Three automakers have applied for EEV incentives

NAP-2014-Roadmap-2

According to a news report published by The Sun, three automakers have applied for the incentives that have been set in place for locally-assembled energy efficient vehicles (EEV) under the revised National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014).

The identity of the automakers hasn’t been disclosed, and are unlikely to be, Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) president Datuk Aishah Ahmad said. “I don’t know the details because once the carmakers have submitted to the government, it is confidential and we won’t know who they are,” she told reporters at the MAA AGM held last week.

She added that any automaker can apply for the EEV incentives if its vehicles fit the EEV profile. Once the necessary submission to the government has been carried out, both parties can then discuss the level of assistance the government is able to provide.

nap-2014-eev-specs

Despite EEV exemptions being customised and dependent on the amount of investment, Aishah said that automakers can make the request for exemptions without being controlled by the size of investment. “The bigger the investment you make, the bigger incentive you will get. But the government is not saying that if you make a certain amount of investment, this is the amount of incentive you get,” she explained.

In NAP 2014-related news, Aishah said that no consultant has been appointed yet to conduct a study on whether the open approved permit (AP) should be abolished or continue. “As far as we know, not yet,” she stated.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Apr 01, 2014 at 2:43 pm

I comment for AP only: FORGET it!!!!! government won’t jeopardize this HUGE piece of BULK income. Kena tipu kaw kaw we Rakyat. Extend, further discuss, need to setup committe, study through, etc…… My arse.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 4
    • Obviously (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 3:29 pm

And all that process somehow eats up more money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
      • Aishah, where is the 30% reduction Najib Promised? on Apr 01, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices. Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 7 months have passed and nothing has been done. He promised last year!

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is EEV or ELV. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise?

Aishah, please ask your boss Najib to honour his promise. This basic thing also MAA cannot do, how can the rakyat trust MAA and the BN Government?

Aishah, don’t wait for your Tan Sri award, ask your boss Najib, to honour his promise he made to his people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
        • Pls wait laaa. If Najib reduce the car price now by revising excise duty, government will lose money. I bet Najib will increase the hire purchase interest rate through revision of base rate (mind you there is no longer base lending rate). They will use excuses such as to reduce household debt and what not bla bla bla. Base rate increases, bank profit increase (taking into account the TIV also increase by 6%), more tax to government. Also, insurance premium to be increase this year. So, Najib will keep his promise by reducing the car prices (and government income won’t be so much affected) but the people monthly payment remains the same.At the end, we won’t have extra money to increase our standard of living.

• Meaty on Apr 02, 2014 at 8:58 am

Mazda3 is EEV qualified car. If approved local assembly CKD units, the price is RM70K.

MITI will approve the price or not? Ha Ha Ha Ha….

• actually he cant do it. he just blindly follow what PR said.

• Chris Koh on Apr 01, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Aishah was really good about 10 years back. Always fighting for the rights of consumers and their purchasing power. Then government gave her Datukship. Her tune then changed. She now dances for the government and high car prices.

Is there anyone else now willing to champion consumers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Settle settle settle on Apr 01, 2014 at 3:35 pm

It is the people’s government and they are so secretive not to tell the applying automakers nor the incentive to be given (I doubt if they have standard for that?)

Similar like your father go out settle with other people and get your sister/daughter married tomorrow morning.

PUI!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Vincent on Apr 01, 2014 at 4:34 pm

This is good news. EEV qualified cars should get zero duty price.

• Settle settle settle on Apr 01, 2014 at 6:42 pm

If the government is willing to give zero tax, they no need to hide the application the negotiation in the dark.

They want the foreign automaker establish EEV CKD in Malaysia while still pay tax on the car sales.

This similar as trying to grow a milk cow without grass, the milk comes out from the air?

• ruffstuff on Apr 01, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Eh.. AP was free. And few years back they give it a thousands per paper. Can’t remember. SO how AP is money to government if the paper itself is free? The issue with AP is, it was given to few selection of people.

