Jaguar F-Type Coupe makes a good British villain

You would think that all companies would want to portray themselves as being good and trustworthy. Not Jaguar.

Clearly wanting to be a counterpoint to Aston Martin’s association with the ubiquitous British hero James Bond, it has instead decided that the new Jaguar F-Type Coupe is the quintessential British villain, and has roped in Tom Hiddleston, Mark Strong and Sir Ben Kingsley – actors known for their baddie roles – to prove its point.

During the Super Bowl earlier in the year, Jaguar premiered its new marketing campaign – complete with the hashtag #GoodToBeBad – with a 60-second spot entitled “Rendezvous” in which the three actors described why Brits actually play the best villains. The ad, shot entirely in London, was directed by Tom Hooper and backed by a score composed by Alexandre Desplat (both of The King’s Speech fame).

The continuation video, “The Art of Villainy” sees Hiddleston (who you probably know as Loki in the Thor series of films) delve further into this theme, explaining how the F-Type Coupe would make a good villain while using some choice Shakespearean quotes in the process. At one point he even manages to outfox a Porsche 911 (classy move, Jaguar) as he speeds out of the parking lot.

The video leads out to four shorter snippets: “Sound Like a Villain”, “Villainous Style”, “Drive Like a Villain” and “Have a Plan”. These showcase some of the F-Type Coupe’s features, including the R version’s 550 hp 5.0 litre supercharged V8 engine, active exhaust system and adaptive suspension.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Take my Avatar for example, thou more of an anti-hero ,its the calm and exotic accent that are clear and pronounced that give Brits a head in the Art of Villainy. Often cold and emotionless character that hides any motive makes extremly great villain.

That said, it is because we listen and watch English shows, Germans with their sharp and technical language can also make great Villaouse character.

• holofanboi on Apr 03, 2014 at 6:48 pm

The superbowl ad and this one further strengthens my gf’s reasoning to why she would dump me for Hiddleston in a heartbeat.

Can’t blame her though, because I myself am having a man crush for this guy <3 ~

No homo brah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Cetak Tak Mati (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 7:51 pm

I am sold! Well done Jaguar my next car after Mercedes Benz E Class coupe will most likely be Jaguar instead of Maserati.

cheers , i’ve always seen myself as a villain and finally a real car made for villains such as myself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • holofanboi on Apr 05, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Considering how internationally renowned BMW owners are known as arseholes, getting a Merc would mean that you are on the hero side of things.

So if you are getting a Jag after a Merc…you are a spy in disguise?

Brb reporting you to BMW and Jag in advance. Gotta do mah job as a evil minion!

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 03, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Whoever who is in Jaguar Land Rover’s marketing department, seriously needs a pay rise.

And the engineers.

And the designers too.

Amazing, that 7-8 years ago, no one would have thought JLR will be so amazing like this.

• RedCRZ on Apr 03, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Loki! Loki! LOKIIII!!!!

• spongewai on Apr 03, 2014 at 9:15 pm

LOKI, villian/bro adoptive of Thor

the future Mandarin, villian of Iron Man

and Sinistro of Green Lantern

• mirror mirror on Apr 03, 2014 at 9:53 pm

The poetic snobbery of the English can never be matched, this ad makes owners of other luxury cars look masochistic.

• mirror mirror on Apr 03, 2014 at 11:37 pm

Maybe masochistic is a bit too dramatic, I believe it is that organic swagger of the English brand that makes it different. It is like comparing the rock music of Led Zepplin and Scorpions, the former is never too embarrassed about who they are while the latter is a bit too deliberate and perfect.

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 7:28 am

I do say, it takes class to make being bad look so good. Never over the top, until warranted when the protagonist foils their plan A, plan B, back up plan A as well as break their favourite tea set.

• lowprofile on Apr 04, 2014 at 8:51 am

those are pretty cool ads. well done jaguar.

• nighttrain on Apr 04, 2014 at 11:10 am

Now, how are we going to portray other British brands, such as Lotus? Now, imagine bad guys in a bunch of chrome Lotus Europas…

• Remember when we were kids, we always wanted 2 be the gud guy, coz it looks so cool. These day n age, being the baddie seems to be the coolest thing (eventhough at the end of the day we know the gud guy’s gonna foil the baddie’s evil plans). I never wanted a jag more in my life….

ps: whom ever came up this marketing idea, the guy’s a genius!

• arteu32 on Mar 14, 2016 at 1:37 pm

Good Guy= loose every fight except the final fight
      Bad Guy= wins every fight except the final one

you choose…