F15 BMW X5 launched in Malaysia – from RM558,800

F15_BMW_X5_Malaysia_001

As reported last week, the F15 BMW X5 has just been launched here in Malaysia. There isn’t much of the third-generation BMW SUV that we haven’t covered already – we’ve already detailed out all the changes and told you what it’s like to drive – so the final local specs are what is left to find out.

BMW Malaysia left no surprises in the variants chosen for our market, renewing the diesel xDrive30d and petrol xDrive35i models as per the outgoing E70 X5. Both weigh North of two tonnes, but you won’t be asking for more performance with either turbocharged model, that’s for sure.

The cheaper xDrive30d gets an updated 3.0 litre in-line six turbodiesel unit, boasting increased power and torque figures, yet significantly improved efficiency than the unit it replaces. The figures are 258 hp and 560 Nm (up 13 hp and 20 Nm), enough to get to 100 km/h in 6.9 seconds and on to 230 km/h.

For those with a higher speed requirement, the X5 xDrive35i offers a 3.0 litre turbocharged petrol engine with 306 hp and 400 Nm of torque, offering hot-hatch-beating performance figures – 0-100 km/h in 6.5 seconds, 250 km/h top speed. That’s actually less power and torque than the run-out X5 Performance Edition that had 315 hp and 450 Nm, but the new one is still 0.1 second quicker to 100 km/h.

Despite their performance claims, the X5 pair returns more than decent fuel economy. The xDrive30d model, in particular, averages a remarkable 6.2 litres per 100 km (16.2 km/l), which is a 19% improvement compared to the previous model. The quicker xDrive35i does 8.5 litres per 100 km (11.8 km/l), again bettering the old one’s 10.1 litres per 100 km (9.9 km/l) claim.

Both models send their power down through a standard eight-speed ZF automatic transmission (with the latest ECO PRO ‘sailing’ function) and BMW’s xDrive all-wheel drive system. New to the X5 is the Adaptive Comfort Suspension Package (dynamic self-levelling rear air suspension), but it’s limited to the petrol variant only, while the diesel rides on a fixed suspension with springs all around.

F15_BMW_X5_xDrive35i_Malaysia_011

The performance won’t be the only difference between the two models, as you can tell them apart from their distinctive appearances too. Touted as the more upscale variant, the X5 xDrive35i is dressed up in what BMW calls the Design Pure Experience scheme, which adds a brushed stainless steel underbody plate, unique front intake elements and Matte Silver kidney grille slats, rear trim strip and roof rails.

In the X5 xDrive30d, those trim pieces are in plain black. Large 19-inch wheels are standard on both models (different designs), as are Adaptive LED headlights, LED foglamps and BMW Individual Exterior Line in Satin Aluminium. Also part of the do are Air Curtains, Air Breathers and Aeroblades, which contribute to the new X5’s low drag coefficiency of 0.31.

Inside, the differences are even more noticeable, none more so that the xDrive30d’s lack of third-row seats. The seven-seat xDrive35i now features a tilt-forward middle row for better access to the back row, of which can be folded down into the floor.

F15_BMW_X5_Malaysia_008

The boot (accessed through a powered two-part tailgate) is much bigger now, at 650 litres with the second-row seats up, and 1,870 litres down (increases of 30 and 120 litres respectively). BMW quotes best-in-class interior versatility and spaciousness, which is fair, compared to the Mercedes-Benz ML and Infiniti QX70 (ex-FX).

Seats aside, the petrol variant is further differentiated by the use of Fine-wood American Oak dashboard trim pieces, instead of the diesel’s Oxide Silver Dark Matte finishers. Paddle shifters and a full-colour Head-Up Display are also exclusive to the more expensive model, while LED interior lighting, four-zone climate control, BMW HiFi system Professional and Surround View Camera system are standard across the range.

