Mercedes-Benz SL 400 replaces SL 350 with turbo V6

Mercedes-Benz-SL-400-Roadster-Turbo

The Mercedes-Benz SL roadster gets a new engine – the 3.0 litre twin-turbocharged direct-injection V6 like the one found in the E 400 that was recently launched in Malaysia. The baseline SL is now the SL 400, which replaces the SL 350 with its 3.5 litre normally-aspirated V6.

Although the new engine is down half a litre of displacement, the two turbochargers bring power up to 333 PS between 5,250 to 6,000 rpm and 480 Nm of torque from 1,600 to 4,000 rpm. Although power is only about 27 PS up, the increase in torque is a massive 110 Nm over the SL 350’s 370 Nm from 3,500 to 5,250rpm, and is achieved at a much lower rpm as well. Zero to 100 km/h is achieved in 5.2 seconds.

Those wanting a Mercedes-Benz SL 400 here will have to fork out approximately RM950,000 for it – Mercedes-Benz Malaysia will bring it in for you on an-order basis.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• venven81 on Apr 09, 2014 at 6:00 pm

wow! that’s a badass-looking car wey! always love the SL class and this new design moves it to the next level. good job :)

• welcome turbo age

• GT3 (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:11 pm

At first glance, I thought it was the Brabus version.

• Sanm loo on Apr 09, 2014 at 10:00 pm

My new camry GX IS BETTER than this deadwood, come to my showroom , i show you the total package..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • BOYRACER on Apr 09, 2014 at 11:01 pm

Your Camry can become 2-door sports car?How?Welding both rear doors and potong the roof?How much?If reasonable can consider.

• chong hai on Apr 10, 2014 at 12:23 am

hello uncle… nice camry meh

• shawal on Apr 10, 2014 at 12:58 am

Ugliest SL…..
    Back to the drawing board…

Thankfully the s class coupe is here to save the day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • techsmart on Apr 10, 2014 at 4:38 am

Mercedes can build cars with excellent technology but a lot of these come with great costs when it’s time for replacement. I don’t do but that many other manufacturers can do it but they just don’t want to implement it for it’s practicality in ownership for most people. But clearly these cars are not for most people so Mercedes would actually have the balls to pull stuff like this.

Apparently a replacement e class headlight ks Rm 25000. Guess how much is the wipers used in this gonna cost? Rm 2000 every year?