Volvo rolls out updates for 2015 models, adds new Inscription package for the XC60, V70, XC70 and S80

Volvo_2015_updates_Inscription_package_001

Volvo Car Group has announced a series of upgrades for all its model year 2015 (USA naming convention; to track annual updates) lineup. To start with, a new luxury-focussed Inscription package is now offered on new XC60, V70, XC70 and S80 models, in line with Volvo’s aim to move itself towards a more premium brand position.

The package consists of various combinations of Inscription Soft Leather upholstery, leather-covered instrument panel, premium deco inlays and unique floor mats. Such equipped, soft leather covers secondary surfaces such as the back of seats, centre armrest and neck rest; the last of which is embroidered with the Inscription logo.

More Inscription-exclusive options are available too, including bespoke walnut dashboard trimmings, extra colour options, as well as new ten-spoke wheel designs (19-inch on the V70 and S80, 20-inch on the XC60).

Also, all new Volvo models (apart from the XC90 SUV, which will be replaced soon) can be had with an updated Sensus Connect infotainment system and an improved Premium Sound system by Harman Kardon. Lastly, Volvo’s efficient Drive-E engines (already available on the V40 and S60) will be rolled out to all models from May 2014 onwards.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Volvo the Dead Brand on Apr 01, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Volvo Malaysia is already becoming a dead brand. It will soon meet the same fate of Alfa Romeo and Fiat in Malaysia. Drive around and you can hardly see any Volvos like those days. 2 reasons for this

Volvo, being a cheap and normal car in Europe is pricing their cars exorbitantly in Malaysia. They want their cars to be same status as BMW and Mercedes and the prices are more or less the same.

@nd reason, every part in the Volvo is now Made in China. When Geely took over, they promised the Volvo community that the car will remain fully Swedish made. But go and open every panel in the Volvo, you will see, it is Made in China. Most Volvo ardent fans in Malaysia have moved away from the brand because of this.

volvo may have all the tech and safety equipment but Malaysians still cannot stomach the fact that they are paying RM300,000 for a Geely in disguise aniving of the famed Volvo name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 69
    • munkay on Apr 01, 2014 at 10:19 pm

you think that’s crazy? how bout people who pay more than 100,000 ringgits for a japanese car

• Same lor Orii on Apr 02, 2014 at 11:42 am

You think T/H/M/S can’t price their car like Proton?

These pricing need MITI approval brada!

This is all for the sake of your awesome Proton and you beloved government!

It is the J class people reject thus die die have to pay RM100k.

• Ibrahimovic on Apr 01, 2014 at 10:25 pm

In Europe the V40 rules the roads. Sexy as hell and fun to drive. On our roads there’s a significant increase in these Swedish beauties. It will never go the Alfa way nor it is a Geely. One must be dumb enough or uninformed to think that Geely has anything to do with Volvo cars design. Proton owns Lotus. Does that make a Lotus car essentially Proton? I think you are one of those VW buyers who can’t fathom that the V40 looks miles ahead better than you boring Golf or Polo. I have test driven one and I say it’s on par with the Golf and better than the A class. Then again..it’s only my opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
      • Innovator on Apr 02, 2014 at 7:10 am

The fella is a bit bit right in the head to say that Volvo will go the dodo bird way, when in fact it’s situation and it’s attractiveness has improve by leaps and bounds. Now most people buy Volvo not only because it’s a safe car but also a fun car

P/S no fair la if comment that the moron is a Volkswagen owner. Not every Volkswagen owner butthurt ok?! I m one too and i am happy with my car, proven better car than my past accord, civic and 407

• Lon Jee on Apr 02, 2014 at 12:42 am

I’m having a hard time believing that you’re as boneheaded as your comment alludes you to be, but I’ll bite.

Firstly, where on Earth did you get the idea that Volvo is a “cheap and normal” brand anywhere in the world? Even in the UK, the V40 commands a sizeable premium over the equivalent Focus, nudging closer to the A-Class. And over here, the V40 undercuts the A-Class by a significant margin. We get the Focus here pretty cheap, but then again ours is built in Thailand.

Secondly, your assumption that Volvos are just Geelys “in disguise” deserves to be laughed at. All Volvos currently built were developed under Ford’s stewardship and are underpinned by Ford platforms – the first Geely-developed model isn’t even due until later this year. Volvos are still built in Europe – the V40 and XC60 in Belgium, the rest in Sweden. Sure, some parts are made in China, but so are some of the parts on BMWs, and are BMWs just Brilliances with the propeller badge? Or Audis just FAWs festooned with LED lights?

• lol2u on Apr 02, 2014 at 8:18 am

i feel for you. i know the only brand you can afford is perodua.

i feel for you.

• ukvolvoowner on May 01, 2014 at 10:44 am

“Volvo the dead brand.” You obviously haven’t been to the UK – Volvo cars are not cheap to buy at all. Not like Perodua which starts at £7000 in the UK and Volvo’s starter model and cheapest is the V40 three times the asking price of Perodua, same with BMW and other German brands.

Geely have yet to produce Volvo’s entire range in China let alone export to Malaysia. None of the Volvo’s panels are yet made in China – so you’re talking nonsense!

