Perodua’s new model will meet EEV fuel-efficiency standards, incentive wishlist submitted to Govt

perodua-ceo 028

2014 will be a ‘Year of Transformation’ for Perodua, a year where a new model will roll out of a new factory using new practices. The Perodua Global Manufacturing plant, scheduled to start operating in the middle of the year, will mirror Daihatsu Kyushu’s best practices, technology and low defect rate – we’ve detailed some of those in a visit to DKC’s Nakatsu Plant 2 last year.

New factory, new model, but Perodua’s management has been tight lipped on its new baby. When quizzed on the matter earlier today at a media familiarisation trip to its Sungai Choh headquarters, Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said that the “Global EEV” will be offered at a competitive price with added value, and that the compact car will have EEV-compliant fuel-efficiency.

EEV or Energy Efficient Vehicle, an integral part of NAP 2014, describes vehicles that meet defined specifications in terms of carbon emission level (g/km) and fuel consumption (l/100 km). Only the latter is applicable now, with kerb weight and fuel efficiency as the defining numbers.

nap-2014-eev-specs

“We are in the midst of submitting our wishlist to the government in terms of incentives,” Aminar said. Yesterday, it was reported that three automakers have applied for EEV incentives.

“The fuel efficiency [of the new model] is much much better than [in the] current models we have,” the P2 boss told the press, addding that the car will be “compact but very spacious” and cantik dan menarik, Malay for pretty and attractive. He also hopes that the new model will achieve the kind of impact the Myvi did when it was introduced in Malaysia back in 2005.

This upcoming new model, which should not be confused with Perodua’s plans to test the water with a compact sedan (Buddyz Concept from KLIMS13 was a preview of sorts), is not a direct replacement for the ageing Viva, but a new model in Perodua’s stable.

daihatsu-ayla-spotted-again-1

We reckon that while both will be sold side-by-side for a period of time, the older car could eventually be phased out, just like how the Kancil wasn’t immediately discontinued when the Viva came on board in 2007.

What we know for sure is that its upper body design will be a Perodua in-house effort, and that the car will have “features with a Malaysian taste”, both points revealed by Aminar today. This means that the actual car could look different from the regularly-spotted debadged Daihatsu Ayla mule. The new car’s interior was previewed at KLIMS13 via the GMA Space Concept.

Fellow local carmaker Proton is also set to roll out its P2-30A Global Small Car this year, so we could be looking at a big fight of the small cars in the horizon. Interesting times ahead.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 02, 2014 at 7:09 pm

I don’t get how the Viva and this new car can be sold side by side.

Should this new car not have EEV incentives and come in a lower cost? Or does Perodua not intend to pass along the cost breaks to buyers?

So these incentives are to benefit who? the automaker or the consumer???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • driver on Apr 03, 2014 at 1:05 am

maybe 10% to the consumer with a 110% highlights from PR department while the other 90% goes to their pockets.. and people still buy it. sigh.

• Same lor Orii on Apr 03, 2014 at 11:49 am

People still buy because they have no choice, Perodua car build quality is however better than J class Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Obviously (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 6:43 am

They could sell side by side if, you know, the upcoming car is more loaded with equipment than the pretty basic Viva? Be more imaginative, my friend.

• confusing on Apr 03, 2014 at 9:12 am

How to sell a new model sids-by-sdie with a old Viva ? when the new model is better, cheaper (tax incentive) and prettier , who want to buy old Viva !

• Low Budget on Apr 03, 2014 at 9:17 am

Ai Yah, if sell side by side with Viva it simply means the new model will be more expensive than Viva.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 03, 2014 at 9:38 am

Based on your logic,

If the new car comes loaded with equipment and sold at same price as the old Viva with less equipment, you still wanna buy the Viva eh?

Maybe they will maintain the base Viva 660 at 24K, while the new car starts much higher. Even now, the basic 660 isn’t really a big seller, more so competing against its newer sister.

I know why all these EEV incentives are discussed behind closed doors, so consumers don’t know how much discounts are actually afforded.

• Rennie A Ghani on Apr 03, 2014 at 12:28 pm

I do not think the idea is to pass the savings on the EEV incentive back to the consumers, basically the perodua will say ” they are already competitively priced cars” . The problem with perodua is they need to incorporate safety features like traction control, ABS on all models they sell to say they are truly following global practices

• Saw this fellow face already know he is a scammer, and looks like bald rabbit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
    • and what do you look like? bruce lee? edison chen or something? ya talk big on the internet. complain. I bet you’re the type that would rather praise other countries before being grateful of yours

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Apr 03, 2014 at 9:18 am

You must be joking, judging the book by its cover?

• define malaysian taste

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 7:15 pm

So they add spoilers, wings and alloy rims?

Why not let Perodua make the Aygo? Old or new, anything will be better, and safer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Usin Kangkong (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Firstttt!

27km per litre lets goo!
    Almost like a kapchaii!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 30
  • Albert Lee on Apr 02, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Perodua is getting quite aggressive under this Aminar.Working hard ,pushing new efficient cars as the Myvi and Viva are at the end of their product life cycles.
    Where is Protong? Still bleeding profusely?Coming out with price discounts and carnivals again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 42
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 8:46 pm

Are u blind or just being ignorance ? I do saw ur comment on p1 gsc article n mostly bashing the car…obviously p1 is doing testing of new car. P2 u don even see spyshot of actually car n u say “Where is Protong?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 14
    • trully agreed with you Albert.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
      • abuya123 on Apr 03, 2014 at 9:28 am

Truly not agree with you PZK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • albertstpd on Apr 03, 2014 at 10:45 am

proton basher dun read the article. no wonder they still want dino aged 4 speed gearbox and engine. LOL

• bukapintubayartol on Apr 02, 2014 at 8:37 pm

I remember Aminar saying that they were planning on introducing the cheapest car in Malaysia, however I cannot yet dig up my source. My point is, how can the viva live in the same showroom as this newer vehicle which is more spacious, uses less fuel? Unless this new car costs much more, which means the ‘cheapest car in Malaysia’ promise was baloney. Plus I do not believe that Perodua would dare price this car squarely against the Myvi. That leaves this car in a very narrow price range….

