First EEV manufacturing license issued to GAM for Great Wall Motors products, the Haval M4 and H6

DSC_1712

In line with the National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014), the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) today issued the first efficient vehicle (EEV) manufacturing license to Go Automobile Manufacturing (GAM) to assemble Great Wall Motors products locally.

In partnership with Chinese automaker Great Wall Motors, GAM will build Great Wall vehicles for both the domestic as well as export market. The CKD programme will initially involve two GWM models, the Haval M4 and Haval H6 SUVs.

Both will be built at the GAM plant in Gurun, Kedah, which has already been assembling the Haval H5 and Wingle pickup – production is set to begin in June, with market rollout expected to be in September.

Full details on the variants were not disclosed during the license annoucement made today at MITI, but it was mentioned that the M4 will be powered by a 1.5 litre engine – this should be a normally-aspirated VVT four-pot offering 105 hp and 138 Nm.

Haval-M4-KL-04

As for the Haval H6, two engine versions are expected, as previously reported, these being a 2.0 litre diesel and 1.5 litre petrol, both four-cylinder turbocharged units.

The GW4D20 2.0 TCI diesel offers 140 hp at 4,000 rpm and 310 Nm at 1,800-2,800 rpm, while the GW4G15B 1.5 turbocharged petrol has 140 hp at 5,600 rpm and 210 Nm of twist. Irrespective of engine, the H6 variants will have a front wheel-drive configuration and come with a six-speed manual transmission.

In terms of investment, RM2 billlion will be pumped into the project, out of which around RM700 million will be provided by Chinese investors not aligned to GWM. It is expected to create 4,000 new jobs in Gurun.

The investment will be divided into three phases. The first phase will see the existing plant’s current build capacity of 10,000 units a year being increased to 25,000 units annually. The second phase will take production capacity to 50,000 units by mid-2015, and the final phase will see a 100,000-unit annual production capacity by 2018.

gw-h6-01

The investment will also consist of establishing an R&D centre in Gurun, with RM500 million having being allocated for this purpose. The company says that the R&D centre will focus on “developing and enhancing the performance of the right hand-drive powertrain in order to achieve higher fuel efficiency and to further reduce carbon emissions.”

Production will contain 40% local content when it kicks off, and will be increased to 55% by 2016 and 85% by the end of the third phase in 2018.

The GAM-GWM partnership plans to export 60% of its production to ASEAN countries – dealer arrangements already exist in Thailand and Cambodia, with operations expected to commence by Q3 this year.

Go Automobile Manufacturing – which is fronted by CEO Ahmad Azam Sulaiman and has W&R Resources Sdn Bhd listed as its largest shareholder, with a 94.75% stake- took great pains to explain that it had no alignment whatsoever with current local distributor Green Oranges (GOSB), saying that GOSB’s role would be to handle the sales and marketing for Great Wall products.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• abukazuto on Apr 09, 2014 at 7:52 pm

Which part is efficient when you put 1.5l na engine into suv…efficient will come togather with metal and liquid..in other word improve duel quality..then you can talk about efficient vehicle..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 30
    • Wonka on Apr 09, 2014 at 8:00 pm

Bro, you’re in bolehland.. In bolehland, everything is efficient! Just like our government on handling MH370 and the country!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 95
      • And you are still living here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
        • Ball Less Germans on Apr 10, 2014 at 3:24 pm

I am very disappointed with the Folger and Gerhad Pils. Mercedes and especially BMW have been championing EEV vehicles for a long time. The 320d/520d and the E220 CDi are examples of this. But yet, they did not get the EEV licence.

An unheard of company, that was said to be registered in 2012 but in actual fact registered in February 14th 2013, with no email address, no business cards, no official address was given the licence.

To this two big German guns, where are your balls? You should be lobbying and giving press confferences expressing your disappointment. MBM and BMW have invested billions and have been in Malaysia over 50 years but shit has been thrown on their face,

You two Germans got no shame is it? Enough of worshipping the government, MITI, MAI, MAA feet. Have some dignity. Voice out your surprise and disappointment. Lobby for the licence.

Gerhad Pils have for years told consumers about their Efficient Dynamics (ED) and how it is so economical and sips so little fuel. But now, Gerhad Pils got a different ED. When facing the Government, he has Erectile Dysfunction (ED Also). Where is the clean diesel BMW sales people have been promising us? From the days of the 530d E60, BMW sales people have been saying, clean diesel is around the corner and would be introduced in no time. they assured buyers hardly a year we have to wait. But that was 10 years ago.

