Toyota Alphard prices revealed – RM338k-398k

Toyota_Alphard_Malaysia_001

UMW Toyota has released prices for the Toyota Alphard on its website – the 2.4 G is priced at RM338k and the 3.5 G at RM398k, OTR with insurance. The Alphard 3.5 G just manages to undercut the RM399k Nissan Elgrand 3.5.

The 168 hp/224 Nm 2.4 litre four-cylinder engine comes with a seven-virtual ratio CVT, while the 271 hp/340 Nm 3.5 litre V6 is paired with a six-speed auto. There are all-round disc brakes, MacPherson struts with stabilisers up front and a torsion beam out back, plus electric power steering.

Both variants get 215/60 R17 alloys, seven combination leather seats in a 2-2-3 configuration, an eight-speaker sound system, dual powered sliding doors, triple-zone nano air conditioning, self-levelling HID headlamps and auto wipers. Also standard is a seven-inch touch-screen with HDMI, Bluetooth, Smartphone Link, navigation, voice recognition and a reverse camera with guidelines.

toyota-alphard-price-list-ss

The driver’s seat is eight-way power-adjustable, while the front passenger seat is four-way adjustable with a powered ottoman. The second row captain seats are power-adjustable with powered ottoman and multi-support headrests (grey importers call these ‘Mickey Mouse’ headrests). The third row is split 50/50 with three headrests.

Extra kit on the 3.5 G includes Adaptive Front Lighting System (directional headlamps) and a electrically-operated tailgate (2.4 G has a manual tailgate). Both variants get VSC, ISOFIX child seat anchor points in the second row and a grand total of seven airbags. You read that right.

See the specs table in full here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• ah jib gor on Apr 02, 2014 at 3:38 pm

how about the vellfire? hmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
    • Same lor Orii on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:40 pm

It is quite expensive but it is definitely good.

Some of you may say you can get an A6 with that price, but come on, A6 is a luxury sedan, this is a luxury MPV. They can’t be compared.

You get what you paid for.

So fast having walk in client asking for test drive unit. We all waiting for the test drive unit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 68
      • nabill on Apr 02, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Its luxury for u,for crying out loud its used as airport taxis in alot of countries…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 17
        • kzm (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Which country?…u said a lot of countries

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 21
          • nabill on Apr 02, 2014 at 11:01 pm

Hk,Taiwan….ive seen alot thr…happy now? Hopefully inflated ur lousy ego…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 13
          • Genting also frequently used Alphard to send us from KLIA to Genting.

• anti-stupid on Apr 03, 2014 at 8:22 am

kzm never go out of malaysia. kzm exclusively gets all of his info from utusan and only watch rtm.

no wonder he doesn’t know. utusan says alphard is a luxury vehicle. must believe utusan maaaaa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 18
          • Pero2a4life on Apr 03, 2014 at 9:07 am

Sunway Medical Centre using Alphard as a Ambulance!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Wisdom on Apr 03, 2014 at 11:47 am

Wauuu..
            Again.. speechless with the price…

• Also used as a Hearse in Malaysia.

• Najib, where is the 30% you PROMISED? on Apr 03, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices.

Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 9 months have passed and nothing has been done.

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is CKD or CBU or whether it is EV or EEV. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise?

This car at RM398k is the price of a house. No other place in the world a car is sold at prices same with house prices. Infact, even in Singapore, a car is far cheaper than a house price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
          • kzm (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 8:17 pm

u never went out oversea i do have previously…yes i read utusan for sport news..i do watch rtm n tv3 for live mh370 news..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • Mercedes E-class also being used as taxis in a lot of countries as well.. Yet, it’s still considered as luxury car. So, what’s the difference..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
        • Even lambo were used as police patrol car in some country, does that making it the same level as waja? or less luxury? luxury is a subjective matter…for someone who couldn’t afford to but a vios will also said it is a luxury for them to own one. Please…if u think alpahrd is cheap why don’t you bought one and give it to orphanage or old folks home. At least u put ur money to a good use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
          • kompor on Apr 03, 2014 at 11:50 am

thats what nabil said “luxury is a subjective manner” nobody said its cheap, only u ;)
            anyway i guess e-class stand for ECONOMY class in merc..
            Please like if u agree :lol:

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
        • Ha Gnih on Apr 03, 2014 at 11:36 am

BMWs and Mercs are used as taxis in a lot of countries as well. No big deal.

• glaze on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:45 pm

no other place in world a car is sold at the price same with house?

I’m sure a Ferrari will cost more than a simple house in many places of the world.

• u talk nonsense la nabill..

