VIDEO: Lexus GS ad says it’s better than the Germans

To a large majority of the premium executive sedan buyers, Japanese luxury brands such as Lexus and Infiniti don’t even register as left-field alternatives, let alone natural rivals to the likes of Mercedes-Benz, BMW and Audi. Apparently, they are being hypnotised to think as such, according to Lexus.

Lexus USA’s new video ad – simply named Hypnotize – is cleverly positioned to serve as a wake up call for its target customers, urging them to look past the image barrier. It centres on the Lexus GS executive sedan and its German rivals, the Mercedes E-Class, BMW 5 Series and Audi A6.

The premium Japanese marque claims that the GS 350 trumps them all, by virtue of it having leather upholstery as standard (unlike the Merc – in the US, at least), rear-wheel drive as opposed to the A6’s front-wheel drive layout and of course, more power from its six-cylinder engine than the 5 Series’ four banger.

Watch the ad for yourself (and how it was shot below), and tell us what you think. So, do you agree you’ve been hypnotised all this while?

Closer to home, we’ve pitched the GS 250 against the BMW 520i, Audi A6 2.0T and Infiniti M25 (now called the Q70). Read our full comparison feature to see if we think the Lexus is a worthy rival to the usual suspects (no, we don’t mean the Infiniti).

Lexus GS 250

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• BMW Fanboi (Member) on Apr 07, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 24
    • In term of comfort, Lexus beat Mercedes.
      In term of handling, Lexus beat Audi.
      In term of image, Lexus beat BMW.
      Apa lagi lu mau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 108
      • BMW Fanboi (Member) on Apr 07, 2014 at 7:53 pm

cool story bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
        • Jimmy on Apr 08, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Be confident of ourselves, improve ourselves. Mercedes-Benz will not attack back nor will they do so to BMW/Audi, I believe.

• JDMftw on Apr 07, 2014 at 8:49 pm

Basically, its the best in the world. Reliability, safety, comfort, handling, and the passion of Japanese.

Japanese cars for life !

German cars are overrated, excluding supercars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 65
      • Heng Lee on Apr 08, 2014 at 12:03 am

In traffic jam, Lexus beat all germans. No wonder, as Lexus is from 110km/h speed limit land.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
      • Bob_B78 on Apr 08, 2014 at 11:09 am

U guys seem to forgot about Infinity.
        Some reviews rate the Q70 higher this Lexus.
        I read some articles that says the Germans most feared Japanese competitor is Infinity.
        Y? Because it handles brilliantl.
        GTR is proof that Nissan/Infinity car performance/handling is top notch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • dugong (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Not even in your wet dreams. LOL

• dugong (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Lexus is just a overpriced camry for sohai to pay more money. Nothing else. Image is lesser than even VW. Big time sohai that don’t test drive and compare spec will fall for this junk!!!

• Lexus is s.o.h.a.i on Apr 07, 2014 at 6:00 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHA

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 21
  • iskhalifah on Apr 07, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Amazing filming set up! I didn’t expect that they really swing real german cars. I wondered how much did they spent into making this video ad. Simply awesome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 33
  • I dont understand why they sate Mercedes used outstandard leather ?? anyone can give more detail ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
    • qwerty on Apr 08, 2014 at 8:14 am

That’s because the E-class doesn’t come standard with leather upholstery in the US. It’s a costly option. In comparison, the GS offers leather upholstery across the range.

• Datuk on Apr 07, 2014 at 6:12 pm

wet dream lexus?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • Chris Ong on Apr 07, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Amazing and brave setup !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • holofanboi on Apr 07, 2014 at 6:15 pm

Oh my dear…

How could I have been blinded all this while?…

I must have been under an illusion, a spell!

Now that I have been shown the way…

Brb gotta get myself a bmw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 9
  • brand power on Apr 07, 2014 at 6:16 pm

There is something call Brand Power…and Marketing….the Jap has good product, but their marketing is….sucks…so lots of work to do even though they are good…
    Similar for many P1 said Preve are better than Vios/City…so? People still buy Vios/City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • defin on Apr 07, 2014 at 10:33 pm

That’s different, proton’ s ride is anyday better than most Japs sampan one.

Now Japs want to claim they are better than Germans?

LOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
      • qwerty on Apr 08, 2014 at 8:17 am

Didn’t mean to lean towards any side, but you must have been missing some latest test drive or comparison issues of recent Lexus models eh?

The Lexus GS350 trumps all its rival in Motor Trend’s comparison test, and it handles better than the 5 series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • kington on Apr 08, 2014 at 9:06 am

I hate to say this, but honestly, the GS really drives and handle very very well. Where the F10 5 is now more pliant even in M guise, the GS F sport hybrid was an amazing car. It really exceeded my expectations.

