Qoros 3 Hatch wins Red Dot Design Award

qoros-3-hatch-1

The Qoros 3 Hatch, which made its first global appearance in Geneva last month, has won one of the world’s leading design prizes, a Red Dot Award. An ‘Honourable Mention’ accolade went to the young Chinese carmaker’s second model, in recognition of its “striking and particularly successful detail solutions.”

In early March the carmaker’s first model, the Qoros 3 Sedan, received the Universal Design Award 2014 for outstanding product quality. The Qoros 3 Sedan is the first Chinese car in history to get a five-star Euro NCAP safety rating; not only that, it achieved the highest overall Euro NCAP score last year.

“For our international team these awards are both an honour and an incentive,” said design head Gert Volker Hildebrand. “In our designs, which are inspired by contemporary European automotive styling themes, we are integrating our own very distinctive touches to give our fledgling brand an identity of its own that will make it unmistakable.”

Both the Qoros 3 Sedan and Hatch are powered by a 1.6 litre four-cylinder engine in naturally-aspirated (126 hp/155 Nm, six-speed manual) and turbocharged (156 hp/210 Nm, six-speed manual or six-speed Getrag 6DCT250 dry-dual clutcher) forms.

Qoros 3 Hatch

Qoros 3 Sedan

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• BLT Club (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 10:49 am

Congrats Qoros! Proton, oh proton. Where art thou?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
    • How much Qoros have paid for this unknown Red Dot Design Award?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 54
      • Vader on Apr 01, 2014 at 1:26 pm

If you dont know anything, then better remain silent..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
      • Low Budget on Apr 01, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Typical Malaysian mentality, “Semua pun boleh kau-tim”. Not all things can be “kau-tim” the Malaysian way especially in the more advance countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • Ok then we can assume other new car such as Mercedes CLA, Honda Jazz, BMW Active Tourer etc are rubbish or worst than this Qoros 3 as they all fail to win this mickey mouse award.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 27
      • kcng….malu la..better to keep your comments to yourself if you don’t know anything. Mickey mouse award…sheesh…embarrassing

• Hellhole on Apr 02, 2014 at 11:28 pm

Exactly, red dot is quite a well known award in the design world and is not specifically limited to cars. The designs from BMW and Audi are crap and unimaginative. This is from a die hard BMW driver who has three in his garage.

• superman on Apr 02, 2014 at 9:14 am

and how much proton paid you to post this commentr here? pls do some stuy before you say OK Boss, I will post comment. TQ

• Savvy on Apr 01, 2014 at 10:50 am

In the meanwhile proton develops a new SV model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Apr 01, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Most of us Malaysians are price sensitive, therefore we need Proton’s SV or better still, SSSSV.

• Datuk on Apr 01, 2014 at 10:55 am

even chinese car maker are improve a lot. proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Apr 01, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Who says no improvement? At least now the Power Window problem has been fixed and the low end model also got air bags equipped.

• ilyjdm on Apr 01, 2014 at 9:22 pm

Its April fools !

Of course proton is better than those chinese junk

• kzm (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 11:03 am

abisla p1 kene bash…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Obviously (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 1:15 pm

It’s quite nice to no longer see your name being used to support senseless bashing.

• seancorr on Apr 01, 2014 at 11:13 am

Congrats to them, their designs are indeed pleasing to the eye and it’s the only Chinese brand I will go for if I ever decide to try one out.

• really? on Apr 01, 2014 at 11:19 am

really? red dot design award? what are the criteria to get this award? has there be any car out there that had received this award.

its just that this car is so plain looking that it makes me wonder how did they get this award.

but anyway congrats to qoros.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
    • BLT Club (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 12:23 pm

Red DOT Best of the Best
      2013 – Audi R8, Kia pro_cee’d (where’s Sam Loo now?)
      2012 – Renault Twizzy
      2011 – Kia Optima (gasp!)

• Vader on Apr 01, 2014 at 1:32 pm

That explain the Red Dot is professional but you are not!

• Hellhole on Apr 02, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Plain looking? Have you been to Europe. This car basically caters the taste of Europeans (have a look at a Golf) and by that standard it is classy.

• dreamlan on Apr 01, 2014 at 11:33 am

Still, compared to our Suprima design….win anything? Malaysian car designers still need a lot of catching up…a really good design will catch your eye almost immediately…

• I think why proton design is way outdate because they employ engineer not car designer. Other car maker employ automotive designer to design the car and employ automotive engineer to materialize the design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • 50rangers on Apr 01, 2014 at 11:35 am

Well deserved award. Simple yet classy.

• dreamlan on Apr 01, 2014 at 11:37 am

FYI, Qoros is a jv company, 50% Chery, 50% Israel Corp…

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 11:38 am

Kinda undecided if the sedan looks better than the hatch, but lets not forget this is the same car that actually got the highest score for EURO NCAP in 2013. Pretty well done.

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 12:54 pm

I think their Qoros 3 platform looks better with the boot. More balanced, I think.

• Lane Tamer on Apr 01, 2014 at 11:45 am

Proton, please respond accordingly. Many thanks…

• do'oh on Apr 01, 2014 at 11:48 am

this car got Chinese looks

• what a joke. of all cars IN THE WORLD today, this one got an honourable mention? look like the chinese are busy bribing people everywhere then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
  • say no to china product no matter how good it is in response to anti-malaysian sentiment in china.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 26
    • ong chin aun on Apr 01, 2014 at 1:05 pm

This is not good, never give tit for tat. we are classified as top intelligent brain of the mammal. Also,This is not Chinese culture. keep learning

• slk3879 on Apr 01, 2014 at 2:07 pm

You don’t want to be NO BETTER than them

• sam.L on Apr 01, 2014 at 1:25 pm

kalau dibanding dari segi design memang suprima tertinggal jauh. ish..ish..ish. suprima memang tak lawa depan dan belakang pada pandangan saya la. tak perlu banding keta lain memang tak lawa la.

• Hellhole on Apr 02, 2014 at 11:31 pm

Actually the original Tuah concept was fantastic BUT i guess since the car will not sell in volume they had to scale down the expensive bit to make it affordable. Hence the bland looking Suprima

• Ganeson on Apr 01, 2014 at 1:35 pm

Is it available in RHD? I think it deserves the award for its highest ever NCAP rating. Volvo is also Chinese owned and so the commentors posting about inferior Chinese products need to all look at their I phones and macs and lenovo pc’s. all at the head of their game and made in China (Even black berry used by Obama made in China.)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • choha on Apr 01, 2014 at 2:35 pm

front grille looks like an old school corolla to me

• This is so much better looking than suprima.

• EnergyAnalyst on Apr 01, 2014 at 3:27 pm

Qoros! (Pronounced as chorus) ought to be making themselves heard now even louder and clearer. Good stuff!!

• albag on Apr 01, 2014 at 8:06 pm

i’m so disappointed with this Red Dot shit… suppose to be won by Proton Saga SV!!!

• Josh Ling on Apr 02, 2014 at 12:05 am

really dig the design of the hatchback over the sedan and wagon. well done! it deserves something like this!

• FarizY (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 8:18 am

I am truly impressed with Qoros. China the next Korea, maybe?
    A lot can be achieve when you stop being so ‘konon-konon’ patriotic.

• Qoros is one of corrupt company. Engineering level is very low.