• glaze on Apr 01, 2014 at 2:45 pm

so basically government take a cut on their income.

Before implementing EEV incentives for CKD cars and earning the tax for CKD hybrid cars, they have lost the AP and also sales tax income of CBU hybrid cars. This become a lose-lose situation where the government lost the income and the rakyat cannot buy CBU environmental friendly cars before CKD plant is implemented.

Giving out 2 more years incentive for CKD hybrid to encourage automakers to invest CKD plant but by the 2 years time the plant is ready to produce CKD hybrid cars, the incentive might be gone.

Worst planning ever!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Apr 01, 2014 at 5:35 pm

This is called FLIP-FLOP Policy.

• Dino years (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 9:01 pm

oh i’m sure someone behind the scenes is benefiting from the govt’s “loss”.

• Anonymous Coward on Apr 01, 2014 at 2:46 pm

If I were to guess, it would be Proton (upcoming GSC), Perodua (upcoming Viva replacement) and Ford (upcoming Fiesta Ecoboost).

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Don’t need to guess for one. Honda has already been said to have EEV incentives.

• EnergyAnalyst on Apr 01, 2014 at 2:54 pm

If I am to take a wild guess-it will be UMW , DRB-Hicom and SIme Darby

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Those are authorized distributors, not automakers.

• glaze on Apr 01, 2014 at 5:07 pm

since when UMW (or Toyota Malaysia) has got EEV engine?

All the cars are using old engines.

• kzm (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 5:27 pm

U all don read previous news? the company who apply EEV r Great Wall Motor, Renault n (between hyundai or GM)..MITI said 6 company in final stage

• Roger Tan on Apr 01, 2014 at 7:59 pm

I’ve been thinking about this all day since I read this article earlier.

What is with our policy makers trying to hide everything from the people? Even the identities of the applicants are locked up?

I may be missing something here but I can’t seem to figure this one out

• Same shit different day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • AVH (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 3:07 pm

‘Once the necessary submission to the government has been carried out, both parties can then discuss the level of assistance the government is able to provide’

Lets break that down to the basic words:
    Once…government…carried out….. discuss….level of assistance…. government…..provide

And suddenly things look not as bright. Its not to say I have limited faith in the government, but I have limited faith in the government.Given that theres still a go throgh the goverment for a ‘process'(and this is the goverment so that process will be crushingly slow) this will take ages and worst still, even if the process is being approved, the quote ‘level of assistance the government is able to provide’ basically means the government have not set a standard level of assistence to said companies. Not to speculate, but I am getting a sense of said ‘discussion’ is basically outlining how much Duit-Kopi the government can receive and both party getting that win-win situation.

So basically status quo stays as such, I don’t think BN can actually accomplish price reduction of average 30%, at least I don’t see any efforts at this stage. Thou they will definitely point out the fact that some new car have a lower starting price than before;new City(RM76k vs RM85k) and Polo(RM86k vs RM110+k), but this are dumped down El-Chepo spec version of the actual car……but Janji Ditepati kan? they didn’t say it must be the same spec right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • wkaka on Apr 01, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Agreed, since it’s not standardized and not transparent at all, the rakyat have no clue on what’s going on. Even if the incentives are huge, we may not even know it and the distributors will just probably sell at a few thousand cheaper and pocket the rest as profit/give some duit-kopi.

• KillBox1Alpha on Apr 01, 2014 at 3:20 pm

The only important paragraph in this article is about the AP.

There is no way the government is going to abolish a cash cow like the AP….

• kzm (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 6:21 pm

that AP only for 60k++ car only (10% of total production based on 2013)..RM10k per AP mean RM600million oni…at least this AP car mostly full spec

• Ultraman on Apr 01, 2014 at 3:26 pm

my guess will be Honda, Proton, Mitsubishi … all are Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar’s biz. don’t think anyone can overtake him for the EEV incentives ~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Orang Minyak on Apr 01, 2014 at 3:32 pm

so. exemption for EEV’s. which in the picture is defined by L/km. which means, most modern turbo-diesels will qualify for EEV exemptions easily. no wonder they’re not rushing to bring in Euro 4 diesel. once quality of diesel is improved, most major manufacturers will be able to bring in their TD engines and qualify for these exemptions, thus denying the blood sucking government a major source of revenue.

