Rear-view cameras required on all cars in US by 2018

MercE40043

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) in the US has mandated that every new car must come standard with a rear-view camera by May 1, 2018. The rule was passed on Monday after several years of delays, and aims to reduce the number of pedestrians backed over.

According to NHTSA, about 210 people are killed and 15,000 injured every year in accidents caused by cars reversing into them, the majority of them children and elderly adults who are too short to be seen over the rear windscreen. The authority claims that 58 to 69 of these people each year could be saved through the use of these cameras.

The ruling will be enforced on all vehicles – including lorries and buses – weighing under 10,000 pounds (4,536 kg), and the cameras must be able to show a 10-foot by 20-foot (three-metre by six-metre) area directly behind the car. These cameras also have to meet other requirements including image size, linger time, response time, durability, and deactivation.

Mitsubishi Attrage review-23

The mandate will be applied in stages, with 10% of cars in every manufacturer’s lineup by 2016 required to be fitted with rear-view cameras, and 40% by 2017, although low-volume manufacturers are currently exempt. The cameras are expected to cost manufacturers between $43 to $45 (RM140 to RM147) per unit for cars already fitted with a suitable display, and $132 to $142 (RM431 to RM464) for those without one.

All in, the move is set to cost between $546 million and $640 million (RM1.7 billion to RM2.1 billion) when it comes into effect – a cost that for many would be difficult to swallow, but undoubtedly worth it for those who have lost their loved ones through such incidents.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• kzm (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Niche manufacturer? Mean ford, GM, chrysler?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Niche manufacturers refer to low-volume manufacturers such and Ferrari and Lotus, whose products are limited to niche markets. Mainstream manufacturers, especially the US Big Three (Ford, GM and Chrysler) are required to follow the mandate.

The article has been updated to clarify this.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Something new for all Paultanians to demand from the manufacturers before labeling it a ‘rip-off’

Okay jokes aside, Just today as I park my car, its not a large Mercedes or anything but a humble Honda City, Its difficult to judge on how far u go because sensors don’t pick up think like the pole that I am going to hit. Rear View Camera is very important with all those case of toddlers being run-over by reversing cars .It is also a criteria for my Mom’s next car as she almost hit our family dog a few years back in her Alza.

• rchoo on Apr 02, 2014 at 5:31 pm

I think my car sensor does sense the pole, why yours doesn’t?

• thefact on Apr 02, 2014 at 6:14 pm

and also a number of cases where the parents run over babies/kids crawling behind the car.

• Same lor Orii on Apr 03, 2014 at 11:57 am

This safety feature should be a must for every new car.

However in Malaysia, in order to cut down the cost, it is not possible.

• norman on Apr 02, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Exora Bold and Suprima S top version already built integrated,hopefully those high version Toyotas,Hondas,Mazdas,Peroduas,Nissans etc dont be too stingy fitting one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • nabill on Apr 02, 2014 at 5:50 pm

For our market,lets get abs.airbag.traction control compulsory only thn we can consider rearview camera…..honestly its nt a must hv unless reversing is incredibly hard for u!

• Joker on Apr 02, 2014 at 5:59 pm

I hope they implement it in Malaysia…
    in my dream…….

• Absolute Rider on Apr 02, 2014 at 6:27 pm

To archive 5 Star rating in EuroNCAP, in 2014 cars need to equip with Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB). So, Proton can only archive 4 Star if sell in England. EuroNCAP has higher standard than ANCAP.

Proton should install it locally too plus to archive the IIHS new Small Overlap Front Crash Test. Please ear this Proton. Paul perhaps you should meet with
    Proton. Thanks.

• do we really need this? on Apr 02, 2014 at 6:47 pm

hmmm. i have mixed feeling about this.

Firstly, part of the problem of this ‘accidental reversal’ are mostly because of the car design themselves. Just look at the oh-so-popular SUV in the united states. The rear view visibility in these SUV are horrendous. I do agree if these car comes standard with a rear view camera but do small cars (eg civic, vios, etc) need this kind of tech? you can really see out of the car easily.

My concern is that with this implementation, drivers will be less cautious in their surrounding and rely too much on the car technology. I just believe that if drivers were to be more alert all these can be avoided.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 02, 2014 at 9:38 pm

You hit the nail squarely when you mentioned car design.

However small hatchback converted sedans are the worst due to their high boot lids.

You’d never see a toddler behind you with the rear mirrors.

• JDMftw on Apr 02, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Hopefully together with mandatory AFS, VSC and other safey features

• dream on on Apr 02, 2014 at 10:06 pm

with the rate UMW are removing VSC from their cars which existed in previous models? dream on….
      unless u stop buying them, they will never change.

• Denaihati on Apr 02, 2014 at 10:37 pm

hope malaysia car also is mandatory equipped with Rear-view cameras, every year we heard mother/father hit child during reversing car.

• even though u can see the picture, it still doesnt give you the distance between the obstacle and your car. A parking sensors is the essential parking aaid instead

• Bruce on Apr 08, 2014 at 4:05 am

We need to look at new vehicle sales and leases within the US, which is a bit hard to find. A good ballpark figure for sold and leased cars and light trucks is 17 million per year in the US. The lowest price I found for adding in a rearview camera (no screen already) was $200, not the $132 to $142 as quoted by the NTHSA. Add in sales tax, then it is $216 from the consumer. Assume that their $43 to $45 is also off by the same degree, then the cost is $69.

Let us assume that by 2018, 50% of all vehicles would have a screen even without this law. We have 8.5 M x $216 and 8.5 M x $69=$2.4225 billion.
    Also assume the average number of lives saved half of the 210 that died last year would otherwise be saved. That gives us $23 million per life saved. That money would be better spent going to OHSA, traffic police, subsidized gym memberships, hospitals, meat inspectors or other programs. This is a horribly bad bill. The people that came up with this should be canned.