So how much do you have to pay for the new F15 BMW X5? Quite a bit, actually – RM558,800 (without insurance) if you’re looking at the xDrive30d, or RM 598,800 for the much better-specced xDrive35i. Want to know if the F15 BMW X5 is worth that much? Read our comprehensive review to find out.

BMW X5 xDrive35i

BMW X5 xDrive30d

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• cendol (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 11:41 am

This car is more expensive than my corner lot double storey with 24 foot of empty land.
    Sigh, What has Malaysia’s car price come to??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 14
    • fuhlamak on Apr 03, 2014 at 11:48 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 157
      • cendol (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 2:19 pm

You might as well tell me to leave Malaysia if I don’t like it.
        Just because someone does not want to buy the car does not mean he/she can’t afford.
        My salary is more than RM20000 a month, I can afford any car I want.
        But I will not let my hard earned money go to government as tax for nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 46
        • Guan Yin Maa on Apr 03, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Then i expect you will need to pay more then 40k per year for income tax/ company tax. Can you dont pay it ? Considering the above scenario 500k X5 , all taxes should be around 200k. So equally, you pay income tax for 5 years = 200k.

• King of RV Depreciation on Apr 04, 2014 at 11:21 am

If I was rich and wanting to show off, I’d be so stupid to buy this car. I might as well buy a Porsche Cayenne.

Cayenne comes with 4 years free service and 4 years warranty. BMw comes with pathetic 2 years warranty.

Both also same price.

ALso, ridiculous to spend so much of money. The X5 is a famous recon car. You buy this car for RM558, in 2 years time, it becomes RM300,000.

It is the King of RV depreciation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
        • dingdong bell on Apr 03, 2014 at 3:49 pm

my salary is more then rm200000 a month, i can whatever i want, that don’t not make you look smarter, ur reaction seem not worth a cent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
        • GTR36 on Apr 03, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Yeah why spend so much money when a large part goes to cronies and is not part of the car itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
          • TJ Hooker on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Agree totally. Why spend so much when the tax money will be used to send some idiot from Mara or Uitm overseas?

And when he goes overseas, not only he fails, he does not learn a thing as he lives in his own community learning nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 48
        • fuhlamak on Apr 04, 2014 at 11:08 am

i dont care how much you earn. If you have interest in this car, please construct a related comment, not the same shit as “pay tax la, government la”

i am sick with this people. everytime new car introduced in Malaysia, same shit comment all over again in PaulTan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
        • RM20000? can you afford a used Ferrari or Lambo? plz lah in Malaysia RM20000 is not enough for you to afford any car you want.

• Najib, where is the 30% you PROMISED? on Apr 03, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices.

Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 9 months have passed and nothing has been done.

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is CKD or CBU or whether it is EV or EEV. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise??

Najib, how can this car cost RM558k. In the US, the same car cost US$52,000. That also, after BMW USA make a margin and profit on it. So, the actual price of the car from principal Germany directly is surely less than US$52,000

BMW Malaysia will be getting this car much cheaper from their Principal In Germany and my guess is probably at about US$40,000. (RM120,000).

So, how from RM120,000, it can be sold in Malaysia for RM560,000?

How much BMW Malaysia and Sime Darby untung per car? No other car sale in the world can untung so much like how Malaysian car sellers can untung. And of course, BMW Malaysia will blame the government for supposedly high taxes.

But even if we consider high taxes, the maximum excise and duty max out at 130%. So, BMW Malaysia is really making few hundred thousand profit per car sold!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
        • Klangboy on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:29 pm

As a wise politician once said,
          “Manifesto bukan perjanjian.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
      • BMW Malaysia 2 Year Warranty on Apr 03, 2014 at 3:34 pm

BMW Malaysia and its mere 2 years warranty. BMW Malaysia is the only car company in the world (not just Malaysia) to offer a mere 2 years warranty.

All other car companies have increased to 5 years. Even Proton and Perodua themselves have done so. BMW’s arch rival Mercedes has even upped it to 4 years.

