BMW 5 Series with a 1.6 litre engine debuts in Greece

BMW_5_Series_1.6_01

Rather silently, BMW has debuted a new F10 BMW 5 Series variant with a 1.6 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine for the Greek market (and only there, so far). Curiously enough, it’s badged as the 520i (AT), and not 518i. It seems the latter has been retired since the days of the E34 5er.

The small engine runs the same tuning as in the 118i we have here, so it has 170 hp and 250 Nm of torque at its disposal. Such equipped, the 1.6 litre engine can move the 1.6 tonne vehicle from 0-100 km/h in 8.7 seconds and top out at 226 km/h. Not bad at all, considering the disproportionate engine displacement/car size ratio. Check out the spec sheet of the 520i (AT) below.

BMW_5_Series_1.6_02 Click to enlarge.

You’d think that the new model would replace the 2.0 litre-powered 520i, but it doesn’t. The existing model – sans the (AT) suffix – lives on, with its 184 hp/270 Nm engine offering more performance (0-100 km/h in 7.9 seconds, top speed 233 km/h) and better fuel economy (6.0 litres per 100 km versus 6.7 l/100 km).

The last bit just goes to show how mismatched the combination is, with the car not designed to fit such a small engine in the first place. As to why such a model exists, perhaps it has something to do with Greece’s rudimentary engine displacement-based vehicle tax structure. Sound familiar?

F10 BMW 528i M Sport LCI (Malaysian-spec)

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Dino years (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:03 pm

I believe this 1.6 5 series is a sign how bad the economy is in Greece. Even the 5 series-ers have to accept lower engine displacements to save $.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Same lor Orii on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:42 pm

BMW 1.6 engine with turbo: 170hp, 250NM
      0 – 100km/h: 8.7s
      top speed: 226km/h

Preve 1.6 engine with turbo: 138hp, 205NM
      0 – 100km/h: 9.6s
      top speed: 190km/h

Fact tells the truth. No need bashing/argument/rude words.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 13
      • Mitec on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:50 pm

BMW 118i – RM190K
        Proton Suprima s – RM80K

Facts tell the truth, buying a bmw 1.6l powered car can buy u TWO proton 1.6l powered car with balance 30k for maintenence and petrol.

U pay price for an egg expect to get a chicken?
        Not bashing tho, just my 2 cents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 18
        • just me on Apr 03, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Let me tell you what is fact tell truth. If you have RM190 you won’t buy the suprima junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 25
        • guest on Apr 04, 2014 at 10:37 am

You forgot to factor in that the 118i price is bloated due to taxes. Duh. Proton is only a jaguh kampung. Only able to sell locally due to protectionism, everywhere else in the world their pricing makes them an unattractive option.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
        • Pls don forget AP n 300%tax!

• Flawless on Apr 03, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Peugeot 208 GTi – 200hp, 275Nm and unmatched lightweight. Your arguement is invalid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
        • Same lor Orii on Apr 03, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Yes, your figure is valid.

Again it show how awesome the Preve’s engine is for our Proton lovers here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
          • Pls don forget AP n 300%tax! Gov sacrifice rakyat to protect proton. How to love proton? We pay 80k for 30k junk

• so what is wrong with that?

did proton have a team of engineer and experience making engine like BMW have?

only one second quicker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 30
        • holofanboi on Apr 03, 2014 at 5:39 pm

CF, ‘only one second quicker’ is a very bad way of putting it. In a real world example, depending on the speed that one second could easily mean a difference of one or even two cars length.

Not trying to side with BMW here, but I am really praying hard this particular engine doesn’t make it to Malaysia as a replacement for the 520i.

• Bro yes 1 sec quicker but in 1.6 tonne steel…tats really impressive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • holofanboi on Apr 03, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Yea no doubt abt that, 250nm dragging that thing in sub 8seconds is srsly impressive

• Mitec.Love.Speed (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 5:27 pm

BMW 118i – RM190K
        Proton Suprima S – RM80k

Facts tell the truth, buying a BMW 1.6l turbo powered hatchback will buy u TWO Proton 1.6l turbo powered hatchback will a balance of RM30K for maintence, petrol or whatever u want.

