Land Rover Discovery Vision to have invisible bonnet

LR_Discovery_Vision_Concept_Technology_Teaser_090414_02

Yes, yes, I hear you. No, this is not one of the April Fools’ stories we forgot to cover – the Land Rover Discovery Vision concept that is headed to New York next week will actually feature technology that will allow drivers to peer through the bonnet onto the ground below.

Dubbed Transparent Bonnet, the feature utilises cameras located in the vehicle’s grille and feeds it to a head-up display (HUD) on the windscreen, augmenting the driver’s forward vision with a view of the terrain below the bonnet and engine bay as well as the angle and position of the front wheels. This will enable them to place the car with precision, which would be handy given the Discovery Vision’s almost certain girth.

According to Jaguar Land Rover director of research and technology Dr. Wolfgang Epple, the new technology will allow drivers to “tackle anything from the toughest off-road route to the tight confines of an urban car park.”

LR_Discovery_Vision_Concept_Technology_Teaser_090414_01

“As our vehicles become more capable and autonomous off-road, we will ensure the driver has the confidence to allow the car to continue to progress, over any terrain,” added Dr. Epple.

The Land Rover Discovery Vision concept will preview the company’s new range of Discovery-branded SUVs, including the next full-fat Disco as well as the replacement of the current Freelander, rumoured to be dubber Discovery Sport. This move mirrors how the Range Rover was spun off into a separate family featuring the regular Range Rover, the Range Rover Sport and the Range Rover Evoque.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Yellow on Apr 10, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Cool tech.. especially for those offroad enthusiast.
    but what if the bonnet is covered with mud and dirt..

• Carnut on Apr 10, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Doesn’t matter. The image is projected on the windscreen to make it look like you can see through the bonnet.

• Black on Apr 10, 2014 at 3:16 pm

optional equipment: camera wiper and camera washer jet nozzle needed

• MycarMylife on Apr 10, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Great innovation for additional safety since ABS ,lets see the resolution combination with the actual eyeline vision, then let the chinamen take over with the production to make it affordable to all car users.

• abuya123 on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:12 am

Good. Hope it can be fitted also to viva. Very useful during parking. Never thing small car easy to park. I need power steering and to what is below bumper.

Viva also dont have auto cruiser for 660 variant. I really need it during traveling on highway….

• Dr. Apple on Apr 10, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Fun Fact#1: Dr. Wolfgang Epple was once No.2 man in charge of Proton behind only DSZ.

• sighhh on Apr 10, 2014 at 4:24 pm

No matter how hard you tried to link Proton with these successful people, high technology…

IT IS STILL FAILURE!

• mim (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 4:39 pm

#2 Worked in BMW for 23 years, became Project Director for E39 and E90 before moving to Proton.

#3 He was in charge of Proton Preve’s quality and tech RnD

#4 Left Proton around the same time when DSZ and many others left during DRB takeover

• Gegary on Apr 10, 2014 at 5:55 pm

But if you go to any Proton service centre, you still see new owners coming in to complain about broken door handle, stuck windows and so on with the Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Celicazz on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:54 am

And we are wondering why Proton’s quality had ever improved?

This guy worked in BMW before Proton, is BMW a quality car to say? Ridiculous panel gaps, shaking engines, etc… Hahaha

• TeresaCockCNClown on Apr 10, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Smart. What a discovery.

• Kangkung akan bernaik on Apr 10, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Wah!!! I discover lately those high tech invention are good in new idea and invention only. However, car are subjected to road accident risk, and those tech when damaged during crash was not replaceable. even replaced, i dun think functioning as well as stock setting. To me those new invention is such as autopark, blindspot,i-stop, are useless.

• roti canai (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 6:23 pm

doesnt seem really practical for of road use…stones and all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • techsmart on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:36 pm

Going to take time adapting to. Likely to crash the front more frequently if taken into action without perspective adjustment period

• advanced mapping on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:29 am

this tech already used in digital mapping actually. image/video processing + fusion method. now there are applied on automotive industry.

• gavin on Apr 11, 2014 at 7:57 am

lo, freaky

• after run over a cat , turn the camera on the clarify that cat whether is still alive.