SPYSHOTS: A trailer load of the new Nissan Sylphy

nissan-sylphy-spyshots-trailer-headline

UPDATE: The Nissan Sylphy is now open for booking. Estimated prices are from RM115k to RM125k. Read our full and exclusive test drive report with three points of view.

More Sylphy spyshots – this time of a whole trailer load of ’em. Reader Nic Goh snapped these while on the North-South Expressway near Serendah, where the Tan Chong plant is located.

The cars pictured here appear to be without boot spoilers. The red and silver cars spotted last week had boot spoilers with integrated third brake lamps. But the wheel design, chrome trim above the number plate and LED tail lamps seem to be the same.

As you know, this one’s been a long time coming – the B17 Nissan Sylphy made its world debut in China two full years ago, before being introduced in Thailand, the US (Sentra) and Australia (Pulsar) in the second half of 2012. According to research reports, the new C-segment sedan is due to be launched in the second quarter this year, so it should be our turn very soon.

The Malaysian-market Nissan Sylphy should be motivated by a 131 PS/174 Nm 1.8 litre MRA8DE four-cylinder engine with Twin C-VTC, and an improved Xtronic CVT.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Expired model.
    full intro 2012, and this year haven’t launched?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
    • ETCM, stop treating us like dirt! on Mar 31, 2014 at 11:36 am

ETCM is a disgrace. Brings shame to all Malaysians. they launch cars few years later in Malaysia, when the model is near to its expiry or end of cycle. Real pariah company.

For example, they were selling the outdated old Cefiro Brougham in year 2000 to Malaysians whilst Singapore had the brand new Cefiro for 7 years beforehand. Then, then low scums in ETCM decided to launch the new Cefiro (that Singapore had) but disguised it with a new name, Teana.

That is how ETCM works. Selling old outdated cars, not wanted anywhere in the world, to unsuspecting Malaysians. We get the scraps and leftover from the CEOs dinner table that is meant for the CEO’s dogs.

Please ETCM, stop treating Malaysians like dirt. We are not dirt. Give us the latest cars, not after 7 years later when the model becomes outdated.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 17
      • Taikor on Mar 31, 2014 at 11:50 am

Toyota Salesman?
        Or UMW Toyota Marketing Department – Bill?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 85
        • TaikorSupporter on Mar 31, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Taikor, you have so many dislikes because everyone from UMW Toyota Marketing dept including their bosses like JK, LGE, SL are reading this and getting their staffs to dislike this comment. It proves that “ETCM, stop treating us like dirt!” is from PR department or Corporate Affairs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
      • MG250 on Mar 31, 2014 at 12:41 pm

I don’t understand why are you complaining about this. Yes, they brought in old models but why say that they treat Malaysians like dirt when they never force anyone to buy? Is a willing buyer willing seller situation here. If you think their models are outdated then don’t buy. Malaysians just like to complaint. I noticed Mazda bring in new models pretty fast like the new Mazda 3 to Malaysia but end up being bombarded for high price. Some complaint about not spacious enough knowing that its a C segment car. And when Toyota offer spacious car, they complaint its very uncle. I think only car that can satisfy Malaysians are cars that look like Aston Martin with the spaciousness of Alphard, fuel consumption like a Prius and price like a Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 42
        • Teh Boon Hock on Mar 31, 2014 at 12:54 pm

This MG250 budak bodo. If you see injustice, good to point it out. Only a bodo will say willing buyer, willing seller.

MG250 is the sort of guy if he see rape happening, he won’t go to help. “None of my business” he will say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 37
          • MG250 on Mar 31, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Can you point out where is the injustice here ‘smart’ fellow? Did TCM raped you guys? Did they point a gun at you and force you to buy? Do you even think a latest smart phone can actually cost more than 2K? Its because there is a demand for it. When the demand is weaker price will be reduced according to demand. Well, looking at your low mentality reply maybe you are not going to understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
        • Nissan - Outdated Company on Mar 31, 2014 at 1:35 pm

Go to Chow Kitt area. See their HQ. It is one old apek building. They got no time to even build a good image of themselves, whatmore their outdated cars.

I am sure the big bosses of Tan Chong, still use the Brick Motorola Handphone. Still outdated.

Bet you the bosses at Tan Chong all use old CRT TV in their office and houses. I think in the HQ, got VHS video player or Betamax video player to play videos on Nissan models to customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
          • Datsun 120Y - RM149,000 on Mar 31, 2014 at 1:52 pm

In 2014, you can hear Nissan boss say….

“I still prefer to use ETACS. What is this stupid technology called GSM? What is digital?”

“All our Nissan cars will have free standard cassette players from now on”

Then after meeting, you see the Nissan boss drive home in his Datsun 120Y. The gear stick like Ferrari Testarossa, one long stick and ball on top.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
          • Datsun 120Y - RM149,000 on Mar 31, 2014 at 1:58 pm

“All our Nissan cars from 2014 onwards will come standard fan on the dashboard (kipas) that can automatically turn left and right”

“The fans will be safe for children because outside the blades, got metal housing (like stand fan) to prevent your child from puttting his fingers into the blades”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • cupchai onron97 on Jul 11, 2015 at 2:11 am

Spot On. most are keyboard warrior know nothing about cars and driving kanchil

• Yawn…
    It’s 2014 already and now only we get this. I think not long elsewhere they would be getting a mild facelift while it debut here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Hyundai DeLa Junk on Mar 31, 2014 at 11:38 am

K5 & Elantra killer is here, korean salesman leg shivering that why start posting nonsentical comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 42
  • Hahaha on Mar 31, 2014 at 11:52 am

Zzz.. Outdated model.. Same to nissan serena hybrid which wa launched last yr =3= honda malaysia better than etcm who often brings outdated models..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Denaihati on Mar 31, 2014 at 12:06 pm

the design is more attractive. i think change to 1.8L engine is a move, waiting for the price list.