Paying a price for an egg expect to get a chicken?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
        • Mitec.Love.Speed (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 5:34 pm

With a balance of*

Not bashing tho, but we cant expect to pay a cheap price for engine with tech like Direct Injection, Dual VVT and etc. Don’t forget proton is using a CVT gearbox which the tolerance for torque only limited to 230nm (iinm). Not like ZF 8speed gearbox which is more superior and ofcuz more expensive.

• Wisdom on Apr 03, 2014 at 5:28 pm

BMW 1.6 engine with turbo: 170hp, 250NM
        0 – 100km/h: 8.7s
        top speed: 226km/h

Preve 1.6 engine with turbo: 138hp, 205NM
        0 – 100km/h: 9.6s
        top speed: 190km/h

F1 1.6 engine with turbo :650-700hp, 425NM
        0 – 100km/h: Less than 3 sec
        Top speed: > 300km/h (limited)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
      • mim (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 7:08 pm

So? Both BMW 1.6 N13 and Proton CFE has a similar CVVT mechanism, the major difference is direct injection and type of turbo (dual-scroll vs single-scroll).

You should remember that CFE is a cost effective turbo engine designed to hold 180hp but Proton detuned it to 138hp due to limitation of the Punch CVT gearbox strength and also to make it able to accept RON88 petrols in some countries. Direct injection is omitted to avoid reliability issues with dirty fuels.

If you think about it again, CFE is not even a bad engine. Sure, FC is higher, most ppl get around 7L/100km++, but that’s pretty good for a cheapo engine.

You forgot a lot of facts to be considered before making a comparison. Compare apples with apples next time, will ya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
      • DI vs MPI on Apr 04, 2014 at 2:38 pm

You are comparing a Direct Injection BMW engine vs. a Port Fuel injection Proton engine =)

• qwerty on Apr 04, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Look at the A180’s engine output and tell me whether it’s worse than the Preve. 122hp from a 1.6L. Worse? Nah~

• Obama on Apr 03, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Can’t imagine 5 series car with 1 series performance engine.

• Driving a car with an displacement of more than 1300ccm will also increase your income tax in Greece!

http://theonlywayoutisup.blogspot.de/2014/02/what-owning-and-purchasing-car-in.html

• maybe this is done to help penetrate the dead/dying greek economy.

• brutus on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Wow! The prospects of paying so little road tax in Malaysia is very enticing for a beemer. Imagine Preve owners paying the same amount of road tax as 5 series!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • TBH, even if this model to be launched in Malaysian market.the volume will be lesser. Ppl who can afford this car do not car about roadtax. Besides, even 528i now is a cheapo 2 litre instead of the mighty 3 litre. seeing the road is flooding with 528i.Im saying this 1.6 litre may have a hard time penetrating this market.

• they have already have a 316i …why not just bring the 516i too…anyway, its more torquer than even the 2.5 liter camry

• AVH (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:27 pm

It feels kinda wrong for such a small engine living in such a large luxury car, but than again is turbocharged. At first I thought it is because of Greek ailing economy that no one is buying F10 anymore, but the price difference of just 2000 Euro between the 520i AT and the normal 520i begs to differ.

Wonder will BMW Malaysia bring this in?

• Najib, where is the 30% you PROMISED? on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Even if the 1.6 come to Malaysia, the price will still be crazy.

For example, the BMW 528i in Malaysia is RM428,000. In the US, the same car cost US$49,000. That also, after BMW USA make a margin and profit on it. So, the actual price of the car from principal Germany directly is surely less than US$49,000

BMW Malaysia will be getting the 528i car much cheaper from their Principal In Germany and my guess is probably at about US$40,000. (RM120,000).

Since our 528i is CKD, it shoud go even cheaper than US$40k, maybe US$35k

How much BMW Malaysia and Sime Darby untung per car? No other car sale in the world can untung so much like how Malaysian car sellers can untung. And of course, BMW Malaysia will blame the government for supposedly high taxes.

