BMW Force Injection Booster: low-speed exhilaration

99WCR13549_April_Fools_270x340_Telegraph.indd

Finding your daily commute dry and boring? Stuck driving at low speeds when all you want to do is tear up the roads at 300 km/h? From today – April 1 – you can order your BMW with what the company calls a Force Injection Booster (FIB), which simulates the effect of spirited driving even at slow speeds.

Activated under speeds of 20 mph (32 km/h), FIB extracts the kinetic energy created by the engine and converts it into positive g-forces. These forces are then channeled directly to the driver and passengers through the air-conditioning vents.

A mild electric current running through the front seats accentuates the feeling of exhilaration, while BMW’s AirNet hair protection system ensures that you can enjoy the benefits of FIB without ruining your carefully-coiffed hairstyle.

Head of BMW innovation Professor Mika Notbetrü described the technology as “mind-blowingly unbelievable”. BMW said that Force Injection Booster will “change the face of motoring”, but smartly added that face alteration caused by the technology is not permanent.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Jaybond on Apr 01, 2014 at 6:03 pm

April Fool!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • not_an_april_1st_joke. on Apr 01, 2014 at 6:06 pm

I heard Volvo is coming out with a competing tech called Learning Injection Ejaculator or LIE. The ECU’s powered by Big Little ARM Host-controller or BLAH.

• sohaiNAJIB on Apr 01, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Suitable for all the ah beng car modifiers out there

• It just sounds stupid. I bet if this was posted under proton all of the haters will be barking

• Tan Boon Yong on Apr 01, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Hahaha… Nice name… Mika Notbetru = Might Not Be True!! Happy April Fool!!!

• @#£% on Apr 01, 2014 at 7:33 pm

notbetrü..yeah right…i know it wasnt trü

• Fuel Cell Phone on Apr 01, 2014 at 7:51 pm

might as well driving without windscreen..

• If I am not mistaken, every year BMW came out with an April Fool joke. There is once where they came out with the M3 UTE joke.

• Joker on Apr 02, 2014 at 9:35 am

Lol.. da email.. mika.notbetru….
    if it’s real then it’s quit fun actually!!!