This clearly shows that BMW has no confidence in their own products. So many customers have their gearbox failing just right after the 2nd year warranty finishes. They have to cough out RM80,000 from their own pocket just to replace the gearbox. Besides gearbox, every BMW customer has to pay through their nose for warranty claim parts after the 2nd year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
      • Yes, ‘be quiet’ until all your money gone away!

• Since you can’t afford just take the cheaper Great Wall Haval for just RM50k. Just blame yourself been poor, lazy and yet fail in your life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 67
      • Majuperak on Apr 03, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Those are pretty harsh words ….

Cars in Malaysia are the most expensive in the world as compared to our average salary worker or GDP per capita or our purchasing power with our MYR fast going down the drain.

Cendol, which means your house with corner lot and 24 feet land being cheaper than the X5 means your area must be not in Klang Valley or outskirts …. mind you in decent Klang Valley, PJ areas double storey link is in exceeds of MYR1,000,000 …. TTDI, BU, Desa Park City, Mutiara Damansara ….

Anyway that’s the price to pay for living in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
      • cendol (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 2:29 pm

I have my own business, I bought shop and house using my own money.
        And I did not get any handout from government.
        I can easily afford the car, but I DON’T want to buy it.
        How can I be lazy, poor and yet fail in my life?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 23
        • Turboman on Apr 06, 2014 at 11:46 am

Cendol.

Jangan ambil hati on some of the comments .Take it easy bro. Its just a forum with ppl from all walks of life. Sometimes its interesting ie AVH Kumarsan, sometimes its frustrating, sometimes its just plain silly and entertaining, ie sam loo and gang.

I earn a decent wage working offshore in north sea, fifo from my pad in pj. But im with u in the sense that although I can afford it, I dont want to buy it knowing half the price goes to enrich some cronies. And im throughly done with BMW. My current one has a dual personality. Sometimes she is creaky monster and at times rattly rat. Their assembly quality leaves a lot to be desired.

My 2 cents worth after a long hiatus. Happy motoring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • cendolliar on Aug 07, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Joke of the year, if you can afford, why you care about the price and such?

If you can afford but dun want to buy, that’s it. Let it go. Why say this and that?

Liar is always a liar

• BLUR SOTONG on Apr 03, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Agreed that in Jb, u still can get a double storey at lesser than 550k, but the public transport in Jb Sucks big time !!!!
      We need a Heavily TAXED X5 to move around Malaysia – sarcasm =)

• Yes i feel u. But look at the bright side, car is expensive in Malaysia.Yet, Malaysian market for BMW is the highest among ASEAN country. And not the most expensive. See Thailand and Philipines price.High price with specs lower than us.Even Singaporean X5 is lower spec than us. When they specced to our level, RM1mil will be the selling price in Sg.

• shame_Loo on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:46 pm

The design is getting boring. Maybe the M sport model or M series looks more like a UDM. Look at Benz, how aggressive they are in the new model design.

• Don’t blame anyone and keep complaining! blame yourself why you are poor and cannot afford import cars!

• roti canai (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 11:51 am

i think the diesel model looks better than the pure whatever petrol model

• 558k is slightly on the high side, but i believe BMW will use it’s pre-reg, premium selection sales techniques to bring it down to ~490k, which although still expensive, is quite competitive when compared to the Cayenne. Hopefully the upcoming all new Volvo XC90 will be able to greatly undercut the X5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • dude, u do know that cayenne cost more than this?
      i think most ppl who read paultan are those who love open up mudah n check price for luxury cars. sadly to say, i roughly estimate 80% of them can’t afford to. but it’s your right to do so. just please be reasonable. in malaysia there’ll be always buyer i.e stupid,ignorance,too rich or i dunno what

• 16km/l for the diesel?

i would love to see it achieve that for this car!!

butt ugly. and overpriced.

Price in Langkawi is around RM250,000.

