok on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:16 pm

nice car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • mclim on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:23 pm

370Z headlamp and taillamp

• Altima on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:26 pm

The car is nice, but whether the 2.0 136hp is suffcient for this car? Any current Teana owner can provide your experience on this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:29 pm

The interior isn’t very nice. The silver bits look like painted plastic, which is acceptable in a Viva, not in a D Segment car. It already devalues the much cheaper Preve… And why is the satnav surrounded by a different glossy black than the area directly around it? And that glossy black plastic is again different from the black glossy plastic that surrounds the aircon vents and aircon controls? Makes it look like an aftermarket unit…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
  • Walter Ty on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:29 pm

The Teana was recently introduced using the Maxima name in the Philippine market with 2.5 & 3.5 litre petrol engines – probably sourced from Nissan’s U.S. production facility in Canton, Mississippi. The Thai-built Sylphy was launched at the same time.

• Walter Ty on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Correction – the Altima name was used, not Maxima.

• Altima on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Too bad, why TCM launch this new Teana so late in Malaysia, many potential customers have bought Acccord :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Altima on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Or other models :(

• Johnny on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:39 pm

I own a Teana V6, stable and it was a great car!! At the highway was a very powerful car, it can easily overtake a BMW 320D.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 40
  • Wow! Dual exhaust. Anyway, Mazda 6 is my the best Japanese D-segment car in Malaysia.

1. Mazda 6
    2. Nissan Teana
    3. Honda Accord
    4. Toyota Camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 16
  • messi on Mar 31, 2014 at 4:11 pm

The car is nice, but whether the 2.0 136hp is suffcient for this car? Any current Teana owner can provide your experience on this.

———————

If you have driven the present 2.0cc Teana (pick up is better than Sylphy), you should be able to convince by it power.

With Dual CVTC and 2 injector per cylinder and lighter weight will make the new teana more powerful and fuel economic.

The next will be the New 7 seater X-trail to kill the 5 seater honda CRV and Mazda CX5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • yeah3… 2.0cc 136hp , the civic 1.8 can smoke u
      oh nissan salesman ..
      And, there’s no way X-trail gonna kill CRV/CX5
      2.0 engine from nissan abit underpower,
      136hp 4wheel drive + 7 seater , awfully slow.
      very slow.

hey salesman , I only love Nissan GTR .. :)
      that is gonna smoke all other supercar.

• niaulong on Mar 31, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Copy me,

My Favariotes D-segment

1. Mazda 6
    2. Nissan Teana
    3. Honda Accord
    4. Kia K5
    5. VW Passat
    6. Hyundai Sonata

p.s – i dont wan put the T brand in my list, sian~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
  • ben yap on Mar 31, 2014 at 4:31 pm

yawn…. another low powered car. Nisssan’s 1.8 and 2.0 sucks, man….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • lonelyobserve on Mar 31, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Where is the 3.5L V6 VQ engine? Seems like ASEAN countries no longer have the 3.5L engine as an option.

• Joker on Mar 31, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Nice car but the rims…. low profile tyre looks and handles better… can’t always use the excuse of wanting ride comfort for using high profile tyre..
    It’s up to the car suspension actually…
    Still my current top D Segment list :
    1. Pug 508
    2. Mazda 6
    3. Kia K5
    4. Nissan Teana
    5. Honda Accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • This car been launched in oversea markets for more than 1year…and now only Tan Chong want to bring in to Msia?

• Berann on Mar 31, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Nice design,nice car,spacious and comfortable but only 136hp for D-segment?? Zzzzzzzzz. Better get accord with almost 20hp more..

• Aero (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Looks a bit err…. dugong-ish…. a whale maybe ? LOL

Just kidding, we’ll see what kind of safety specs it will get in Malaysia. If it’s just 2 airbags, then ETCM can go fly kites. Mazda6 all the way.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Quite an improvement from previous efforts of ETCM, where by the time they bring in, it is already almost at the end of life.

• Honestly, i’ll buy this car over Altis / Civic if priced competitively. Suitable for family car without too uncle-ish nor awkward styling.

• cendol (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Frankly speaking , I see more Teana on the roads compared to Camry and Accord. Definitely Nissan is doing something correctly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • No laa, I see brand new accord more than
      all other D-segment ..

• Darky on Mar 31, 2014 at 7:51 pm

I still holding my decision within Teana and Accord, if wrong price tag (agains spec) on Teana and here I come Accord.

• taknakproton on Mar 31, 2014 at 8:15 pm

136 hp is a no no, the car will struggle.

I won’t buy a ETCM Nissan unless it is properly kitted. Current 2.5 Teana has 2 airbags. WTH?

• nissan on Apr 01, 2014 at 9:42 am

2.5 teana has 4 airbags with vsc la….you sure you didnt buy a 2.0 and think it was a 2.5?

• Nissan interior never been impressive, looks dull & cheap. Will feel boring when driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Joseph Pang on Mar 31, 2014 at 11:18 pm

Actually, I own a 2.0 Nissan Teana currently. Owned a Camry previously. I can safely say that the 6speed CVT makes the car feel more powerful than the Camry. Also,its low end torque is quite good. The car never feels overweight, maybe because the steering is on the lighter side. Interior wise, the Nissan leather is of a better grade and quality compared with the Camry. The leather smell is also more realistic and lasts a long time. My car is almost 3 years old but the leather smell is still like brand new.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • I think I still prefer the current generation Teana with V6… sigh, KIA Optima, Hyundai Sonata, Honda Accord, Mazda 6, Ford Mondeo are all decent competitors for Teana…. though as a consolation, at least this Teana is still looks much better compared to the current Toyota Camry which looks like it was designed from a computer in the 1990’s era – awfully boring, typically Toyota…

• Denaihati on Apr 01, 2014 at 1:16 am

the design is more attractive as Sylphy as well, i think both model will have a good sale.

• babygrand on Apr 01, 2014 at 7:30 am

Accord anytime !!!!!

• Beige color interior makes it more Uncle car.

• U got dislike bro by uncles and perhaps Sam Loo,
      those who dislike, beige interior gonna make u old.
      Black interior – neutral
      Fancy colour interior – very young
      too fancy – woman / shemale :P

• insider on Apr 04, 2014 at 12:40 pm

all black interior, leather or fabric based on variant

• jacketpotato on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:50 pm

I guess the spec that we get might be equivalent to Thailand 2.0XE which again cut a lot of spec like intelligent transport system, around view monitor, front/rear sensor, no dvd built in, no navigation….etc