• oldman on Mar 31, 2014 at 12:10 pm

Nissan tcm is for an old fashioned car model for the malaysian people only dont worry its sell well in malaysia.

• cslee on Mar 31, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Not really all cars by TCM are outdated . For example the serena s-hybrid is quite synchronise with other countries . Just the market demand and price not very much accepted by malaysian

• mh370 still alive on Mar 31, 2014 at 12:30 pm

they launched this models in accordance to their slogan “Shift- the way you move”, so they shift the outdated models from other countries to Malaysia. At least they do shift, else ETCM still having Nissan Sunny, Nissan Vanette van, Nissan Cefiro for Malysians…look at the Sentra which is still on Nissan Malaysia page…ewwwwwww~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Yawn….Such a boring looking car as compared to what the market has got to offer. Even the altis looks more interesting than this model.Pricing & warranty length will play a major role for this model to succeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Finally, a not too outdated Nissan model from ETCM.

Just am gonna wait and see the price and features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • disgruntledBMWowner on Mar 31, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Should name it Nissan Filthy.. My grandmother can also design better cars. Yucks.. But at least the after sales service is better than BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Joker on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:01 pm

unless they price it at 90k, i doubt any1 would buy this outdated car… and 5 years free service including wear and tear parts…

• kah lok on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:09 pm

such a nice look car in Malaysian i give 100% to Nissan Sylphy to other C-Segment car

• so many complain~ what outdated la, useless la~~~~talk like you’re so good huh?

• Nissan75% on Mar 31, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Outdated car but not too bad looking car
    The design seems to be not so aggressive as other brand offered
    but the comfort and quality is a must
    lets c ETCM get this with a affordable price with all cutted spec than a altis or wat so ever
    But so wat ? the so called full spec of Altis also being cut spec in malaysia
    Its all about worth money
    some people doesnt care about spec but as cheaper as it is
    Just like the succeed of the almera laucnhed

• ben yap on Mar 31, 2014 at 4:28 pm

the 1.8 engine power is so low. 131PS is freaking low when competitors are doing at least 140PS. Elantra is already doing 150PS.

Keep your underpowered car to yourself!

• yellow on Mar 31, 2014 at 5:00 pm

indeed it is not a sporty car.. but i don’t think it will under-power. my 2005 altis only 1.6 litre engine, it works for me.

i believe this slyphy is market as a comfort and fuel efficiency family car. if the price and spec is right. i am planning to change my altis to this.

i don’t fancy the latest altis at all. both spec and price letting me down

• Don’t look at paper. Go and test drive yourself . I bet you will not comment like this anymore.

• taknakproton on Mar 31, 2014 at 8:24 pm

A review stated Slyphy takes 12.8 seconds for a 0-100 run. I wonder if this true. This Slyphy receive mediocre reviews at best.

Let see how ETCM strips this car of kits and specs.

• Motorhead (Member) on Mar 31, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Price it below 100k.. will sell like hot cakes. Regardless what somr of you say here. Look at current Slphy.. countless on the road. . How many we can see Altis? Slphy is indeed a good product. . I tested it.. Xtronic is impressive. I didn’t really care how it look once I sprint up to 120kmp in short time. Smooth acceleration. Im not a Nissan’s sales person. Only Slphy owners know what I mean. Unfortunately. . I already ve a sedan.. & sedan can’t support my hobbies.

• shawal on Mar 31, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Spec it like you have respect for the malaysian customers and price it competitively, wouldn’t hurt to undercut its peers…
    It’ll be flying out of showrooms..
    Its one of the better looking sedans out there… In and out..

• Tiger on Mar 31, 2014 at 11:59 pm

Me totally agree, hate TCM coz ripping us by continue to sell outdated models tat wete discontinued and than the worst thing was, they sell the model alongside the new replacement model ( which they gave a diferent name )…TCM think most us us r old senile uncles, but never realized they all read Paultan kip updated

• Some people don’t know what is outdated. The same engine and gearbox used for 3 generation still say good.

• Engine on Apr 01, 2014 at 10:22 am

Lol! U must be referring to the 4 gear engines. I wonder who is more disgraced, umw or tc?

• Want power buy Bugatti lar. YOu just know how to read fact sheet and give comment. Have you test drive the Sylphy? Duh

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 10:09 am

Keyboard warriors.. only know talk craps.. kids.. don’t even try to drive a slphy. Talk kok. Xtronic one of a kind. Never heard any failure. Never. If any owners here do.. please share.

• Tiger on Apr 01, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Same engines, same gearbox, same platdorm, only facelift but unfortunately, the local Bolehland auto magazines oso claimed or merely repeated wat the manufacturer said, tat is, ” all new model”

• Gingerbreadman on Apr 08, 2014 at 12:43 am

NOT a Nissan sales man here. Hate the fact that we only get this model 2 years after it’s official launch. Market demands and size not that appealing I guess.

BUT I love the Sylphy for its comfort, ride and easy maintenance. No denying that it’s way more comfortable than all it’s peers. Love the ample space and various storage compartments. Even engine does enough for me so much so I have to look at the speedometer when I drive just so to make sure I don’t go over the speed limit. Even my mom complains that this car is too fast. Only the exterior is a let down but with this new model it’s good enough for me.

Hope they price it competitively. I don’t think it’s gonna be sub rm100k though.