SPYSHOTS: Nissan Note caught testing in Bangsar

Nissan_Note_Malaysia_03

Here’s something of note, the new Nissan Note caught testing in Bangsar. Yours truly noticed the barely-disguised hatchback (with just taped-up logos and badges) near the Bangsar Shopping Centre just moments ago. Apologies for the shoddy photos by the way. You can blame the HTC One M7’s unspectacular camera for that.

We already know that the Honda Jazz-sized, MPV-style hatchback will be launched by the end of 2014, and the finished article was even shown in full at last year’s Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show. Nissan’s KLIMS13 stand also displayed a brief preliminary spec sheet of the upcoming B-segmenter.

For our market, the Note is set to share the Almera sedan’s 102 hp/139 Nm 1.5 litre HR15DE engine, matched to a four-speed automatic transmission. It won’t be inaccurate to look at it as a five-door hatchback version of the Almera, in the same way that the Honda City and Jazz are related to each other.

For a more sporty flavour (or should we say note?), the Japanese market has an Impul version of the Note, which could give the Jazz Mugen a run for its money. So folks, take note, the Note is coming to town. Do you think it’s noteworthy?

Nissan Note at KLIMS13

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• tombyron on Apr 04, 2014 at 3:38 pm

old gearbox and low power..not for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 36
    • Vader on Apr 04, 2014 at 4:08 pm

Why not? The Vios using same engine and gear box still got die hard fans what.. lol
      Good thing is more and more b-segment come into our market. Let wait and see how proton gsc will compete in this segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
      • Hyundai De La Junk (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 4:45 pm

This is a toilet car, run by goons who are outdated an old. Nissan has lost the young crowd in Malaysia because their cars are so palat and outdated. They still have their older generation customers but they are dying off. Once, that group dies off, Nissan will close shop in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 68
        • Experienced Uncle Sim on Apr 04, 2014 at 5:57 pm

“Hyundai De La Toilet Roll Brain” – Nissan was the first Japanese car in Malaysia and lasted longer with the same distributor compared with Toyota, Honda or anyone else. Therefore even after people have long stopped driving technology dead Toyota’s, and short-term trend Hyundai’s, Nissan’s would still be up and running in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
          • I agree, Nissan indeed a very good japs car before and today its even better because of Renault collaboration. As a owner of Latio, I says its 100+ better than any jap car you find with the same price tags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
        • Obviously (Member) on Apr 05, 2014 at 8:32 am

So you can peer into the future, eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • AVH (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 4:49 pm

I thought Proton GSC is in a lower segment, competing with Micra and Picanto.

Anyways, there is nothing wrong with an old engine and transmission as long as it performs up to todays standards. And in Malaysia with our rather poor Fuel quality, the aging but reliable 1NZ-FE(2002-now) and HR15DE(2004-now)are still as competitive as other newer engine. In fact counting out the Koreans and their new Gemma engine(2010-now)most other car in the price range uses old engine(depands how u define old, but since we called the engine in the Vios and Camry old; 12 years). The Fiesta Duratec is an upgraded version of the Sigma engine line(1995-now) and the Duratec engine itself in the Fiesta hasn’t change since 04′. Mazda 2 ZY engine has been used since 02′ and the City uses an L17 engine(debuted 2002 JDM Fit)upgraded to an L17A7 in 07’that is used in the 3rd and 4th gen of the ASEAN City/Jazz(4th gen City differs by fitting an EGR system).

To strengthen my point, the Murcielargo uses the same basic design of that in the Miura(40 years older) and the LaFerrari/F12 Berlinetta uses a bored and stroked + tune version of that in the Ferrari Enzo(12 years older).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
        • ruffstuff on Apr 05, 2014 at 6:38 am

Proton GSC will pit against A and B segment hatchback.

In fact, proton cars will pit against its segment, at the same time against other model in similar price bracket which most of the time one segment below.

Because Proton cars alway price at one segment lower.

• engine on Apr 05, 2014 at 7:01 am

Tumbs up mate! Engine building is all about evolution… they got to start from some proven basis.

If I’m not wrong the Korean car manufacturer mostly sourced their engine from others prior developed their own in last 5 years. Whereas the Japanese which already have their engines proven 3 or 40 years back.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 05, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Errr no, hyundai develope their first engine in 1993, the Alpha in 1993 which was updated to the alpha II in 2005(not sure on the changes), this engine started out in limited models and was only finally replace by an all new design in 2009, the Gemma that most hyundai use, it uses an aluminum block as opposed to cast iron. So the alpha line is basically in production for 15 years. The 2.0l theta engine in the optima and sonata has been in production since 04′ and part of the joint Global engine alliance between hyundai, Mitsubishi and Chrysler. In fact the turbo variant of the theta in the sonata turbo shares many similarities with the 4B11 if the Mitsubishi Evo X. Before 93′ , most Korean cars are driven by the ubiquitous Mitsubishi 4G series engine or B engine from Mazda, currently, most engine are design in house like the Tau(08- now) and the lambda(06-now).