And to make matters worse, BMW Malaysia dare to increase the price of their 520d by about RM30,000 this year despite the fact that they have promised diesel buyers diesel is around the corner and going to be introduced soon.

I hope BMW Malaysia and MBM will be firm in their commitment in EEV and lobby for a licence. Stop being a lalang. Government throw shit on your face, you all still bow in obedience. Shameful. No dignity at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • Information on GAM on Apr 10, 2014 at 3:26 pm

A quick search on Companies Commission of Malaysia (SSM) showed that the company was only registered on Feb 14, 2013, with a registered address at Pekeliling Business Centre, Kuala Lumpur.

According to its corporate information in SSM, the company is the dealer and franchisor of motor vehicles manufacturers, as well as warehousers of motor vehicles.

However, no other details on the nature of its business can be found, and GAM has no official website.

Perhaps the deal clincher was GAM’s tie up with Chinese company Great wall Motor Company Ltd, even though, China’s largest SUV producer, is yet to commit any investments at the moment.

Information gathered in SSM showed that GAM has authorised and issued share capital of RM10 million, divided into equal shares of RM1 each.

It has three direct shareholders, namely W & R Resources Sdn Bhd, Ahmad Azam Sulaiman and Muhadzir Mohd Isa, who holds 947, 500 shares, 50, 000 shares and 2, 500 shares, respectively.

The company has three directors, namely Ahmad Azam, Wan Ahmad Wan Omar and Farok Maasom.

However, only Ahmad Azam, who is the CEO of GAM, was present at the press conference after EEV license handing ceremony held at Ministry of International Trade and Industry (Miti) yesterday.

Despite bagging the first license, the company does not have business cards.

Ahmad Azam also refused to give the reporters his personal contact number, as well as the company’s office number.

When the reporters asked for his email address, Ahmad Azam gave his personal email address.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
          • kzm (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:08 am

So wat the problem? Obviously they oni assembler for GWM…most company in boleh do not have registered company domain or website to get customise email.

• If let u handle and in charge to build a car, u capable or not? Idiot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
        • Black Dog on Apr 10, 2014 at 12:42 pm

As I’ve mentioned many times before, why the heck Proton doesn’t see the demand for an affordable SUV?. Waiting for others to take the cake then only nibble the crumbs? Simply incompetent!

• mewmewmewmew on Apr 09, 2014 at 8:03 pm

what’s wrong when the peugeot 3008 and ford kuga both also use 1.6 engine. you didn’t read that it has turbo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
      • Blue-traveler on Apr 09, 2014 at 11:02 pm

He is talking about the 1.5l non turbo ver. And IMHO it’s high time miti release to the public, in full details what qualification needed for EEV. Instead of this shadow game play. The citizen will become even more distrust of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Well, just put a CNG tank in every vehicle from the plant, it will be an EEV plant :

“According to Malaysian Automotive Institute (MAI), EEVs are defined as vehicles that meet a defined specifications in terms of carbon emission level (g/km) and fuel consumption (l/100 km). EEV includes fuel efficient vehicles, hybrids, EVs and alternatively-fuelled vehicles, e.g. CNG, LPG, biodiesel, ethanol, hydrogen and fuel cell.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • automan on Apr 10, 2014 at 8:38 am

I don,t get to understand your English

• well this is unexpected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • I believe this is to appease the Chinese govt for the mishandling of the MH370 tragedy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 147
      • Night Hunter on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:02 pm

Mishandling ? Well, you deserved all the dislikes…

No other country in the world has faced this kind of incident…

In most of the incident, they’re able to pinpoint the exact location of the crash…

Because of people like you, Malaysia were hated…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 48
      • our G hv done a very good job on the MH370 case. i solute all the people involve! but u Alex, all BS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 52
        • Hahaha, say what you want Tris but facts speak for themselves. People like you who can accept incompetency in our govt is the reason why this country is screwed up. Maybe you’re a person depending on govt handouts.

Here are just a few facts on MH370:

1. Military radar detected an unidentified object in MAlaysian airspace but did nothing.

2. Director of DCA compared the 2 Iranians to Mario Balotelli. How stupid can you be?

3. Director of DCA again said the last comm was “All right, good night”. But after a week it was “Good night Malaysia 370”. No explanation was given for the discrepancies.