So you know how much government TAX-ed you!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • BMWX5 on Apr 03, 2014 at 12:11 pm

Cendol , you must be staying in a low-low-low class area , double story corner lot cost less than 550k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
    • Maserati(Original) on Apr 03, 2014 at 1:28 pm

He may be living outside of Klang Valley, but still… he got the point. Our car price is incredibly high and is in the rise. Pretty scary if I may say..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • cendol (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 2:28 pm

I stay in JB town area, not low-low-low class area, and I bought the house 1 year ago, before price of everything got out of hand.
      I am not against those who have money to buy the car, I just feel our cars are overpriced, that’s all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Hi BMWX5, where are u stay? Bangalow cost RM20mil?

• Nah I doubt he lives in a RM20mil bangalow.Ppl who has that standard to live in those mansion will not say such indecent words nor do they look down on ppl. I have friends stays in The Mines bangalow costing RM15mil. But as a person, he is very humble.

• tawil on Apr 03, 2014 at 12:21 pm

What I like about Sime Darby is they’re happily to bring in the diesel model on luxury brand instead of DRB that still reluctant on his marque like Audi.

• lonelyobserve on Apr 03, 2014 at 1:40 pm

DRB reluctant to bring diesel models for its marque due to this country’s incompetant Euro 2M diesel fuel and most of the Audi’s diesel engines are designed to use at least Euro 4 standard diesel fuel (Not to mention Volkswagen diesel vehicles).

• Jumanji on Apr 03, 2014 at 12:41 pm

affordable for 15k earners and above that has no more than two kids. Those salary below than that, dream on or take the Great Wall Haval instead.

• Jimmy on Apr 03, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Cantiq.
      RM40K is cheap.
      X5 is not for people whose income is merely RM15K per month; per week or daily maybe le.

• kl fella on Apr 03, 2014 at 2:45 pm

my income is about 13k a month, and i can barely afford the 320d with 2 joint housing loans with wife. monthly only left about 4k to spend after deducting savings and life insurances. so yes i don’t think 15k a month salary you can afford this car.. maybe at least 20k a month

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • TheRealMaserati on Apr 03, 2014 at 1:11 pm

Absolutely bullshit overpriced for a car nobody is gng to pay attention to.

Better of in a Recon Panamera which get ppl to stop & stare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • Not only stop & stare, an X5 driver also can spit onto your panamera roof when you stop beside him.

• Pukima why so mahal dey haiyo malaysia malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • holofanboi on Apr 03, 2014 at 1:40 pm

Wow, they picked the right model to be beside the car. Look at dat hair, body, suit, red tie and that bloody amazing blue handkerchief!

IT PERFECTLY REPRESENTS THE KIND OF BUYERS AND DRIVERS FOR THIS CAR!

For the first time ever, a car company gets it right on the marketing aspect of things. Kudos to you BMW!

BMW X5 – The Ultimate Businessman’s Car

“I will buy an X5 today, so that you may buy your Proton tomorrow.”

Gilbert Bates

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 1:45 pm

at the price point, it is definitely better value to go for the xDrive35i.

I would wonder, how is it going to compare to the new generation Range Rover Sport, because from what I have checked they have plans to bring it in already this year. That would be interesting to see, especially in terms of the pricing, cause the Rangie does have a better warranty and maintenance plan. And tbh, looks more expensive than the X5, i.e. when you drive it up to a hotel, you’d definitely get more stares in a Rangie than this.

And the interior also. Somehow, the Range Rover Evoque feels miles better quality than the CBU or CKD X3 (which just feels downright cheap, compared to even the Q5 and the XC60). If the quality of the X5 is like the X3, good luck I guess.

• ABTGuy on Apr 03, 2014 at 1:51 pm

These days BMW cars, any model, are just plain boring ….

What’s wrong with them ?

• FarizY (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 2:09 pm

So many great cars coming in, so little money. I guess I’d have to stick to either Proton or Perodua.