I won’t dell too much on the Japanese manufecturer as it is long enough to write a book whereas the Korean engine design & making capabilities only started in 93′. Toyota started designing and making their fiirst engine right at their inception in 1935, the Type-A engine. it can be often said that the Type-A and is succesor Type-B to S, are very much a copy of American engines like the Ford V8 to the point that some parts are even interchangeble between the Pacific. Toyota’s first all in house engine is the K-series. The latest addition to the Toyota line is the AR-line(debuted 09′) found in our beloved Camry 2.5V and hybrid 3.0l Lexues. Nissan first engine is the a licence made version of the Austin A-series engine(found in the original mini), the D-engine that propels our forefathers 120Y. Their latest design is the VR38DETT found in the GTR but if you are talking conventional car, the HR design in teh Almera and Note are the newest.

Mitsubishi, whoose expertise at building WW2 airplane like the infamouse ZERO, launch their first in house design engine in the 60s, the KE4 series, which powers the 1st gen Colt and some kei-truck. Mitsubishi however were the first manufecturer to put Direct Injection Petrol engine into their car with the 4G9 series, cars like the infamouse EVO I-IX. Their latest design are shared with Hyundai like the 4B1 engine seen in the Lancer(and Inspira) is shared with Hyundai’s Theta line and 8A8 line is share with the TAU line for the Equus. The 8A8 however seen almost no production as Mitsubishi has no car to put it in.

Unlike almost all other Japanese manufecturer, Honda is pretty young company(is even younger than Hyundai for that matter) and is the only one that has zero particippation in WW2. Their first water cooled engine was the E-series which immediately became a hit with its CVCC technology. The E-series first saw action in the 2-cylinder Honda Life K car in 1971but the first 4 cylinder version was introduce in Honda’s first mass-production car, the Civic, in 1972. The E engine is placed in Ward’s Top 10 engine of the 20th century, onr of the two japanese entrents. Honda’s latest engine is the Turbocharged engine lauch just a few months back and will see action in the Civic Type-R.

-Source, Wikipedia and Google

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • luv me on Apr 04, 2014 at 4:33 pm

if u want more power…. go get a lamborghini aventador… sure got hi-power…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • O-Man on Apr 05, 2014 at 12:29 am

I have to agree with tombyron, old drivetrain n old gear box, the “note” is not in tune with my liking. So, Hafriz it is NOte Thanks for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Tony Tan on Apr 05, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Aiyo, so slow la. Even in the Philippines they launched the new Nissan Altima and Slyphy. The Altima there comes standard with 6 airbags.

See the story here:
      http://motioncars.inquirer.net/26856/nissan-philippines-launches-all-new-altima-sylphy-sedans

• Noted, Hafriz. LOL

But looks kinda nice. Better than the ageing Jazz, I guess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • the tail lights look like clown eyes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • Amei (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Why note?

• Hahahaha hafriz I know how u feel about the HTC ONE camera. Sigh

• niaulong on Apr 04, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Sorry Note,
    I still prefer Iphone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
  • AVH (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Its a more desirable version of the Almera, and I find it rather good looking(in particular the rear). Hope the price to specs is good.

Not a bad year for hatchback in Malaysia, with the Fiesta EcoBoost coming soon ,Local boys launching their cheapest entry and later this year, the new Honda Jazz, and given Honda’s strategy for the new City, I am now highly anticipating the new Jazz will mirror if not beat the City spec sheet. Oh and UMW with their Yaris.

• Black Dog on Apr 04, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Nissan for sure will undercut the Jazz, price-wise.

• I believe Jazz will be the EEV CKD Launcher, and will benefit the 0 tax EEV incentives.. pricewise it will on par if not easily undercuts the Note.

• Jack Philip Yong on Apr 04, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Sure Nissan Livina X-Gear sales kena kacau….

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 4:40 pm

The Note should have been photographed using a Note maybe? Haha.

On a more serious note, the Note is actually not too bad. It looks pretty large in real life.

• Anonymous on Apr 04, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Honestly, IMO. I would take the Mugen Fit over the Impul Note. I may also take the Honda Jazz over the Nissan Note. Well the latter depends on pricing, quality and warranty. I’m leaning towards the Jazz though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Polis saman driver of Hxx_Xxx1 for using camera/phone while driving :-D

• Wxx_Xxx1

• AVH (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Black Hyundai, and judging how thin that door penal is, probably and old model. But PaulTan did say they have a Santa Fe as a work car before but this looks too low to be an SUV.