4. PM announced the flight was lost in south indian ocean far from any landing sites. Subsequently MAS informed the families all passengers were dead thru SMS. Then acting Transport Minister says he’s hoping against hope to find survivors. How is that even possible after what the PM & MAS said? This is a pure mishandling of the situation and giving false hope to the families.

5. IGP says we may never solve this case but Minister says we will never give up looking for the place. These are 2 contradictory statements from top officials. Either one of them should shut up.

6. Who can forget the bomoh at KLIA… This episode belong in Comedy Central!

Bottom line is our govt is not prepared to handle a tragedy like this but they will never admit it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 82
          • anyname on Apr 10, 2014 at 1:58 am

rba

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
          • MintBerryCrunch on Apr 10, 2014 at 3:05 am

1) this has been well explained by TheGuardian in their initial coverage.
            2) a sensationalized passing remark in the absence of actual news. No credible news source hypes it other than tabloids.
            3) “Alright good night” is the version accepted by TheGuardian and NYT.
            4) A flight is lost with all passengers dead. Generally, after 24h the likelihood of being dead in the ocean is almost certain. Those arent contradictory statements.
            5) Again, not contradictory statements. We may never know why exactly the plan crashed. Doesnt mean we give up trying to find it.
            6) Thank god those idiots were arrested. The government has nothing to do with these loonies… just as the US govt has nothing to do with that history channel dude who goes “Aliens”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 27
          • kzm (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:26 am

point number 2…u know y dca guy mean that? It mean to show name or rupa paras does not say ur race or nationality even ur face is malay…. balatoli is italian write? but if u see him for the first time u might think he from african country.. do I’m rite or wrong?

• Night Hunter on Apr 11, 2014 at 8:28 pm

Cut the crap already!

How on earth 9/11 happened on the big super high tech US of A ?

How on earth a big ass bird fly in the middle of New York on Broad Daylight ?

4 attacks in the vicinity of 2-3 hours ?

The Twin Towers of the World Trade Center on fire;

A section of the Pentagon collapses;

Flight 175 crashes into 2 WTC;

A fireman requests help at Ground Zero;

An engine from Flight 93 is recovered;

Flight 77’s collision with the Pentagon as captured
            by CCTV.

This shows how professional they are in the defence dept.

And they tokok everyday about them being superior in this tech game…

MH370 happens in the night time where we have no eyes to locate it… It is very hard to accuse a passenger plane to do the unthinkables ( if human inteference were involved)

It’s like when a best friend of you decided to run you over with his car… Did you expect that ? most likely no… This is what we’re facing now ( if human inteference were involved)

You are talking BS in this matter… You know nuts about this prob… Just crapping on what you get from the media…

So stop the hating… You’re living in this country… stop humiliating it…

You haven’t see how other countries handle this kind of situations where they know the location ?
            I don’t say they’re handling of the matter as being professional…

I am not defending the G… We are a small country with no experience whatsover in handling this kind of situation…

All of the infos will be filtered before revealed to the public to prevent misunderstanding…

• Hukaka on Apr 09, 2014 at 8:06 pm

WoW so now we all buy chinese car,does it better then proton?why not proton come out the first EV car?
    Since many R&D has been done by proton and many years ago?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 10
  • hell no!! on Apr 09, 2014 at 8:10 pm

What the hell is this? Another crony? Wat happened to Proton EV? Great Wall my ass!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 38
    • Eyesore on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:20 pm

EEV = Energy Efficient Vehicle…

Not EV : Electric Vehicle…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Low Budget on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Whether is your ass or not, they will penetrate Boleh Land with help from local cronies, of course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • cronism is normal in biz world. work hard, knows people, cable there, cable here, can succeed. same as all the Malaysian billionaire’s families/cronies.. malays, chinese, indians, sabahan, sarawakian, all the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
  • Guan Yin Maa on Apr 09, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Wow. Coool. Extremely joker.

• Hmm, seems like for now, P2 still gonna be king for small “efficient” cars…

• Low Budget on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:57 pm

P2 will always be king for the lower income Malaysians, especially the lower cc 3 cylinders engines, they are unbeatable..

• I tot today is april fool… in reality it isn’t -_-

• MycarMylife on Apr 10, 2014 at 8:38 am

Fools No , they are not , maybe us My’sians, GW Hover SUV is the 2nd best seller after VW Tiguan in China ( Shanghai Daily) . I hv booked the M4 for my weekend marketing , test driven it and metal to metal plus features wise better than MYVi or Viva ( cling clang 50k category)

• Green on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:15 pm

Talking about Potential:

EEV = Made that Fuel Efficient Car in Malaysia.