Sadly you see a lot of bashers here because they will argue that Lexus cars are glorified Toyotas. I won’t disagree with that but honestly they have arrived. Seriously. Even the small and crampy IS left me wanting more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • i won’t comment much about the GS or IS, but for those ct200h crap, those are just wannabes..

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 08, 2014 at 7:27 am

Preve? Better than H. City? That’s a good one! Hahahaha…..oh wait, you’re serious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • unker on Apr 08, 2014 at 8:54 am

Honda City got weak 1.5l engine. 120ps but nowhere better than 109ps vios.

Duh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 49
        • Acrix on Apr 08, 2014 at 9:54 am

0-100: City beats Vios
          Top speed: City beats Vios
          Fuel Consumption: 17.5km/l City vs 11km/l Vios
          Space: City beats Vios
          Safety: City definitely beats Vios hands down

Do some simple comparison and know your facts bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
      • that’s true preve ride and handling beats the jap crap anytime. reliability is another question though.

• Boyboiboy on Apr 07, 2014 at 6:18 pm

how i wish proton will do this kind of TVC in Malaysia against others car brand hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • looking forward to see how german respond to this. let’s start the adv war again, we just sit back and have fun, hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 07, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Good effort on the making the video part… But, have they forgotten about the amazing efficiency of the TwinPower Turbo N20 and the new BlueDirect 2.0 used in the BMW and Merc respectively compared to the GS250?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • qwerty on Apr 08, 2014 at 8:20 am

We Malaysians care a lot about FC, but Americans don’t give a shit. XD

• venven81 on Apr 07, 2014 at 6:36 pm

OMG really?!?!?! first look at the car already X X X. hell no!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • norman on Apr 07, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Japanese for its reliability and sincerity
    German for its engineering and durability
    Korean for its integrity
    China for its king of copy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 11
    • Korean for its integrity LMAO, you have never deal with Korean before have you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • those sound like crappy adjectives to me. japs for its sincerity?? what the hell does that even mean?

• BeemerFreak on Apr 07, 2014 at 6:59 pm

Jokes of the century…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • nabill (Member) on Apr 07, 2014 at 7:13 pm

That usually means its not

• Lexus has definitely overtaken the Germans in terms of dynamics. The F10 is now too soft and E is too numb. A6 is just a waste of time, dynamically.

Do an extensive test drive. You’ll feel the difference.

But Malaysians are typically blinded by western = good.

Asian girls want a white guy
    Asian guys wants European cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 43
    • BeemerFreak on Apr 07, 2014 at 8:32 pm

says the Lexus salesman?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
      • Opinion Beemer blindness

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
      • qwerty on Apr 08, 2014 at 8:22 am

No, says reviewers like those from Motor Trend!

Please, be open-minded for God’s sake. If something is good, then give a compliment. Don’t condemn blindly.

• Cetak Tak Mati (Member) on Apr 08, 2014 at 5:23 pm

correction Asian guys want European cars so that Asian girls will look at them instead of white guys

• Green on Apr 07, 2014 at 8:00 pm

4 brands people love to Hate in Paultan.org:

1. Proton.
    2. Perodua.
    3. Volkswagen.
    4. Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 8
    • Bloody Malaysians only love Korea.
      Makan pun Korea.
      Singing pun Korea.
      Jerk off pun Korea.

Congratulations Korea for claiming Malaysia as Korea.

• ben yap on Apr 07, 2014 at 8:29 pm

The only German make that Lexus can beat is the Volkswagen.

the rest is just syok sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 19
  • Ah huat on Apr 07, 2014 at 9:22 pm

Same in working environment, mat salleh always better than Asian. All innovative and high ranking jobs shld b reserve for them and we pay them to our nose. We shld wake up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Sam AD on Apr 08, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Mat Salleh in general are not better than Malaysians. But Germans are! definitely better!

• Mat Salleh typically are lazy and laid back. But Germans are very innovative ppl. They are like the Japanese of the West. Way better than how Malaysian work. And also their commitment.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 07, 2014 at 9:58 pm

I’am not sure, if i were to put my name down for a Lexus it would mean I’am looking for something different. The Lexus GS in my opinion is the 2nd best looking amongst the 4 cars, and the best interior. And looking at all the reviews, it has glaring faults; steering/throttle too numb, innovation isn’t anywhere like the Germans we are talking engine efficiency in particular.

