Audi A3 Sedan and A8 Facelift to launch in Malaysia

Malaysian Audi distributor Euromobil has starting teasing two upcoming models – the Audi A3 Sedan and the Audi A8 Facelift. Promoters with iPads were inviting interested parties to register for updates at the Audi BSC Roadshow happening this week at Bangsar Shopping Centre.

The Audi A3 Sedan is set to come in two variants – a front wheel drive 1.4 TFSI and a 1.8 TFSI with quattro all-wheel-drive. The car is expected to be launched before the end of June 2014.

The Audi A3 1.4 TFSI in its highest tune is powered by a 140 PS, 240 Nm 1.4 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine, mated to a seven-speed S-tronic dual-clutch transmission. 0-100 km/h acceleration time is 8.3 seconds. Word is that it could be priced under RM200k. There is a lower 1.4 TFSI tune available with 122 PS and 200 Nm – we’re not sure which one Malaysia will get.

a3-sedan-rear

As for the Audi A3 1.8 TFSI quattro, it’s expected to compete against the new Mercedes-Benz CLA 200 in terms of pricing. The 1.8 TFSI engine does 180 PS and 250 Nm of torque, mated to a seven-speed S-tronic dual-clutch transmission. The 0-100 km/h sprint is done in 7.2 seconds.

As for the A8 facelift, we hear it will continue to be available as a 3.0 TFSI quattro, but will now get Audi Matrix LED headlamps as standard issue. Pricing will be higher than the pre-facelift model’s RM659k price tag because of higher kit levels. We’re expecting it to be launched before the end of May 2014.

If you’re interested in either car, click to register your interest.

GALLERY: Audi A3 Sedan

GALLERY: Audi A8 Facelift

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• seancorr on Apr 04, 2014 at 4:23 pm

A3 is finally here after a long wait and price looks good, just have to wait to see what kind of kit they offer for the 1.4 model.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
    • Hyundai De La Junk (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Buying Audi is silly and stupid in Malaysia because the whole after sales service of Euromobil are run and set by the Proton goons who got bad attitude in life.

Why buy a world class brand like Audi when the service centre are all Proton goons who are lazy like hell, like to sleep and treat customers as if it is their previous Proton customers??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 97
      • seancorr on Apr 04, 2014 at 5:34 pm

I am aware of the service people’s attitudes actually and it’s known to other Audi owners too including their management but haven’t gotten an update if they solve that issue or not.

As for the service centers, last I was told when I was surveying for a new car, the Mutiara Damanasara branch only had 2 bays! I wouldn’t want to take my Audi to other states especially on the east coast where there is no service centers to help you if your car does break down…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
        • Honda the best on Apr 04, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Whatever how sexy is the Audi I will never consider it and Honda Accord is my choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 58
          • Grandeur on Apr 06, 2014 at 8:23 pm

Ya Accord junk is more suitable for a junkie cheap like you. Please, A3 doesnt even need you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
        • pointed star on Apr 05, 2014 at 5:50 pm

Suggest you opt for a Mercs as their after sales services are excellent. how do I know? I own a Mercs and I’m very happy with theirs after sales services.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
        • tokmoh (Member) on Apr 05, 2014 at 9:06 pm

SPOILER ALERT: it will.

Keyword: seven-speed S-tronic dual-clutch transmission.

• lol at the obvious anti BN comments. how do penangites like your water tariff now? haha. what was the promise before? water, education n electricity FREE? i guess better than getting fired by PKNS and KPSB in selangor lolz

waiting for car price to go down? don’t hold your breath.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 90
        • AutoFrenz on Apr 05, 2014 at 9:02 pm

Well said …padan muka all those penangites who sembah guan eng like their tokong….serve u people right padan muka padan muka puiii all those chinky swine pui pui pui….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 78
          • No matter how much u hate it, Penang is filled majority by Chinese. And of coz, DAP has done more result compared to BN last time. No reason for Chinese not to support DAP. Even Malay supported them. Those of u who nvr been to Penang or just listen to rumours. STFU please. Calling ppl slang name will not bring you to anywhere. How bout we call u sakai and ask u go bak to jungle? how do u feel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 7
          • kl fella on Apr 08, 2014 at 12:13 pm

pui pui puiiii.. should kick people like you out of the country

• Hyundai De La Junk (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Be careful when you buy Audi. It is the same Volkswagen who builds it. If VW DSG can give so much of problems and has detroyed all of VW sales in Malaysia, how different can the gearbox in the Audi be?