Big Steps Leading Malaysia to be Global Hub.

To All G.l.o.b.a.l P.l.a.y.e.r.s,

U are I.n.v.i.t.e.d!!

If this Haval SUV RM50k is EEV, Toyota Rush could be EEV too, Even Avanza too!.

Of course, no Doubt Honda Vezel H-RV is also EEV.

I have a doubt:
    Is Great Wall M4 an EEV car?
    if yes, Avanza, Rush, Vezel, should be Our EEV car too!

Vezel Petrol should be coming this year.
    I wonder would it be our EEV car too?

• Nicholas on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:22 pm

now I’m confused… I thought EEV is only for Energy Efficent Vehicles? So does that mean that now a BMW 320D CKD will be much cheaper? VW Passat too? Toyota Vios too? or the EEV license is only for specially selected companies? The selection is done behind the door with some special requirement to be fulfilled?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on Apr 09, 2014 at 10:02 pm

You got a point! This is why the qualification for EEV is ‘negotiable’. Some cars by other manufacturers are already fully qualified as EEV, but not define as one, we all know why-lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • i hope that BMW Malaysia is negotiating with MITI on this EEV license. come on BMW! i want cheaper BMWs! can it really happened???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Tiger on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:31 pm

Hehe, tis is just for eye wash, imagine, out of all the top world-class car manufactueres in the world BMW etc, they chose tis GAM?? Nobody buys tis brand, and the gomen know it is not a threat to P1 at all…i challenge them to award the lisense to BMW, Nissan, Toyota, Honda…actually most of these manufacturers aleady producing EeV category vehicles …wat a shame…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on Apr 09, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Have a heart, Proton brand is our Malayan Tiger,
      need protection or else will go extinct.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:43 am

I remember last yr (31jan2013 paultan.org article)..BMW ActiveHybrid 3 and 5 get incentive under EEV.

• kzm (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:46 am

Madza CX-5 oso get approve as EEV classification last year…u loss

• Haris cheong on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:46 pm

Now… Here come the keranda (GUANCHAI)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • Useless chinese product good only in longkang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
    • Low Budget on Apr 09, 2014 at 10:07 pm

Well, you probably won’t buy it but if the pricing is right some kangkong will buy it. Anyway they aim 60% for export, so that is good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • automan on Apr 10, 2014 at 8:51 am

It depends on which longing you are referring to

• MycarMylife on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:37 am

Same reception we used to accord to KIA early models , look at KIA today !!! in US, Europe and down under .Hate it but have to face reality.

• Great! First EEV manufacturing!

yet there’s no mentions of fuel consumption at all. MITI is screwing themselves!

Janji CKD kat Malaysia right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 10:18 pm

I am still wondering how GWM got the EEV status.

BMW Malaysia must be so pissed right now, they have been championing diesel cars with EfficientDynamics, petrol cars that are so powerful and efficient, with all the new tech they are bringing in. Same with Volkswagen and its Passat, the Mercedes lineup which all have BlueEfficiency, Mazda’s Skyactiv CX5, and all.

So, what are the benefits then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • I am insider on Apr 10, 2014 at 7:34 am

because that GREEN ORANGES SDN BHD IS NAZA LINKED

CRONY LA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • albag on Apr 09, 2014 at 10:46 pm

this is ridiculous… it’s like we recognise eating fried chicken is healthier than eating steamed veges!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • This is crazy!!

Now with EEV status, would the Great Wall sell cheaper than the Proton & Perodua??

• This is only my opinion & interpretation. I might be wrong but let’s take Haval M4 (1.5L GW4G15 engine) as an example. The Great Wall C30 sedan that uses the same engine with curb weight of 1125kg & with narrow tyre of 185/65 16R has the fuel consumption of 6.9L/100km. Although Haval M4 is slightly lighter than C30 by 19kg (1106kg), I doubt that it can fulfil the MITI EEV requirement of 6L/100km for vehicles having curb weight of 1001-1250kg as it has wider tyre of 205/60 16R & less aerodynamic.

What is your basis in awarding EEV to this company MITI?