• Sam Loo on Apr 04, 2014 at 12:40 am

No Avatar=imposter

• ponyrider on Apr 07, 2014 at 8:55 am

Ya ka luxury suv.. Bukan ni keta jenazah ke kat jepun…hahhhahhah

• Obama on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Alphard is priced more than twice of Camry that’s why the spec must be twice better than Camry. But, still not many competitors in this niche market and I think Toyota will do well in this pie of market. However, still unable to cover the loss of market shares in Camry. Ouch!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • too expensive for a 4 tires “moving fridge”…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 5
    • what an expensive car for kidnapping people..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • Shaking Car on Apr 02, 2014 at 9:16 pm

Finally, the Japanese favorite ‘make-out’ mobile is here. Since this is not a recond, buyers need not worry about what kind of fluids been left on the seats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • Wow…..but u know.. its toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 35
    • nenek on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Kalau tak mampu, sila beli Exora Bold

Use BR1M RM650 can pay deposit Exora…apa lagi lu macai mau??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 97
    • Wow, its ugly, expensive, overrated, driven by thoese who like to tailgate, it has 0 equipment and 0 performance, but u know… it’s toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 24
  • ah jib gor on Apr 02, 2014 at 3:40 pm

nevermind umw.. malaysian already lost interest with ur way of doing business.. honda odyssey is offering almost same spec as alphard btw.. with a lot cheaper price. i guess umw can go fly kite alone.. lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 15
    • Comparing Odyssey with Alphard? From the intelligent of this post seems like Honda has absorbed some of the Proton staff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 121
      • odyssey is a cbu idiot.nothing to do with proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • thgh (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 6:58 pm

and you’ve absorbed some BS from UMW?

• parkjw on Apr 02, 2014 at 7:39 pm

and yours have intelligent level down to the drains. must be from india tata.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • TS Chong on Apr 03, 2014 at 12:22 am

Tata is doing better than Proton. They bought Land Rover and Jaguar and made them profitable. Proton bought Lotus. Enough said …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • Wisdom on Apr 03, 2014 at 11:58 am

Odyssey, the RB1 and RB3 model came complete with double wishbone suspensions, whole lot of tech and features, looks stylish. Came recond at RM130K-170K.

Alphard/Estima/Hellfire, with flimsy torsion beam suspension prone to bumping when driven fast on highways, boxy locomotive design, relatively old engine, also came here around the same price to Odyssey in recond form.

And this one with such price?
        huh…..
        They kid us to this level. Yet Malaysian still support…

• Alphard RM338k~398k!? Mmmm…..interesting……mmmmm…..zzzzzZZZZZ…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Apr 02, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Lately UMW very aggressive, Previa, now Alphard. Tapi….UMW ignore Camry & Vios important spec :( sad* * * *

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 2
  • greyimporter on Apr 02, 2014 at 3:47 pm

better buy the recond/grey imported..more spec…lower price(can get around lower 180k)… black glass….except only diff is waranty…umw ripoff

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 7
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:06 pm

if u don support open AP don buy recond or grey import car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 14
    • when you buy recond, you are not comparing apples to apples are you?

at RM180k, you talking about a car that is 3 years old.

I think the pricing is high, but Recond sales are a true rip off.

Cars that they bring in are usually high mileage and they mark it up really high..
      example would be the Previa / Estima.

Recond Estima is RM220k 2 year old.

Previa brand new is 250k, brand new, with warranty

another example:

Range Rover Evoque is RM380 brand new,

Recond is selling, RM420k, with low mileage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
    • I don’t think you can buy a NEW Alphard at that price or maybe you are referring to an old year of manufacture.

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Decent specs! No comment about the pricing though! At least, it’s Not Kosong spec like the Previa/Estima! Good luck UMW Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • razakoss on Apr 02, 2014 at 3:51 pm

recond kena kacau la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • roti canai (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 3:52 pm

price is sort of ok for a brand new car….but would you spend that money on an alphard when you can get a recon model for 250k or less…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • kzm (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Almost similar price with thai 2.4 RM333k 3.5 RM410k

• kzm (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 3:53 pm

but Thai get 2 extra airbag..to 9 airbag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Lon Jee on Apr 02, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Not sure about that, Toyota Thailand counts the rear-most part of the curtain airbag as separate airbags. We’ll see if UMW’s just being conservative, or it actually is missing a couple.

• shame_Loo on Apr 02, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Wow……….Sam Loo, is that how you make money? How dare you…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Aero (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Hmm…. there must be something wrong with my computer…. it says SEVEN airbags…. is it ?

Well well well, looks like UMW Toyota finally visited paultan.org and read the comments section. hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • Obviously (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:19 pm

For the price they ask for, anything less than 6 will incur the wrath of all Paultanians. And several uncles. And they would not want that.