• jeff wong on Apr 03, 2014 at 2:15 pm

It is fxxking expensive… regarding whether u can afford or not. This is not the point of argument. We must buy things at internatinal pricing.

• Erm,remember this is boleh land. We also hope to get minister at international level rather than kampung lvl. But heck, sometimes we just give and take. I feel u bro.. relax. Feel like buying just buy. If u think u have better things to spend on, by all means, go ahead.

• Denaihati on Apr 03, 2014 at 2:46 pm

amazing performance, even X6 more beautiful, X5 is spacious and have 7 seater . no comment for the price.

• bootupjoe on Apr 03, 2014 at 3:27 pm

Tax kill the car…558k

• Expensive…yadda yadda….And yet….. Malaysia has achieved the highest sales figure among ASEAN countries and some European countries.

• zeddd on Apr 03, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Only in malaysia you can take a loan for 9 years for cars other countries only 6 years plus some of them have better public transport than us so buying a car is pointless futhermore fuel price is quite cheap in malaysia so buying a car in malaysia is still the best thing to do or shall i say last buy only thing to do cuz we are cornered into buying one.

• doubtful on Apr 08, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Zedd, you have to travel a little bit around before passing that statement. This is beside the point of that govt tax thingy which has been talked about to death already.

• hahaha on Apr 03, 2014 at 6:28 pm

wait for the jaguar suv mate!!! or go for range rover

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • A Proud Kangoo Owner on Apr 03, 2014 at 10:30 pm

My salary is more than 40k a month but I still won’t buy this car as it is way overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • doubtful on Apr 08, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Haha Mr Kangaroo,

No you don’t earn that much, not even near that. Why? Coz I know.. my bomoh tells me so.

• tricycle on Apr 03, 2014 at 11:03 pm

Hafriz Shah,
    Bro which showroom got this model, all showrooms or only in specific showrooms?

• heybadigol on Apr 04, 2014 at 8:49 am

I’m not sure about the rest, but I kinda prefer the design of its predecessor. Looks more imposing. This latest version looks too much like an X3. If I want to pay 559k for a car, it better not look like its cheaper brother. But having said that, the Range Rover & Range Rover Sport look alike too. But I like both!! Guess BMW just isnt up there yet with Land Rover for making go-anywhere SUVs.

• Jahok on Apr 04, 2014 at 9:19 am

My salary is 30k a month.. I drive a perodua kelisa.. Coz its my choice to do so.. Why bother with expensive cars when half the price of the suv or what not goes into najib n cronies pocket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Your choice, u made a good living. No need to shout out. There many ppl making around that amount of income in Malaysia. Some drives luxury car some just like normal Japanese brand. Rich or not rich is actually nased on how you spend and whats ur limit. There is no universal term of rich. Even beggar can be rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • doubtful on Apr 08, 2014 at 3:59 pm

And why do you bother about others who bother with buying and owning such expensive cars? You continue with your Perodua and be happy with it coz nobody would give two hoots about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • tying on Aug 07, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Cool story bro

• John Doe on Apr 08, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Many people are still buying the car, most of them registering it as company vehicles. And these people don’t give a hoot about that car price. And every 5 years, they change again. There is a saying, rather than paying income tax, they would charge it to “company asset” and enjoy the car. Only those of us who are trying to buy this car using our hard earn money, feel the pinch. So the summary is, this car is pitched at a different group of people, definitely not the “orang sebarangan” or you and I.

• John Doe on Apr 08, 2014 at 3:50 pm

A few of my friends just bought the X5 and 528i. Expensive, but then they came back from overseas under the TalentCorp program. And they were granted a heavy discount off the price tag. And they also were given a 15% flat income tax indefinitely (or until revised). Yet, these people are high earners in their fields.

• Let say i bought a UK specced Diesel X5 F15, would there be any difference with the parts or material (smaller radiator, DPF, dashboard material, door seals etc…..) from Malaysian version? If so, is conversion really necessary? Anyone with past experience?