Source:
    http://www.eth-group.com/item/great-wall-m4
    http://www.gwm-global.com/UploadEn/attach/317dc9991f8881c1.pdf
    http://paultan.org/2014/01/20/nap-2014-energy-efficient-vehicles-eev-detailed/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • gtr36 on Apr 10, 2014 at 1:48 pm

China-linked companies are able to approve under table payments to govt officials as compared to German and American companies. See how their telco companies have risen so fast all over the world! As for quality, keep replacing every year, more money for them.

• Aero (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 11:40 pm

Guys, please be reasonable. Great Wall Motors chose to invest and build their ‘ASEAN base’ in Malaysia (instead of Thailand or Indonesia). They are also planning to export their cars from Malaysia to other ASEAN countries. They are giving Malaysians more jobs, and providing a source of income for our automotive industry.

As for whether the new M4 or H6 will threaten Proton or Perodua, that remains to be seen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
    • driver on Apr 10, 2014 at 1:15 am

Hold on.

The question here is: what makes their cars were qualified as EEV when we have others that already fulfil tho even before MITI’s NAP?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • slk3879 on Apr 10, 2014 at 7:50 am

This is all about politics and money, that’s why no transparency… leaves lots of room for back door negotiation, under table actions and well… some pillow talks too..

• kzm (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:48 am

They don’t apply for EEV. How they wanna get EEV status?

• Peaceaim on Apr 09, 2014 at 11:54 pm

Pathetic and sick. They are killing Prius and all HEV for this junk….

• Krasher on Apr 09, 2014 at 11:54 pm

EEV status or not, I don’t think car prices will be lowered. Car manufacturer will used it as a platform to maximize their margin only.

• thebugbud on Apr 10, 2014 at 12:05 am

Awarding EEV sesuka hati.. our gov is all setengah masak. one day this one day that.. just take our straight As student that can’t get into Uni.

What do we expect? 30% reduction in car price.. in our dream.

The moment that say it out to the rakyat, they have already forgotten that.

• Sam lo on Apr 10, 2014 at 2:23 am

Great wall is a stupid name… Change it to JIAO (dumpling)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Albert Lee on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:17 am

I read from many readers’ comments that you are a hardcore Toyota addict.
      However,you don’t seem to understand the strength and beauty of the word GREATWALL in Chinese.
      It is not a stupid name.You are just a horrific armchair critic.
      This socalled stupid car manufacturer is dumping so much money in Gurun,near our BIG BROTHER CRONY NAZA.
      If there is a car company that should change its name,it is PROTON.It should be called PROTONG.

• maniam on Apr 10, 2014 at 3:40 pm

What is it to do with Proton?? U urself should change ur name to SOTONG.

• I am insider on Apr 10, 2014 at 7:34 am

GWM got it purely because GOSB is naza linked

• Hard to believe that BMW and Mercedes still cannot get EEV certification before hand despite CKD cars with advance engine in Mal for that long. Dinding Hebat first!

• kzm (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:50 am

who say non…bmw has 2 model check paultan article jan 2013

• Unforgiven on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:17 am

If you are the top management for Merc, BMW, Toyota, do you need to lobby at MITI? What’s your annual sales on global perspective? We in MITI/gov should be the one that meet them and bring them in.

• Sunriver on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:18 am

Guys quick facts on this GOM company:
    1. The company registered with CCM on 14 Feb 2013.
    2. No known financial details provided.
    3. GOM has a paid up capital of RM10Mil and want to invest RM2 Billion.
    4. The CEO refuse to give Office Number. Only contact is by GMail account.
    5. No business card. WTF?
    6. The Chinese Co are not co-financing this venture.

Looks like another High level CON job to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Sunriver on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:21 am

RM10Mil paid up capital and want to invest RM2Billion….SERIOUSLY wrong here…

• Krasher on Apr 10, 2014 at 5:05 pm

That’s why 3rd guy from the left was damn happy.

• kzm (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:52 am

Lol RM2 billion investment is from GWM read international business news last year..GAM oni assemble the car

• Krasher on Apr 10, 2014 at 4:49 pm

EEV = Skim Cepat Kaya for automotive industry

• donuts on Apr 10, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Malaysia Boleh! those P1 and P2 supporter said car made in China is piece of junk is totally speechless now…!! LOL!

• tikus on Apr 10, 2014 at 5:48 pm

This is ALIBABA company.Malaysia boleh!!

• pesua' on Apr 24, 2014 at 2:35 pm

If you are in Miri you will see a few of the GWM’s cars (car/truck/SUV) from Brunei during weekend and it looks good. Cars are cheap in Brunei but why they bought these cars? Think about it.