Sure it is more or less the same DSG. Name different but still the dry double clutch problematic gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 60
      • Based on your logic, don’t buy Lamborghini, Porsche, Bentley etc as well. All also belong to Volkswagen..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 7
        • BLUR SOTONG on Apr 04, 2014 at 6:23 pm

STAN, you’re the Man !!!
          What a reply .
          For goodness sake S tronic can take more HP and Torque . It’s VW cars that screwed up , not Audi . Try going to Audi and VW service centres , it’s completely different attitude and politeness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
          • audi driver on Apr 19, 2014 at 8:49 pm

I agree with you cz i owned 1 a4 2013 modal.

• Honda the best on Apr 04, 2014 at 6:36 pm

Yes,those car i will never consider it even if I am rich.Audi cars are unreliable and spare parts hard to get.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 48
          • Carnut on Apr 05, 2014 at 12:03 am

You probably got your information based on rumours and is now trying to pass them off as facts. Audi and VW parts are very easy to find. You can buy them both locally and even online sellers. For all of the consumable parts that I have come across so far, they are mostly similar in cost and sometimes even cheaper compared to Japanese brands. In fact I have problems getting parts for older japanese cars in comparison.

• Heng Lee on Apr 05, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Yes, spareparts for your Honda EX5 are easier to get.

• Cetak Tak Mati (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 6:39 pm

Thats because Lamborghini , Porsche and Bentley wouldt be using cheapo DSG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
        • A330-300 on Apr 04, 2014 at 9:41 pm

Well said. Thumbs up!

• torque on Apr 05, 2014 at 9:08 am

Yo’…school finish izzit? Friday nite ain’t doin nuthin, tomorrow Saturday could wake up late n posted such nonsense comment? Wake up la fren, VW DSG layout is tranverse while Audi is longitudinal. Audi somemore utilise 2 separate oil circuits hence higher maintanance due to a combined 11.8 liter of oil but further enhance realibility than VW. Still, if u could buy an Audi but couldn’t maintain it…u don’t deserve owning it at the 1st place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • KoreanCAR on Apr 05, 2014 at 10:14 am

Audi normally is using Wet clutch idiot

• I’ve got 2 audi’s. 2009 A6 and 2011 Q5. No dsg problems so far. Just engine mounting issues.

• roti canai (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 4:30 pm

now no more audi a6 hybrid…i hope audi salesman wont be so bloody lansi to serve customers now

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • Hyundai De La Junk (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Audi was going bust with zero sales until the Hybrid A6 came into the picture. Since Euromobil is a crony company, government through MITI and MAI introduced the Hybrid incentives solely to save Audi in Malaysia through the A6 Hybrid.

You see, Euromobil is a dead log company, using our tax payers money, we feed and support each and every staff there before the A6 Hybrid came about. 99% of all Audi you see on the road are ALL recons. Don’t think it is authorised cars. The only sales Audi Malaysia ever make is their A6 Hybrid.

Now, no more sales, sure Audi going to close down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 45
      • Honda the best on Apr 04, 2014 at 6:39 pm

Unless Audi CKD the A6 hybrid at Pekan,or else I rather wait for the Accord Hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • wajarays on Apr 04, 2014 at 10:47 pm

are really sure ahh ???? saw alot of facelift A4 on the road , is it NAZA or others GREY importer brought in the car ??? jangan main komenlah kalo tak tahu ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • KillBox1Alpha on Apr 05, 2014 at 3:47 am

You’re talking thru your ass. If dont know what youre talking about..just keep quiet. Dont blabber just because you have to say some thing.You said 99% Audi are recons? thats a big pile of horse shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • dude, is ur brain functioning well?Or r u are jealous u cant buy? If u say 99% of Audi are Recon.Then those A4, A5, A6, A7, A8, Q5, Q7 with Euromobil wording underneath the plate must be an illusion of me. Wake up..Even without Hybrid, A4, A6, Q5 &Q7 is volume seller in Malaysia. And with the launching of A5 Sportback, more and more ppl are goin to it for those who want something different.

• roti canai (Member) on Apr 05, 2014 at 9:29 pm

a4 yes. a6 non-hybrid no. q5 and q7 most people just buy recon for higher spec s-line, bigger engine etc.

• AutoFrenz on Apr 06, 2014 at 11:25 am

The Q7 is like 99.9% recon. Euromobil wording? come on you can spray any word you want.

