Subaru WRX and WRX STI launched in the region, sports sedans to arrive in Malaysia from July

subaru-wrx-sti-regional-launch 094

Mabuhay from the Clark International Speedway in Manila, where regional Subaru distributor Motor Image has given the new Subaru WRX and WRX STI sports sedans their South East Asian launch.

UPDATE: The WRX and WRX STI have been launched in Malaysia – launch report here.

The Subaru WRX is powered by a new direct-injected 2.0 litre flat-four that develops 268 PS at 5,600 rpm and 350 Nm of torque between 2,400 and 5,200 rpm. The six-speed manual version does the century sprint in six seconds before maxing out at 215 km/h.

The Sport Lineartronic CVT-equipped version manages 6.3 seconds and 240 km/h respectively, while claiming a combined fuel economy of 8.6 litres per 100 km. The CVT comes with shift paddles and six virtual ratios (select Sport Sharp mode on the SI-Drive and you get eight).

subaru-wrx-sti-regional-launch 136

The Subaru WRX STI draws 300 PS at 6,000 rpm and 407 Nm of twist at 4,000 rpm from a multi port-injected 2.5 litre flat-four. This one’s six-speed manual only, and it gets to 100 km/h from rest in 5.2 seconds before topping out at 255 km/h.

Badges aside, the two cars look pretty similar, with even the WRX getting the bonnet scoop, quad tailpipes and rear diffuser. However, the WRX gets 235/45 R17 alloys, while the WRX STI rides on 245/40 R18 alloys (BBS items optional). And of course, who could miss the WRX STI’s giant rear wing?

The WRX STI’s frame is 40% more rigid than before, and its MacPherson strut-front, double wishbone-rear suspension features more rigid pillow ball bushings, increased spring rates, stiffer front and rear stabilisers, and additional rear subframe supports.

subaru-wrx-sti-regional-launch 118

Subaru claims that as a result, body roll is decreased by 16% and lateral acceleration is up 7%. A 25 mm longer wheelbase means more rear legroom, too. The WRX STI gets Brembo brakes with four-piston callipers up front and two out back. The electric power steering ratio has also been lowered, to 14.3 for the WRX and 13.3 for the WRX STI.

The functional cockpit houses a flat-bottomed steering wheel and bolstered sports seats (optionally eight-way adjustable for driver). A dash-mounted multi-function display can be customised to show a wide variety of data, including a digital boost gauge. Additionally, a 3.5-inch LCD sits between the electro-luminescent instrument dials.

Symmetrical AWD and active torque vectoring are standard, and it’s of the centre diff-type with a viscous LSD. It’s enhanced with variable torque distribution on the CVT WRX and Driver’s Control Centre Differential (DCCD) on the WRX STI. SI-Drive offers Intelligent, Sport and Sport Sharp driving modes. The manual WRX does not get SI-Drive.

subaru-wrx-sti-regional-launch 107

DCCD, a WRX STI exclusive, allows you to adjust front-rear torque distribution with four modes: Auto, Auto+ (more power to the front for more traction), Auto- (more power to the back for tighter cornering) and Manual (six adjustment steps). The system works by adjusting both an electromagnetic multi-plate transfer clutch and mechanical locking of the LSD.

In addition, Vehicle Dynamics Control (standard on all models) offers Normal, Traction (raised intervention threshold) and Off. Front airbags, side and curtain airbags, plus one for the driver’s knee are standard fitment.

Available kit includes self-levelling LED headlamps (standard on WRX STI, optional otherwise), two 12V outlets, auto air-con (dual-zone on WRX STI), auto headlamps and wipers (optional on WRX STI) and a reverse camera (optional on all). The WRX gets fabric seats as standard; leather is optional. The WRX STI gets leather and Alcantara seats with red accents.

The Subaru WRX and WRX STI are scheduled to be available in Malaysia from July onwards.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• SUBARU WRX Sti is not complete without a rear wing/spoiler. Anyways i like this car!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
    • raja lawak on Apr 09, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Better go buy Preve S Super Duper Premium R3 Limited Edition.

Long name = Gerenti best quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 90
      • Jonny Tan on Apr 09, 2014 at 1:32 pm

pls la. Preve again? do you think your Preve stock can have 300bhp?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
      • Same Lor Oriii on Apr 09, 2014 at 3:00 pm

This is the best thing the Preve owners share in common where you can’t find it on other car owners: The Power of Dreaming.

In their mind, the awesome Preve from J class can do ANYTHING!

Why the Preve can’t beat Subaru since they believe it can smoke F22?

Don’t be surprise if any of Preve owner say they will drive their Preve to the Indian ocean picking up the blackbox this weekend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 22
      • Amei (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 3:07 pm

tries to make a joke about Proton, instead make an ass to yourself. c’mon la, it’s pretty cliche.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
      • boring.

• Subaru must first fire their entire design team and hire Mazda designer. They just can’t come out with any decent design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • Tony G on Apr 09, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Nowadays, Malaysia is the last in South East Asia to launch new models. Just recently they launched the Slyphy, new Ford Focus and now the Subaru WRX in the Philippines.