• Aero (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Hahaha I think even 6 won’t suffice for the really smart uncles…. they will probably buy a recond JDM Alphard with many more airbags (10, 11, 12 ?), Traction Control and other stuff, all for up to RM100k less. And since it’s a Toyota, nobody is gonna ask about the warranty because we all know Toyotas are bulletproof. haha

• Lon Jee on Apr 02, 2014 at 11:04 pm

Even so, brand-new Alphards should keep their resale values better than recond versions.

Anyway, the Alphards due to be sold here do have VSC and traction control. As for the airbags, some salespeople refer to the curtain airbags separately per window (front side, middle side, rear side). Toyota HK does this, which is where they get their ridiculous 11-bag number. As far as I know, counted regularly all Alphards have seven airbags (dual front, dual side, dual curtain, driver’s knee).

Unlike the Previa…

• this is because alphard base spec is equipped with minimum 7 airbags in Japan, UMW cant order anything below it. Unlike estima, it has 2 airbags version in Japan, thus UMW import the lowest spec available and sell at max profit margin to malaysian.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
      • Aero (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 8:27 pm

Is it ? Thanks for sharing man.

Lately UMW Toyota has been making some positive moves like launching the new Corolla Altis with above average safety gear (even if it is only for the top spec), and now this Alphard.

However, I don’t think it’s enough because UMW Toyota’s 2014 sales so far are actually worse than 2013, whereas Honda MY and ETCM Nissan have improved greatly. UMW Toyota should do more if they want to win back potential Vios customers from choosing the arguably better City, or the cheaper Almera, or the budget concious Attrage, or even the feature-filled Prevé turbo.

• Lon Jee on Apr 02, 2014 at 11:18 pm

I don’t think you can even get an Estima in Japan with dual airbags anymore. We’re likely getting a Philippines-spec model – all other Asian markets get seven airbags.

• Chronikel on Apr 03, 2014 at 5:15 pm

“Sdp” is right. The basic Estima in Japan comes with 2 airbags and no VSC. But the transmission is CVT, unlike the Malaysian version which is 4AT.

• glaze on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:48 pm

yes I think I read the wrong thing too, 7 airbags and VSC as standard feature? Is that UMW?

what a relief…

• Contender on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Well done and very timely, starting from Previa (which the specs weren’t up expectation based one their pricing) but this all time favorite Alphard specs I belief is what consumers want, pricing …. still not cheap compared to the grey dealers. At least there are brand new as compared to the grey dealers with AP kings where mileage is tempered … and stories of re-cond Alphards and Vellfire being used as “love hotel” and some casket carriers ….

Well more choices for those who can afford …

• Datuk on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:00 pm

hahahaha what a joke from toyota and UMW, anyway how many toyota previa has been sold? now launch alphard which is almost 400k? yes its brand new with warranty but malaysian already buy from grey importer which is cost below 300k(nego) years a go. good luck and hopefully Toyota-Umw will find the ‘luck’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:04 pm

That mean u support open AP car (grey importer)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:08 pm

Thai 3.5L version already surpass RM400k

• King Khong on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:45 pm

great ~!!
        i can assume the tax is around 200k…
        thank you for the contribution to the country !!

for those get loan more than 50%, salute to you!! get loan for the TAX !

thank you so much ~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Maseratits on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Hahaha! Nice April fools joke, UMW!
    I really laughed hard at this one!

oh wait…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • Maseratits on Apr 02, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Seriously though, I think UMW finally has done something right this time.
      Reasonable specs for a reasonable price. Good on you, UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • AVH (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Considering how little competitors the alphard has(currently only the nissna elgrand is imported via distributor) it should reach whatever sales expectation UMW is having, and I can find not much flaws with the specs and price, like I said because of the lack of comparison, and pricing for Recond unit is also about the same the used in Japan. Not bad UMW Toyota, a rare praise here.

The alphard is very popular in Asian countries as we like mass amount of space which very few car can provide, there were reports from Japan that Lexus wants to built a large minivan to compete with the New V-class because of, quote on quote, demand from Asian markets like Japan, Taiwan and Hong Kong as many CEO prefer their alphard over the typical LS and S-class. until Mercedes brings in the V-class, very few can compete with the Japanese for luxury minivan sector.

• KillBox1Alpha on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Majestic Pride my foot…pointless to have all that driver assists when majority of Alphard drivers dont even use side mirrors…

• kacimara on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:27 pm

How much the monthly for this 3.5G or 2.4G?

• Denaihati on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Alphad is nice and spacious MPV but i think reconditioned car much worth it. with below this price will get vellfire with new registration (Toyota Vellfire 3.5 ZG). many people say for 2.4L is under power. more over 3 year warranty only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • niaulong on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:38 pm

To Suit This 400k Luxury VAN, At least i must have a Million Riggit house to fit this.

Not that interest bcos thats a big big Money for a TOYOTA..not AUDI.

