BMW M4 Convertible – 431 hp and infinite headroom

P90144811-highRes

The wraps have come off the BMW M4 Convertible ahead of its debut in New York later this month, and it is pretty much what everyone expected – the coupé without its roof.

Then again, that has been the recipe for M3 cabrios from the start. It’s worked a treat for BMW so far, and with the 3.0 litre twin-turbocharged inline-six engine from the coupé producing 431 hp and 550 Nm (10 hp, 150 Nm more than the E93 M3 Convertible), that’s not likely to change anytime soon.

The M4 Convertible is a little bit on the porky side, though: with the complicated three-piece folding hardtop from the 4 Series Convertible and the additional chassis strengthening that comes with it, the car weighs in at 1,750 kg – nearly 180 kg heavier than the coupé – although it is about 60 kg lighter than its V8-powered predecessor.

P90144814-highRes

Performance is still blisteringly fast, however, the car whipping from 0-100 km/h in 4.6 seconds with the standard six-speed manual and 4.4 with the seven-speed dual-clutch transmission (M DCT). Those times are just 0.3 seconds slower than the coupé, and the top speed is limited to the same 250 km/h.

Like the 4 Series Convertible, the M4 cabrio’s roof – operable at speeds under 18 km/h – opens and closes in 20 seconds, while loadspace stays at 370 litres with the roof up and 220 with the roof down. Also carried over from its more pedestrian brethren are the optional neck warmers on the front seats as well as the newly-redesigned wind deflector.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• roti canai (Member) on Apr 07, 2014 at 10:11 am

really liking this colour more than the austin yellow….gives it a mature look…

• sam loo's psychologist on Apr 07, 2014 at 10:30 am

dear santa, i know i have been a naughty boy.. but i can explain.. anyways i have been good for the past week or so (i think).. so can we focus on that pleaseeeeee..
    and if it would make a difference, consulting hours with Sam Loo would be reduced..
    xoxo
    Johnny Perjalanan Kaki..

• nabill (Member) on Apr 07, 2014 at 11:10 am

Da coupe looks bettet n sleeker…n probably abit cheaper oso

• rambo on Apr 07, 2014 at 11:13 am

Hideous and boring looking car. Typical design. As if no revolutionary inspiration from BMW. Likewise, the interior too.

My E400 looks far better than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • E400 interior and rear view is so damn apek.. btw, my 528i LCI M sport might has less power but handles better and more sportier than ur E400

• You wish you have a 528 lci msport too

• thanks dude.. the car arrived 1 month and it is fun to drive. I do own the older E class, soon will sell it

• You wish you have an E400

• lamda on Apr 07, 2014 at 3:47 pm

your E400?..yeah keep up with the daydreaming..People who own it not even have time to comment here

• JohnS on Apr 07, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Stop baffling around lah. People who own E400 will not speak like that. They have higher IQ than you

• talkonlyBS on Apr 07, 2014 at 10:53 pm

I own all cars keyboard warriors said here, do you believe in me?

• nabill (Member) on Apr 07, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Amazing sudenly ppl on dis site suddenly drive merc’s n bmw’s……nm lets make thm happy n believe wat thy claim…!

• shame_Loo on Apr 07, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Nothing wrong for those who driving BMW, Benz and some luxury car to visit this website or leave some comments here. However, I’m pretty sure a person who can afford an E400 will be mature enough in writing his comment here, but not in the case of “Rambo”.

Rambo, even “if” you owned an E400, I still look you down. I highly doubt that you are only a keyboard expert, nothing more than that. Boy, please grow up.

• whats wrong with that, me and my brother are frequently visited this site.. thanks to this site, let me know that f10 LCI will launched in 2014 so that we hold on and not take the old f10 model.