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 01, 2014 at 5:50 pm

I must say, their cars are seeming more and more attractive (appearance and tech-wise).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Reiterate my earlier stand
    In view of all the nasty comments posted bout Msia by China, including their celebs, over MH370, I will not be buying Volvo. Ever. I’ll never buy Proton either, but I’ll be damned if I don’t stand by my motherland, who is doing its best in these trying times, only to have abuse hurled at it by the Chinese folk
    Plus it’s a Swedish car essentially and I always carry a rotan in my car for the kids.
    Hence, a double no thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • Does your motherland stand by you by ripping the nation off, left, right and center? By sleeping on the job and contradicting each other with hopeless comments?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • LOL Dude.
        At first I thought u were trolling here. But since Paultan is an international site viewed by many, an explanation certainly is due.
        Firstly, how has my motherland ripped me or the nation off? What has my motherland ripping me off got anything to do with my post about not buying a Volvo?? Poor Malaysia, with its gorgeous beaches, lush rainforests and mystical mountains. Like a mother with so many children that she can’t even remember their birthdays, my motherland probably doesn’t even know I exist. Perhaps then, you mean the government? Well, the government is different from the country, don’t you think? I voted, but not for this government. Most petrolheads in M’sia would choose “the other fellas”, eh?
        Certainly the M’sian government policies have marginalized some of its people. It certainly didn’t rip them apart a la Tiananmen Square.
        Secondly, who was sleeping on their job? The M’sian ATCs?
        Most military air bases around the world operate on a 9-5 basis. Remember 9-11? Wouldn’t have happened if someone wasn’t sleeping on their job in broad daylight. What about the very recent Ethopian Air plane that flew into Switzerland?
        Indeed, what about the Thai, Viet and S’pore ATCs who also spotted our plane on their military radar??
        The fact is, Malaysia is a narrow peninsula. It takes 20 mins to fly across the country at Mach 1. Assume your ATC in Butterworth did pick up MH370 on its primary radar. How long do you think it would have taken to double check with secondary radar, wake up the pilot and scramble a jet? 1 hour would be extremely fast and surpasses international turn-around times. By which time, a jet with sinister intentions would have turned KLCC into a huge bonfire. You see my friend, it costs a lot of money to be in such a state of operational alert. Manpower constraints apply too. So, it doesn’t make sense for us to be in such a state of alert in this peaceful time.
        I would agree that our Press Conferences could have been handled better. But make no mistake, we don’t have to tell anyone, anything. All information is privileged and is only handed to the investigators. As such, information need only be revealed once verified and confirmed. We don’t owe anyone a favour… certainly not to a country which has a long history of human rights atrocities, including events in TIbet and the Uighurs. However, since this an international event which has attracted the world, Malaysia was under pressure to issue statements. And so we did. We didn’t flip-flop on our statements. Rather, we gave information as it unravelled itself, as mysteries like these are wont to do. And this is where it got messy. The same people who accused M’sia of being tight lipped and withholding information, later accused it of telling blatant lies and hiding the truth. “Hiding the truth”…? For what and from whom? The families of the 50 Malaysians we lost? And what was the truth? That the Yanks from Diego Garcia hijacked MH370 in a fit of lust for the mangosteens on board? The plane got transported into another dimension? Aliens? Strangely, the most logical conclusion, which was that the plane crashed into the sea, was soundly dismissed as nonsense. The plane being hidden on a secret location on land, however, was deemed plausible.
        And then it gets weirder…. we are accused of being mass murderers, hiding the murderer, talking out of our a%$#s, satellite data from experts were ignored, etc. Our leaders were told to bow before the passengers families and beg for forgiveness….U gotta be kidding me! And then their media, politicians and even celebrities join in (Zhang Ziyi, you’ve lost a fan forever). What about all the weeks of searching by the Indian, US, Oz and the mighty Chinese SARs teams? Fact is, they couldn’t find the plane either.
        As kids, were told that the US army Spy satellites could read our car number plates while floating high in the sky. That they could accurately pick up the sweet nothings that you whispered into your lover’s ears. Recently, China too was said to have such spook capabilities. And yet, no one can seem to find such a huge commercial aircraft!
        But still, it’s somehow the fault of the Malaysians….and retaliations are in order.
        Insult our netizens on-line, boycott our products, condemn M’sian-Chinese celebrities, stop coming as tourists and finally threaten us. Come to think of it, just another day in China’s foreign policy. Fact is, if this had been a China plane carrying M’sians…we would have gotten nothing from them. No info, no courtesy, no regular PC, no free flights to be closer to the plane’s last known site, no 5- star hotel and no food to feed a small army.
        And we would have held our peace, held to our faith in God, while believing in the system, and finally, mourned in our own quiet way, much like what the families of passengers on board MH370 from around the world have been doing.
        Remember what the Bible says…”the meek shall inherit the earth.”
        That my friend, is the strength of Malaysia.

• najib on May 12, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Why u write so long? U want to syok sendiri ka? No one will read ur self patronising statements la.. duh…

• wajarays on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:37 am

VOLVO the DEAD BRAND,
    cerdik sungguh teori kau …. bila JAGUAR milik TATA , ader nampak tak JAGUAR tu mcm TATA NANO ??? get the REAL FACT before comment … jangan banyak bunyik kalo tak pakai volvo …. hanya yang pakai volvo jer tau mcm mana kualiti dan wow factor yang volvo nie ader ….

• Norman on Apr 02, 2014 at 8:17 am

Volvo still a pooular nice car just people here stereotype it with old man’s car..Mind you its more safety and stable than your average BMW or VW.Ive ever own the S40 and i feel its one of the greatest handling car ive ever owned..Confidence built up fast after minutes of driving.