• Katak on Apr 02, 2014 at 11:31 pm

I own a million ringgit house but I still can’t afford this car.

• yup, same goes to me. better spent on assets rather than a liability in a form of a moving fridge.

• razakoss on Apr 02, 2014 at 4:55 pm

price is about right because:

1) Ottoman Leather Seat
    2) Powerboot only for 3.5
    3) 2 powerdoors
    4) Moonroof for both models.

get a similar spec with recondition unit, 2013 model can fetch 350k liao

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Not sure if this is an April fool joke, with UMW giving good safety and tech and a fairly OK price.

The reality is, this is a new car. With no mileage. And a full warranty. And everything is in English. The reconds are yes, cheaper, but not the 2012 ones (which are currently the newest ones I see in oto.my). In fact the 2012 2.4 ones are already the same price, why buy a 2 year old car when a new one costs the same?

• Maple on Apr 02, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Why not innova rather than paying so much for this ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • naruto on Apr 02, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Kudos UMW!

Finally a decent price to fight the grey importer.
    Hell, its even cheaper!!

Thumbs up!!

• nabill on Apr 02, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Prices like dat that gives life to AP holders

• Black Dog on Apr 02, 2014 at 5:57 pm

The point here is:

How many can afford the new car price of Rm338k as compared to a recond 3 years Vellfire of Rm220k?

• High-level class coffin car

• cendol (Member) on Apr 02, 2014 at 7:20 pm

my house costs only RM400k, this car cost almost same with my house…
    I know, I know, you might say I don’t have the income hence I should not comment on this car,
    But the point is, how much is the REAL car price, IF MINUS government’s tax??

• Albert Lee on Apr 02, 2014 at 8:22 pm

PNB is using UMW to maximise profits cos they have to pay ANNUAL DIVIDENDS and SPIRALING WAGES cos of the new retirement age(with a huge workforce)
    They are milking the car buyers DRY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Reebok_pump on Apr 02, 2014 at 8:47 pm

What is so luxury about this car? The engines are so outdated. The interior is full of fake wood(plastic) trims.

Plus, Toyota is just an average brand.

Try convincing an American or a European that Toyota is a luxury brand and you’ll be laughed at.

• roti canai (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 9:21 am

well in malaysia volkswagen is a luxury brand….guess the joke is on us.

• Since it’s like that, why not bring in the prado, land cruiser, rav4, Noah and so forth….

• Sam Boo on Apr 02, 2014 at 11:09 pm

ALPHARD = APril fool u HARD !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • hahaha on Apr 03, 2014 at 1:22 am

why dun we buy mazda biante or nissan serena instead? and then we can spend the extra 250k on toyota gt86

• xem6861 on Apr 03, 2014 at 2:49 am

Paying such high price for the brand or the moving vehicle?If choose the latter , then there are still many better choices in the market. No one force to buy the brand

• A Toyota Van with luxury badge on it and some fabrications overall. I would call it car-a-van instead.

• stanman (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 12:48 pm

If you drive an Alphard/Vellfire/Previa….you are a chauffeur.

• Chromium on Apr 03, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Nope. I drive an Estima here in Japan and I’m not a chauffeur.

• mahatir on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:32 pm

i saw alphard is used as premium taxi at soekarno hatta (jakarta) airport

• roti canai (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 1:11 pm

in europe mercedes e-class, s-class and bmw 5 series used as “normal” taxi。

• Armin on Apr 05, 2014 at 10:23 am

Even normal (not the AMG version) Mercedes E-class, S-Class & normal (not the Msport version) 5 Series are also being used as taxis in a lot of countries as well.. Yet, they are still considered as luxury car.

• it is just a toyota. nothing special. design also just like a kotak. x da ummphh la. better buy would b a mazda, nissan..

• NISSpengAN on Apr 06, 2014 at 9:02 pm

Nissan Elgrand anytime over this sucka alphard face!!!

• Well for those who kept complaining about alphard this and that. I have an Alphard 3.0 year 07″ in 2008, bought approx 260k from Naza World. It is actually a pretty good car, till now, didn’t involve in any major repair. It is pretty well-equipped in exterior, interior, safety assist and etc.

Don’t compare Malaysia with other countries, saying they use Alphard as taxi or whatsoever. It really looks like those typical people that can’t afford one. For instance, don’t use a Taiwanese perspective to judge the Alphard in Malaysia.

If you think this brand-new Alphard is over-priced, you can always sought for 2nd hand or a recond one from a reliable seller. There’s always its buyer there (new Alphard) for those rich peoples despite its pricing at 330k to 390k.

And also, I only can say that you and I are so unfortunate to be in this Bolehland, because of our car taxing structure that makes the actual car price to be doubled!