• Forget about eev la. Get all your basic thing right first. My car is full of sound and assembly problem. Complain for so long also cannot fix.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • jackaas on Apr 03, 2014 at 10:47 am

oh yeah? what car is it? any car can have such problem either japs, local or contis

• It’s a myvi. Having 1 or 2 problems is normal. But having so many problems in 1 car is not normal. Don’t be Proton bringing in conti, BMW. And don’t tell your mother, sister’s car does not have such problem. Many owners have voiced out the similar problems in various forums.

• ruffstuff on Apr 02, 2014 at 8:48 pm

All about fuel efficient, nothing on safety?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • driver on Apr 03, 2014 at 1:07 am

a BIG loophole by our government’s new policy. they just don’t care. it’s all about the money. capitalism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • 4G63T DSM on Apr 03, 2014 at 9:32 am

other than the “mandatory” 2 airbags, i doubt it will come with more beyond that.

everyone knows to make a car fuel efficient, they have to make it light regardless of how fuel efficient the engine is.

Even our 145K accord does not come with proper metal reinforcements under the plastic bumper…what can we expect that of Perodua.

• The metal spec sheet of passo is different from myvi. So it goes down to perodua, if they want to be it safe, please prove it by safety standard tests such as Euro NCAP, Australian NCAP or 5 star Malaysian ASEAN NCAP

• Black Dog on Apr 03, 2014 at 11:54 am

Actually 4 airbags (2 is natural in-born), since most Perodua are woman drivers.

• ko malu saje... on Apr 02, 2014 at 10:31 pm

What incentive wishlist? Oh maybe litefm can grant you your wish Mr Perodua?

• Tiger on Apr 02, 2014 at 10:56 pm

I tink the gomen caught by surprised how many models out there qualified for EEV…tats the poblem when u out politicians instead of real pofessionals from the industry in the hotseat, they open their mouth than realized they shot themselves in the foot, now tat so many carmakers claimed many of their models under EeV, tats why they delay giving detailed explanation on the exact terms and conditions

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • slang on Apr 03, 2014 at 10:53 am

But the problem still exists. Users will feel cheated when it’s used in city driving. On every ads there should be stated the FC is just estimated and the number might vary

• ruffstuff on Apr 03, 2014 at 7:52 am

The NAP should bring something different from the rest of ASEAN countries. All focusing on energy efficient and low emission vehicles. If Malaysia the first giving incentives for safer vehicles, that would be great. More affordable cars with good safety equipment.

• nakproton on Apr 03, 2014 at 10:55 am

I agree , both safety and environmental friendly standard must follow one another

• Joker on Apr 03, 2014 at 10:59 am

Yeah incentive for safety is great!!!
      Must a pioneer.. dun b a copycat…

• ntah pa2 on Apr 03, 2014 at 8:47 am

preve lagi jimat lah, powerrrr!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • Just don’t buy their freaking car, that’s it.

• At 58k for myvi 1.5 in Sarawak is just not worth buying considering p2 got national car status. Is it becos p2 getting too much profit or they cannot do anything about it becos of daihatsu factor. Maybe someone can shed some light on this.

• bongeks on Apr 03, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Aminar, u said affordable right? So priced it right so dat ridiculous 9 years loan be shortened to 5 years only. If you can’t do this, means your staff will get hefty injustice bonus next year from poor rakyat money. Happy?

• i prefer saga sv over viva.. work harder a bit lorr, can buy at least saga sv..

• WANT2BUYVIVAORNEWVIVA on May 14, 2014 at 4:54 pm

for daily work. im prefer 1.0 car with lower FC. that is why i want to buy a viva for my daily work.
      for holiday or weekend jalan2 cari makan with family. im prefer sedan car with extra security. which currently i already own a preve cfe. (makan kuat minyak jugaklah)

tried saga 1.3 once for a long journey. the FC is quite high just a little bit lower than my current preve cfe. and the driving pleasure is not as great as persona. for the sv price, better work harder and buy persona sv.

if u still single. just my2cents. better buy a viva 1.0. save ur money. then when you got family later. no need to look for malaysia car. grab HONDA/TOYOTA/MITSUBISHI sedan car or even KOREAN car which better quality and better reliability.

i actually want the new ford 1.0L ecoboost for my second car. but looking for the price. currently is out of my hand could reach. so currently spying on viva for my daily work car option. while saving for new house (first house) for my family

its better save ur money for a house rather than a car. car price will dramatically reduced when the times passes. but house is ur future assets, think it bro.

• Sam Loo on Apr 04, 2014 at 12:44 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• WANT2BUYVIVAORNEWVIVA on May 14, 2014 at 4:45 pm

i just seeing current viva elite price got discount up to RM3k plus free service for RM1.5k

possible they replace or they sell side by side together with this model?

if looking at the review of Daihatsu Ayla for indonesia market. the FC for this AYla is a little bit higher than current Viva Elite. but seeing the spacious part for AYLA. is worth for a little bit fc increased.

dont know about the handling for electric moter driver in this model. hopefully they not like current myvi steereng. not comfort when driving in highway. current viva elite with hydraulic power steereng is good enuf already. much pleasure to drive with.

but the good part for this new model is the design much more pretty,the cabin a little bit spacious and they can maintain the FC for eco car that pretty good point for a budget car to go to daily work.