But I believe Lexus is turning a hyundai here, they stop benchmarking against the Germans and offer something truly different, the german cars now looks too conservative and dare I say it predictable, thou handsome the Germans are, my attention are always stolen by the IS that just looks outtathisworld. Thou I wonder weather Lexus can pull another LS-phenomena here, one of the rare time Eastern smack the Western world in innovation and engineering.

The LFA, IS and RC F is a sign of change for the Japanese premium marque, and I’am expecting under Akio more things to come.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • W204 C63 on Apr 07, 2014 at 11:09 pm

which website you read from? the GS is critically acclaimed, or have you confused the GS with the IS? the 2014 GS is better than the F10 5 series, but of course the F10 is aging, and this is coming from someone driving a german.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • AVH (Member) on Apr 08, 2014 at 12:15 am

Autocar and was it WhatCar, but I’ve checked it is the lower end model, not the F-sport.

The GS itself has aged also espacially considering how fresh the new IS and wild the IS and RC is. I’am actually looking out on how Akio is handling Lexus, I find Lexus’s latest design most suprising and least predictable in the auto world.

• Tiger on Apr 07, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Not many people realised tat it is just a rebadged Toyota Camry….true car enthusiast will know…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 29
    • Datuk on Apr 07, 2014 at 10:27 pm

If you know nothing about car, find out more before you make any comment, if not you will be like a fool. For your information GS is RWD and Camry is FWD how to rebadge? Are you trying to say that the Camry front end is the GS rear end?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
    • AVH (Member) on Apr 07, 2014 at 11:01 pm

As a self-proclaim car enthusiast,I do agree and approve of this rebadge. I do wish more company follow suit in rebadging cars like Lexus does.

I mean rebadging is cheap and easy right ,Pz VI? so It should be easy for any manufecturer to increase the wheelbase by 75mm, and width by 20mm. While they are at it, change it from FWD to RWD, and also give it a Eight Speed Transmission. Also like how the GS ‘rebadging’ works, completely redesign the chassis so that it is 200kg heavier, and redesign the entire interior. Wow if other car manufecturer were to start this rebadging trend, imagine how much better cars we would have?

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 08, 2014 at 7:33 am

It is a Camry…with a Lexus badge. With loads more sound-proofing, more expensive materials, probably better comfort and more technological goodies. Oh and legendary customer care. Things that would appeal to some executive or rich guy who is just looking for a comfortable, hassle-free ride.
      A true car enthusiast would know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • ae101 on Apr 09, 2014 at 7:40 am

Seriously bro? This is the most stupid comment i’ve heard. If your syok sendiri claim is true, any kancil can become luxury car like germans after all these stuffing gadgets.

• LAN (Member) on Apr 07, 2014 at 10:34 pm

I’m fully awaken, but my bank account makes me fall asleep…

• Tiger on Apr 07, 2014 at 11:36 pm

My apologies, i was reffering to the ES model..anyway, in the old days, the ES was truly a rebadged Camry, especially sold in the US

• AVH (Member) on Apr 08, 2014 at 12:23 am

Ahhh the ES, yes the old car was indeed a rebadge Camry, but the new one is based of the bigger Avalon.
      I have been seeing alot of ES lately, not sure why but their popularity seems to trump that of the GS and IS. I saw an Avalon during my time in S.Korea and frankly, I wish we have the Avalon instead of the ES, looks better and probably cheaper for the same car(ES is 50mm longer thou).
      FAN FACT: The ES is built exclusively in Japan but not sold in Japan itself.

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 08, 2014 at 7:39 am

Heh, should have scrolled down before I made that comment. You did sound like you were referring to the ES, but it really is more than just a rebadged Camry. According to those who have tried it, it is much more refined. Also, Lexus is known to care a lot about the ownership experience.

• frenzyaustin on Apr 08, 2014 at 1:52 pm

AAudi A3 is a golf and A1 is a Polo.

• rchoo on Apr 09, 2014 at 5:39 pm

And the ES is truly over priced too.

• Josh Ling on Apr 07, 2014 at 11:36 pm

the ad seems a little desperate for me. lexus has a lot of other advantages, why they want to pitch themselves against German marques at this point I don’t really understand. They are not up there yet, period. But that doesn’t mean they are not good and have some other strengths in their cars that others don’t.

• cobra on Apr 08, 2014 at 12:18 am

Ok…comments here all seems to be against Lexus.
    Anyway, about 15 years ago, I spoke to one uncle who drove a S class but later changed to Lexus. Then also met another Lexus owner. Both said the Lexus is much better than the Merc.and BMW.

I am also as sceptical as most of us here, but perhaps any Lexus owners can give some comments about the engineering of this car and is it really that good ?

