ASEAN NCAP Phase III results to be announced May 5

asean ncap

Another update on the announcement of ASEAN NCAP Phase III results – it will be announced on May 5 at the 2014 Global NCAP Annual Forum being held in Melbourne. The test results were originally due to be released in Bangkok at the end of March, but was later pushed to end-April or early May.

The original plan to held the event (Open Day III) in Bangkok was cancelled due to Thailand’s political situation, and ASEAN NCAP chose not to go with the Plan B venue, which was Malaysia.

Phase III evaluation will include the testing of pickups as well as models from various origins (OEMs from India, China and France). Left-hand drive (LHD) cars will be evaluated for the first time.

asean-ncap-alza-2013

A total of 11 models, with two models in both lowest and premium versions, are due to be evaluated, making for a total of 13 results to be announced at the end of Phase III testing.

On the road-map front, the conclusion of phase testing (the pilot stage is divided into three phases) means that the agency will now operate like other NCAP organisations, in which testing and the release of results are routinely carried out.

Phase I results were announced in February last year, and those of Phase II in August. Stay tuned for Phase III results – we’ll have the story on it when the time comes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• EnergyAnalyst on Apr 03, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Oh I await with great anticipation because it sounds so much like the India made VW polo and the china/French 408 would be tested?!?!

• Cannot Trust Results on Apr 03, 2014 at 3:53 pm

If NCAP testing is to be done here, then it cannot be trusted. Already so many discrepancies between Mat Salleh NCAP and ASEAN NCAP before.

Now, more so if done in Malaysia. Car manufacturers sure belanja the judges to karaoke or go health centre for a good massage and “lebih”.

Once the judges dapat “lebih” their judgement also clouded and give 5 star to the car company that belanja Health centre.

No mattter how distinguished a man can be and how honourable he can be, once you bring him to Heal;th Centre for a good massage with “lebih”, he will change his tune and sing praises for you. It is better than any Ang Pau packet given!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 18
      • axel_stig (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Very informative!

i guess Police now wanna give big angpau to paultan to get ur info, so that they can bring u back to balai for your claim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • I don’t know why you have such a negative perception towards human being which you don’t even know them? Dude, please spread positive aura.. You seems to know very well.. don’t let people judge yourself like you are talking with experience of doing it yourself..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • 5 Stars Proton on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:22 pm

I laugh when some Proton cars score 5 stars. That itself shows, how dodgy the results are. It is like saying, the Akira aircon or HiSense LED TV has scored 5 stars and same quality with Panasonic Aircon or Samsung LED TV.

Orang Malaysia, pakai lah hotak. People tell you 5 star, you think real ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 44
      • kami (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:55 pm

preve got 5 stars aus ncap. for asean ncap, sure got 5 lor.
        bodoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • RUGAL on Apr 03, 2014 at 5:39 pm

No lah…preve achieved 5 stars ANCAP is not real..haiyoo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • rally_fan on Apr 03, 2014 at 5:42 pm

sorry to have to correct you on this.. but no proton scored 5 stars in the Asean ncap. only the saga FLX has been tested and it scored 3 starts. The proton that earned 5 stars is the suprima and preve and that was in the ANCAP test.. Australian NCAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • The 5 star ANCAP rating is for safety la bodoh, no your persived quality. and 5 star for aircond or electrical appliances is for energy saving ability. your should pakai your otak and read more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
        • Tracks on Apr 04, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Quality is defined as “The degree to which a set of inherent characteristics fulfils requirements”. In simple terms is “Conformity to requirements”.

For a passenger vehicle, Crash Test (NCAP) form part of the product safety requirements.

For an electronic equipment, energy saving form part of product performance requirements.

Hence,”5 Stars Proton” statement and comparison is valid as he is quoting product from the same category but different brand.

Please understand the actual content of what you read and not what you want it to be.

• why? are you shocked to death knowing that Malaysian are also capable of making a high safety rating car? Dude don’t underestimate your own country.. and just to tell Proton engineers are consist of multiple races in Malaysia.. Its just to let you know lah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Tracks on Apr 04, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Dear “5 Stars Proton”. The rating for Preve is provided by ANCAP which is a reputable organization and not just anybody. Therefore, the results are indeed valid.

However, one of Proton’s biggest problem is not being unable to produced quality vehicle but rather to produced vehicles with consistent quality standards.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 5:10 pm

The only concearn I have is the safety standards explained by ASEAN-NCAP on how they test the cars. As per their website, cars are judge by only by frontal collision for Child and Adult as of now, they did side test on a Civic previously but only the Civic. Now, In comparison to the EURO-NCAP and the big daddy of them all, The United States IIHS, our ratings are very lax. EURO-NCAP test everything from the usual front+side impact, to advance stuff like Autonomous Emergency Braking , Pole Side Impact, Whiplash,Pedestrian Protection, ESC reliability, Seat Belt Reminders, Speed Assistance Systems. IIHS goes even furtur, adding to the plethora of stuff EURO-NCAP, it adds stuff like the nearly impossible to pass Small-Frontal-Overlap teat, Roof Stregth test and also checks deceleration. To furthur enforce safety, European countries enforce a standard requirement for cars to have ESC, side airbags and a form of DRL. America recently enforce Rear view camera as a compulsary feature. In comparison, lacking in ESC will cause a one-star devaluation in ASEAN-NCAP and other safety system sre not tested.

Basically, I’ve said countless time, ASEAN-NCAP will finally show its worth in the coming future. IIHS and EURO-NCAP also took baby steps in the 4th quarter of the 20th century, buut their result and awareness has affected buyers decission severely. I urged all auto journalist to highlight a car safety test results in all Malaysian test, something that is severely lacking in local magazine and reviews. NCAP may be the first step, but spreading the awareness is compulsory to spread the awareness of road safety.

• Tracks on Apr 04, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Dear AVH, thanks for the great info and explanation.

FYI, local magazine and reviews alway have bias reporting of vehicles no matter how bad it is. Fact is, they rely heavily on advertisement as part of the income. Therefore, bad criticism on any specific model are normally reduced or will be asked to soften by the editios.

• EnergyAnalyst on Apr 03, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Wow the pessimism and distrust are very the thick towards ASEAN NCAP judging from the comments and the number of likes towards them.

Looks like there is only this left : in God We Trust

• kzm (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 7:42 pm

People in bolehland said all people in boleh is corrupt except god sent leader.

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 8:24 pm

So the results are delayed for 2 months, which can cost lives, just so that a few people can enjoy a trip to Australia?!