But even if we consider high taxes, the maximum excise and duty max out at 130%. So, BMW Malaysia is really making a hefty profit. In other words, GLC Sime Darby, government company, is making a heft profit of Malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 7
    • holofanboi on Apr 03, 2014 at 5:41 pm

You are truly a hardworking preacher of truth, almost as zealous and consistent as the preacher of Talos in whiterun O_o (Yes, I did type that sentence)

Me thinks you beat even SamLoo in terms of consistency, kudos to you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • cendol (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 6:07 pm

I totally agree with you. But there is nothing, absolutely nothing we can do about it other than drive our present car until it kaput.
      Be careful though, somebody might ask you to leave this country if you so hate it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • powderful on Apr 03, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Hi mate,

I won’t go so far to ask you to leave the country!!! but janganlah benci sangat negara pasal rhege kereta mahal and Najib ‘mungkir’ janji….hehe…

Look at it this way. In this country of ours, Bimmers and Benzes are waaaaay expensive. Not to mention stratospheric pricing for Ferraris, Lambos, Porsches and the ilk. Rather than making a fuss like a three year old who can’t get what he wants at ToysRUs etc….EMBRACE the problem.

How??

Look at the scenario :
      If and when you have the needed funds to purchase the German cars new or better still; mucho moolah Italian and/or German thoroughbred jobbies….IS it not satisfying to know that YOU and only a few other folks can actually buy these cars???? I mean, if any young fella just graduated from college can be bought or buys his/her own 1er or 3er in such a short time…where’s the satisfaction of owning Germany’s finest?? The Thrill Is Gone so says BB King.
      Since all cars are “United States of America Car Prices” priced (as what you wanted and creating a ruckus too), everybody can drive a Bee Emm Double Yew. Hence, to keep your end up, you gotta buy a ‘nearly new’ Porsche or worst, a ‘well used’ Ferrari that will fook up your financial budget in no time. And then you’ll be ranting and raving on here as is the norm on why Ferrari doesn’t make cheap new cars for everyone to drive…!!!

Come on now mate, ask yerself firstly and foremostly….WHY do you need these ‘nice’ cars??? You don’t need ’em…You WANT ’em. So do I. So do most peeps here who subscribe to this forum. We WANT better cars.

You want cheap cars….go work and play in the US/CA or ‘some’ EU countries. Ain’t happening here in Malaysia. Unless you really make the moolah in Mat Salleh land, not only can you NOT afford a house to park your admittedly ‘leased and cheap-ish’ 3/5/7er, you won’t even get laid there bra….!!! Cars ain’t the only thing in this here world dude. Grow up and get a life. I’ve been there and done that. You ain’t and I don’t see you ever will with an attitude like that. Ciao.

Rant over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 37
      • Hussein on Apr 04, 2014 at 9:29 am

Youths today have such low self esteem that they try to speak and emulate the Black rappers. Learn to speak like a proper adult little boy. I hope my children don’t speak like you one day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • Idiotic Reasoning on Apr 04, 2014 at 9:57 am

Only an idiot will be happy to be oppressed and not fight for lower car prices. Everyone benefits with lower car prices. Every Malaysian will have more disposable income.

Most people want better cars for safety reasons, unlike idiots, who want better cars to show off.

• Michael on Apr 04, 2014 at 10:22 am

This what happens when you got school kids who live off parent’s money. They got no sense of the value of money…

• passion33 on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Specification closed to VW Passat B7.. How interesting to see both cars doing a drag race!!

• Having a midlife crisis now. Suddenly think that I shouldn’t be putting much money into cars.

Should stop the idea of changing car every 3 years, cause now looking for cars again. Maybe because the money I am earning is not huge enough.

• shame_Loo on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:48 pm

BMW Msia should bring in this model and price it at around 280K. Anyway, a pre-owned 520d or 520i is a good bargain.