Lexus owners, please share your thoughts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • powderful on Apr 08, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Cobra,
      My GF in DE owns one. An IS300. Great car. For her. Boring for me. I don’t diss ’em cos they’re good cars and aside from its schedeled maintenance, ain’t got no need to jenguk2 ‘klinik’ or worse, ‘hospital’ like some Eurocars do. I’ve ‘splained further down the thread…

• dugong (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 8:19 pm

What a joke. Of course today’s lexus is better than S-class 15 yrs ago ( W220 ) maybe he was comparing to W140?

• No little kids dream is when growing up wants to own a lexus.. that says a lot

• Obviously (Member) on Apr 08, 2014 at 7:43 am

Only says a lot about consumer perception…nothing else.

• YeapyEvo on Apr 08, 2014 at 1:04 am

Only the LFA deserve my attention, the rest of Lexus range makes me fall asleep.

• Lexus said itself is useless! Let the consumers to tell us.

• qwerty on Apr 08, 2014 at 8:27 am

If it’s good, then it deserves a compliment. If it ain’t, it’s never too late to criticize.

However, who are we to Boooo here and there; call this rebadged or not, or even shoot Lexus down when we haven’t actually sat and drove the GS before?

• BeemerFreak on Apr 08, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Did Lexus pay you to say this?

• qwerty on Apr 09, 2014 at 10:51 am

I would be more than happy if they are paying me, but the truth is, I’m saying this because it’s true.

People are here to blindly condemn brands they don’t like even though they re good. Weird mentality.

• but it looks cheap like a CAMRY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • comparison not done properly on Apr 08, 2014 at 11:58 am

misleading advertisement. this is a very high level comparison. compare the finer elements in details (even if it’s a 4cyl engine) and you’ll see Germans are the clear winner. for the sake of argument, anyone can argue they are better and this advertisement from Lexus is proving just that. Lexus is no doubt a good car, but somehow, it takes a bit more work from them to surpass the German rival.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 08, 2014 at 12:01 pm

I always refer to lexus as an alternative brand n not a competing brand…as da germans become more n more popular n common,that lexus is sting diff n abit more exclusive than da gerrmans…

• powderful on Apr 08, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Nice cars. All of ’em. But the big L ain’t got no soul. Hard to explain but those with more than 25 years driving experience will get what I mean. Closest explanation on the ‘no soul’ thingy is like having a hawt girlfriend who never ever says no to anything you want/need and never nags and never anything negative. That’s just ain’t right! And also on the GF analogy….they do NOT age well!

Pit a 1990 LS400 vis a vis a W126/e32, 1995 GS/Aristo Vs e39, 2001 LS430 Vs W220/e65/A8(ronin one), 2008 GS300/350 Vs W211/e60/C6….etc….you get what I mean.?? The Lexus models all look long in the tooth and doesn’t carry the same ‘clout’they once had. Whereas a Euro Conti will just age gracefully provided you keep it clean and not run bling wheels with psychedelic colours…!

Am not anti-Japanese since I can appreciate what their cars stand for, i.e Luxury without the foibles. IMHO the things that the Japanese stand above the rest are :…..Cameras (yup, Leica and ‘Blad included)and Katanas and old skool Battleships. Yeah,that’s about it…..Period.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 08, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Personally, Its very hard to get what this ‘soul’ means. Personally, soul is getting a car be as close to human as much as possible to the point it can be anthropomorphize to a human. Good looks, characterful and has little flaws that reminds you that it is human. I have a 1990 Proton Saga that I have now rarely drive, because everytime I take it out of my hometown, I get this feeling that the engine will give up on me at any moment, just the other day the fuel pump broke right in the middle of a one-way street, the I manage through either prayer or the car’s determination to limp it back on what fuel left in the carburetor for the remaining 40 or so meter to the street exit, freeing the poor soul stuck behind me. It tends to have character, when the day is good and the air is cool, nothing can put a bigger smile on my face than an empty street and the 4G15 engine purring. But on certain days, it just refuse to move nicely, with the engine coughing and spatting. The Saga is now my weekends fun-car, something I drive down to shop and never beyound, and I have grown very dear to the car, but does it have soul?……its not really good looking, it dosen’t have a nice engine note nor does it goes like stint, it should therefore tick all the box of a soulless car, but how can it have no soul when I love it so much.

