Mopar ’14 Dodge Challenger – 100-unit run snapped up

mopar 14 challenger 01

Nothing like rare to get the orders going. Chrysler has come up with a limited-edition 100-unit run of the 2014 Dodge Challenger R/T Shaker, dressing it with all things Mopar and badging it as the Mopar ’14 Dodge Challenger. All have been sold, and on the very first day it became available to dealers in the States.

The Mopar ’14 Challenger continues on the yearly Mopar-based LE run offered by the brand in recent times – previous specials have been the Mopar ’10 Challenger, ’11 Charger, ’12 300 and ’13 Dart.

The Challenger R/T Shaker provides the necessary platform, the 5.7 litre HEMI V8 and mechanicals unchanged from the base car. Two exterior colours abound, Pitch Black (chosen by 52 buyers) and a new shade called Bright White, which the remaining 48 went for. As for Mopar Blue stripe options, there are three, with the traditional Shaker stripe proving to be the most popular graphic, followed by the bodyside decal and then the rocker stripe.

Other external design elements include 20 x 8-inch Gloss Black aluminum wheels with Mopar center caps, a unique Black Vapor grille surround, a black fuel-filler door, a Satin Black deck-lid spoiler with a Gloss Black “Mopar Design” badge and Mopar quarter-glass decals.

The interior, meanwhile, features new premium leather seats featuring Mopar Blue accent thread and Mopar Omega M logos embroidered on the seat backs. Each unit of the series run will have its own serialised instrument panel plaque as well as Mopar-branded key fobs and a custom-crafted personalised owner’s kit with a Mopar ’14 brochure.

Buyers also chose to specify additional customisation for their rides, with Custom Shop items such as hood pins, Mopar Performance badges, quad exhaust tips and a Challenger-monogrammed car cover being picked. Seems you can’t ever have enough Mopar kit on a Mopar-clad ride.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I saw that shaker hood, then i jizzed.

• Hyundai De La Junk (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 5:23 pm

American cars are losers. American are so stupid. Still building big cc cars. They are the biggest cause of environmental damage but they will blame the world for damaging the ozone.

now at leastt he stupid Americans are not coming out with 8000cc cars, they have made it smaller to 5000 cc. Bodoh!!!. Gas guzzler. And they cry no money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
      • dugong (Member) on Apr 05, 2014 at 12:24 am

american cars are like toyota. design and tech forever outdated…

• American cars are losers. First of all, your English is just fantastic A plus. Secondly, top ten of the fastest nurburgring cars, 2 of them Japanese, 2 German, 2 British, 4 AMERICAN cars. This argument just ended.

• You obviously know very little about cars. Engine size and pollution do not go hand in hand. The new 6.2 liter corvette gets 30 miles per gallon. The 3.7 Nissan 370z gets 26.

• Sam Loo on Apr 04, 2014 at 11:36 am

This car got bad RV. Better to buy Toyota with good RV. My Hilux can tapau this car anytime!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 29
  • Obviously (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 1:52 pm

#retro #throwback #classiccars #hashtagfever #insertdogetalkhere

• Hemi 426 on Apr 04, 2014 at 1:57 pm

I had the original and iconic 1970 Dodge Challenger with the legendary and savage Hemi 426ci V-8 engine with an underrated 425hp,a pistol grip 4 speed,shaker hood and the black stripes.It had rubbish handling because it was pig heavy but it had phenomenal grunt.

Bone stock,it will do the century sprint in 5.2 secs if you use the handbrake method,later i fully upgraded the handling and tweaked the engine myself,it made well over 590hp at the rear wheels with very little work and more than enough torque to roast the rear tires if you have a heavy foot in any gear!(685 foot pounds of torque if i’m not mistaken)

Nowadays,the original ones like the one that i had before,factory correct of course are going for USD 200K-300K plus,i sold mine fully done up 10 years ago for USD 75K.

This latest version of the Challenger is still an awesome ride and i will buy it in a heartbeat.This is one rocking Mopar!

Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • sniper on Apr 04, 2014 at 2:37 pm

a very beautiful car…

• Jebonr on Apr 04, 2014 at 3:16 pm

This is “Classic”. Don’t care about the RV.

• can us malaysian buy any dodge ride? it totally awesome if one could buy a challenger

• still can’t steer hahaha

• roti canai (Member) on Apr 06, 2014 at 6:07 am

nice car but the interior is really questionable

• Kow Niao Moo Peng on Apr 06, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Limited edition – this cannot be judged as a car, but as an investment – collector’s item.