2015 Honda Fit Kit – build your supermini by hand

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z8GLIJ_HQJ8

Have you always wanted to build your own fully-functioning car? No, not a Caterham, but a proper, fully-featured family hatchback? Well, Honda – in the US at least – has you covered from today, April 1, with the Fit Kit, part of its Handmade Series.

The kit – built (hah) specifically for the handcrafted movement – allows experienced tinkerers to build their very own 2015 Honda Fit (known to you and me as the Honda Jazz). With over 180,000 individual mechanical parts, Honda calls this grown-up Tamiya kit “a challenge for the most talented and adroit”.

According to Honda, those wanting to take on the Fit Kit should be a “tinkerer par excellence“. Known difficult bits include being able to wire up the car’s electronic features such as the Bluetooth connectivity and LaneWatch warning system, as well as building the i-VTEC engine and six-speed manual transmission piece-by-piece. The parts will be delivered to your doorstep within two days, some of them by drones.

In the video above, Honda have found two testers, Vanessa and Caleb, to complete their first beta kit. As you can see, they are experienced with crafting things with their own hands, and it will be pretty interesting to watch this build come together…

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• If Proton do this, sure basher blame Proton staff so lazy until ask customer to assemble their own car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Same lor Orii on Apr 01, 2014 at 3:50 pm

People would be glad if Proton has this. At least they can ensure the assembling quality with their own hands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • trololol on Apr 01, 2014 at 4:25 pm

of course what they can’t even get a simple thing right, don’t even think about following their instruction right.

• Another April Fool’s prank

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • thebugbud on Apr 01, 2014 at 1:46 pm

I don’t mind if proton is to provide such kit. At least, I can stick, assemble and tape the parts nicely to avoid rattling.

Imagine my preve dashboard and door panels already rattle on the 3rd month old.

• Same lor Orii on Apr 01, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Is ok lar, you can smoke others what.

Do people buy Proton for their build quality, fuel consumption, comfort etc?

The ultimate purpose is to smoke ppl only. Sadly they can’t afford a Evo X, Impreza, 86, CRZ, thus Proton is the best choice.

We under their need of speed, like the sambal in nasi lemak. They just can’t live with it.

Public safety? puik!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • AVH (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Considering the Ikea Billy cabinet I assembled is still creaking(but hey at least its holding), I’d say if its half the price(considering it skip certain import tax and excise duty and also manufecturing duties, and Tamiya kits from japan are wee bit cheaper) I’d might say its worth it to certain individuals.

The wonders of self assembling your own cars as any tunner or mechanic will tell you is that you are more involve with the car. Anything goes wrong and immediatelly you roughly know which part it is. Now Honda, how about an NSX or S2000 kit?

• hondaman on Apr 01, 2014 at 3:58 pm

the delivery by drone? hahahaha good april fool joke

• PLOTONG SHIT on Apr 01, 2014 at 5:10 pm

NO MONEY GO BUY PLOTONG LAH… No TALK TALK :-D

• junkit on Apr 01, 2014 at 5:45 pm

LOL is that April fool programme? I am not sure how complicated are all the pieces, what about the main body frame thats not something you can separate out, and all the wirings, engine & gearbox assembly that’s not some ordinary guys can do it.

• funny on Apr 02, 2014 at 1:33 am

definitely April’s Fool stuff

• Pana Chuah on Apr 05, 2014 at 1:51 pm

Nice search for body kit Honda Jazz Hybrid 2014