Like everyone else, I love a Jaguar F-type or Ferrai 458 more than anything, but look at all the Japanese car documentry, those old X-car video, MaihamMedia and Petrolicious, Dare to go beyound? animes such as Wangan Midnight and Initial D, the Japanese also have the same affection to their car like the Europeans, but they express it in a different way. I do agree Lexus is a little soulless, but we have exception, the LFA and the 1st gen IS, they do not have soul but have character, in the words of Jeremy Clarkson “they are machines, soulless and machanical , but John Connor loved one”.The latest generation of Lexus, particularly the IS and RC are machines that people could love, I will never see it as an equal to anything the European does because Japanese does thinng differently. A GTR dosen’t have soul and so does an EVO, but they still manage to put a huge grin on anyone driving it?

And regarding the ‘old-school’Japanese battleship standing above the rest, the Kongou class is design by the British , and one of its ship, the Hiei, could’t even put its gun low enough to shoot a nearby Destroyer. The Fuso and Hyuuga, weren’t fast enough to catch up its Aircraft Carrier fleet and the by the time the Yamato’s could locate, track , load ans shoot one of its shell, the American Iowa already fired two shots, and the Yamato’s shall is only 25% better penetration than the Iowa’s and Iowas have longer range. Maybe history didn’t prove their effectiveness, but foreign ship have better targeting system and damage control, but even the USN and RN has to say that the Japanese have amazing desciplin amongst their sailor.

• brightstar on Apr 08, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Japanese reliability with Luxury found in most continental, what more can u ask for? This statement might just be true.

• Jonny Tan on Apr 08, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Huh! My BMW RWD can do wheelspin more powerful than this car!

• Wake up.. GS is also RWD. And do u really own a BMW?
      come letstake a spin with my 528i msport.

• For a guy who have driven all 3 in US (left hand drive- different specs) and Malaysia (right hand drive and different specs) I will always go for Lexus for comfort and handling but to make ‘corporate statement’ and ‘showing off’ to foreign investors and clients, BMW and Benz still better than Lexus. That being said, comparing Infinity G35 with Lexus GS… book me a G35.

• Tan Sri Datuk on Apr 08, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Seriously, why bother with expensive Camry if you have the budget ??? If you want alternatives, try maserati or even jaguar.

At least this 2 cars won’t make you look like an ah mat as compared to lexus.

• Tan Sri Datuk on Apr 08, 2014 at 7:24 pm

I mean when there are time you want to drive the car.

• Does Make Sense on Apr 08, 2014 at 7:47 pm

It is indeed better in many other ways..just take a look at the reviews in America, some of those leading car mags & other reviewers picked the GS, NOT GS250 but its the GS350 F Sport 8 speed ZF transmission as the top choice against all other Germans! That 3.5L engine is one of Toyota’s best V6! Google it out, its all there!

• Does Make Sense on May 03, 2014 at 1:40 pm

Correction: Lexus has its own 8 speed Sport Direct Shift transmission used few years ago itself, not using ZF’s 8HP..its one the best transmission in the world including the engine the 3.5 V6!
      http://www.caranddriver.com/features/zfs-8-speed-automatic-transmission
      http://pressroom.toyota.com/article_print.cfm?article_id=1519

• Realist on Apr 08, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Its hard to change the mindset of people. It has been implanted in us since young that one day we must “Own a Bmw” or ” Own a Merc” for people to go ” waaaah they are so successful”. It is indeed a bitter pill to swallow when someone thinks that his dream car is a BMW, works hard for it, Makes it and buy one… and suddenly reviews say a Jap brand like Lexus is better, it his mind it will definitely be “This is a load of CRAP”

I’m not taking sides on this. Since it is apparent that there are ample fans for both German and Japanese makes as well as minds set in concrete.

I link this report however simply as a reference : http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/car-reviews/64280/most-reliable-cars

Peace Out.

• kimchi on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:34 am

I can’t wait for the day hyundai and kia will dare to issue such a bold statement as lexus…better than german :p

Sam Loo will foam in his mouth if it happens :p

• qwerty on Apr 09, 2014 at 10:55 am

Hyundai is starting to benchmark Lexus with their new cars. They boldly say that the new Azera is as good as a Lexus ES. :)

• kralkhan (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Each and every car was designed and build with a specific target market in mind. As such, some car models will be attracted to certain car buyers with various reasons like size, design and price. Critising a car based solely on perception alone is definitely not a proper way to voice one’s opinion. However one dislike Lexus for whatever reasons, the fact that Lexus has consistently won awards in JP Powers ratings must means Lexus has been doing something right all this while. Call Lexus and arrange for a test drive to see whether Lexus really deserves to be the challenger to the Germans.

• LeJohnZ on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Lexus comes standard with German car pricing. This ad just screams on how desperate Lexus has already become. And to top it up, lexus has worse resale value than German cars….