• nabill on Apr 04, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Its jetta size jetta mechanicals probably…bt abt 50k more…brand power….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • exactly a jetta on MQB platform, more premium of course… engine similar to golf mk7 for 1.4Tsi. Good to see premium/luxury brands dipping below RM200K

• longjaafar on Apr 04, 2014 at 4:44 pm

The trick is to offer the 1.8 only in Quattro drive, so that it can even outprice the bigger A4 FWD. Clever. The suckers are us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • AVH (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 4:58 pm

The A3 appeals to me because of its interior, in fact its probably my favorite interior amongstits Deutsch competitor, including the CLA/A-class and the (personally dissapointing)BMW 1 series.

The only problem is the exterior. Its not that their bad or anything but I have countless of time, mistaken an A8 for an A4, and the A3 looks awfully like an facelift A4, and coming from someone that picks up car-spotting for an hobby, I find this very annoying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • I always mistakenly mistake BMW 5 series and 3 series rear too.. or is it just me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
      • me too ! i also keep on mistake audi a4 and a6..

• koozold on Apr 07, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Try to differentiate boot line. Avoid recognize the tail lamp. It will be easy for you.

• Same cookie cutter design for so many years already. Dunno why they are so lazy to stick with one design concept for most of their models. R8 is still looking fantastic tho.

• holofanboi on Apr 04, 2014 at 6:41 pm

Same here, I srsly cant tell a diff between the PREVIOUS gen a4, a5 and the current ones even if I see it on the road some-what frequently compared to mercs ( is it just me or there are far more audis on the road than current gen mercs).

It feels as if the bosses gave the audi dev a HUGE budget for the interior design, and some change for the exterior ._.

• spongewai on Apr 04, 2014 at 5:01 pm

make it ckd project for Audi A3 just like sibling bro A4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • The A4 is not CKD..

In fact non of the audi cars sold in Malaysia are CKD.. All are CBU

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
      • tawil on Apr 04, 2014 at 5:54 pm

so, where all the AUDI cars are assembled? Indonesia perhaps?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
        • Use ur brain la macha, CBU is from Germany. As for VW, their CBU is from South Africa. Indonesian CKD is only for Indon market. Just like Malaysian CKD BMW oni for Bolehland..

• kzm (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 7:48 pm

CKD no quality ma, worker minum pagi 9 am…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • bringmanualcars! on Apr 04, 2014 at 5:13 pm

it should be priced below A4 right? now audi malaysia is farked?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Audi Jetta. Now you know why the VW Jetta doesn’t look as good as it should.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • therealmaserati on Apr 04, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Such a boring car !!

Dont understand who would buy this !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
  • Maserati(Official) on Apr 04, 2014 at 6:23 pm

This is real good looking car, much better than all smelly kimchis being thrown into our market lately

Will definitely get this, it will sit nicely in my garage with my other German Marques

Good job Audi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
  • Vision on Apr 04, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Audi A3 vs Merc CLA, but please put the pricing reasonably and dont put CLA’s price. 200k & lower would be awesome!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • bring in the hatch too. kill the a class! kill the 1 series! kill v40!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • weird on Apr 04, 2014 at 7:09 pm

its weird when people start to criticise others choice. let them choose.

• Henry Ford the XII on Apr 04, 2014 at 10:14 pm

1) Read this
    2) Remembered something – flipped through the back pages of this month CAR magazine.
    3) Found these:
    – Audi A1 sportback 1.4TFSI (122 bhp) RM185k
    – Audi A1 1.4TFSI (185 bhp) RM209k
    – Audi A4 1.8TFSI (170 bhp) RM235k

Will be very interesting to see how they are going to price the A3

• Unforgiven on Apr 04, 2014 at 11:49 pm

We know the sales figure for A1 for that price, definitely not a good deal. In fact, if they price or at rm190k is still not a good deal, the monthly sales will tell. Recon low spec A5 is around that price too.