Unfortunately, none of these cars would make it to Malaysia until the next few quarters.

• azrai on Apr 09, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Am I wrong to see lancer face on this Subaru? The rim look like Inspira’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
  • edwin on Apr 09, 2014 at 12:51 pm

This car looks really good in blue and red!

• If more then RM300K better buy a Nissan 370Z
    And EvoX recond less then RM200K, better go for Evo 10 “Recond”
    If the new WRX STI price is around RM250K, it still ok

If new car better for you, so need to test drive this new WRX STI for the headlining and other things

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • nabill (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 2:25 pm

If its priced rediculously(which probably wil be) thn u can go for da focus st,golf r…

• _xXx_ on Apr 09, 2014 at 3:04 pm

based on their past record, yes, they WILL

apart from grey imports, how many local have u seen?

• If you want to talk about recond, even the previous generation Impreza WRX STI Version 11 GVB and hatchback Version 10 GRB is under 200k. You can even opt for the older more famous Version 9 GDB for around 150k.

Some people just want to buy a new car instead of a recond car when they have the money to do so.

• Even the 328i at 280k can do 0-100km at 5.9sec

• spongewai on Apr 09, 2014 at 1:34 pm

GOODBYE TO THE REAR SPOILER T.T

• encik boss on Apr 09, 2014 at 1:38 pm

price range?

• kobealex on Apr 09, 2014 at 1:42 pm

WRX seems a nice car with enough power for sporty drive and weekend use as it is not as hardcore as the WRX STI.

Online reviews did mentioned that the new WRX’s interior is also much upmarket and features more soft touch materials than the previous which does feel really cheap.

As there has also been alot of praise on how this car drives, it should be something to look forward to on Malaysian roads though I don’t think there is still any confirmation that we will also be getting the WRX. Malaysia has always gotten the WRX STI only. Even Subaru only mentioned the WRX STI and not the WRX when I did enquire.

Btw PaulTan, would you happen to have any indicative price as well for Malaysia?

Anyhow looking forward to the official launch.

• Appalayam on Apr 09, 2014 at 1:59 pm

look at the quality.. even the steering wheel is senget. apa punya kereta ini?

come.. buy MyVi XT. come to Perodua Keramat near Jalan Enggang. Good buy. This is the LATEST MyVi.
    My boss said it looks like any other other MyVi, but it is actually all new chassis and electronics. macam itu Porsche..looks sama but different generation!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 48
    • blackBJQ on Apr 09, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Hahaha i like u sir..u are the man!

• mmaker on Apr 09, 2014 at 2:31 pm

dey macha, look at the tyre la. It is not straight as it gives more vicious look to the audience

• Mat Sabu on Apr 09, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Ladies and gentlemen… Lets give a big hand to the dumb ass…

• GT3 (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:26 pm

Nice try, Perodua salesman. *slow applause*

• TechSmart on Apr 09, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Missing signature HUGE rear spoiler. Where’s the Recaro seat?

• rogrog on Apr 09, 2014 at 2:13 pm

STI at other market get BIG WING. Why Malaysia version doesnt comes with SUPER BIG WING? It is not complete without the BIG WING!

• W204 C63 AMG on Apr 09, 2014 at 2:37 pm

I always have a soft spot for the Rex. Too bad the STi still uses the old 2.5 turbo boxer. If I’m not mistaken the Legacy is using a brand new 2.5.

• Joker on Apr 09, 2014 at 2:37 pm

All right!! AWD means improved traction… can’t wait to test drive 1…

• The ride of your life on Apr 09, 2014 at 2:49 pm

I drive the WRX STI Version 10 (previous to this 2014 model) Its a nice car to drive and gives you the power when you need it. Disaponting to note that they have not brought in the GPS as a standard spec for this model and seem to remove the back spoiler which is the Subaru trade mark! I understand the price to be around RM275k. If you want a fast and safe stock standard car, get a ride of your life, get a SUBARU WRX STI!

• Why did the WRX STI engine displacement went up to 2.5 litre? I know that some of the previous ones are also available in 2.5 litre but as far as I know, all the JDM versions of WRX STI came with a 2.0 litre boxer engine. Why can’t they do the same with this one as well? Cheaper roadtax and possibly better fuel consumption as well. The 2.0 litre engine had a higher rpm red line at 8000rpm instead of 7000rpm like the 2.5 litre version.

• heybadigol on Apr 09, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Wohoo!! Finally its going to reach Malaysia. Been reading good reviews on Youtube (check out Motor Trend flying the car on jumps). Guess the WRX has same engine and gearbox as the equally nice Forester XT. Though I notice there’s a slight power bump compared to the Forester.

Now for the million dollar question, what is the standard torque bias between front & rear for WRX? The rumour is the Forester XT is standard 60/40 front/rear bias (but will then automatically vary depending on grip or lack of it) as its using the CVT only. Its a bit more front biased so you need a slippery surface to safely *ahemm* drift the Forester (not that I am suggesting one should drift tall “family” SUVs). Does the WRX get same bias? The STI’s one is as mentioned, using DCCD, so the driver can manually adjust and fix the torque bias to his liking.