• oh gosh, for a minute, i thot its a Nissan Kote… xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • hmm…we have to take “Note” on this, as this model will “Jazz”-up the options we have and will have.We might have a “Fiesta” of hatchbacks,but this model will be a new “Note” for “Yar-is” (pronouce as “your-ears”).Maybe if im under 20 its a cool car, but if “i40”, too old for this design.Maybe if i play Golf, than its a good choice, but i prefer to play Polo.but have to wait after World Cup in “Rio”.but its nothing “Neo”, but if you see too far you might see a “Mirage”.but the sky is not always “Clio”,sometimes its unclear and hazy.but if you’ve got a lot of “A1” in SPM,perhaps you can ask for a 116i.Never bother if you shave using BIC or “Giulett-a”,still you wont find a girlfried like “Megane” Fox.But its a “Swift” change from the Prius,perhaps you can also get a “Mazda-too”.But we have to “Focus” here, its not a “Mini” issue like a small “Beetle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • I have noticed one in Cyberjaya in titanium brown color. Not so boring outlook and hopefully TC will put the right price…

• Krasher on Apr 04, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Sorry ETCM! Too late and too slow to contends the new honda Jazz!!
    Please export them to Zimbabwe!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • TCM Nissan = no stability control

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 5:26 pm

The puns are strong on this thread…

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 04, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Hmm interesting. Noted.

• Jason on Apr 04, 2014 at 6:42 pm

duhh.. Too much pun on this article.

• Outdated car.Extremely late! 3rd Gen Jazz on the way to Malaysia soon .When Jazz 3 arrives in malaysia packed with the latest tech and more(waiting for official honda malaysia’s specs etc), the Note wont sell well.Cmon TCM, stop sleeping in office!3rd gen jazz has dohc atkinson-cycle engine compared to this outdated 4 speed!? What the HECK?
    Japan models went on sale in September 6, 2013. Hybrid model uses an Earth Dreams 1.5-liter Atkinson cycle DOHC i-VTEC engine paired with a 7-speed DCT (dual-clutch transmission) and an internal high-output motor, IPU (Intelligent Power Unit) with internal lithium-ion battery, electric servo braking system with variable servo ratio control.

Non-hybrid models include 13G (Earth Dreams 1.3-liter Atkinson cycle DOHC i-VTEC engine, CVT), 15X (Earth Dreams 1.5-liter direct injection DOHC i-VTEC engine), RS (Earth Dreams 1.5-liter direct injection DOHC i-VTEC engine).
    These are the official specs of the Jazz at this point of time.Nissan note should be used as a commercial vehicle. Jazz or Fit can be driven on racetracks like Sepang.
    Check out J’s racing FIT in japan now! Seriously wicked badass honda Jazz/Fit!
    Tan Chong Malaysia relied tooooo much on Almera in terms of sales,one of the most hideous looking cars from Nissan.Depressing scrap.Sorry la, Tan CHong malaysia is garbage!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • janicejan on Apr 05, 2014 at 3:22 pm

U are absolutely right dear friend! If only TCM is totally up to date with the latest models for all nissan vehicles in malaysia like our neighbours in singapore. I was there last month. They have ALL the latest nissan cars on sale!! Even brand new nissan GTRs and Jukes imported directly from Japan!!CBU units!
      Their insane roadtax fees are much more extreme compared to malaysia.Our nissan models are outdated…..Sad indeed for nissan fans in malaysia.My Older Sister herself could’t wait for the note,so she ended up buying a Jazz Hybrid.Haiz!

• Causeway on Apr 06, 2014 at 1:50 pm

I totally agree! This is something i cannot understand. Especially when the nissan importer in Singapore is also TanChong

• Krasher on Apr 05, 2014 at 2:18 am

Sit in the driver seat of Nissan Almera, March, Note and tell me what’s the differences

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 05, 2014 at 8:39 am

Walked right into a punny cloud. It’ll take a good few minutes to wash off.

• iskhalifah on Apr 05, 2014 at 9:55 am

If TCM price this car similiar to the Almera (66K-75K), then it will be splendid. Some more, the Almera & old Livina is proven to be popular & their good resale value is uplifting the Nissan brand image for the B-segment class. Honda Jazz will found itself a noteworthy competitor. Yaris? Yaawnn.

• Albert Lee on Apr 05, 2014 at 8:33 pm

This car will be priced above the Almera,unless Tan Chong wants to compete against its own best seller.Remember,VOLUME is important if you can make a comfortable profit for each car sold unlike Protong,which forgo nett profits just to garner back lost market share,like the Saga FLX SV.
    The old timers and foxes at ETCM are profit oriented and are aggressive in business.Their main competitors are Honda and Toyota,not Protong.

• Aminur on Apr 06, 2014 at 2:39 pm

U are absolutely right dear friend! If only TCM is totally up to date with the latest models for all nissan vehicles in malaysia like our neighbours in singapore. I was there last month. They have ALL the latest nissan cars on sale!! Even brand new nissan GTRs and Jukes imported directly from Japan!!CBU units!

• Insink on Apr 07, 2014 at 6:40 pm

But Spore COE is killing. You won’t wanna buy a car with the current COE price. So new model nice to see but out of reach. Myvi in Spore can easily cost u S$80k to S$90k.

• yummy on Apr 07, 2014 at 8:14 am

the girls also for sale or not? i see “NISSAN” badge on the arm. what model are they? Nissan Yummy?

• Denaihati on Apr 07, 2014 at 5:10 pm

honda jazz and toyota prius c should be careful with this nissan note, as other nissan price always slightly lower than honda and toyota, i think nissan note as well. with this good appearance it is posible to lead in sale…

• Fugly interior, enough said.