• Low Budget on Apr 01, 2014 at 3:35 pm

Semua pun boleh ‘discuss’ the Malaysian way….
    What is the Malaysian way? Oh, you scratch my back and I will scratch your back.

• MH370 is not our nation lost, but world lost! on Apr 01, 2014 at 3:40 pm

I jz visit mazda showroom last weekend and been tested 2014 Mazda 3. The sales manager inform me that mazda 3 is applying tis scheme too. If leaf fall to the ground, the pricy 139k Mazda 3 may drop 10k and with the CKD model coming soon. Probably mazda 3 may sales as low as RM120k only. hopefully. Lets no forget mazda 3 may come in here with 1.5 model too. who know?? Singapore has already sales 1.5l model mazda 3 with so low fuel consumption. thumps me if u are with me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • start-a-fight on Apr 01, 2014 at 4:14 pm

toyota, honda, proton.

done.

• azrai on Apr 01, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Is this story real or April Fool’s one?

• Secretive on Apr 01, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Why Msia so secretive nowadays? We want more transparency.
    There is nothing wrong telling us who applied for EEV.
    We want progress not regress.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Its clear the lack of transparency means, true EEVs will not get any incentives, while the ones of the right background or ones who make donations will get the tax breaks. And then, all these ppl have to do is price their cars just slightly below the price of competitors who do not have this incentives.

Next will be a toast to UP UP UP profit margins..

• So Secrative on Apr 01, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Why do they not disclose the 3 automakers who applied the EEV incentive? what if the 3 automakers do get the incentive from our government but they not reduce their car price? who would know?
    No transparency in our government these day.. When we said they are hiding something, they throw it back to us said that we are not thankful to the government, and so on…
    In the end, who is laughing? Their cronies…seriously disappointed..there goes janji di capati again and again and again and again…

• JustMe on Apr 01, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Yahoo Mazda 3 qualified for this.
    Hope to see it sell for RM70K (heheheh)

• where’s ETP Pemandu on this EEV matter? so quite now.

• Samad Jain on Apr 01, 2014 at 8:15 pm

Sighh…the book shown in the photo…….is just wasting paper supply. All just words but nothing is followed up with Action.

Knowing these ppl. All talk, more talk, more study here and there… but at the end…..N.O.T.H.I.N.G

–REPEAT PROCESS NEXT YEAR–

• i hope 1 of it is BMW!!!

• n i also hope that this incentives really give that price reduction as promise.

• Tiger on Apr 01, 2014 at 11:09 pm

Reveal the three manufacturers who applied for EEv incentive oso cannot….share monthly sales figure report oso cannot…looks like the Malaysian car market is the most secretive in the world, all under OSA

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 11:36 pm

Want to know why it is a secret? The way incentives are decided on. Good friend, good discounts. And good friend of course depends on how much the company is willing to help the government officials. A car here, a property there, …

• Norman on Apr 02, 2014 at 8:27 am

Everywhere the same la,low car price but high on other charges..In Japan if you drive a 1.8 sedan you will be charge around RM21 for an hour parking compared to RM8 for a 1.3 car.Road tax and insurance,inspection fees varies..

• Green on Apr 02, 2014 at 9:18 am

Where is the T.r.a.n.s.p.a.r.e.n.c.y.
    When we do not know who are the EEV applicant?

• takNakP1 on Apr 02, 2014 at 10:59 am

haha… stop asking the gov where is the 30% reduction bcos GE13 is over. come GE14 it will be brought up again. BELIVE IT OR NOT!!!

we should be asking why ppl can say over 100k for a car is “ok” or “cheap”…

• Nabill on Apr 02, 2014 at 11:35 am

If u dont kno who applied…thn y on earth open mouth n say got ppl applied…..endless supply of brainless humans