• roti canai (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 4:02 pm

no JDM version?

• When will Impreza regain its name in IRC – rally again?

• abahko on Apr 09, 2014 at 4:37 pm

how on earth that spoiler wing missing from the sti model? wtf? motor image.

please do not tell me, malaysian do not get that for purchasing sti edition.

• Sporty-Nature on Apr 09, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Nice car, but too bad the Subaru brand is only offered to consumers mainly in the Klang valley. Very few dealerships/service centers in other states.

• Denaihati on Apr 09, 2014 at 5:48 pm

perhaps less spectacular exterior design than other sport sedan cars, but the performance absolutely dream car.

• sepul on Apr 09, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Subaru design is more mechanical than aesthetical, since the engineering team does all the final says.

I’m in (if I have the money to buy). Prefer WRX.

• TechSmart on Apr 09, 2014 at 6:57 pm

Sorry but it looks like a 2004 Camry Solara which I had, with a double din head unit.

It’s 2014 now…that’s a 10 year old design. The Subaru XV is also one heck of a terrible looking car and very lousy interior. I’m no Subaru hater, last gen Impreza was pretty nice but plague with poor paint job.

Looking at Subaru’s market share, I think the company will last another 10 years max.

• the interior… is kind of a let down

• panjang on Apr 09, 2014 at 8:25 pm

front looks like a rough marriage between a mazda and an evo before the marriage is rear ended by a 3 series bmw.

wont look out of place in a transformer movie though.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Apr 09, 2014 at 8:43 pm

I hope for wrx they bring the manual version too to malaysia and not just cvt only. And CKD it if possible just like XV so the price can be much lower and affordable.

• Interior getting design from Russian Tank

• Fan Boy on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:37 pm

Car says ” Ah Beng….! I’m back!!!!”

• Sanm loo on Apr 09, 2014 at 9:52 pm

This car is a toy… Not real car .. My AE 86 is badass…

• tricycle on Apr 09, 2014 at 10:10 pm

I dont know why, but I feel a little bit strange having CVT in this type of car? Belt driven gear ratio?

Hopefully it isdifferent type of CVT installed in Honda Civic 2013 hybrid. Driven one Civic hybrid at Honda showroom the transmission feels very loose maybe due to the nature of people test driving that particular car.

Driven Murano, doesnt feel that bad(CVT too). But still cannot comprehend why a car with 280 bhp is equipped with CVT.

• Poacher on Apr 09, 2014 at 11:17 pm

I’m actually looking forward to the CVT (or any auto gearbox) due to my frequent trips to KL. Pleasee MI price it properly. Probably will get some thumbs down for this though.

• TechSmart on Apr 10, 2014 at 5:09 am

You know, Ferrari dropped Manual box knowing that no driver can possibly switch faster than their auto box considering the speed of the car. OTOH, Subaru has always been the Manual is better than everything company, aka the “purist” approach. Look at the last gen Impreza, when everybody has a minimum of 5 speed auto box, they were still using 4 speed (OK Peugeot uses 4 speed but whatever). Now they opted for CVT, it’s like their whole transmission department is auto-retarded.

If a company wants to build a car down to the core for pure performance, that’s fine and all, Lotus has always building their cars with this perspective. But Subaru is building cars with ugly as hell exterior (better now), no consideration to the general public on auto transmission, and absolutely horrendous interior design. I mean come on, it’s 2014 and this is what you can come up with for the interior and auto-transmission for a so called high performance rally car/dumbed down rally car?

Rant mode off, feel free to flame but Subaru is a dead company. Only a very niche market cares for these cars. People with similar budget are not stupid, they know how to weigh in practicality, ride comfortability, brand image, interior design, exterior design, and these people will buy a Golf-R, A45 AMG, and etc.

• sambalbabi on Apr 10, 2014 at 1:25 am

the new boxer engine with timing chain driven surely attracts more buyer

• fredo on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:37 am

grow in size, heavy leather electric powered seats?
    WTH? this is going BMW, Mercedes, or Audi way already…
    WRX fans want a lightweight carbon bucket seats lah!
    I think Subaru should come out with a smaller version like the old Verion version and earlier too

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 12:09 pm

And the price is…..

• the 10 year old double din head unit, brought forward from previous gen…

• preve king on Apr 11, 2014 at 8:38 pm

come test with preve! top speed 230! dare? my preve will smoke everything!! call me anytime!
    012599997*! dare?

• stanman (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 11:33 am

You really need to drive the FA20 w. Lineartronic CVT with the S# mode to fully appreciate what this powertrain will do. I drive one daily in the Forester guise. makes driving a lot of fun rather than a chore.
    The 2.5EJ is an older unit and primarily for the US market.
    Funnily enough Sam’s AE86 is built in Gunma using the FB20 engine…by Subaru.

• Where is the spoiler? cut spec again?