2005-2010 Toyota Hilux, Fortuner and Innova recalled

facelift-toyota-hilux-large

Toyota Motor Corporation (TMC) has announced a big recall (or Special Service Campaign, if you like) for the Toyota Hilux pick-up, Fortuner SUV and Innova MPV. Such models manufactured from 2005 to 2010 are involved, affecting a total of 82,457 units in Malaysia alone.

The driver airbag module’s spiral cable assembly is at fault here, as TMC has found that there’s a small possibility of it being damaged when the steering wheel is turned. If that happens, the airbag warning light would turn on, while the airbag itself could be deactivated and thus not deploy in an event of a crash.

Local distributor UMW Toyota will contact the owners of the affected vehicles to carry out the necessary corrective measures, including replacing the suspect parts with improved ones. All the work will be done at no cost to the owners.

This is part of a massive global recall that affects no less than 6.39 million Toyota vehicles worldwide over various faults and defects. The amount covers five individual recalls, the most major of which (3.5 million units) concerns the unreliable airbag spiral cable mentioned above.

Other issues include possible malfunctioning driver’s seat rails (where it would not lock in place; 2.32 million units), failing steering column brackets (chance of breaking away under duress; 760,000 units), windshield wipers with drainage problems (160,000 units) and possible fire hazard in starter motors (20,000 units).

That’s a grand sum of 6.76 million vehicles, but certain models are involved in multiple recall campaigns, hence the lower 6.39 million total. Overall, the global recall affects 27 Toyota models, plus the Toyota-built Pontiac Vibe and Subaru Trezia.

This comes mere months after TMC issued a separate recall in February, which affected 2.1 million units of its hybrid models. In Malaysia, 6,160 units of the Prius were involved.

2010 Toyota Hilux 3.0G

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• kzm (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Who say no boleh car being recalled

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
    • kzm (non-member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 5:01 pm

So u are feeling proud now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • Wisdom on Apr 14, 2014 at 10:22 am

Recall is the modern marketing strategies.
        Small issue, but good enough and serious enough to make people return to the manufacturer (safety most of the time).

In the US, people finish installments for their cars within 2-3 years. Normally the car still very good and should be useful for the next few years. But by doing recalls, existing owners flock their service centers and showrooms. While waiting, they will view the latest models, approached by SA, test drive, offered good trade in price which will translate sales.

In Malaysia such practice is a bit complicated coz most malaysian opt for 9 years installments. However, year 05 vehicle could just finish payments, while year 10 could just break even for a new car downpayment.

I used to have 10 year old Altis and never had any warning indicators lit. (proper usage and maintenance of course)..

• raja lawak on Apr 09, 2014 at 5:50 pm

Proton’s power window is the best in the world. 10 years gerenti no problem, no recall, bayar toll pun senang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 25
      • AVH (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 6:37 pm

I agree, the power window in my Saga has no problem at all, as long as I keep it up and never use it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 16
        • leoRNado on Apr 10, 2014 at 1:59 am

AVH… agree with you. My ISwara also the same. The power window in good condition coz always keep it up and never use it. Once use, I need to go to workshop..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • Ng y s on Apr 09, 2014 at 8:30 pm

proton preve has lifetime warranty on power windows motor terbaik lah ni

• Power window no problem, power door locks exact opposite.

• Same Lorr on Apr 09, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Again it shows a responsible world class automobile manufacturer who is willing to spend additional money for customer safety and satisfaction.

By the way, no recall = no defect?

You didn’t do body checkup = you won’t get cancer?

The worst is J class manufacturer! They don’t even bother to recall even though it is a well known defect. Only the foreign part (e.g. Mitsubishi engine etc) is reliable.

Toyota recalls, and it is still selling hot (3 months waiting for Vios). The J class doesn’t recall, and you still can get 2012 cars in 2013 sales carnival. How hilarious!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 34
      • Have Toyota gone so low now that you are comparing against Proton and Perodua? You should grow a set of balls and compare to other Japanese makes such as Honda instead. Accord is killing the Camry’s sales and the City will soon do the same to the Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • Same Lorr on Apr 10, 2014 at 3:24 pm

10 years ago, ppl said the exact same thing that accord killing camry, city killing vios bla bla bla…

But end up RV for same year Camry still better than Accord, same to Vios vs City also.

Toyota recall = again show the world its assurance on quality control = again strengthen everyone’s trust on it.

So why worry?

