Next-generation Chevrolet Cruze uncovered in China

2015-chevrolet-cruze-leak-0001

Seems China is one of the worst places to leave your yet to be launched car uncovered. Yet another car has been undressed before its global unveiling – this time it’s the next-generation Chevrolet Cruze, which is rumoured to make its official debut at Auto China 2014 in Beijing towards the end of April. It certainly matches the spyshots that we’ve seen previously.

This time, the Chevrolet bowtie goes back to being positioned in the upper grille instead of being in the middle of a bar as with recent Chevy models. The front end is sharper and slimmer now, compared to the outgoing Cruze’s bold nose. We also see daytime running lights installed above the foglamp surround.

If you look closely at the rear fender, you’ll see a crease forming a slight pontoon above the rear wheel arch, which gives the Cruze family ties to the current Impala.

2015-chevrolet-cruze-leak-0003

The tail lamps seen here match the ones we’ve seen in previous spyshots, and although they’re not lit up here, spy photos have revealed that they light up with a U-shape similiar to the Chevy Camaro.

We’ve also seen the interior before in spy photos, but since this is not a test mule, the dashboard seen here is a lot cleaner. Like the outgoing car, the new Cruze seems to have a colour-coded interior – this one gets a brown leather wrapped dash to match the leather seats.

How does this new design compare to the original Cruze, in your opinion?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• miskin on Mar 31, 2014 at 11:45 pm

sekali tgk macam peugeot…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • Looks Like Peugeot 407

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Aero (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 11:55 pm

Ford called.

They want their Focus back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • W204 C63 on Apr 01, 2014 at 12:26 am

Ford said go ahead and take our outdated girl, we are happy ripping off Aston Martin now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
  • Is American running out of idea? Will buyers there bored of all “Aston Martin” look in their neighbourhood?

• LimPek on Apr 01, 2014 at 2:20 am

wakakaka.
      Aston Martin every where, after Kia, Ford & Chevrolet this time!

• Depan sudah mcm ford ikut front grill aston martin…aiyoooo

• bius dogong on Apr 01, 2014 at 12:10 am

kia cerato look alike..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Sam Loo, hurry attack its RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Leather-wrapped dashboard? A feature like that usually only adorns much more expensive cars. The leather used probably not of the finest quality, but still a USP in this segment nonetheless.

• look like korean design already, no more idea… boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • roxas on Apr 01, 2014 at 1:16 am

at fast glance, it looks something like focus n k3…but the interior is nice

• Danny C on Apr 01, 2014 at 1:38 am

Chevy simply take the headlamp from New Focus and put on the Cruze?

http://m.carsguide.com.au/news-and-reviews/car-news/2015_ford_focus_officially_revealed_82206_20140224

• RoyalRumble on Apr 01, 2014 at 1:46 am

Its very sad to see that their out of idea. Cant they just hire some good designer? They can just design wisely to save cost rather than relocate the batch only to do so. But i must say i’d fall for the interior somehow. Nice color and design there.

• EnergyAnalyst on Apr 01, 2014 at 7:31 am

Looks like Aston Martin -slightly shaken not stirred.

• jawabandar on Apr 01, 2014 at 7:59 am

Looks fresher than the outgoing model.the down part of it the design is very much like the other competitors.where’s ur identity chevy?

• asrul on Apr 01, 2014 at 8:05 am

Chevroford Focuze Aston Edition

• AVH (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 8:22 am

As Ford goes all Aston with their products, Chevy steps in with the whole smaall top grill, large lower grill design that we are seeing in far too many cars today, que the USDM Toyotas and also our Vios, ‘pre-Aston Ford’ Ford and Hyundai. In fact if we change the badge, its basically indistinguishable from other manufecturers design.

http://i.kinja-img.com/gawker-media/image/upload/s–IkQlvalF–/659254742106647625.jpg

• no comments on the exterior as most of us already made an obvious point about it…but i kinda like the interior. clean design, simple yet elegant..luckily chevy didn’t copy center console design of a focus. cluttered with the small buttons

• azizi on Apr 01, 2014 at 8:34 am

peugeot 407

• QChan on Apr 01, 2014 at 8:38 am

I’ve never been taken-in by the current Cruze especially the front-end. I guess it’s american-centric with its loud bow-tie emblem – it never sold well locally, here.

I must say I do like this new model – it’s pleasant and most of all, inoffensive. I’ve to admit it now looks pretty generic, what with the ubiquitous Aston Martin wannabe grill!! ;)

• The leather dashboard is cool, i prefer it in black.

• Carnut on Apr 01, 2014 at 9:22 am

Nothing groundbreaking with its design. Seems like they are playing it safe by following design trends rather than creating new ones. Looks better than the current one but rather surprised with the generous use of leather on its dashboard. The chrome bits in the dash looks very tacky and would reflect a lot of sunlight when driving in the sun.

• mmaker on Apr 01, 2014 at 10:06 am

interior is much better compare to current cruze

• Gajen on Apr 01, 2014 at 10:31 am

exactly like Focus, both interior and exterior

• overall much better than the previous Cruze. the prev one was quite ugly.

• ayooo.. the prev is the most gorgeous look for me. they’ve lost the Cruze identity in this new boring design

• Denaihati on Apr 01, 2014 at 12:11 pm

i think Chevrolet start make good looking car, make good appearance even though have a similarity to others manufacturer.

• ben yap on Apr 01, 2014 at 12:23 pm

another car that has low resale value and poor sales in Malaysia soon.

• pecah telur on Apr 01, 2014 at 3:20 pm

i thought that cruze going to replaced by Malibu ?

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 01, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Cruze is a C segment
      Malibu is a D segment

With these two americans already here for some time, perhaps Chrysler will jump in with some Italian infused DNA motoring as well.

• Josh Ling on Apr 01, 2014 at 11:48 pm

i think chevrolet seriously needs a stronger identity and they need to know actually having strong american influence on their designs is not a bad thing. it can even be beneficial to them.