• FreeWaterEducationInPenang on Apr 04, 2014 at 10:47 pm

latest merc for me hehehehehe

• CM (Member) on Apr 05, 2014 at 10:29 am

Not sure where some of you guys get your info regarding poor after-sales service at Euromobil. I’m an Audi owner, car purchased new at Euromobil. Service better than anything I’ve received at the MB and BMW dealerships (AB, where I live).
    As for the car, I recently saw the service warning light appear, although the on board display indicated 800km to the next service. Called them, was politely told to bring it in at my earliest convenience. When I took the car in, it turned out that my car hadn’t been serviced for a year. Hence, the service warning light despite the slightly lower mileage. Now, this would never have happened to my VW, coz I’m always taking the car in for some minor problem or the other. The most recent being the peeling off, of the rubber strips on my wiper blades. A pair cost me a mind boggling RM244.00, parts alone.
    In summary, my Audi has been fantastically reliable. It’s only ever gone back to EM for regular servicing, which is always a pleasant affair…polite staff, comfy environment, etc.
    VW makes good cars but they are in a different league from Audi, and not in a good way. An Audi’s fit, finish, quality and durability, in my opinion, is noticeably superior to BMW, and slightly ahead of MB. Also, VW as a company, is less directly involved in Audi, which has existed in one form or another, long before VW & BMW. Those of you who are interested in cars (unlike most PT readers who might very well be commenting on a washing machine/toaster/blender) might want to Google Audi’s origin from its NSU/Horch/Auto Union days.
    Hence, the rebadged analogy ( which I’ve mentioned before in my previous posts), doesn’t apply here, in the manner of Lexus and Infinity. Both the mighty Porsche and Bentley use engines built by Audi. And Lamborghini is owned by Audi and is built on its technology. Not VW’s.
    It’s strange how this fact is not appreciated in Malaysia, where every other big company is a GLC, and owned by some crony or the other. So, for sure Proton owns EM and VW owns Audi/Porsche/Bentley/Lambo, but the lowest denominator law doesn’t apply here.
    Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • Audi Salesman Everywhere! on Apr 05, 2014 at 2:11 pm

CM, you contradict yourself. 2nd para you say your car was not service for one year.

The third para you say your Audi has gone back for regular servicing to EM.

Are you an Audi salesman? You sound like one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • CM (Member) on Apr 05, 2014 at 4:47 pm

@ Audi Salesman Everywhere,
        Err, simple maths, Dude. I’ve owned the car for several years. The last service interval took more than a year since the car gave me no problems in the interim period
        Is that so difficult to understand?
        BTW, I’ve been lucky to own cars from all the German makes I’ve mentioned, hence my comments.
        Hope this helps.
        Cheers

• holofanboi on Apr 06, 2014 at 2:20 am

First and foremost I am not a fan of audi’s most recent designs nor siding with you on the silly bugger who misunderstood your post (lol at the so called contradictory paragraph), its obvious at how some are just skimming through post then replying in a hurry.

In anycase, based on my friend working at cycle&carriage, the main reason audi, bmw AND merc themselves have so called poor aftersales service especially when it comes to maintenance is due to used car owners ( badge snobs on a budget). These are often the most unrealistic and loudest owners due to excessive expectations from before they made their purchase. These complaints become far worse when they bought so called recond units which are more than 5 years old. (The HPFP pumps from german makes are notorious for breaking down in 3 years!)

New owners on the other hand should more or less have the same experience with those of the average makes (H, T, Kia, Hyun etc) which sounds just abt right based on what you said in ur 1st post.

Aftersales service should generally be warm across the brands, unless you are FORD :p

• Heng Lee on Apr 05, 2014 at 2:37 pm

‘ its NSU/Horch/Auto Union days’

It’s Audi/Horch/DKW/Wanderer. They formed ‘Auto Union’ in 1932, hence the four rings… ;)

• CM (Member) on Apr 05, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Good one Heng Lee. The company started as Wanderer and I’ve mentioned it before in my other posts. In the above post I’ve mentioned several names for readers to Google, and not pertaining to the 4 rings.
        You’re absolutely right about the origin of the 4 rings and it’s great getting a well informed post.
        Cheers

• Jebonr on Apr 05, 2014 at 3:10 pm

I agree with CM. Moral of the story, comment, but do not judge simply by it’s name. I don’t really care about RV, but I don’t extremely care on “After Sales Sevice”.

• Jebonr on Apr 05, 2014 at 3:12 pm

I mean, I do really care on “after sales service”. Sorry for the typing error.

• Wonder what the pricing would be like. 1.4l under 200k yes. but what about the 1.8l. surely can’t be more than the 1.8 audi A4 @235k. hopefully the 1.8 will be in the 210k region.

• I love the design of CLA but A3 has better rear seat space..

• Otto Au on Apr 10, 2014 at 7:04 am

Any more pictures of the girl?

• SLS BLACK on Apr 17, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Saw one in Subang. The new A8

• The New Audi A3 1.4 TFSI is now open for booking at RM 179,900. The Audi A3 TFSI Quattro is awaiting price confirmation from the authorities- should be RM 240K.

• Cik Embun on Jun 09, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Yup, launching date is on 28th June. Excited! Just wanna see how they equipped them first.