You can say anything you like but the sales figure on our books still GOOD! lol

• sam loo please explain this!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 2
  • I believe the recall will affect very few customers because they’ve already suffered the defect and paid dearly for the replacement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • AVH (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Ah a recall, it means that the manufecturer and distributor are willing to be bold enough to admit their mistake and replace the faulty parts for the benefit of the customer. Showing excellent customer service and support. And swiping under the mat like the GM fiasco now…….wait this is a UMW Toyota recall..
    …..HAHAHA Who says Toyota are bulletproof! EAT THAT unsafe UMW!

BTW Hafriz, the artical is wrote ” while the airbag itself could be deactivated and thus now deploy in an event of a crash” …..the airbag will still deploy in a crash? or is it a typo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
    • taboogen on Apr 09, 2014 at 5:15 pm

logically will not deploy… i think that what he meant.. its a simple logic

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Sam Loo, thought Toyota Reliable? Explain this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • Sam loo on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:53 am

Explain what? Its defective but still safer than kimchi and plotong…

• I need to talk to the UMW Toyota spokesman, where is Sam Loo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • Dino years (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Thank God I disposed of my Innova while I had the chance. Imagine that they recalled units in a country that is notorious for not recalling. Shows us that the danger of dying in these cars are very real, even a blind UMW can’t ignore it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • mana Sam Loo on Apr 09, 2014 at 5:30 pm

SAM LOOO! Now your Toyota is not realiable also. Stop talking like s#it from now on.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
  • Trans on Apr 09, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Whenever there is Toyota news, there will be followed by recall news.

• Volkswagen on Apr 09, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Well at least Toyota owns up to their problems… How about Volkswagen? who just simply don’t give a Siht about their unreliable parts.. they only replace the parts when customers send it in for warranty… but other than that, they just sweep all the problems under the carpet instead of recalling their cars before customers complain.. see the difference between the Japanese and the German?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 41
    • AVH (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 7:09 pm

I am never on the side of bashers of any brand, but lately I seem to agree that VW seems to have alot of mechanical troubles and yet very little ‘recall’ to fix it. The latest problem is apperently related to their automatics and not their DSG. And instead of a large scale recall (whcih GM is having to face)They instead decided to stop selling it? Which I think is the right choice but no recall for the current owners?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • Why talk about other car companies, when Toyota is the one with the highest recall and deaths?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Shame Loo Fan on Apr 09, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Public Service Announcement: Please be informed that Sam Loo is hiding in the cave right now. We still don’t know when he will be coming out. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Sam loo on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:57 am

Just come back in my hilux from kopitiam..,on the way back saw many kimchi..no recall but no RV ma..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • AndyS on Apr 09, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Got airbags?

Ehhh I tot RV only?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Toyota – King of defective car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • Albert Lee on Apr 09, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Congrats to PROTON.I cant recall when is the last time Protong ordered a recall.Giant TOYOTA ‘s strategy is “SELL FIRST,RECALL LATER IF NEED BE”.
    In Malaysia Boleh land,the only thing Proton should recall is their original batch of WIRA power windows.I just replaced my 6th set of power window components last week.
    Not bad,Proton…your QC (if you do have any) seems to have improved to a certain level.At least Proton have some consolation for time being,or is there a hidden defect waiting for an imminent disaster before a recall is ordered?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
  • seman on Apr 09, 2014 at 6:14 pm

no wonder my dad’s 2005 innova airbag didn’t deploy when we all got into accident in 2007… i’m very sure at that time all front seat belt was buckled up…luckily my dad n mom had survived from the crash

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • dugong (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 6:59 pm

You cannot be lucky forever. Next time don’t test your luck by buying overpriced crap cars like toyota that are like china car quality but priced like conti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • seman on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:03 am

test our luck by involving in accident? if all car are overpriced and crap according to your judge, what choice that i have?

• Sam loo on Apr 11, 2014 at 1:00 am

If the airbag front sensor not impacted.. It will not deployed.. Your dad is still safe bcoz of structural integrity…

• Integrity is one factor that Toyota does not have. Did you know more people died through defects in Toyota’s than any other car manufacturer? Think twice before buying a Toyota to carry your family and kids.

• Someguyonthenet on Apr 09, 2014 at 6:18 pm

well…at least there is a recall and no need for payment. at least.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Sam Loo no face already la.