• heybadigol on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Its kinda funny that the smaller displacement engine has worse fuel economy than the bigger engine. Not sure what the Greece road tax structure is, but in Malaysia, the difference between a 2.0 (lets use 1999c which equals RM379.50) and a 1.6 litre engine (lets use 1599cc which equals RM90) is RM289.50 per year. This is a pretty big amount (for average income earners) if you consider that it is payable lump sum. But if you average it out, its only RM24.15 per month. Anyways, for someone who can afford the car itself (do remember that it is a 5 Series), this is a pretty acceptable difference I should think. Better shell out for the 2.0.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Interesting to see those numbers from the 520i with a 1.6l engine. That is about the numbers that come from the old 2AZFE engine from the old Camry, so it should not be too slow…

Interestingly, why not the 1.5 3 cylinder?

• Gracke on Apr 03, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Bring this 516i here, hurry up!!! Malaysia drivers need this much much more! Exciting!!

• GREAT! now i can cancel my booking on my Preve and switch to BMW 518i. Woohoo thanks BMW.

• cendol (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 6:42 pm

1 BMW = many many Preve. Don’t change car please. Don’t feed the cronies.

• Welcome to Malaysia 5 series 1.6. I insist.

• cendol (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 6:24 pm

1.6L in a 5-series -> elephant riding a honda cub.

• Norman on Apr 03, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Whats the use of 170hp/250nm claims when in real term perform below that?So much more than meet the eye.At least Proton is honest enough to say its low pressure turbo only for low and mid torque..Ive tried Volvo S60 1.6 T which claim can get 215kmh but in reality struggle to get 195kmh on gps?Commercial gimmicks only

• tawil on Apr 04, 2014 at 9:43 am

Your engine oil not really warm to take the top speed.. need at least 1 hour of driving to get the desire top speed.

• Nabill on Apr 03, 2014 at 10:47 pm

I think bmw hav big sales target want to achieve,so making da 1.6 5series da cheapest way to get a 5series…..
    It got me thinking,we mite get the turbo 1.5cc 3 cylinder engine from da mini cooper into da 3 series….
    But it should be againt da law a 5 series comes with a 1.6 engine regardless of turbo or nt….it jus doesnt sound rite….should b against da constitution! Travesty! Thr should b a referendum against this!!

• SaveTheEarth on Apr 03, 2014 at 11:37 pm

Pls bring in to Malaysia. I think will be a wow price to wow Bimmer lover and admirer

• gavin on Apr 04, 2014 at 8:11 am

makes sense in a pure city car, you can use the M5 on weekends or long distance trips

• azrai on Apr 04, 2014 at 8:46 am

Proton should source this engine for their Exoras. Wonder if the engine is direct technology transfer from F1 new regulation? If come to Malaysia, the road tax will be only RM90 for this Beamer.

• FarizY (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 11:11 am

Proton needs to buy this 1.6L BMW engine and put it in a Satria Neo.

• What have you guys been smoking ?
    Comparing BWM with Proton…Get a life.

• Jules on Apr 04, 2014 at 12:05 pm

I think the 1.6 engine is the prince Mini Cooper / psa engine. Like the 316i

• miss_paultan way of writing on Apr 04, 2014 at 12:31 pm

I really miss Paul Tan way of writing. Easier to understand and with some elements of engagement.

Nowadays, reading this blog makes me so feel I am an English teacher trying to correct and understand what my student is writing.

Nevertheless, kudos to Hafriz for the fast and fresh news.

• death on Apr 06, 2014 at 4:38 pm

come on, this article is just as straight as it can get, just some bulk of info.. no need to be an asshole in here.

• hoping Mercedes come out with 1.6 turbo engine same spec as F1 engine 1.6..yeeha

• wajarays on Apr 10, 2014 at 7:55 pm

semua excited nakkan model 5series 1.6 T… 523i yang 2.0T sekarang pon takdelah responsive sangat…. bagi yang tak pernah rasa, pakai dulu bmw nie, baru tau mcm mana payah dan penat nak maintain… beli mahal2, RV merudum jatuh … lagi plak, orang malaysia nie ramai gak pakai kete mewah, tapi majoriti pakai minyak low cost dan kualiti ron95 ….2-3 tahun lepas tuh, bersedia rabakkan poket anda =)