Goes to show no matter how high you jump, you can still fall flat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Sam loo on Apr 11, 2014 at 1:02 am

My face is already flat…the only part of me which is FAT is my POCKET

• ss427 on Apr 09, 2014 at 6:24 pm

ooohhhh…. Sam Loo… your beloved Hilux and Toyota no more RV already hahaha… Still wanna whack Korean cars Sam? You’ve got PWNED in your own turf…hahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Toyota new slogan
    …………………
    RECALL,RECALL & RECALL

Buy Toyota enjoy RECALL !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • TechSmart on Apr 09, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Toyota is a conservative company. To recall and take the responsibility is better than telling the press BS like VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
    • Heng Lee on Apr 10, 2014 at 12:28 am

They learned the hard way to take responsibility. Because several people were killed in Toyota’s, they had to pay a billion US$ fine.

• dugong (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 6:56 pm

Sam Loo’s Hilux really hailat this time. Crash but airbags won’t work. Worse than china cars. Hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Sam loo on Apr 11, 2014 at 8:26 am

How can an airbags be deployed when my hilux is all over your flattened KIMCHIS

• Amei (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 7:43 pm

I’m just waiting some diehard fanboy saying ‘toyota makes mistake too’, ‘Atleast they hear customer’ or other BS. I bet if Proton or VW made news like this, there will be 202 comments bitching about how bad the cars are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • panjang on Apr 09, 2014 at 8:10 pm

i wonder who is the vendor for the defective part?

• carlzen on Apr 09, 2014 at 8:35 pm

just like the movie Total Recall or in this case Toyota Recall.

• Umw sucks! on Apr 09, 2014 at 8:46 pm

UMW SUCK BALLS LA. The camry got any problems too? Thought of buying the gx camry for my dad? Advice?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • carlin on Apr 11, 2014 at 7:41 am

Don’t buy Camry la. Thats the car that many people died in the US.

• Sanm loo on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:49 pm

I will personally inspect each car for free.. I throw in free car wash at sunway mentari also.. Give also angpow… Soo prosperous MY TOYOTA, MY LOVE…

• nabill (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 10:04 pm

These recalls not jus bcos thy r responsible,its bcos thy r worried sick of lawsuits that could cost thm million n millions like what thy paid last mnth in da US

• I have complained to Toyota Balakong numerous times about the issue of the driver seat not locking (malfunctioning seat rails). Everytime they just position it correctly. But whenever I adjust again, same thing happens. That one is not that serious, just annoying. However the issue about the spiral cable for the air bag is a serious concern. I am glad they did not covered this as what they did with the issue with unintended accelaration with the Prius.

• Sam loo on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:55 am

This recall will even make the RV of a hilux increases…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • CLUBUXX on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:06 am

TOYOTA SUCKKKKKKKKKK

• Carrera 997 on Apr 10, 2014 at 1:32 pm

My proton saga after 30 years still ok … no recall. So stop bitching about Proton

• v-power on Apr 10, 2014 at 3:36 pm

So Sam Loo, your Hilux also got recall right…? Oh, what joy!!

Don’t worry Sam, UMW told me your Hilux is the best in the world, the driver airbag can repair by itself, no need to send! So your RV is still the best in KL, Singapore & JB…! :)

• Allen toyota subang on Apr 10, 2014 at 7:03 pm

This recall is actually a blessing in disguise.. We show that we care… After several years… Come.. PREVIA (estima) available…

• Tet Loo on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:46 pm

Toyota = Hearse. Car for you to drive to your death.

• Sam Loo on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:07 am

Recall means acknowledging defect and ready to fix it.

For kimchis, they sweep everything under the carpet.

So which car would you buy? Kimchi or Sushi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • neutro on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:37 am

Proton don’t make recalls…but does that mean proton is defect free?

Proton don’t do recalls, they just train their service centers to tell customers “kereta proton memang macam ni lah”.

I’ve seen enough defects and poorly design parts on all brands of cars. No car manufacturer has got it all perfect. Proton makes their customers pay for their design mistakes.

Toyota is the only company with the balls to admit their mistakes and rectify it immedately for free. In this case…they even admitted their “could be” mistakes. Sure don’t see VW doing that. Or could it be all other car companies are mistake free?

• Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 9:55 am

All of kimchis VSC, EBD, ABS & Aibags will fail within 15 months.

That is why it is best to get rid of the cabbage within the first 15 months of ownership

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Only cheap people who dont have much money worry about resale value, and ive driven the hilux before, its so slow and uncomfortable, only laborers drive them

• bullseye on May 31, 2014 at 4:46 pm

I m a hilux owner.my car do have a spiral cable problem. but when i ask toyota service centre.they said no recall.paultan made some thing wrong?